Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline: Old thread full

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,114 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Where's Mannix it must have a story or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,167 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Joe gets to put his feet up and stuff his face with a KitKat(have a break Joe, you deserve it) while he plays audio of Roddy Doyle and Gabriel Byrne talking about their experiences.

Goes to an ad break, and then more testimonials. Joe really earns his €350,000 annual salary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Kalimah

I wish they'd name some of these sadists. Probably all dead now unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,710 ✭✭✭✭walshb

it’s hard to believe we had such brutality against children that was accepted and tolerated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭mountain

I hope to **** that Kevin has been listening to this for the past 3 weeks

Margaret didn't know the winds. Joe is an expert on wind. 💨

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭avfc1874

Anyone late 40s on either got hit, saw people hit or knew it was going on,

Simple Joe must have never been in school as he's acting like he's only heard about this in the last 3weeks,

A long torturous 3 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,247 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Harder still the brutality against radio listeners that's accepted and tolerated every day between 1:45 and 3PM daily but here we are.

Duffy’s thuggish behaviour is starting to show through, he is craving some stories of revenge.
    I reckon he’s covering something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Tow

We had a teacher who specialised in The Slap. Two hands to the face at the same time. I don't remember if I ever got it (maybe I did), but the mesers certainly did. I remember the teacher and lad arguing if he deserved it or not. The two of them with smiles on their faces. The slap hurt, but with this teacher they would have gotten a warning first and if you got The Slap it was over an done with. Certainly better than a detention or lines etc.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

in November we are going to have the movie based on the book Small Things Like These,

It’s a great book, however it is based on life in Ireland 70s to 80s,

Which means this is going to start all over again

This man shouldn’t be on radio, Shameless from Duffy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Kalimah

It's absolutely no wonder that so many of that generation ended up so dependent on alcohol and with no confidence in themselves.

the tears of a ten year old,

F uck off Duffy, you have no idea how to deal with someone like this caller

• Registered Users Posts: 4,800 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,710 ✭✭✭✭walshb

And we still have the fooking late late show to come!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,516 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Lol, F wurd, S wurd & B wurd.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,800 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Unfortunately up to the eighties corporal punishment was carried out in schools in most of the western world, it was used widely in the 3 countries I'm intimate with from this time namely, Ireland, England and West Germany, frankly I'm not so sure that had all the schools been secular run things would have been any different in those days

Frank: "F###...Sh1t...B@$t@rd"

He's getting all the expletives in. 😂

M

The arms decommissioning process.

M

Whoy were there no school shootings in the US in the 60's and 70's when gun regulation would have been much more relaxed than now? Was it the computerised games that did it or the 80's action movies or de social media or gun glamour or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,194 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Gaybo taking a hammering here : twice described in the last five minutes of being dismissive of the claims of brutality,

will he finish with a list of the weapons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,099 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

With the sound of a five year old's voice in the background?

M

If you have been affected by…please sift through the 223 helplines to see which one suites you at rte.ie/helplines, ffs, an entire industry built up on misery, there shouldn't be more than 10 helplines to deal with every jaysus actual problem a person would have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,733 ✭✭✭squonk

Is it over? Did he say he’ll move on from this shíte next week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,099 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

He could have factored in 10 seconds of each edition of this misery fest to read out phone numbers for anyone affected other than his bejaysus voice message line.

The fact that he couldn't be bothered highlights his utter disregard for every single caller he spoke to over the last 3 weeks.

Joe’s had his fun and that’s all that matters. The papers are saying he’s a great lad altogether No doubt the title for the accompanying book is being thrown around his head and he’s got a huge amount of research done for free on the taxpayers time. That’s the extent of the fúck he actually gives and you can literally hear it in his voice. I always knew he was out fur himself but this whole episode has nailed it home for me. Can’t really stand him at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Another Country - Growing Up in 1950's Ireland, by Gene Kerrigan.

(well worth a read)

it’s ironic that one of the slogans use by

The Samaritans is….

Talk to Jo

Time to take out the trash.

It's really piled up after 3 weeks and has created quite a stench.

Joe,

Are you finished with de MISERY?

If so, the gubberment spent 4.5 million and counting of the Taxpayers hard earned on an auld boat which is not even worth dat much! It is a disgrace Joe. While your at it, how much was spent preparing that wreck they sunk as a fish reef during de week? Stripped de paint off and all. I am sure dat cost a couple of bob.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,667 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

He was not wrong about the floodgates of arnacrusha

• Registered Users Posts: 6,667 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

SPICKLE LICKLE

New title thread?

M

I heard a figure of €2 million mentioned to prepare and sink the reef ship, apparently the area should make that back in 2 years in additional visitors. I'm guessing there's nobody you can sue if you sprain your ankle or break a nail diving on it , otherwise it will be a whoyte elephant in no time so to speak.

2 Million to strip and de contaminate it. A nice little earner. Making it back in two years sounds like the same calculation system the bankers used when they went to Brian Lenahan for a digout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,941 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

I would say they pulled that figure out of their arses, all right.

Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,154 ✭✭✭Jeff2

People say why nothing was done. I remember three brothers came to take take their younger brother out of the place.

I was the only one small enough to fit through the metal bars on the bedroom dormanitoy so I went to look.

The nun put up a good fight but they gave her a good hidden. It wasn't long and the lad was back again.

Hard to believe there address was baggot street Dublin.

Feiging unbelievable!

The Childrens' Hospital debacle has reached international proportions now.

I bet Joe won't touch this even with somebody else's bargepole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭CH3OH

It looks like a cross between de Bertie Bowl and the Ulysses 31's Odyssey.

Meanwhile de bold Joe brings 20 hour of nonstop misery to your wireless:

Post edited by Tow on

This should be a topic. It looks like there are no consequences to your wider actions in GAA land. He is a role model so including him is tacitly saying that speeding and beating the crap out of people is ok. I don’t bother with the GAA but watched the Sunday Game after the all Ireland and the GAA panel were practically creaming themselves going on about him. Great hurler maybe but you’ve teens and younger watching so cop on. Not once did one of the muppets say anything like him being a flawed character or otherwise reference his off pitch activities. The problems with off pitch GAA activities are growing. A good few have had gambling addictions and now violent attacks are creeping in. Hayes isn’t the only one with a recent case. They need to be trying to calm the fire before it grows but are ignoring it and dousing it every so often with petrol.

M

Friend of the show Harry Crosbie is due a call in. He was beaten every single day in Rockwell College no less and drove a truck at 15....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

The forever young festival going into liquidation....Joe will be all over that next week id say!

This is textbook GAA. Joe's replacement will be able to beat Joe's misery marathon with tales of gaa woe. Like the schools everyone knows about it, but nothing is done to stop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Is Joe due another break after enduring (inflicting?) almost 3 weeks of solid misery? The poor man must need counsellng by now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Too many festivals and chancers jumping on the bandwagon these days.

I recall when festivals were small, and free, and sometimes a bit crap, but because they were free you could take the chance and at the very least have a good time just sitting and chilling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

The Sunday night "Glenroe Fear", anudder week of corporal punishment and abuse

Post edited by dvcireland on

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,270 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Will we have a discussion about the government dropping their Hate Speech bill tomorrow on Liveline?