Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

⚠️ Storm Éowyn - Fri 24.01.25 (**Please read Mod Instruction in OP.**)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Rain from the West

Seems to be copying the latest GFS a bit with a core of very strong winds from Galway into the midlands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

An RTE documentary on the 175th anniversary of the Night of the Big Wind, 2014. Eddie Lenihan blames the fairies.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Lucylou35

Why did I read that (in my head) in the voice of Morgan Freeman!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

Harmonies further South, worst winds across Kerry and Cork!!

Also Jma further South

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,026 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Feck, looks like we'll miss it and France will get all the fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭ascophyllum

2 days of continuous southerly corrections would suit me down to the ground. Tomorrow's model runs some of the most important we'll ever see here. The grim side to an event like this is that the potential for loss of life is quite high. Trees falling the greatest risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Donegal Ken

Tomorrow morning will definitely see a nationwide orange warning issued and Amber for Northern Ireland. I don't think they will hold of until Thursday to issue red warnings especially with what we are looking at. Red warnings will follow tomorrow for some parts of the west and northwest I think. There will be close contact between Met Eireann and the UK Met Office over the last few hours and days ahead. Met office UK referred to Ireland alot in there update this evening also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Major Dad

Mmm - this is interesting.I’m in Canada this week in business. Today in Montreal was probably the coldest I’ve ever experienced…-18C and with wind chill factor it was -27C. And I fly home from Toronto on Thursday night, supposedly arriving Dublin around 5am Friday morning. Could get home quicker due to the wind, but will we be able to land?

Met Eireann have already stated they will issue warnings at around 11am. That will give them ample time to process the overnight runs. I think a Nationwide red is more likely but obviously depends on the 0z runs. What's even more likely is that NI will go red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,773 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I normally don’t worry that much but the way some of the posters who know what they are looking at, ye sound worried, and cork might in the frame for a bit of a battering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭WolfeEire
    Clare (430ft asl)

A summary of the latest output from the primary weather models for Storm Eowyn:

• There is concensus for the storm system to track northeasterly toward the northwest coast of Mayo between 4am and 7am on Friday morning.
    • The strongest winds will be immediately to the south of the storm centre as it tracks northeast. However, the windfield will be large which means the potential for disruption pertains to the entire island of Ireland.
    • The UKV and ICON models brings the storm centre over land in the NW Mayo and Donegal
    • The northeasterly progress of the storm system on the ECM is much slower than on other models, which would result in a longer period of sustained winds.
    • The ICON clears much quicker than any other model later Friday AM. In fact, it can't wait to get of here after breakfast time on Friday.

I will not be going into likely max wind mean or gust speeds as they differ from model to model, and there is enough colourful charts being shared elsewhere without more being posted to add to the confusion.

Right now it's about determining the likely track and depth of the storm.

The deep cold in the deep south of the USA is serving to fire up the jetstream which is energised as it wraps are around the cold airmass and is flung like a slingshot across the Atlantic. Storm Eowyn is only just forming in the Gulf of Mexico (or Gulf of America if you prefer...) as a shortwave before undergoing rapid cyclogensis later tomorrow night and through Thursday. We will get a clearer idea of expected wind speeds this time tomorrow and during Thursday.

Met Éireann says "Western and northwestern counties are likely to see status orange wind warnings as a minimum."

Weather warnings are likely to be issued during Wednesday.

Keep an eye on Met.ie for the most accurate and up to date information.

www.x.com/wolfeeire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭dairyedge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,800 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

MO predicting 150kph gusts in Mayo and 140kph in Galway, only 60kph sustained winds though, all on friday AM.

Dublin much weaker at 105kph gusts and 45kph sustained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Donegal Ken

Don't think the will go red nationwide tomorrow morning straight away but some areas will go red. They may hold of until the later runs before thinking about other areas.

Low centre out to the West.

Winds impacting Kerry & Cork alright (to start with).

would I be right in thinking red warnings may be issued in part because of the time the storm will be hitting the country, which is early Friday morning.

The storm warrants red on its own merit. The timing does indeed add to its seriousness. I would think the Taoiseach will appeal to everyone to take shelter until about lunchtime Friday!

sorry I should’ve said that I know there are levels of wind a storm has to reach for a red warnings. I was just asking would the time play any part in that. Your post seems to suggest that it might.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 12,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

Comment above that ARPEGE now like the GFS. Big shift from ARPEGE and starting to see a similar track now and intensity to the other bunch of models that are aligning more run by run and keeping those crazy high wind speeds. ECM now probably showing lower wind speeds but I suspect it will be higher on the 18Z.

Starting to think that many counties will possibly see red warnings if not all at this stage for a time, parts of the S and SE might escape the worst of it but still gusting over 110 to 120km/h.

Looks like we are going to see widespread 120 to 130 km/h or 140 km/h. Higher all up along the counties in the Atlantic Seaboard, possibly seeing 130 to 150 km/h and well inland at that, higher again along coastal fringes, possibly 140 to 160km/h or will we see more out on the headlands? and could we see inland counties like the midlands or possibly the Northern half of the country get 130 to 140 km/h also ?

Unprecedented charts in modern times I would think. I would expect major announcements tomorrow morning and a big media campaign to literally batten down the hatches. Will give just less than two days to try to make places as safe as possible especially construction sites, farms, unsound structures etc. A huge mobilization coming up from the energy suppliers, could easily see over 500,000 without power after this, maybe something like 800,000 or so. Good time to fill up the cars and stock up on energy/ food essentials for a few days, could take awhile to clear the roads into the weekend, power outages could take up to a week or more to restore in places . This could catch out many further inland especially high sided vehicles, if people can stay in to let it pass they should, looks like a very dangerous storm.

I can still hear the shriek and howl from the wind during Darwin would expect I will hear it again early Fri morning here in Kerry.

Trump comes in and suddenly we have great storms again, not a coincidence. He signed an executive order yesterday to that affect, coming from the gulf of America no less. American made, and we’ll pay for it.

Anyway let’s hope there are downgrade. I don’t want them for snow but wind I do. I hate wind storms.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

I want to wake up in the morning and the models have shifted this storm 800km to the south.

Five to midnight forecast on RTE Radio 1 coming up.

Clare (430ft asl)

Harmonie 21z, just out. For those wanting to leave the South out of the red warnings, think again

The forecaster used the term "powerful winds" for Friday. First time I've honestly heard that term used in an ME forecast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭esposito

Matthew Martin aka Weathercheck on boards before he joined Met Éireann!

Good old Matty M, of course who used to be a regular here before he went Pro. I'm sure he still reads our forum on the qt.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 12,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

ECM 18Z stronger than earlier runs and the SW getting the big hit first and then moving up along the W and NW with the strongest winds. Looks very strong along the S and SE also for a time. Showing winds of 120 to 130 km/h sweeping in over the entire country .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Thorny Queen

Oh this sounds like a nasty one altogether. Thanks for the heads one everyone...I'm going to do a good top up shop in the morning. Hoping everyone will be safe and well. Our weather has been barmy recently- snow one week, mild spring like weather the next week, severe storm the next week. Mad.

That's a crazy upgrade from one of the most trusted models in meteorology. Folks that's a close down Ireland and pray run!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Murt2024

Oh no i'm petrified, gonna buy a generator tomorrow and a few extra slice pans. I'm so scared.

Grim charts M58. If the ECM is still churning this out this time tomorrow night, along with the higher res models, it's very worrying tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

JS, great reporting by you on the models but might I suggest you sound a little less enthusiastic about “upgrades” and about this possibly hitting the southwest? This thing is highly likely to kill people, an “upgrade” would be reduced wind speeds or it buggering off to either France or Rockall imho. Appreciate you don’t make the weather, but you get the point. Otherwise, as I said, well done on seeing how dangerous this thing was / is from far out (as obviously did a good few others, particularly Meteorite who opened the thread).

Clare (430ft asl)

Storm Eowyn will be born in the early hours of Wednesday morning as it evolves from a shortwave that develops off the the SE USA coast.

The system will then undergo rapid cyclogenesis (fast and intensive development) in the mid-Atlantic tomorrow night and into Thursday. The system will take 48 hours to travel over 3,500 miles across the Atlantic toward Ireland and Britain.

Additional systems will likely follow later in the weekend and into next week. As Friday's storm is far from nailed down, it would be pointless at this stage to mention specifics about follow-up systems.

www.x.com/wolfeeire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,508 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Yeah i like my weather events but this would cause widespread damage and disruption. Anyway we'll see what later today brings.

We had a nationwide RED for Ophelia in 2017, however I'd say only the bottom third of the country merited red, the rest orange. It was more the unprecedented nature of that October storm.

I think this is way beyond Ophelia, I'd expect a national Red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭sicknotexi

It's incredible they can track these storms so far out really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭Dazler97

where could I buy a generator , I might just get one , although I’ve never used 1 before

Hate storms with a passion and people that like them. Went from 1998 to Darwin without anyone to mention/remember and been without power for 12 nights since. People need to organise how to cook and heat if without fireplace and fill any containers with water (milk cartons) etc and have power banks so you can see when power might be restored or report. Power banks are like 20-30 euros. Generator’s are luxury unless milking cows or old people. Climate is F. People that have to go out everyday already know that. Look at last summer with a wind that would cut you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,508 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Ophelia was certainly windy alright but Darwin for about an hour was the worst I ever saw in north cork anyway. The Christmas eve storm of 97 was very bad too here.

Clare (430ft asl)

Aside from the likely incredibly strong wind speeds on Friday morning and a very wide windfield, I do believe that them coinciding with morning rush hour and people moving about will carry added weight for Met Éireann when considering what Alerts will be put in place.

By lunchtime tomorrow, I think every media outlet in the country will have this storm as the lead story.

The recent cold spell was one of the greatest misinformation weather episodes that I can remember because most people did not actually read what Met Eireann were saying and, instead, were caught up with clickbait sites posting colourful snow charts with over the top headlines. Make https://www.met.ie your primary source or if you are in Northern Ireland, refer to https://www.metoffice.gov.uk/

If you have a problem with ME, stick it in the ME thread.

www.x.com/wolfeeire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭mcburns07

All 3 were whoppers for south Cork. Ophelia stands out for the no of trees taken down, as you said it being early October contributed to that. The sustained wind speeds in Darwin were something else, just a relentless howl for a few hours.

I agree, the winds never really penetrated that far inland but there was some unfortunate loss of life if memory serves me correct. The eye actually passed over here, calm as could be and parts of the Northern half of the country it was very light if nonexistent. It just ran out of steam when it hit land. this is a different beast, deepening, moving at pace and the angle couldn't be more perfect in meteorological sense for bring those high winds inland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,609 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Trump's Republicans didn't take it from the ground so. They were blaming the LA fire chief for the fires. I recall a horse getting similar justice in a Continental court in the Middle Ages.

So calm out there tonight that its just plain worrying. When combined with these charts. I'm expecting a Here be Monsters chart on the 9 O'Clock tomorrow night. It will need Joanna Donnelly for the high drama.

Right. I always thought Ophelia was ye're big one. Darwin was unreal on the Laois\Kilkenny border too. Ophelia was run of the mill for my location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭JohnySwan

And I've never experienced anything like Ophelia, down the road in East Cork. I thought our windows were gone at one stage, you could see them starting to buckle.