Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Metallica... What Next ??

• 02-09-2001 1:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭

What next for Metallica??

I know Jason Newsted never seemed to have had any great deal of influence of Metallica in his c.14 yrs, but.....

The Load Albums IMHO were geatly influenced by his Muscial style & tastes. Knowing that also the writing for the current album had started before he left, surely this has thrown a real spanner in the works.
    This is w/out mentioning the fact that writing is on hold given James Hetfields entry into Alcohol & Substance Rehabiliitation !?

So wot do ppl think??
    Are they "Rocked Out" or can we expect something along the lines of the Rolling Stones...Still rocking into their 60's?? smile.gif

80p.
    SAVE CHIP !!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

If Newsted's musical style was the main influence for the direction Load and ReLoad were taking, then it's just as well he shagged off. A return to the old style Metallica is in order methinks. Oh yes.

They've been realtively quiet of late, haven't they? (Back in the studio?) No news yet on who's to replace Jason then?

According to Metallica.com:
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">

Of course everyone assumed [the departure of Jason Newsted] would precipitate the break-up of the band.

Not true.

Indeed, despite what you might have read recently about the band in the national magazines, Lars James and Kirk are getting on better than ever in recent memory. There is an excitement and collective hunger about what the future holds. There are no plans or schedules to maintain, only the fast-boiling bubbles of enthusiasm, which would enforce their own schedule, sooner rather than later, it would appear.

Yes indeed, if you thought Metallica's career had been exciting to this point, then you ain't seen nothing yet!
    </font>

Bard
    'First motorbike in the bible ???? ---- a Triumph --- 'Yea verily Moses struck down the ammmanites and all the land heard the roar of his triumph !!!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭b20uvkft6m5xwg

From what I've heard it'll likely be Les Claypool from Primus.

He's a fellow San Fransiscan, has jammed alot w/ Metallica before and is best friends w/ James.

But is he just goin to leave Primus??
    And while I like Primus, his musical style is totally in another hemisphere w/ Metallica (ie. Funky Bass Riffs !!?? WTF)

In relation to the Load Albums,
    Its like they're done by 2 different bands when you compare it to Justice... & the Black Album.
    Thats why I'd never say the Load stuff was shit, its just a new progression, some of which was very poor & other bits which were OK.

Given the current confusion, I'd say we might see some solo projects or "I'm taking a break from writing" before we see another Metallica stdio album wink.gif

Shame frown.gif Ehh but thats the Music Biz 4ye wink.gif

80p.
    SAVE CHIP !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by 80project.com:
    From what I've heard it'll likely be Les Claypool from Primus.

</font>

No way thats gonna happen or be true. Metallica are too serious for Les, he has a totally diff style than Metallica. Can you see him playing their existing stuff ?

Metallica need to take a break from each other and find themselves again. Maybe examine what frame of mind they were in to lead to those many classic albums. Once they get into that mindframe again they'll be grand.

Solo projects might be a good idea. Mixing with newer hungrier bands too would be good.

[This message has been edited by yellum (edited 02-09-2001).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by yellum:
    Maybe examine what frame of mind they were in to lead to those many classic albums. Once they get into that mindframe again they'll be grand.</font>

Acid, Acid, Acid and a bit of ludicrous amounts of Vodka...

Metallica had a real darkness on their early albums. They need to get that darkness again.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Theres no way Metallica is returning to their Metal Roots. They are stuck in the world of Pop music now and that no doubt is why Newstead left. Without Newstead they are just an old band full of faggots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Monkey

Metallica are a bunch of Narks. All they seem to do anymore is ***** and sue people. First Napster and now I hear they've sued a company that makes a brand of wheel called "Metallica" or "metalica" or something. Apparently the band already make car parts and are planning on producing "Metallica" wheels.

Didn't they used to be a band ?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Monkey:
    Metallica are a bunch of Narks. All they seem to do anymore is ***** and sue people. First Napster and now I hear they've sued a company that makes a brand of wheel called "Metallica" or "metalica" or something. Apparently the band already make car parts and are planning on producing "Metallica" wheels. </font>

In response, Metallica are perfectly justified in trying to stop people using their name as a means to make profit without their permission. Need I remind anyone of "bands" such as the Spice Girls & BoyZone??? *spits*.

But anyway ... I hear a lot of people harping on about their [Metallica] early albums. To Metallica's credit (IMHO), every one of their albums has had a different sound and style (with the possible exception of Load & Reload).

I see a lot bands out there and they're doing nothing new. Each album is just a clone of the last, and its quite frankly boring. Evolution applies to music as everything else in life. Evolve .. or die(so to speak).

Metallica's "Black" album was the last album to be successfully marketed as "Metal", and not rock. Then Nirvana came along, with a new sound, and the rest we all know.

Where am I going with this rant?? Simply this, consider why metal has taken a turn for the worst in terms of its position in the music industry. Then turn around and tell me (convincingly) that Metallica should start churning out rehashes of their old stuff.

They're gonna do what they want to do, not what everyone else tells them to do. And that is what music is all about. Writing your OWN stuff. Need I again mention such bands as the Spice Girls and Boyzone who had other people write their songs for them?

ANyway .. I'll stop my rant for now smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Kopf

Hm, a return to the old style would seem a bit forced; the band don't seem to willing. They should just give up, call it a day, before they make bigger ********s of themselves (S&M to name just one blunder)

Gone are the days of 3 minute guitar solos.. *sigh*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Beastie Boy

No way thats gonna happen or be true.
    </font>

Its been mentioned in practically every major music magazine wink.gif

No way thats gonna happen or be true. Metallica are too serious for Les, he has a totally diff style than Metallica. Can you see him playing their existing stuff ?
    </font>

Honestly...NO[b/]
    But it may happen. They know Les well. They can hardly hold open auditions like the way they did after Cliff Burton died !!??
    It may be wise to go for someone who has a totally different style as oppossed to someone who is similar in style to Newsted & thus will always live in his shadow ?

They'd have to practically chain Les down though to stop him goin off some of those "Winona's Big Brown Beaver" Bass Solos wink.gif

Dip Dip Dive, So So Socialise
    If you learn to love you're in for a suprise,
    It could be nice to be "alive"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Les Claypool would be wicked. He's a dynamite bassist. I used to like Metallica, up until the black album, I'd buy an album with Les Claypool playing though. Excellent!

Fink

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Lemming:
    But anyway ... I hear a lot of people harping on about their [Metallica] early albums. To Metallica's credit (IMHO), every one of their albums has had a different sound and style (with the possible exception of Load & Reload).

And that is what music is all about. Writing your OWN stuff. Need I again mention such bands as the Spice Girls and Boyzone who had other people write their songs for them?
    </font>

Sorry to but in but I must correct you on one thing here. Metallica did not make the first two albums. Fact is that they stole some ideas of Dave Mustaine of Megadeth (Who had been kicked out of the band before the first two albums came out). This is the reason for them sounding "different".

So it is safe to say that Metallica used to be/(are?) a manufactured band.

PanterA - Strength Beyond Strength
    There is nothing. No education. No family life to open my
    Arms to. You'd say that my job is today, yet gone tomorrow.
    I'll be broke in a gutter.
    I know the opinion. A broken record. Fu(k you and your
    College dream. Fact is, we're stronger than all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭b20uvkft6m5xwg

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by PORNAPSTER:
    Metallica did not make the first two albums. Fact is that they stole some ideas of Dave Mustaine of Megadeth (Who had been kicked out of the band before the first two albums came out).
    </font>

I'd agree w/ regard to "Kill 'em All" which contained some tracks from their 1st demo "No Life 'Til Leather" which they made w/ Mustaine, but "Ride the Lightening" is totally different devoid of Mustaine influences IMHO.

I suppose thats why were talking about this...Because everyone has their own take on how they've sounded over the years smile.gif & how they are likely to proceed @ this cross roads !!

80p.
    SAVE CHIP !!

Sorry to but in but I must correct you on one thing here. Metallica did not make the first two albums. Fact is that they stole some ideas of Dave Mustaine of Megadeth (Who had been kicked out of the band before the first two albums came out).

</font>
    Erm ... have you ever looked inside the album sleeves of their first album ?? Dave Mustaine was a MEMBER of Metallica. Himself and other band members "Co-Wrote" some of those songs, hence Megadeth sometimes play them at gigs.

Because the songs were written under the guise of metallica, they belong to the band. Its like me writing some program on behalf of a company, moving to another company and then trying to claim that program is mine and mine alone. Doesn't work like that.

I suggest you think about stuff like that before you state they "stole" stuff off Dave.

The songs Co-Written go something like this

KIll Em All: (4 out of 9 songs)
    "The 4 Horsemen" - Dave, James, Lars
    "Jump in the Fire" - Dave, James, Lars
    "Phantom Lord" - Dave, James, Lars
    "Metal Militia" - Dave, Lars

Ride the Lightning: (2(definite) out of 8 songs - 2 unknown)
    "Ride the Lightning" - Dave, James, Lars, Cliff (Burton)
    "Call of Ktulu" - Dave, Lars, James, Cliff

Wow .. that's a lot of songs written by "Dave" himself and no-one else having any input into. A Whopping total of ZERO songs.

As for them being a manufactured band .. how do you figure that one out? Since manufactured bands are auditioned for by "suits", have no talent (with the notable exception of the Monkees), and have MOST of their stuff written for them (again with the notable exception of the MOnkees), I don't see Metallica falling into this category.

As for "stealing" Dave's stuff ... don't you think the band would have been sued to hell and back by now?? (And don't say Dave wouldn't have ,.. cause he would for the amount of money being generated!)

[This message has been edited by Lemming (edited 03-09-2001).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Beastie Boy:

They'd have to practically chain Les down though to stop him goin off some of those "Winona's Big Brown Beaver" Bass Solos wink.gif

[/B]</font>

Now thats a Tune. He'd out-gun Kirk no problem. The vid for Winonas kickass too. Gonna play that song right now.

</font>

Hehehehehe .. what a lovely image in my mind that left biggrin.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Kopf:
    (S&M to name just one blunder)

</font>

it must be awful to be such a talented critic with a room full of no-bodies to ipmress?
    as usual, i think one person here has said exactly what metallica are doing. they are doing what they want to do. load and re-load are excellent albums. i dont like all the songs on them, but they are different from all their other stuff. a band that doesnt change isnt worth listenign to to be honest.
    i mean, at the age of 27, im hardly going to be listening to the same sh17e as exodus, slayer, death etc etc etc that i use to
    that would be just sad. personally i think S&M is probably one of the best albums ive ever heard. certainly the best live one (with the exception of maybe live after death)
    no, if you have nothing of any worth to say, dont say it.

Dave Mustaine said on tv that "he told Metallica not to use any of his stuff in their songs". Metallica won't admit that cos theyre afriad of getting a taste of their own medicine... And I think you know what I mean by that.

Yes S&M is a good album... but the two new songs are the biggest pile of **** I've ever heard.

I still maintain that Metallica is a band who have fans that are wannabie metalheads though.

Dave Mustaine said on tv that "he told Metallica not to use any of his stuff in their songs". Metallica won't admit that cos theyre afriad of getting a taste of their own medicine... And I think you know what I mean by that. </font>

Wow .. you didn't listen to a thing I said did you? Dave Mustain "CO"-wrote those songs. Again, I shall use the analogy of me writing a piece of software, or part thereof in the name of a company, then telling them that part is mine and mine alone. It DOESN'T work that way.

And if you're so sure about it, then why hasn't dave put his money where his mouth "allegedly" is?? And again, don't use the "he's cool and is easy going" line, cause the amount of money we're talking, himself and everyone's dog would have been out for blood 10 times already.

Yes S&M is a good album... but the two new songs are the biggest pile of **** I've ever heard.

Fair enough. Your opinion. I'll not take you up on that. Just don't ram your view down my throat.

I still maintain that Metallica is a band who have fans that are wannabie metalheads though.

First of all, I have no problem with people who are unsure/not really into bands. Let them find their tastes. Just 'cause they don't have long hair/wear black clothes/paint their fingernails black/have hair dye doesn't mean that you have to start being a s**t to them. That's part of the problem I've found with some rockers/goths - They're VERY 2- Dimensional, looking only at what a person wears/looks like - BULLS**T!!!

And anyway, I can think of many new bands that have "wannabe" fans. In fact, pass the Central Bank on Dame st. on a Saturday afternoon and have a looksee at all the "baby-goths". I don't have to say anything further on that subject.

Further more, have you considered the fact that using the term "wannabe" towards music is misplaced. ANYone who likes songs by a band could be considered a fan. So saying that someone's a wannabe as regards music is crap. At least they're thinking about the music, rather than just following a crowd blindly. In fact that "wannabe" statement is beyond crap .. its quite possibly in the realms of stupid statements.

yes I realise I'm getting quite aggressive here, yes I'm tired, No I'm not crazy (although others may differ wink.gif )

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by WhiteWashMan:
    .. a band that doesnt change isnt worth listenign to to be honest.</font>

Wouldn't *quite* agree with that completely, but yes you are right.

I mean, at the age of 27, im hardly going to be listening to the same sh17e as exodus, slayer, death etc etc etc that i use to.

I'm not 27 (22 actually), and I don't listen to the same stuff I listened too when I was 16. I listen to a whole lot more besides. Being hardline is all fine and dandy when you're 14, 15 and haven't a clue about the world. But you should sincerely hope that your taste in music expands, if not differs, with age.

personally i think S&M is probably one of the best albums ive ever heard.

Absolutely. I've played classical string instruments since I was 5. I've been in an orchestra since I was 11. Have you EVER tried playing that kinda **** on such an instrument? Its hard. Its DAMN hard. Kudos to Metallica & Orchestra for pulling that off.

if you have nothing of any worth to say, dont say it.

"Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience" wink.gif

[This message has been edited by Lemming (edited 04-09-2001).]

Pornapster... you are simply one of the most foolish people I've ever met. You have ideas and self righteous, condescending bull **** spewing out your árse. When there's any talk of music, you seem to think you're the authority on it all.

Just cos you want to take Dave Mustaine from behind doesn't mean you know him personally, and just becaus he may/may not have said something, doesn't mean it's true.. the fact of the matter is... the only people who really know this shít is Dave Mustaine and Metallica. As faras I remember from my years as a metal head... they were co-written. You should stop with your pushy opinions you twat

Fink

• Registered Users Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

To stick to the topic, hopefully the enforced lineup change and james rehab might precipitate some realinvention and creativity within the band. I lost interest in them after the black album and found nothing much of note to come back to in load and reload (i will admit that i havent listened to them as much as i should). I think there was a certain amount of resting on laurels going on and the leaps apparent between previous albums just werent there.

I wont even comment on the pathetic 'wannabe' statments, its all too much like the 'plastic rocker' thing of 12 years ago.

WWMan, S&M is the best live album ye have ever heard? go get more live albums smile.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Dustaz:

WWMan, S&M is the best live album ye have ever heard? go get more live albums smile.gif
    </font>

i didnt say it was, i said probably. ive heard plenty of live albums. anyway, most live albums have either the band playing their songs like they were straight of an album, or, they do stupid things like 'we want one half of the crowd to sing this bit, and the other half blah blah blah'
    i think its a great album because it has so many top tunes on it, its completely different, and i just happen to love both metallica and classical music smile.gif
    on the other hand, i also have loads of muddy waters live which is great, along with bb king, albert king with joe satirani which really rocks and plenty of other live albums. but iron maidens live after death and s&m are still my favs.
    and rightly so.
    if you think its not, then i challenge you sire to go and get some taste, or new ears, or both....
    wwman.gif

..... and the s**t starts flying .... wink.gif

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Lemming:
    Wow .. you didn't listen to a thing I said did you? Dave Mustain "CO"-wrote those songs. Again, I shall use the analogy of me writing a piece of software, or part thereof in the name of a company, then telling them that part is mine and mine alone. It DOESN'T work that way.

And if you're so sure about it, then why hasn't dave put his money where his mouth "allegedly" is?? And again, don't use the "he's cool and is easy going" line, cause the amount of money we're talking, himself and everyone's dog would have been out for blood 10 times already.

Fair enough. Your opinion. I'll not take you up on that. Just don't ram your view down my throat.

First of all, I have no problem with people who are unsure/not really into bands. Let them find their tastes. Just 'cause they don't have long hair/wear black clothes/paint their fingernails black/have hair dye doesn't mean that you have to start being a s**t to them. That's part of the problem I've found with some rockers/goths - They're VERY 2- Dimensional, looking only at what a person wears/looks like - BULLS**T!!!

And anyway, I can think of many new bands that have "wannabe" fans. In fact, pass the Central Bank on Dame st. on a Saturday afternoon and have a looksee at all the "baby-goths". I don't have to say anything further on that subject.

Further more, have you considered the fact that using the term "wannabe" towards music is misplaced. ANYone who likes songs by a band could be considered a fan. So saying that someone's a wannabe as regards music is crap. At least they're thinking about the music, rather than just following a crowd blindly. In fact that "wannabe" statement is beyond crap .. its quite possibly in the realms of stupid statements.

yes I realise I'm getting quite aggressive here, yes I'm tired, No I'm not crazy (although others may differ wink.gif </font>

What the **** are you my councellor?

BTW... I don't do any of the things that you said there incl hair colour, painted nails. Metallica aren't supposed to be a gothic band you *******. You even make it sound convincing that you know it all. But anyhoo. Did I EVER say that Metallica didn't write some of the songs? NO! Thats somthing you made up in your own stupid little mind.

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Dr. Loon:
    Pornapster... you are simply one of the most foolish people I've ever met. You have ideas and self righteous, condescending bull **** spewing out your árse. When there's any talk of music, you seem to think you're the authority on it all.

Just cos you want to take Dave Mustaine from behind doesn't mean you know him personally, and just becaus he may/may not have said something, doesn't mean it's true.. the fact of the matter is... the only people who really know this shít is Dave Mustaine and Metallica. As faras I remember from my years as a metal head... they were co-written. You should stop with your pushy opinions you twat

</font>

*LAUGHS*

What in hell do you want?

a) Have I ever met you? ... No.

b) Did I ever say that Mustaine wrote the songs alone? ... No.

c) I couldn't honestly give a flying **** what you think of me cos you don't know me.

d) Quit whining like a baby.

What the **** are you my councellor?

BTW... I don't do any of the things that you said there incl hair colour, painted nails. Metallica aren't supposed to be a gothic band you *******.
    </font>

<SIGH>That was an argumentative generalisation.</SIGH><SARCASM>Can't you spot such things? Or do I have to hold your hand?</SARCASM>

You even make it sound convincing that you know it all.
    </font>

Never said I did, nor would I ever pretend to either. Just pointing out some simple truths!
    Did I EVER say that Metallica didn't write some of the songs? NO! Thats somthing you made up in your own stupid little mind.
    </font>

Are you sure about that?? Are you REALLY SURE???? How about this little quote FROM YOU (I'm gonna enjoy this ...)
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Metallica did not make the first two albums</font>

Also ...
    b) Did I ever say that Mustaine wrote the songs alone? ... No.
    </font>

You implied it though!!

I rest my case! Just as a matter of interest, what age are you pornnapster?

[This message has been edited by Lemming (edited 07-09-2001).]

Ha Ha.... yahaou

Aaaahhh Pornapster.

You ARE funny.

Really... you are a nice chap, and you're sound

Fink

I am 17.

BTW... I must say my fav quote...

"Better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not".

OK ok you got me there Lemming. But I still very much dislike Metallica. They've wen't from being a heavy metal band to being a pop band in a very short space of time.

I am 17.</font>

Aha .. it all beginning to get clearer now. At 14, 15, 16, 17, I was much more hardline about music. When you're a few years older, take a look back and see the difference in your tastes and opinions. Pragmatism, diversity, and appreciation come with age (in general).
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">But I still very much dislike Metallica. They've wen't from being a heavy metal band to being a pop band in a very short space of time</font>

You don't like Metallica, fair enough. But to start spouting bullsh*t about them on public boards is not going to win you any friends OR respect. All it does is make you look stupid and one of these "Mum and Dad didn't buy me a bike for my 14th birthday so I'm angry at the world" type-people.

Finally, nothing Metallica has ever done could be remotely attached to Pop (IMO). Rock most definitely, but Pop .. uh uh. Again, that perception is most likely down to your hardline definition of what constitutes metal. Again, watch that change over time! (I'm speaking from experience)

Just keep your mind open Pornapster. You'll enjoy your music more and maybe find some stuff you never thought of before!

(F*cking hell .. I sound like an old man here .. NOOOOO!!!!) biggrin.gif

[This message has been edited by Lemming (edited 07-09-2001).]