Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Opening Line

• 24-05-2001 5:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭

I had nothing to say on Christmas Day
    When you threw all your clothes in the snow

-Handsome Family-

I heard there was a secret chord
    that David played and it pleased the Lord.
    But you don't really care for music, do you?

-Leonard Cohen-

• Registered Users Posts: 10,581 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

"How does a duck know what direction south is? And how to tell his wife from all the other ducks?"

Crash Test Dummies - How Does A Duck Know

"I want my MTV"

Dire Straits - Money For Nothing

"Shot through the heart, and you're to blame. Darling you give love a bad name"

Bon Jovi - You Give Love A Bad Name

Fear can sometimes be a useful emotion. For instance, let's say you're an astronaught on the moon and you fear that your partner has been turned into Dracula. The next time he goes out for the moon pieces, wham! You just slam the door behind him and blast off. He might call you on the radio and say he's not Dracula, but you just say, "Think again, bat man."
    hello.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

"I keep drinking more today, trying to drive my blues away"

-Malted Milk, Eric Clapton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭syringe

"Well first of all I'd like to say 'Fu<k Off! Fu<k off, FU<K OFF!
    If you don't get it why don't you go stick your head back up your ass?"

- The Fu<k Off Song - Reel Big Fish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

"ladies and gentlemen we are floating in space"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

Yo, I'll tell you what I want,what I really really want,
    "So tell me what you want, what you really really want,
    I'll tell you what I want, what I really really want,
    So tell mewhat you want, what you really really want,
    I wanna, I wanna, I wanna, I wanna, I wanna really
    really really wanna zigazig ah"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,436 ✭✭✭bugler

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Kali:
    "ladies and gentlemen we are floating in space"</font>

Nice indeed.Top song allround.

'London,England,you have been warned...'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Cradle Of Filth - Her Ghost In The Fog

As spoken on the album by Doug Bradley AKA: Pinhead from the film Hellraiser.

Simply the most theatrical intro I've heard.
    It paves the way for an epic story of love and revenge.

The Moon She Hangs Like a Cruel Portrait
    Sort Winds Whisper The Bidding of Trees
    As This Tradegy Starts With a Shattered Glass Heart
    And The Minnightmare Trampling Of Dreams...

But oh!, No Tears please
    Fear And Pain May Accompany Death
    But it is Desire That Sheperds It's Certanty

As We Shall See...

Utterly fantastic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

stoppit with all the crap music AngelWhore.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by DeadBankClerk:
    Yo, I'll tell you what I want,what I really really want,
    "So tell me what you want, what you really really want,
    I'll tell you what I want, what I really really want,
    So tell mewhat you want, what you really really want,
    I wanna, I wanna, I wanna, I wanna, I wanna really
    really really wanna zigazig ah"

</font>

lol. pld marc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Brummers

"Buying all the products that they're selling ya, believing all the lies that they're tellin ya. They say jump, ya say how high, you're braindead ya gotta fúckin bullet in your head" Rage against the machine.

"...I think she smokes pot, she's everything i want, she's everything i'm not." Ben Folds Five

In a dark dark place, in a dark dark house, in a dark dark room, in a dark dark cupboard, in a dark dark shelf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by DadaKopf:
    stoppit with all the crap music AngelWhore.</font>

I'll do no such thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

I think everyone knows you like Cradle of Filth by now, time to stop peddling it smile.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

So FÚCKING what!
    - Metallica, "So What?!"
    (F**king mental, great fun smile.gif)

That there/ That's not me...
    I go/... Where I please...
    I walk through walls/ I float down the Liffey...
    I'm not here/ This isn't happening

- Radiohead, "How to disappear completely"
    (Gorgeous melodic track on 'Kid A'- deny it not!)

I'm so happy / 'Cos today I found my friends / ... they're in my head
    - Nirvana, "Lithium"

Bard
    First motorbike in the bible ???? - a Triumph! - 'And yea verily did Moses strike down the ammmanites, - and all the land did hear the roar of his triumph !!!'

[This message has been edited by Bard (edited 24-05-2001).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭boddah

"My vagina has 2 sets of lips"
    -NOFX, My Vagina

"Truth, covered in security, i cant let you smother me"
    -Nirvana, Lounge Act

"I'll start this song without any words, i got so high, i scratched till i bled"
    -Nirvana, On a Plain

"I fear that i am ordinary, just like everyone"
    -Smashing Pumpkins, ???????

"A heart thats full up like a landfill, a job that slowly kills you, bruises that wont heal"
    -Radiohead, No surprises

"He pauses shaving and he tells himself that he is the bomb"
    -Blink182, Mutt

"Do you have the time to listen to me whine"
    -Green Day, Basket case

and thats all i can think of right now smile.gif

Durty auld MORRIS drums...
    they're fu*kin' great!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

"she spread herself wide open to let the insects in
    she leaves a trail of honey to show me where she's been
    she has the blood of reptile just underneath her skin
    seeds from a thousand others drip down from within"

Nine Inch Nails - 'Reptile'

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Libraries gave us power
    Then work came and made us free</font>
    Manic Street Preachers - Design for Life
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Moderate Rock</font>
    Nirvana - Tourettes
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Daddy? What does regret mean?
    Well son, the funny thing about regret is, it's better to regret something you have done than not do something at all. And by the way, if you see your mother, could you tell her...
    SATAN! SATAN! SATAN! SATAN!</font>
    Orbital - Satan

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    We were all set for a game of Ice Hockey when Frank Williams says "Sorry lads, I've forgotten my skates!"
    [honey i] violated [the kids]
    Tribes 2 Goodness
    The Dawn of the Beefy King approaches...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">The World Is A Vampire</font>

-"Bullet with Butterfly Wings" - Smashing Pumpkins
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">I am a patient boy (I'll Wait, I'll Wait, I'll Wait)</font>
    -"Waiting Room" - Fugazi

• Registered Users Posts: 897 ✭✭✭Greenbean

"I tripped the light fandango, drew cartwheels across the floor, I was kinda feeling seasick but the crowd was calling out for more" (roughly) Procum Harlem - ligher shade of pale. (forgive mis-spellings etc, don't have the song at the moment for reference).

"We've already said goodbye, since you gotta go, oh you better go now, go now, go now, go now, oh before you see me cry" Moody Blues - go now. I love the piano rift in the middle, its just ****en class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭harVee

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by NekkidBibleMan:
    "Shot through the heart, and you're to blame. Darling you give love a bad name"

Bon Jovi - You Give Love A Bad Name
    </font>
    I had a few lines in mind but simply nothing compares to this work of genius. Jon Bon, I salute you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Bob the Unlucky Octopus

"Load up on guns...bring your friends...it's fun to lose and toooooo pretend..."- Smells Like Teen Spirit

"All the leaves around....and the sky is grey..."- California Dreamin (The Mamas and the Papas)

"Big wheels keep on turning...carry me home to see my kin..."- Sweet Home Alabama

Loads more- but I can't think of them right now.

Bob the Unlucky Octopus
    =Carpe Diem=

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

"My girlfriend says that I need help,
    My boyfriend says I'd be better off dead"

Therapy? - Knives...The mercurial and dark wit of Andrew J Cairns.

Rob.
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">"There are Britney people and non-Britney people." - Britney Spears
    </font>

"10 seconds... 7... 6... 5... 4... 3... Ignition... Lift off!

Blobby, oh Mr Blobby, if only you could make us understand,
    Blobby, oh Mr Blobby, your influence will spread throughout the land.

"Let's hear it for Mr Blobby!"
    {Blobby, blobby, blobby}"

roar!! fear mr blobby! christmas number one!

- Dead Bank Clerk -
    You must defeat my dragon
    punch to stand a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

2 sex pistols tunes.

"Here we are now.....a sociology lecture...with a bit of psychology, a bit of neurology, a bit of fu(kology....there's no fun!"
    NO FUN

"She was a girl from birmingham, she just had an abortion, she was a case of insanity, her name was Polly and she lived in a tree!"
    BODIES

_ _ _ _ _________ _ _ _ _
    <A HREF="http://homepage.eircom.net/~cullenm&quot; TARGET=_blank>
    sig.jpg
    </A>
    http://run.to/pile

[This message has been edited by FreaK_BrutheR (edited 27-05-2001).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Sliotar

nice thread smile.gif

"I wrote her off for the 10th time today"

Self Esteem - Offsping

"Head over heels, I've fit in before"

Smash - Offspring

"I never thought I'd die alone"

Adams Song - Blink 182

They're all simple but perfect once you hear the rest of the song

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Jim Daniels

Jesus died for somebody's sins..
    But not mine..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭adnans

So whassup man?
    Coolin man
    Chillin chillin?
    Yo you know I had to call, you know why right?
    Why?
    Because, yo, I never ever call and ask, you to play somethin right?
    Yeah
    You know what I wanna hear right?
    Whatchu wanna hear?
    I wanna hear that Wu-Tang joint
    Wu-Tang again?
    Ahh yeah, again and again!

*sounds of fighting*

intro to Protect Ya Neck - Wu Tang Clan

adnans

"I wish, that there was some way, that i could be outside, playinf basket ball in the rain, and not get wet. now wouldn't that be just great?" -beastie boys

- Dead Bank Clerk -
    You must defeat my dragon
    punch to stand a chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Canaboid

I never thought it would happen
    With me and the girl from clapham
    Out on the windy common
    That night I ain’t forgotten
    When she dealt out the rations
    With some or other passions
    I said "you are a lady"
    "Perhaps" she said " I may be"

Up the Junction - Squeeze

If you haven't heard this song, stop what you're doing and go download it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by nesf:
    "I keep drinking more today, trying to drive my blues away"

-Malted Milk, Eric Clapton

</font>

Malted Milk is actually by Robert Johnson (as is Crossroads)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Robbo:
    "My girlfriend says that I need help,
    My boyfriend says I'd be better off dead"
    Therapy? - Knives...The mercurial and dark wit of Andrew J Cairns.
    </font>

/me sings along
    "I'm gonna get drunk! Come round and fluck you up!"
    Love that tune! Place went Ape when they did that in The Olympia.

Another opening line I love:
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Sit on my face and tell me that you love me!</font>
    Monty Python - Sit On My Face

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    We were all set for a game of Ice Hockey when Frank Williams says "Sorry lads, I've forgotten my skates!"
    [honey i] violated [the kids]
    Tribes 2 Goodness
    The Dawn of the Beefy King approaches...