Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Harris Vs Trump 2024 US Presidential election - read the warning in the OP posted 18/09/24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,117 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

The Democrats lost in 2016 because they didn't want to listen or engage with people they saw as lower class or benethe them.

Hilary had a line up of Hollywood stars and wall st. moguls prising her but it didn't count for much on election day, when she lost states she didn't bother visiting because she took them for granted and they were just blue collar states.

Arrogance and aloofness is the key weakness of the modern democratic party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

The only arrogance I see in this election is from dopey d trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭Rawr

The wild card in a lot of states this time might be new registrations. Even before Swift making her announcment there were indications of a rise in new voters registering. New voters are usually younger voters, and with reproductive rights stupidly on the line this cycle a lot of those voters are likely to vote Dems & Harris. Many of these voters have not been polled and if they turn out and manage to vote there could be an interesting swing in places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,464 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

Except that is not the case with this campaign, is it?

Why are you bringing up 2016 in regards to the post you quoted about recent polls?

Nobody who had been paying attention would have expected a bounce after the DNC. I am surprised she hasn't had a bounce yet from the debates. There's a slim chance that it hasn't been picked up by the polls yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,752 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Except that the DNC listened to the people with regards to Biden and he stood down - a massive move that isn't being given the kudos to Biden it deserves.

Arrogance would have been to simply ignore that and push ahead.

So while there was no doubt arrogance involved in 2016 it is completely understandable. HC was one of the most qualified people to ever run for POTUS. Trump has zero experience, has never run for office, had never done anything for the country. He had no policies and seemed to make stuff up as he went along.

They completely misread the room in terms of what the US voters were looking for. Much like Brexit, the voters seemingly had had enough of experts and wanted to try something new.

Trump lost in 2020 and I can be pretty sure not once did it cross his mind that maybe it would be better for the party and country for him to step back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,832 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

Yeah that’s another head scratcher for me - how could young people (20s say) consider voting Trump - Shirley it’s that very generation who understand what it means to respect others and are intolerant of outdated misogynist and racist views in the main? Certainly more so than any other generation before them now in their 40s, 50s, 60s etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭Economics101

Interesting take by Pete Buttigieg on DJT's racist comments: he says it's strategic and nut just an out-of-control mad rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭Rawr

My guess (and this is a guess) is that the vast majority of 20-somthings out there who are registering are not likely to vote for Trump.

However, you will still get younger members of the Trump cult, possibly also Cryto-bro / Elon-bro types or others who the Evangelical churches managed to indoctinate earlier in life, who will vote Trump. But I suspect that we need to regard this particular kind of 20-something as being nearly as far-gone as the older MAGA-cultists, with the possible exception that they may have enough time in life to rejoin the rest of humanity in the Real World.

As an aside, with something only slightly related. There was a bit of a trend with some younger conservative women to promote the idea of being a "Trad Wife". You even had a couple of them generating a YouTube following around this. But sure enough with time, some of these young women started to learn the hard way why the rest of the world champions gender-equality. They had learned that giving up their agency was not a particualarly good idea, especially with the gamble of being married to someone who could potentially abuse them (which apparently ended up happening). Some of these women end up giving up being "Trad Wives". The labored point I guess I'm trying to make is that even younger Americans will vote against their own interests if they don't know any better, but there is still hope that they can one day learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,117 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Trump will likely get a majority of the Hispanic vote, certainly among men and a very big black male vote.

He will have a majority of the working class vote.

Pretending he is a waycist is just a way for the democrats to shore up their vote, now that they have alienated white blue collar workers.

The same will happen with the black and Hispanic vote, already is..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,800 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

"

Trump will likely get a majority of the Hispanic vote, certainly among men and a very big black male vote

"

Wishful thinking. From pew research:

Ye are not even close on Hispanics - you know, thems that's poisoning the blood of our country, or blacks, who somehow understand why Trump brings up Haitians ( a country he called a sh1thole not that long ago.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,695 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

The anti-union Trump has attracted blue collar workers??

Surejan.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

I would actually say it's far from certain that he gets the majority of the working class vote. He's made it pretty clear that he's anti union and unions aren't backing him because of it

In relation to the sarcasm about his racism, it's truly reaching to claim that he isn't racist at this stage. We've been exposed to enough of him to make a pretty good judgement on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,107 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Utter nonsense.

Nobody is merely pretending Trump is a racist. He is objectively coming out with racist drivel either him directly, his lying stooge VP, his campaigm team or his attack dogs like Loomer.

Multiple documented examples on the thread so feigning ignorance is no excuse.

Racist tweets about neighborhoods with pictures of a mob with no white faces.

Racist drivel about Haitians eating pets.

Racist drivel echoing Nazi language about poisoning the blood of the nation.

And if yoy dont think that is racism, that is immediately discrediting of any claims you make abour racism.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Redliketoast

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭hometruths

Except that the DNC listened to the people with regards to Biden and he stood down - a massive move that isn't being given the kudos to Biden it deserves.

Listened to the people?! This is a bit of a stretch.

The DNC only acted when the media turned, and there is no doubt Biden's selfless act was a result fo being told he had to jump or be pushed.

The people had been voicing their concerns about Biden for a long time, and were gaslit by the DNC. After the debate the media realised they could no longer pretend Biden was as "sharp as a tack", and they turned on him ruthlessly.

Once the media was no longer on board with gaslighting the people the DNC realised they had no option other than to stand Biden down.

The previous pretence is evidence of the arrogance, the idea that they should be basking in kudos over eventually righting the wrong is just further arrogance.

You find a comparison strange?

Woman gets raped……. blame her for what she is wearing

Guy gets shot………. blame him for what he said

Let alone the fact that they are still saying the Hitler rubbish. Kamala even mentioned the dictator stuff at the debate. The latest wannabe assassin repeated word for word the type of stuff the left has been spouting.

I agree. It was disgusting to say that. Its time that people realise that saying words can be dangerous. Maybe the FBI should start looking at a lot of dangerous speech that has been put out there. It is leading to Trump having had threats on his life twice in a few weeks. Twice. But im sure we will see "Donald Trump cant become president because he is a threat to our way of living" again by the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,195 ✭✭✭✭Penn

The bit where she's specifically talking about assault weapons.

https://www.nbcnews.com/politics/2020-election/live-blog/gun-safety-forum-live-updates-las-vegas-n1060911/ncrd1061751?canonicalCard=true

Harris reiterated her support for the mandatory buyback of assault weapons, joining Beto O’Rourke and fellow Sen. Cory Booker in backing the approach from the forum stage. 

“We have to have a buyback program, and I support a mandatory gun buyback program,” she said. “It’s got to be smart, we got to do it the right way. But there are 5 million [assault weapons] at least, some estimate as many as 10 million, and we’re going to have to have smart public policy that’s about taking those off the streets, but doing it the right way.”

Again, sensible gun control laws and restrictions, such as a mandatory buyback program for assault rifles, does not constitute "taking everyones guns away".

Very true. They are performing a lot better this time around. If Harris can keep the young vote and get them out votting, she should take it.

Did she say all guns or assault weapons? Do the latter actually serve a purpose other than to kill other humans?

It is talking about taking a lot of peoples guns away. Something she has distanced herself from as it wasnt helping her. One of many things she has changed her mind on.

Talking about "Sensible gun control laws and restrictions" is a superficial. What is Sensible gun control for you might be different for me and different again for someone else. It is a sentence that pretty much means "just think what you think we think, and then we can pretend thats what i mean".

Of course everyone wants "Sensible gun control laws and restrictions". But what is her definition of that? Nobody knows because her friends in ABC wont ask her a real question, and make her answer.

Oh hold on a sec and I'll use my hand gun to open my bottle of coke. I better shoot the door closed as well.

What other purpose does any gun have??

Guns have their uses in agriculture business for vermin control and hunting, as they're used here in a licensed condition. Now clarify your answer as you didn't answer the question the first time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭bog master

I spent time in America from mid teens to my twenties. During the 70's and early 80's the whole gun scene was all about hunting-not militias and self defence. The NRA shifted its stance to embrace Supreme Court ruling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,980 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Defence, as in handgun, unlike a semi-automatic rifle which is designed for battlefield use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,195 ✭✭✭✭Penn

"Sensible gun control laws" means that which ensures that people can still have guns within reason (ie. if you have a reason why you need to own an assault rifle rather than just a handgun or similar for home protection, then you can have an assault rifle), while also ensuring people are made to be more responsible and careful with their guns so other people can't access them (such as kids who take their parents guns to commit mass murder).

She hasn't said she's changed her mind on it. She's said both she and Tim Walz are indeed gun owners, and they're not coming to take everyone's guns away. It's neither as simplistic as "Take everyone's guns away" nor "Everyone gets guns! Best of luck everyone! Thoughts and prayers in advance!" There is a vast, vast middle ground between both extremes which could help to save lives. However it's something which would require a huge bipartisan effort to formulate and agree what could be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

But you yourself saw no issue with lying about a child being murdered by an illegal immigrant from Haiti. You don't seem to have an issue with Haitians being accused of stealing pets to eat them. You don't see an issue with Trump publicly attacking the woman he raped. You don't see an issue with Trump saying a general should be executed. You don't consider any of that behavior to be remotely threatening to a functioning democracy. You can't even accept that the man is racist...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,107 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

In the video you linked, she talks about assault guns in the clip - true or false?
    She is talking about taking a lot of guns away, specific guns.
    She is not talking about taking guns away from everyone.

You are familiar with the content of the video since you linked it, and you have twisted its meaning and deliberately misrepresented its contents now by shifting the goalposts of your claim.

Remember this is the claim you tried to challenge with your link:

Harris has never suggested taking everyone's guns away. 

Objectively, that is not what the the video clip you linked says, so that's entirely self discrediting of the false position you presented earlier on the thread.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,233 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Its funny that the Democrats say Trump is a threat to Democracy.

They and so many International players are so afraid of an emboldened Trump with no next election cycle cycle to concern himself with.

Democracy is a myth, there is a modicum of choice, both parties are supposed to field presidential candidates, both of which are acceptable to the international order.

Trump is the exception to this and its why so many people are desperately trying to undermine him.