Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Holdem Only Cash Game tonight?

• 02-12-2004 3:49pm
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Is this going to happen? Anyone interested? I'd say we'd easily get enough for a game but was wondering if anyone else is specifically coming in for it...

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

I'll be in playing SNG's from early enough. I'd be tempted at the €50 HE only table but there's very little dead money available unless Luke can encourage freeroll players to get involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

id be fairly sure itll go ahead numbers have been steady the last few weeks and there will be plenty of dead money if luke and tom play I should be in for a while anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

bohsman wrote:
    id be fairly sure itll go ahead numbers have been steady the last few weeks and there will be plenty of dead money if luke and tom play I should be in for a while anyway
    This is very true. "Very young! Very Clevah!!"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

Yes it's going ahead tonight. we will have the numbers, so don't worry about that. see you all there this evening.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Yeah I'll be in just after 10. Marq, if you are in from early can you pop me on the list if it gets busy.

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭dirkey_wynne

Am half tempted to go in too, though not sure as have early start to a busy day tomorrow. Reckon it'll kick off by 10? If so i could get a couple of hours in and still be home early ish.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Fun game. Again, the best cash game in there for both play and enjoyment. (Sweet cards last night for me too!). what time did it finish up? I didnt make it into work on time (theres a *shock*) so I should have stayed and played :(

DeV.

I cashed out around 2 with a healthy old profit thanks to a couple of big hands against charlie, the game was still in full flow by then. Good craic at the table all right, could have done with a fishie or two though....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Juan Pablo wrote:
    I cashed out around 2 with a healthy old profit thanks to a couple of big hands against charlie, the game was still in full flow by then. Good craic at the table all right, could have done with a fishie or two though....

Im staying away from cash games at the mo JP so you can put that rod in storage ;)

Were you over at the second holdem table after the freeroll? Good to see two tables going, the holdem only seems to have taken off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Whats the chance of getting a HE-only game on Friday nights as well... I know there's usually three 50 HE/O tables going, but there should be a demand for players who don't like the omaha swings (i.e. me at the moment, working off a really tight bankroll).

And there's always a few maniacs knocking around on Fridays, so there should be some spare dollars up for grabs.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Ask Luke any night of the week and he'll stick up a list for Hold'em only.

Also while more money changes hands over time in Omaha, if you ask any of the staff or serious players in there they'll tell you that its when two monster Holdem hands collide that someone's stack gets seriously fooked. In omaha I'd consider dropping the third nuts to a big bet (say a Q-high flush), in Holdem its a lot less likely I would drop it so when you DO get two Holdem hands close to the nuts you'll tend to find both tanks going in imho...

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Juan Pablo wrote:
    Were you over at the second holdem table after the freeroll? Good to see two tables going, the holdem only seems to have taken off.

No, went home as had work early. The freeroll was good fun apart from after the break we got a guy who wanted to deal himself and the rest of the table wanted the guy dealing to keep dealing. He was drunk and was a pain for 3 or 4 hands then went bust.

Dev seemed well up when I was heading. So the HEO game seems popular. Good call Oscar.

I floped a cruel house on Samsons head and runner runnered a crazy flush (which Marq remarkably got away from despite hiting two pair on the river!), I dont want to even reconsider what I was trying to do in that hand! *shakes head*
    It was another "44" type hand (for those who were in Muso's that particular night!) :)
    Dave also came off the worse against my luck when I called looking for a diamond and got two!
    I didnt play that many hands last night and I was lucky that I didnt really get walloped on any hand (though JP had a shot on that hand when he bet, Oscar went all in and I reraised, I was crapping myself as I figured he was ahead when he went in the tank!)

If I was going to pick a table to make money on, it sure wouldnt be that one, I was playing it pretty tight and patient so that I generally had the goods and luckily enough, the flops were kind to me.

DeV.

Only saw 3 PP all night, highest being jacks, (which I folded preflop!), so really had to get creative, hence the calling €15 raises with 45os (and hitting a said straight with). After doubling up with my KdQd I started getting real nice cash game hands, 78os, 56s and the like, ones that I find can really pay off but can be dropped with ease also. A bit like 9d4d Dev ;)

Please. Dont. All I can say in my defence is that I was on the button and it was only 2 to call. After that I decided I'd played rock tight long enough that it was time to have some fun...:rolleyes:

Come to think of it, I didnt get any pocket pairs last night... not one that I can recall, certainly nothing of the TT or better variety, but afaicr I didnt get a single PP.... which is weird when you consider I played for, what, 4 hours?? Ho hum...

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 377 ✭✭biteme

DeVore wrote:
    Come to think of it, I didnt get any pocket pairs last night... not one that I can recall, certainly nothing of the TT or better variety, but afaicr I didnt get a single PP.... which is weird when you consider I played for, what, 4 hours?? Ho hum...

DeV.

Don't talk to me about pocket pairs.. ;) Although the other high pocket pairs i got were paided off :) bar 10's which i decided limp with. (just didn't wanna waste money with em.) Ended slightly up by the end of the night after busting out to Tom when my Jacks hit trips and he got two diamonds when he only needed one. Game finished about 2.30 when there ended up only being three of us with money on the table.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

DeVore wrote:
    I floped a cruel house on Samsons head ...

Ah yes, such lovely memories. ;)
    I just don't think last night was my night at all, I should have copped on when my flopped sets were fúcked twice in fairly quick succession by Oscar.

I can't remember the last time I left a cash game without a penny. And there was me thinking it's just Omaha that is the cruel mistress!

You must have left up quite a few quid Tom?

I sat down with <100 (90 I think possibly 85) and left with 380 after being a bit silly with about 70 in order to have a bit of fun at the end.

I saw you get two sets whacked by the young and clever Mr Oscar and then I called your raise with KJ (ropey enough call but I wasnt too worried) and flop a house. I thought you had a pair but didnt think they were Q's. I was sooo all over the flop I didnt think I'd get another penny out of you and then you pushed all in ahead of me. I know that stomach-punched groan when someone turns over a fluked monster, I've made it myself and I hate that feeling...
    Same with Dave who looked like I'd kicked him in the goolies. (I'd hate to think anyone was walking away from that game not having the rent or anything!)

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 377 ✭✭biteme

DeVore wrote:
    Same with Dave who looked like I'd kicked him in the goolies. (I'd hate to think anyone was walking away from that game not having the rent or anything!)

DeV.
    Hehe , yah felt like that too. Hate that feeling when you hit your PP and you still get cracked. Was a fun table last night though.

On the other point, I hope that no one is sitting down with what they can't afford to be losing. Like ya it can hurt to lose the money but it's bad if ya can't eat because ya did :/

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

DeVore wrote:
    I'd hate to think anyone was walking away from that game not having the rent or anything

Well, as we all (should) know if you can't afford to lose it, you really should not sit down with it.
    Having said that, it's bread and water rations for me until pay-day.
    Anyone wanna lend me a few quid? ;)

I said something like that to Luke and Danielle one afternoon when we were playing a SNG. "People shouldnt play with money they cant afford to lose" and the pair of them cracked up laughing. According to Luke, "The whole casino industry is based on it!" which I guess is probably true though not many casinos would like to admit it.

I've only once played with money I couldnt afford to lose and since it was only a third of my rent anyway, I was equally fecked if I played or didnt! As it happens I won a fair bit but I'd never do it again, it affects your play far too much and scared-money is easily taken by the big stacks...

Personally I like money, who doesnt but I hate losing more then I miss the money. I cant stand to lose at games, the chips are just tokens in the game and I have a rule that if I look at my stack and think "thats an iPod/computer/weekend-away there" I get up and leave. Connecting it back to the real world makes me play timidly and badly.

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Well I free-rolled my way into this game via victory in an sn'g, mainly just to break my cash-game cherry. Played far too many hands for a stack my size and didn't last long. But at least I've a better idea of how pot limit works and that you're bound to get called by anybody.

I agree with DeV on the only play what you can afford to lose thing. I never do well when I've got that nagging voice in the back of my head.