Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda App unsuccessful after 3 year wait

• 17-01-2025 6:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

I applied three years ago to the Garda Trainee campaign, I did extremely well in all stages placing in batch 1 throughout the process. However, when my application went into the vetting stage it stalled. I enquired several times since I finished all elements but I was always met with "suitability checks are ongoing" or " we are waiting for one thing back".

For the first year after I didn't go on holidays, I kept up training with a PT, continued with my voluntary work whilst also working and I returned to education while waiting to upskill in a degree that would stand to me in the job. I did this because I was told as I'd done so well I could get an offer any day and I should be ready. I really had my heart sat on joining the Guards it's the only time in my life I was sure about what I wanted.

Even to this day, I've kept up my fitness levels etc while I don't train specifically for their fitness tests as I had it done. I just kept improving my strength and fitness.

I get on well in everything I'm doing, I play sports and I'm active in my community but yet I received and email three years after applying saying my application is unsuccessful and thanks for the interest in An Garda Siochana.

I just think this is an absolute joke to have my application so long and not even give me a proper reason as to why I failed.

I have no convictions or any dealings with the guards in my past, I've never lived abroad or anything like that.

I was asked about certain people I'm related to in interviews but I don't know them. I have a big family so I just said it straight out I've no relationship to them. I wouldn't be able to point them out if I saw them! I feel like that's what is being held against me. Even though I did ask in my meeting with the Superintendent about it, he reassured me that I would be assessed on my merit and other people's dealings with them wouldn't be held against me.

I feel like such an eejit wasting so much time and money on it now. After three years waiting, I don't even think it's worth my while reapplying only to prob get the same outcome. I'm in my thirties now.

I read this in their FAQ's section

"Am I guaranteed an appointment if I pass the recruitment process? If you are successful in all elements of the selection and appointments processes, then you will be admitted to the Garda College as a Garda Trainee. Garda Trainees are attested as Members of An Garda Síochána following successful completion of Phase 1 Foundation Training."

I haven't even been told what I didn't pass!

Has anyone in this position appealed or asked for a review? If anything, I'd like to know why or what the decision was based on because I am someone that strives to do better and if it's something I can improve on I will but if it based on extended family there's absolutely nothing I can do about it.

Please don't reply with negative comments, I really don't need them. If you've been through the process and know a bit about it, I'd be grateful for some insight.

Post edited by Big Bag of Chips on

I got rejected also this week. I am from the 2023 competition. They gave me no option to appeal in the rejection email so I emailed asking for an appeal and a full review.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 SkyBoy69

Sorry to hear about this fellas, I fear I am going to receive a similar email too, 2023 competition, been fed the same "Suitability Checks" story. I've put in a complaint but they won't even acknowledge it, such a shame how people are treated from a government organisation. Its shocking really considering the sacrifice and commitment that comes with the position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Depotdoc

sorry to hear mate, all I can say is that you should 100% appeal - you have nothing to lose. I’ve heard of a good few who have appealed and got in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 irishgangsta

I'm so sorry that you're going through the same thing. After a 2 year long process, this has also just happened to me. I too had my heart set on it and had no doubt that I was joining. The superintendent sounded positive during my interview as well. I was getting worried as it had been 6 months since my final interview but I kept reassuring myself.

Like you, the only reason I can think of is the family members they asked me about during my interview. I thought I put my foot in it by saying that they are happy for me to join "regardless of their past".

I know they aren't meant to judge you by your family's records but I can't help but wonder?

I have asked for feedback twice but haven't heard back yet. I didn't think to appeal it. How do I go about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Tra112

I’m so sorry to hear this has happened to you, you should definitely appeal it. What have you got to lose? You have waited this long..

Did you disclose on your vetting form about your relatives and if they had a run in with the law as such on it? Hope you don’t me asking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭pale rider

When you shake the family branches in the vetting process many times something falls out.

I’m not sure an appeal ( if there is one ) will change the history of family members past activities that raised concerns.

Agree it’s gutting, the adage you are not your brothers keeper comes to mind.

I’m very sorry this has not worked out, If it were me I think a meeting with the Super you met might help somewhat although they may not have an awareness of the rational for the decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 irishgangsta

Did you get a reply? Was it the appointments email you contacted?