Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryanair have really ramped up charging people for bags that "don't fit"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,931 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

So what's a decent bag that'll actually fit in the sizers, im a bit complacent as I've never been pulled despite usually having a large backpack.

🙈🙉🙊

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 6,998 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

This is going to catch some amount of people out with the upcoming summer season....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭boardsdotie44

I assume the football is in the UK, if so then you dont need to fly ryanair?

In fairness most countries are serviced other than by ryanair, if going business can you just get the company to fork out for check in baggage!

If ryanair services a country / city that no other airline does, why not complain about other airlines not serving that destination lol

Still doesnt explain why my comment is not relevant to the thread, I assume it doesnt fit the complaining narrative therefore not relevant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭Feisar

What do you be bringing with you, the kitchen sink!?!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

A night away for a football match definitely doesn't require a case, spare pair of socks, jocks and a new t-shirt/shirt for the next day and you'll be grand, toothbrush, toothpaste and some small deo/aftershave take up no space at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

about flippin time. I’m fed up of folk trying to take everything barcthe kitchen sink on board. Beating bags in to make them fit and jamming up the whole place. We all know the rules

I don't think anyone is against the pisstakers who turn up with massive bags, it's the fact 'if it fits in the crate it flies' no longer applies (without additional fees).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,316 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

I see Penneys now selling cabin bags with removal wheels 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,158 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

I saw similar in Dealz on my recent trip to Dublin, as well as a massive load of "underseat" sized bags.

By way of additional anecdotes, on my outbound flight (ex Basel, no size crates in view, as far as I could see), I heard my neighbour mention to her travel companion that she'd been caught for the 60€ supplementary charge on a previous flight, so she was travelling extra-light on this one; and on my return flight (ex Dublin) two lads ahead of me on the stairs out to the plane stopped and called back to someone else in their party - held up at the boarding gate - that they had spare capacity in their bags if she needed it …

Made the paper but a ridiculous response from the airline.

Has Ryanair started penalising people with carry-on luggage?

https://www.irishtimes.com/your-money/2025/04/03/has-ryanair-started-penalising-people-with-carry-on-luggage-no-says-ryanair-yes-say-our-readers/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭TerrieBootson

Likely they have started enforcing what they used to let slide a lot of the time. For a customer to say they'd used the bag for 10 years without problem does not mean it was previously within the size range. We can probably thank the ones who have full rucksacks as a "small bag" often in addition to the cabin bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,082 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Heading away on holiday this summer and in light of reading this thread I've decided not to use the same bag I've been using for the last 10+ years, which is outside of the limits. Went onto Amazon and bought what appears to be the most popular bag. Hoping it shouldn't be an issue. There's a fair size difference though between it and what I had been using.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,758 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

the old saying, fail to prepare, prepare to fail.. lll always have a spare pair of jeans extra tshirts a full change of clothing, rain jacket etc…. You’ll be in the elements getting to and from the ground for a time and at the ground…more prudent then leaving yourself short but hey, everyone is different..

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Going by the article this isn't the case. The article says that people are having to pay because whilst their bag fits in the sizer but it is not behind the new sticker.

“On the outbound flight, my cabin bag was checked and accepted. On the return flight, I was charged a whopping £75 for the same bag, even though it fit in the sizer again,” she said.“Apparently, it did not sit behind a new sticker,” she continued.

Ryanair are saying that if it fits in the sizer then there is no extra charge.

New stickers have been fitted to the front and sides of our sizers to show the exact permitted dimensions of our two bag sizes (40 x 20 x 25cm) and (55 x 40 x 20cm). These stickers show that our permitted dimensions are smaller than our sizers. Our sizers are, therefore, bigger than our permitted/agreed bag sizes. Only bags that do not fit within our sizers (and so considerably exceed our agreed bag sizes) get charged for.

“Our bag policy is simple: if it fits in our bag sizer (which is bigger than our agreed dimensions), it gets on free of charge. If it doesn’t fit within our sizers, it will be charged. There has been no change in this policy for many years, so ‘what you have been told’ is false.”

According to Ryanair there is no change and the sticker is just to highlight the correct dimensions. But as long as it fits the sizer there is no charge. According to the passengers, the bags do fit the sizers but they are still being charged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

More than likely as has had with others, the wheels or an outside pocket has gone over the dimensions of the sizer which puts it outside of the allowed dimensions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,175 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

I would fly with Ryanair maybe 8-12 times a year… including 7 one way flights already this year….

Received the below email today for an upcoming flight, and had a look back and it's the first 'Bring the Right Bag' email I've ever received….. So it appears they are really going after this (additional revenue) now… and these types of emails are 'we warned you' notices tp shut down any arguments at the gates…

Screenshot 2025-04-04 at 14.58.13.png Screenshot 2025-04-04 at 14.58.27.png Screenshot 2025-04-04 at 14.58.36.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,278 ✭✭✭gipi

I got that email in advance of both of my Ryanair flights this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,175 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Thats weird as I took 4 separately booked flights over Paddy's weekend and didn't get the mail once!!

Same for a return trip back in February!

Yeah that's how I read it, they are saying nothing has changed but they are absolutely charging people whose bags fit in the crate (but where wheels stick over the sticker line).

I fly with them 12-15 times a year, I can live by the rules, as long as they are clear.

I have a bag that fits within the stickers so will use that, technically my older bag fits in the crate though…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Some clever people online have resorted to wearing fishing type jackets with loads of pockets. Reckon that's the way to go and don't bring a bag at all.

For a night or weekend maybe, if you're going for longer or work probably not.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,877 ✭✭✭✭elperello

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,366 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

That would be a pain in arse going to Spain in the summer. Why not bring a small underseat bag, its free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭The Davestator

They do. Small underneath bag and a jacket stuffed with more stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭JIdontknow

Last time I flew a person had their bag in the tray for security. Because of the wheels it didn't lie flat in the tray, was at a slight angle (was minimal, I have seen much worse go through) as the wheel caught the side of the tray. The worker said they couldn't x ray as it wouldn't fit, and it would have to go back and be checked in. Supervisor was called over who wasn't any way sympathetic either…

That's pure nonsense. Sure you don't have to put a bag into a tray at all. Airport security don't tell passengers to check in luggage. None of this happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭JIdontknow

It did happen, I was standing right behind the person!! It may have been because of the new machines they used, it was the security section to the left (T1 Dublin Airport). But don't let that stop you deciding otherwise.

It didn't happen because it didn't fit flat in a tray and it didn't happen because the wheels meant it was at an angle.

The only reason it could possibly have happened is that the case itself was too big for the xray machine. And if that was the case then it's far too big for carry on anyway

Post edited by suvigirl on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,664 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Why cant people just follow the rules of a service/product they are purchasing? There is plenty of things worth moaning about in life but Ryanair isn't one. I've never been stung or scammed by Ryanair, all I've enjoyed is cheap largely on time travel around Europe.

" I'll never travel with them again" - fine pay double to Aer Lingus

"Michael o Leary is a thief" - he's not hes an incredibly astute CEO