Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Budget

• 01-10-2024 1:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,651 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone hear any details about the budget?

The speech talked about bringing in something that might allow for incoming smoothing for tax treatment. Said it would need more investigation.

I also heard him saying he was extending the 6 years for Ag reflief, but he wasn't clear whether he meant that the 6 years would continue as a condition for the future, or whether it was going to a higher number of years (hopefully the latter)

Also mentioned regarding land tax that lads who had land rezoned could apply next year to have the zoning changed ….. which wasn't exactly what was being looked for.

Also some mentions of extending reliefs to company structures.

Anyone hear anything else?

Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Fags €18.05 for 20 from midnight tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭leoch

the the diesels get a touch ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,036 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

College fees reduced by €1000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,796 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Diesel and petrol up 2c/l. Carbon tax joke stuff. Most expensive and most taxed diesel in the EU now. Well done to all involved.

Ag. relief extended but in order to try stop rich lads buying land for tax purposes, the 6 year active farmer test is being extended to not only the buyer/leaser but to the seller/leasee too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,651 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I wonder how effective it will be in reality?

Will we just get wealthy hoarders applying for flock numbers and running a few sheep across their investment?

I'm not sure the 6 year test could run the same way. You could have an elderly relative who hasn't been actively farming the land themselves for the past few years. Especially if they are in a home etc. Wonder if it would have to be that they have to have been active for 6 years within the last X years for example

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭memorystick

Nothing for farmers I take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Danny healy ray

how would there be with the worst minster of agriculture since the foundation of the state

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,014 ✭✭✭enricoh

Cant believe they didn't knock the vat back for hospitality to 9%

Gonna be a long winter for pubs, restaurants etc many of who didn't have a great summer with less tourists about.

Honestly think the government couldn't care less about small businesses at this stage. Must be no votes in it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Suckler

But that get's said about near enough every one of them….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭epfff

He is no Creed. He has to take the prize for worst ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭grange mac

I see on agriland forgotten farmers have been allocated 5m...So 5000 farmers may get 1000 each.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭148multi

Who was it said charlie never had an original idea in his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Danny healy ray

3rd choice agri minister what would you expect refrigerated bulk milk tank been classed as mobile was the last straw for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

what is it currently? Is it 13%? It’s hardly make or break is it, €13 in a 1000. If that is the difference between a place staying opened or closing it’s hardly the vat increase that’s deciding it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Aravo

If they tackled rising insurance costs and claims that would assist every business excluding the greedy legal profession and soft handout judges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,589 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Maybe if they passed on the vat reduction to customers like they were meant to previously, instead of pocketing it, I'd have more sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

You’re right, bad maths. If a pub is making 100k a year then it’s an extra 4.5k, or if only making 25k profit it’s €1125 (I think my maths is correct this time).
    it’s hardly enough to close a place

Bar the old country pubs, the rest are well able to charge when they see fit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭baxterooneydoody

You have to be joking, the hotels and pubs in demand are price gouging, all they did the last time it was 9 percent was put the extra money down their pocket

They have dropped/are dropping the levy from insurance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,772 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Usual Budget Day BS - a few euros scattered among the peasants ahead of election, while nothing that will actually make a difference to the cost of living here like reforming/properly regulating the electricity, construction,legal, insurance etc, sectors is ever done🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭amacca

Yep....that's exactly what they should be arguing for and if people had sense they would support them too

Had quoted the post about the forgotten farmers thing here but for some reason it didn't show

For utter **** sake

I'd like to shove it up their holes if that's what it amounts to

After all the hoopla and bolox....I totted up a massive potential loss due to the way things were set up here incl the previous retirement scheme terms/conditions

Have a massively dim view of the way this situation came about and now if this if true is effectively laughing in people's faces afaic

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Aravo

Motor insurance only I'm afraid. Motor insurance levy going from 1% to 0%, will make little to no difference with rising insurance premiums that will outstrip the levy reduction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,014 ✭✭✭enricoh

Fair enough hotels are gouging, but government have taken 40% of beds for refugees so whoever is left has no competition. They can jump into refugees in the morning if punters dry up.

Restaurants and pubs in the main are having a tough time in my opinion. N it's mainly down to extra regulations, duties ,taxes etc the government has lobbed on.

I wouldn't fancy running a gastro pub these days with 20-30 staff, fair play to those who do

Food & Beverage industry is reaping what it sowed in a lot of cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭QA1

supposedly 3500 of us that €1428 the same as about €1190 in 08 stick it where the sun don’t Brendan smith a ff td cost me 15000 installation aid in 08 when money was tight and sfp money as well

I’d say it cost more than €5 m to dream up this scheme because according to Charlie they have been working really hard to for years on finding a solution there is not many forgotten farmers why did he ever listen what will Macra and ifa do now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭148multi

The last agriculture minister to have a pair of b@!$ Was Mary Coughlin, at least she'd tell you to f**k off.

What did they give to social welfare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭older by the day

Well thankfully we have michael Collins and his rural TDs in the independent party to vote for.

Ye have no excuse, the bigger parties have clearly no respect for you. The biggest surplus in irish history and not one new scheme to help rural Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,304 ✭✭✭Grueller

Yet we hear that the shinners will finish us. FF/G have that job well started.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Is there any reason the Apple billions wasn't earmarked for a big ticket item for the country, be it offshore wind at a scale never seen before or the like.

Something like Ardnacrusha was in its time, something tangible that at least the idea sounded "bigger" than normal day to day spending.

Look what Microsoft did buying 3 mile Island in the US it might not be right but its shows what can be done in terms of securing the future and not betting so much on the interconnector like we are currently.

At least they've stepped up and formed a party. Too many independents previously promising things they could never do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭older by the day

Very true, I would be hoping for a FF FG IND party government.

Probably ff and fg will stick together for the next while, they seem to pull away well. Usually before an election they would be already shuffling for position, and trying to deferentiate themselves

They are all cretins as far as I'm concerned and no need for any of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Tileman

and what’s your plan for ruling the country.
    everyone for themselves or a dictator.

The democracy we have is the foundation of society. Not perfect by any means but prefer it to Chinese or Russian rule

The civil service its them who do most of it anyway

9 million euro being allocated forpouches for mobile phones in secondary schools. Wtf

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

While hotels charge e3.50 for 200cc bottles of mineral I have no sympathy.

Yep...total and utter nonsense...its not that I don't agree with the idea that phones/tech/social media etc can be detrimental to students/educational outcomes (they can also sometimes be beneficial)

It's the idea that sticking them in pouches is going to solve any real problems and spending 9 million on it somehow isn't a misguided idea at best is amusing.

Shows you the calibre of loon making decisions at the top...I assume its a norma brainwave that must not be questioned…or else a civil service/dept brainfart.

I heard on the radio that 9 million equates to €246 per student. They must be savage pouches. Whatever happened to telling students they aren't allowed them and confiscate them if found with one?

No phones allowed in our school for over a year now. Works well. No need for pouches

In a lot of places telling students what to do is becoming a thing of the past

It's the students telling you or their parents what to do

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,987 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Crazy money to essentially generate a headline and to appear to be doing something about “them phones”.

What politically well-connected company will get the €9m?

Will the material used for the pouch be recyclable? Or will it be more consumer plastic from China?

Every minister seems to spending money like a teenager at the ploughing.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users Posts: 9 dconline

I think that person on the radio should have spent less time on their phone while in school. The CSO states the number of students in secondary school last year stood at 406,392, 9M/406,392=22.14. That's a grand total of €22.14 per student its hardly braking the bank.

That would only mean 2.14 per student for the physical pouches and 20 quid per student on training the teachers on how to use them

It seems to be fashionable with ministers to be seen to have done something...anything

Regardless of what merit or value that something has...

A succession of ministers making a balls of things that seemingly weren't working half as badly then as they are after their influence...

Our political system rewards/incentivises the wrong things and thus leads to sub par outcomes imo and its frequently change for the sake of change....rather than change that benefits all "stakeholders"

I have no doubt the majority of public representatives work hard, in fact I think they probably work extremely hard.....but like a lot of jobs that doesn't mean they are being effective...they are probably too inundated with shite like so many other roles nowadays to actually do the job they should be doing or too busy ensuring they don't get shafted at election time to do the right thing etc…in fact I'd say in many cases doing the right thing probably leads to not being elected

they are probably too inundated with shite like so many other roles nowadays to actually do the job they should be doing or too busy ensuring they don't get shafted at election time to do the right thing etc…in fact I'd say in many cases doing the right thing probably leads to not being elected

This. The electorate have no appetite for the 'right thing' and only what they can instantly gain. We get the politicians we deserve because of our short sightedness.