Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are PC users Goths ?!!! :O

• 25-04-2001 2:29pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭

Looking at the post on "Top ten bands" i noticed that the 90% of the posts were all rock, Metal, grunge.
    Now dont get me wrong, i have all diff types of mates that like all diff types of music. But i just wanna know is there any hiphop peeps that look at these boards?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

My top fav bands are,
    1. The Beatnutz
    2. Swollen Members
    3. DJ.Shadow
    4. Blackalisious
    5. Rahzel
    6. Dialated peoples
    7. Dead Prez
    8. sugar Hill and most old skool hiphop
    9. ShapeShifters
    10. Most other HipHop once it has a good beat or has good scratching.

now most of the bands comming out like linkin park, Slip knot and LimpBizkit are all taking one of the Main parts of HipHop scratching!!! so you cant say hiphop is **** smile.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭whitetrash

yeah we can

I Live (in a dream world)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

The fact that 90% of people don't listen to Hip Hop, says alot about Hip Hop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I'm a goth.

And ****ing limp bizkit/linkin park/slipknot
    ALL suck...

Why'd ya bring that up?1

I don't like the pretext you use "Goth" in...
    Anyone who likes metal is therefor a goth?
    No way.

And do you actualy think goths listen to junk like limp-wristed...

Not like we go around wearing baggy jeans and addidas runners, are all 14 years old and wear hoodies...
    And Grunge???
    I'm sorry, but Goth and Grunge are quite far apart.

[This message has been edited by AngelWhore (edited 25-04-2001).]

• Registered Users Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by The FANJ:
    The fact that 90% of people don't listen to Hip Hop, says alot about Hip Hop.</font>

you sir, are a moron, just because some type of music is not popular does not mean its not good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭UNIFLU

Just a thought,

Those who dont tend to sway with the changes in popular 'tripe' music tend to have a better knowledge of music in general due to their diverse taste. Just because of the fact people may listen to grunge/rock/metal etc dont meant they are goths.

P.S. Angel.

Theres a two decent enough bands paying in Fibbers friday 4th, the first bad i know well as brother drums for them worth a look.

E.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭strat

uggh not another of these threads frown.gif

well anyway i like almost all types of music and have a very varied mp3 colelction
    i do prefer hip-hop and trip-hop with nightmares on wax 0wning my pants at the monent biggrin.gif

i have a tone of comedy mp3's, and seen as most of the music i listen to is on the pc does "comedy" count as a type of music ?? confused.giftongue.gifconfused.gif

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by UNIFLU:
    P.S. Angel.

Theres a two decent enough bands paying in Fibbers friday 4th, the first bad i know well as brother drums for them worth a look.

E.
    </font>

Thanks, I'd love to and all, but I live in Galway...
    Normaly I'd use ANY excuse to go to Dublin, but I'm saving up to go over to London. I'm going to see Rammstein in Concert.

Thanks for the info all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Chowmein

If 90% of people like Rock then 90% of people like good music smile.gif

Rage against The Machine are the best band ever!
    And limb bizkit and linkin park are fat ulgy **** sucking b*stards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭vac

*cough* hardhouse owns j00 all *cough*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 geekboie

Well done Angelwhore, I couldn't agree with you more....who are the bands playing in Fibbers?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭strat

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Chowmein:
    Rage against The Machine are the best band ever!
    </font>

so my m8, joe seems to think so too and has 400-500 RATM and ratm related(songs by members in previous bands and stuff) mp3's

rolleyes.giftongue.gif

[This message has been edited by StrataGIST (edited 27-04-2001).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭m1ke

ye all know nothing smile.gif

Hip hop is well popular in the US mostly ... just cause only a small percent of ppl listen to it here says something about this country.

my fav groups / bands

big l, black star, dj ability, gang starr, dead prez, dj shadow, dj revolution, jedi mind tricks, wu tang clan and all the solo's in the clan too r cool, krs - one, de la soul, bumpy knuckles, jeru the damaja ... **** there's more I can't remember smile.gif Oh yeah, old skool stuff like Eric B & Rakim is deadly.

All really talented artists, do some searches in napster n give them a listen and your attitudes might change.

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by VacilatoR:
    *cough* hardhouse owns j00 all *cough*</font>

...thats the stupidest thing I've heard out of you yet...

And that says a lot.

Any gimp with a drum machine could do that kind of ****.
    Or you could just smack a bass drum in consession every 2 seconds.

Absolutly skill-less, pointless, meaningless, cold, emotionless music.
    I can't stand ANY kind of dance crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by AngelWhore:
    Any gimp with a drum machine could do that kind of ****.
    Or you could just smack a bass drum in consession every 2 seconds.

I can't stand ANY kind of dance crap.
    </font>

I hope to god your only talking about HardHouse/Trance/Ibizia ****** only and not D'n'B or Hip-hop wink.gif

red_ice.. pretty lame topic name. "hiphop" would have sufficed, instead of incting the crap that this thread has become.
    see my post on "a little bit of drum ..." for some irish dj talent.

THE_FANJ... err yes. go away now.

as for my preferences.. Blackalicious, Outkast - Aquemini, Roni Size, and Photek are all getting a lot of time in my ears at the mo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Belisarius

Id have to say . The whole nu metal movement is trite commercialised tat . aimed almost entirely at that 14year old ****er with extra-extra baggy pants *I know baggy folks , but that is just TOO Baggy* , a Discman surgically attatched to his eardrum , and a Skateboard under his arm which he doesnt know how to freaking use . In other words its a fad , Which is why most real bamnds are snubbing it ,This is true of most music theese days , with the exception of Blinks , Offspring *been a fan since ixnae on the hombre* NoFX , and Lit . all this Paparoach/Limp Bizkit malarchy is pathetic , but what really gets my goat is Linkin Park , I conformed to all the Hype , rushed out an bought hybrid theory and was moderately impressed . Then a day later I was informed they were a cold unfeeling product of corperate america , I gave the blasted thing away , the amount of Coverage they get could so truly be given to real bands , it makes me sick

Shrewgar!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Xithus

And Grunge???
    I'm sorry, but Goth and Grunge are quite far apart.

[This message has been edited by AngelWhore (edited 25-04-2001).]
    </font>
    A lot of people dont realise that..****es me off.

All in all is all we are.

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Kali:
    I hope to god your only talking about HardHouse/Trance/Ibizia ****** only and not D'n'B or Hip-hop wink.gif
    </font>

No, because most decent Hip-Hop acts actualy use real drummers, like Cyress Hill and so on...
    I actualy like Cypress Hill...
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Belisarius:
    The whole nu metal movement is trite commercialised tat . aimed almost entirely at that 14year old ****er with extra-extra baggy pants *I know baggy folks , but that is just TOO Baggy* , a Discman surgically attatched to his eardrum , and a Skateboard under his arm which he doesnt know how to freaking use . In other words its a fad , Which is why most real bamnds are snubbing it. the amount of Coverage they get could so truly be given to real bands , it makes me sick </font>

Well, I'm hoping that it all gets blown away soon.
    Most fads don't last for any lenth anyway.
    I'll give it another year, and those kids will probably be *down* with something else...

What I find a lot these days is that quite a number of bands I listen to are become quite big.
    Cradle Of Filth for instance. I've been listening to them when nobody ever knew they existed.
    NOW they are selling out the London Astoria in a couple of weeks and headlining the Dynamo Festival.

Same with Dimmu Borgir. I've been listening to them for quite a few months now... Nobody EVER heard of them.
    Next thing I know they are on the cover of a number of Heavy Metal mags, and playing massive gigs, and touring like mother****ers!

And this isn't because of some fad either.
    Their music isn't corporately spun mainstream aimed junk.
    It's just that a lot of people are waking up and finding out for themselves what music really is, instead of being forcefed tripe from MTV...

And bands like these are truly dedicated to their fans and their music.

I actualy MET Cradle Of Filth when they played in Dublin a couple of weeks ago.
    We hung around for ages talking, I went into the dressing room and everything!
    I got my guitar autographed, and all!
    They were really fantastic guys.

And they are also more dedicated to their fans than ANY other band I've heard about.

The tour they went on just now was paided for out of their OWN pockets.
    Their record label: Music For Nations had arguments with the band.
    Now they went on tour, and they are making a DVD and recording a new album.
    ALL without ANY corporate backing.
    ALL with the money out of their own pockets.
    They played at a loss, but they did it anyway, just out of dedication for the fans.
    Last time they played the Dynamo festival, they got payed £8,000 to do it, but it cost them £10,000 to stage it.

THAT is what a real band is.

You may hate their music, you may hate them.
    But they are a real band.
    You may say they are sellouts even!
    But They are one of the few black metal band that have stayed true to their roots.
    They still sport the old corpsepaint, and are one of the ONLY bands that still do.

So...
    There's my little arguement.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,140 ✭✭✭_CreeD_

Saying that all dance music is crap is proving you as shortsighted and ignorant as those you claim lump everything rock on goths. Since you have no interest in it you can be pretty sure that you have just heard the commercial dross (Which I also hate). There's a big difference between William Orbit (And not that bloody Adaggio remix since it wasn't his in the first place, try his Strange Cargo series) and Fewls like Darude churning out 5 minute sequenced mediocrity.

Older abstract bands making it big 'out of the blue' has been happening for a LONG time, it's not exactly new. Every now and again a generation goes hunting for something from the past, away from whatever the music fad of the moment is and low and behold, someone's ressurected (The Verve?...James.....Dead Can Dance, after gladiator got everyone looking at Lisa Gerard...there are loads).

I listen to most styles, bar Jazz and Blues. From Mike Oldfield to Throwing Muses, Fluke to This mortal Coil, if you look hard enough you'll find the quality in any genre behind the veil of ****e thrown at us by the commercial market.

That said, Hip Hop Sux... biggrin.gif

[This message has been edited by _CreeD_ (edited 28-04-2001).]

• Registered Users Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

</font>

Couldnt agree more, All goth/death metal is crap. Fair play to you for pointing it out.

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by _CreeD_:
    Saying that all dance music is crap is proving you as shortsighted and ignorant as those you claim lump everything rock on goths. Since you have no interest in it you can be pretty sure that you have just heard the commercial dross (Which I also hate). There's a big difference between William Orbit (And not that bloody Adaggio remix since it wasn't his in the first place, try his Strange Cargo series) and Fewls like Darude churning out 5 minute sequenced mediocrity.
    </font>

Quite a few of my friends are big rave heads, so I do hear quite a bit of it, and not just the commercial rubbish.
    My main point is that it's really quite skill-less.
    Dance music is mostly made on computers and synthisizers. Which I have actualy done myself, as a friend of my composes tonnes of stuff like that.
    I find it utterly without emotion.

I'm not talking about something I have no idea about.
    I could just as easily say you are pretty shortsighted yourself, for going on the mis-conception I'm just blurting ****e about something I know nothing of.
    I used to listen to that stuff.
    I still have a couple of sound-tracks and tapes I recorded off other people.

And you go and contradict yourself by saying all hip-hop sucks.
    Shortsighted?
    No, I'd think not, just your opinion.
    I myself don't like the genre as a whole, but I DO like Cypress Hill, and a couple of older hip-hop bands. Not the commercialised crap rap of the likes of Eminiem.

The there is Indurstial. Which is quite a bit similar to dance music in sound.
    Which I really do love.
    Industrial bands use real isntruments though.
    Drums, bass, guitar, keyboards, synth...
    Stuff like Nine Inch Nails...

I also really like The Prodigy.
    I still got plenty of their songs on tape, and on the odd sound-track.
    I hate Smack My ***** Up though... Why did they ****ing bother with that? The only reason people liked it was because of the video...

And another thing.
    You say yourself you don't like the commercial rubbish. But that is exactly the thing I was talking about, saying I don't like.

I think you're just looking to rag on someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭El_Presidente

Men with guitars, cant beat it really can you?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,140 ✭✭✭_CreeD_

...Snip....</font>

You know I was originally going to reply to your 'points' individually, but then I figured I could just save time and sum it all up with "You really are a funny little girl aren't you?". LOL, reread your own posts and ask yourself if you don't really sound like someone on a hypocritical rant for the sake of it.

Oh, and that ' biggrin.gif ' thing at the end of "Hip Hop Sux"...in our universe it implies H U M O U R....Like this smile.gif...see?

[This message has been edited by _CreeD_ (edited 29-04-2001).]

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

I don't see that anyone like's Dance or Rave frown.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 8,145 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

I used to be /still am a big metal fan.

But hell I have to admit Dance/Trance is damn fine crap! I even went as far as taking the suicidal leap and going to cream lol and I HAVE TO SAY A DAMN FINE NITE WAS HAD BY ALL!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Lucifer

i am into dance music mainly... just coz i dont post about it, doesnt mean its not popular... what are we ment 2 say in posts... oh did u hear that song... its good... neways..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Oh yeah

I'm gonna go back a bit and risk serious head wounds. I like Papa Roach, Limp Bizkit and Linkin Park... all this "pop metal" type stuff is great fun. the similaritiess between most of these bands are ludicrous, but it's just loud music that lots of people can relate to. The fact that Linkin Park are signed to Warner really surprised me, as does their seemingly bottomless pit of advertising money. I like any kind of music with feelings, usually stuff with real instruments. You can have all the artificial harmonics, but you can't make a keyboard put across the same level of emotion as a piano. I love guitar, because you have total control over how it sounds. Put it through whatever filters you like, it still is based on what you do with your bare hands. And Papa Roach are a good band, in my opinion. They make music that they enjoy, that the fans enjoy and they are good live. So what if not everyone likes it? It does sound vaguely formulated, and it'll be a stuggle to stop it from becoming mind-numingly repetitive. I also like Placebo, Suede, Toploader, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Coldplay... Tell me it's all watered-down ******** if you like, but I'm gonna listen to this music for as long as I enjoy it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Lucifer.POD:
    i am into dance music mainly... just coz i dont post about it, doesnt mean its not popular... what are we ment 2 say in posts... oh did u hear that song... its good... neways..</font>

well this board *is* a discussion board smile.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

My main point is that it's really quite skill-less.
    Dance music is mostly made on computers and synthisizers.
    </font>
    Its made with computers so it must be crap.
    Of course Industrial/Metal/Goth music is computer free. They never use them. oh no.

I hate the attidude "Computers are soul-less man" , "Damn, I COULD DO THAT" etc etc. If its so skill less, why dont you bang out an album of 'emotionless rubbish' , make your millions and then you would be free to wallow in your self important, musically bereft opinions well past your teenage years!
    thx

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Oh yeah:
    I'm gonna go back a bit and risk serious head wounds. I like Papa Roach, Limp Bizkit and Linkin Park... all this "pop metal" type stuff is great fun. the similaritiess between most of these bands are ludicrous, but it's just loud music that lots of people can relate to. The fact that Linkin Park are signed to Warner really surprised me, as does their seemingly bottomless pit of advertising money. I like any kind of music with feelings, usually stuff with real instruments. You can have all the artificial harmonics, but you can't make a keyboard put across the same level of emotion as a piano. I love guitar, because you have total control over how it sounds. Put it through whatever filters you like, it still is based on what you do with your bare hands. And Papa Roach are a good band, in my opinion. They make music that they enjoy, that the fans enjoy and they are good live. So what if not everyone likes it? It does sound vaguely formulated, and it'll be a stuggle to stop it from becoming mind-numingly repetitive. I also like Placebo, Suede, Toploader, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Coldplay... Tell me it's all watered-down ******** if you like, but I'm gonna listen to this music for as long as I enjoy it.</font>

Personaly I really don't like stuff like Linkin Park, and all that, but HEY! You like Placebo?
    Good one!
    And Red Hot Chilli Pepers kick ass!
    It's not watered down anything...

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Dustaz:

Its made with computers so it must be crap.
    Of course Industrial/Metal/Goth music is computer free. They never use them. oh no.

I hate the attidude "Computers are soul-less man" , "Damn, I COULD DO THAT" etc etc. If its so skill less, why dont you bang out an album of 'emotionless rubbish' , make your millions and then you would be free to wallow in your self important, musically bereft opinions well past your teenage years!
    thx
    </font>

WOW! He said something worthwhile!
    I'm shocked...

1. I never said if it's made with computers, it MUST be crap.
    I did say I thought dance music sucked.
    Read my posts again.
    Didn't I mention I used to like that stuff?

2. A couple of Goth bands DO use SOME electronica ocasionaly. It can add to the song's depth.
    But they use mostly Synthisizers, not computers.
    Music made completly out of Synth and Electronica, I find pointless. Not only skill-less.

3. Why don't I bang out some useless music myself?
    A number of reasons.
    Mainly because it's the record companies that shell out this crap, not the individual.
    If *I* was to do, I would first need to make some crap about an hour long to fit on an album.
    THEN I would need the facilities to press it onto a couple of million CD's. Not CD burners either, blue disks wouldn't be accepted by music stores.
    After that, I would need a way to distribute my pointless junk...
    See where I'm going?
    Secondly, I could never play it live.
    Live meaning using proper instruments, not some sitting behind a DAT machine playing it out in some big tent to a bunch of people hopping around on E's.
    And lastly, but not least.
    Because it would be damaging to the music *I* like.
    The more useless junk thrown out, the more REAL bands have to struggle to make a living.

See my point?

And FFS!

I AM NOT A GIRL!