Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Bassist

• 27-05-2001 10:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭

We've had best band, guitarist, living guitarist, etc.
    Often overlooked...there'd be no Groove without them, Bless 'em! biggrin.gif

Anyway, I'd say Les Claypool from Primus.

Send your opinions...

"(Shaft error to Klay[b-airlock140.esatclear.ie]: Erection reset by queer)"

• Registered Users Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Cliff Burton R.I.P he was bloody brilliant

• Registered Users Posts: 10,581 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Best Looking Bassist: Hillary Woods - JJ72 smile.gif

Fear can sometimes be a useful emotion. For instance, let's say you're an astronaught on the moon and you fear that your partner has been turned into Dracula. The next time he goes out for the moon pieces, wham! You just slam the door behind him and blast off. He might call you on the radio and say he's not Dracula, but you just say, "Think again, bat man."
    hello.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Klay

Hmmm..She sucks at playing though..Squeaky Voice had to actually teach her how to play

I think D'Arcy is better looking anyway wink.gif

"(Shaft error to Klay[b-airlock140.esatclear.ie]: Erection reset by queer)"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭harVee

Here we go again...

Charles Mingus

• Registered Users Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Ronan|Raven:
    Cliff Burton R.I.P he was bloody brilliant</font>

I would have to agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭black_wizardd

Stu Ham -> plays with Satriani, an absolute god on bass.

Or

Steve Harris -> Iron Maiden.

Can't decide.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

John Paul Jones or Flea...

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    We were all set for a game of Ice Hockey when Frank Williams says "Sorry lads, I've forgotten my skates!"
    [honey i] violated [the kids]
    Tribes 2 Goodness
    The Dawn of the Beefy King approaches...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Jim Daniels

Kim Deal.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭syringe

Kim Deal is class! And so is that Chili Peppers guy. And Keith Moon was excellent aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Winning Hand

/me waits for angelwhore to name the bassist from cradle of filth.

Anyway none can beat Derek Smalls
    the best bass riff ever on "big bottoms"

• Registered Users Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Robin Eaglestone - Cradle of Filth

• Registered Users Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

er...Kim Deal I mean.

biggrin.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by PiE:
    Robin Eaglestone - Cradle of Filth

</font>

I'm in utter shock...

He's been named before I even get here...
    And not only that, but you've actualy used his REAL name!

Anyway...

Robin Graves/Robin Mark Eaglestone - Cradle Of Filth
    (haha, but I know that his middle name is Mark!)

Steve Harris - Iron Maiden

Pete Steele - Type O Negative

And for pure skill, it's a guy called Eddie D.
    I doubt anyone here would have heard of him, but god... You'de have to hear him to beleive it. He's THAT good.

Off I go to create a best Drummer thread... biggrin.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 t-bag

Yis have definetly missed out on the best:
    Jaco Pastorius - Without a shadow of a doubt the most skillful ever, alot mightn't find his freestyle jazz playin the easiest to listen to though, check out Teen Town, unreal bass, about the only bass song I haven't been able to play!
    And theres more:

Marcus Miller
    Flea
    Charles Mingus
    John Paul Jones
    Bootsy Collins
    Cliff Burton
    Stanley Clarke
    Larry Graham
    Timmy C
    Jack Bruce

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Anyone ever heard of Stanley Clarke? He's an amazing bass player....I'd say either himself, Les Claypool or Cliff Burton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Excelsior

Kim Deal is the bassist that I think most defines her band.
    But Stefan Lessard of Dave Matthews must be the best.

My Adolescent website:
    http://www.iol.ie/~mullent

• Registered Users Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

John Squire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭darthmise

Did John Squire play bass?!?
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by syringe:
    Kim Deal is class! And so is that Chili Peppers guy. And Keith Moon was excellent aswell.</font>

Ahh... Keith Moon was the DRUMMER with The Who.

Not really my cup of tea but Mark King from Level 42 is regarded as one of the best but I'd have to go with Kim Deal I think though at times like this it's hard to think of who I like and don't like.

And it wouldn't be fair not to support my avatar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Loomer

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by t-bag:
    Yis have definetly missed out on the best:
    Jaco Pastorius
    </font>

Definitely true - but he's dead does that still count?(what a way to go, as well. Smashed over the head with a Vodka bottle in a bar brawl frown.gif)

Before you laugh Paul McCartney although not exactly innovative was pretty handy with the bass. Also Bootsy, Les Claypool(of course!) and the guy from SoundGarden(can't remember his name of hand?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Hendrix_Nighn

Victor Wootten

• Registered Users Posts: 3,436 ✭✭✭bugler

Squire didn't play bass in Stone Roses anyway, that was Mani's job smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Rabbit_Fascist

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by bugler:
    Squire didn't play bass in Stone Roses anyway, that was Mani's job smile.gif</font>

Squire composed the bass lines though.

Mani is a damn good bass player, has anyone heard Primal Scream's XTRMNTR album?

Timmy from Rage too...