Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Metallica... What Next ??

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Theres no way I'm going off this music until my late 20's at the latest. I don't really care about internet friends or any of that ****. As I say. It's only the ****ing internet and youre probably from Cork or some place far away. I've got enough friends here.

Eh. Yea... also. The reason why I hate Metallica is because of their "bad boy" image. Theyr'e not even good at it. I mean c`mon. "Welcome to <towns name> baby" doesn't sound too good at their age. Megadeth etc. don't say anything of the sort. They just stick to the basics. Pantera, AC/DC are just downright funny in stupid sorts of ways. Metallica are just stuck between these which makes them neither.

Am I making sense now?

PanterA - Strength Beyond Strength
    There is nothing. No education. No family life to open my
    Arms to. You'd say that my job is today, yet gone tomorrow.
    I'll be broke in a gutter.
    I know the opinion. A broken record. Fu(k you and your
    College dream. Fact is, we're stronger than all.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by PORNAPSTER:
    Theres no way I'm going off this music until my late 20's at the latest.
    My fúckin árse!!

Am I making sense now?
    </font>
    So far, any conversation I've had with you (on boards) has not made sense, you're just being a stubborn twat for the sake of it. You'll cop on as you get older, really, I'm serious. You don't think you will, but you will... I'd say you may have grown out of all your shíte by about 20... I'm not gonna speak anymore now, 'cos I'll just get really píssed off!!!

Fink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Rua

On the Metallica topic - I must say I haven't loved everything they have released since 'Puppets, but I would really like to see a James Hetfield solao album where he continues with his hard edged Country theme - he's no Gram Parsons - and why should he be - but I love those songs like Unforgiven, Mama Said and his take on Turn the Page.

Rua

• Registered Users Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by PORNAPSTER:
    Theres no way I'm going off this music until my late 20's at the latest.</font>

I've heard that line before!!! From some people I know who were once HARDline rockers.
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">
    I don't really care about internet friends or any of that ****. As I say. It's only the ****ing internet and youre probably from Cork or some place far away. I've got enough friends here.
    </font>

AH .. classic 'youth' apathy statement. You don't care about respect?? Everything you do online reflects someway on who you are in reality. Without respect, everyone will just pass you off as a f*ckwit online OR off. Do you really want to be seen as a pig-ignorant gobsh*te for the rest of your life??? I sincerely hope not.

One last thing on that particular quote .. I'm from Dublin actually. So anytime you want to meet up and have a debate, drop me a line.

Eh. Yea... also. The reason why I hate Metallica is because of their "bad boy" image. Theyr'e not even good at it. I mean c`mon. "Welcome to <towns name> baby" doesn't sound too good at their age.
    </font>

What "bad boy" image are you referring to? Examples please! As for that quote you gave, if its the line of a song, what are you going on about .. its a song. I hear a lot of bands writing lyrics about war and "not afraid to die". BULLSH*T. Put any of these bands near a warzone or face them with death and they'd be ****ing themselves. That's utter crap, I'm sorry! (that includes MegaDeth and Pantera)
    Megadeth etc. don't say anything of the sort. They just stick to the basics. Pantera, AC/DC <SNIP>
    </font>

I've heard lyrics from AC/DC definitely that are worst than "Welcome to <town name> baby". You should listen to their stuff more. What you've said is a double-standard. Make up your mind.
    Am I making sense now?
    </font>

NO!!! If anything you're making yourself look like an ignorant dipsh*t

[This message has been edited by Lemming (edited 07-09-2001).]

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Dr. Loon:
    Originally posted by PORNAPSTER:
    Theres no way I'm going off this music until my late 20's at the latest.
    My fúckin árse!!

Am I making sense now?
    </font>
    So far, any conversation I've had with you (on boards) has not made sense, you're just being a stubborn twat for the sake of it. You'll cop on as you get older, really, I'm serious. You don't think you will, but you will... I'd say you may have grown out of all your shíte by about 20... I'm not gonna speak anymore now, 'cos I'll just get really píssed off!!!

Well I have liked it since I was seven or eight. Would you like a bet on it?

PanterA - Strength Beyond Strength
    There is nothing. No education. No family life to open my
    Arms to. You'd say that my job is today, yet gone tomorrow.
    I'll be broke in a gutter.
    I know the opinion. A broken record. Fu(k you and your
    College dream. Fact is, we're stronger than all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

OK -

First of all, Jason Newsted's leaving is no kind of death toll on the band. Whether he influenced their musical style or not is irrelevant, whats important was that he wasnt involved in the creative process much, which means that he wont harm the creation of good music, which in the end is what a band should be doing. Metallica have defnitely evolved over the years, and whether you like the changes or not, they are still making great music. This is of course and opinion, but when its shared by so many i think it has some validity. After that, i dont care what they are or what they do. I dont care about their image, I dont have their posters on my wall, i dont get 'Metallica Weekly' magazine or whatever, but it doesnt mean im not a fan. I like their music. This whole thing about their 'bad boy' image, which they are apparently terrible at effecting, makes absolutely zero difference to their music, and therefore zero difference to me. They write great music and great lyrics, which, in my opinion, is not matched by Pantera, Megadeth, AC/DC or any other rock/metal band. Image doesnt matter a flying copulation if the music is crap.

As for all the stuff about Mustaine, the guy had an attitude problem, and it was fair enough that he was kicked out. He was still in Metallica when Kill 'Em All was released, hence the whole 4 songs on Kill 'Em All and a couple on Ride The Lightning. He got credit for them and has no right, legal or otherwise, to ask Metallica not to play them or anything. They're not his songs, they're Metallica's songs. If there was any doubt about this, believe me, there would have been a court case by now. Besides all that, Metallica and Mustaine get on quite well these days.

S&M is defnitely one of my favourite albums ever, possibly my favourite, so i dont know what 'mistake' this is you're talking about. Its original and it works really well. Kudos to Metallica and Michael Kamen. Oh and i think those new tracks (in particular 'No Leaf Clover') are very promising for the future of the band.

What they write these days is not pop music in the sense that you mean. Remember that pop music comes from the term popular music, and any band who are decent and have been around 20 years must be reasonably popular. Their music has certainly changed. The songs have got shorter and more varied, but i think their great talent is still evident in everything they set their hand to. They are great at making powerful music, no matter what genre it is in. Black was probably their best album over all, but that doesnt mean they are going inot decline. Black is just and incredibly hard act to follow. However, Load had some great music - 'Until it Sleeps' and 'Bleeding Me' are undeniably great songs, and Reload also had some great tracks as well (in my opinion 'The Unforgiven II' was better than the original by a couple of miles at least).

I think that anyone who doesnt like Metallica full stop shouldnt really be adding to this topic, as its not helpful or even amusing. We didnt ask your opinion. Anyone who used to like Metallica but think theyve gone to hell, in my opinion, are much like the old QuakeWorld players - you cant get used to the idea of change, so you just condemn it. Either that or you dont like the style of music theyre moving towards. If its the latter, thats ok, but dont condemn it because of that. The music is still great, and i can say (as a fan), that its what the fans want to hear.

Finally, ive heard a rumour which, to me, is more dangerous to the future of the band than the departure of Jason Newsted or James Hetfields rehab (how many times has he been in rehab now?). I dont know if its true, so any confirmations would be appreciated. I hear that there is rather a large internal row in Metallica, due to Kirk Hammett recording a solo album (instrumental only, i imagine), which is apparently in breach of his contract. Has anyone else heard this?

Anyway, thats enough ranting for now.

A

Well said Asuka!! :)

As for that rumour, haven't heard naught about it. I'm subscribed to the encyclopedia metallica newsletter, and they woulda posted something like this (unless its VERY new info.). I'll keep ye's posted if I hear anything!!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

played asuka.
    nice anology to the old QWers :)

btw, no leaf clover is excellent.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    OK ok you got me there Lemming. But I still very much dislike Metallica. They've wen't from being a heavy metal band to being a pop band in a very short space of time.

Ok h8 to get into this one again but you're wrong. The definition of POP as you call it is Popular Music. We have come back to this time and time again.

Lets look at the american "PoP" charts for example...... Metallica aren't the only ones to get into the charts. By defenition all bands are in there somewhere - when the music gets sold they get in. So Pantera themselves are in there somehwere (just if they're not as popular it's not metallica's fault)

Another point - you said that metallica fans are wanna be metal heads. WRONG!!! You'll find that there is a percentage of metallica fans who wouldn't listen to any other type of metal music. Now this isn't because metallica aren't necessarily Metal (You already know their first few albumns were) but hell Metallica have ALWAYS had creative style in music. It TAKES someone who plays to understand that. Yes other metal bands have that and yes a lot are as good if not better than metallica but it doesn't stop the fact just because you don't like them.

Metallica's music as stated before has changed over time yes but as someone who happened to like the Load and Reload albumns and think less of those who call them sellouts I welcome ALL new music by them.

Some people think that because they have had this much success and popularity that every song has to be perfect. Not true. Hell you think that's the way it IS in music?

Grow up - or better yet go write YOUR perfect album and i'll be the first there to buy a copy.

I've had this discussion over time about metallica.....about radiohead....just because their music changes doesn't mean they are any less of a band. They have grown and adapted.

Can you seriously tell me that if the Beatles were still recording now WITH the late John Lennon that they'd be writing the same music? No. Rated as probably the greatest band ever they would have adapted with their style but a different GENERAL style of music.

Metallica are as good as they ever were because they're metallica. Music comes from your own feelings and style and in most cases having something to say. When they run out of this they'll stop but so far I think we've only seen the TIP of the iceburg of what they are capable of.

:):):)

I can't believe you guys are still in denial....

Denial of ... ????? Care to elaborate?
    OOOOO .. you mean about Metallica .. righttttttt!!

Well, y'see, it works like this p0rnapster. Whilst you're gonna stand there and state that everyone else is wrong and you're right, I'm gonna pish myself laughing at you.

Grow the f*ck up you sad twat!! Open your eyes. You might discover something you like. What are you afraid of?? That you might find you like David Bowie and Stereophonics and that all your 'friends' will think that you're not a rocker??

From Encycmet.com

On Friday Kirk Hammett and Lars Ulrich invited Ja Rule into the studio to record a rap for a new track. "I spin two 12-bar verses with Metallica on their new big, huge record they got that's crazy," Ja Rule said to MTV news.

The song is described as a "mostly instrumental number" which I think means it can be in the same category as "To live is to die" or "Orion" on Master of puppets. This might also be another minor guest appearance like Marianne Faithfull was on Re-load. The track may end up on a DreamWorks Records compilation.

... I rest my case.

Originally posted by Lemming

Grow the f*ck up you sad twat!! Open your eyes. You might discover something you like. What are you afraid of?? That you might find you like David Bowie and Stereophonics and that all your 'friends' will think that you're not a rocker??

LMAO... Grow up?! This is coming from someone who calls himself "Lemming"?

I know what I like. My three favourite bands are Pantera, Slayer and Morbid Angel.

I ain't afraid of nothing... I was an influence on my friends getting into this genre.

Once again. Get your facts straight.

LMAO... Grow up?! This is coming from someone who calls himself "Lemming"?

That "Lemming" alias comes from several sports I do/have done over the years (extreme sports if you must know).
    I know what I like. My three favourite bands are Pantera, Slayer and Morbid Angel.

You'll forgive me for saying this, but from the discussions I've had with you, and from seeing what else you post on the boards, you appear to listen to a VERY small circle of music. I have no problems with people listening to music they like, but when d*cks like you start ridiculing everything else cause it's not part of their listening choices, I get annoyed.

Such a WIDE varied taste you must have. In fact, I'll bet you're a fantastic specimen of a person to have an interesting and stimulating discussion on music about.

I ain't afraid of nothing... I was an influence on my friends getting into this genre.

Brave words. Heard them before. From people singing "I'm not afraid to die" along to words from a metal song the name of which escapes me. Everyone is afraid of something. Anyone who says otherwise is a f*cking idiot. Guess you must be one so!

I might be willing to bet also that your friends (some of them at least) don't ONLY listen to metal music?? You might want to ask them why?

Once again. Get your facts straight.

There's that very defensive attitude once again. Often displayed by those afraid of something they do not understand or know about. I think you are afraid of discovering that you might actually like something that you percieve to be at odds with the image of the genre, with which you are trying to fit into, that you have inside your head.

Purely hypothetical of course, and subject to interpretation. Therefore its not fact, but conjecture. So you may kiss my proverbial a*se!!

You'll forgive me for saying this, but from the discussions I've had with you, and from seeing what else you post on the boards, you appear to listen to a VERY small circle of music.

Brave words. Heard them before. From people singing "I'm not afraid to die" along to words from a metal song the name of which escapes me. Everyone is afraid of something. Anyone who says otherwise is a f*cking idiot. Guess you must be one so!

I might be willing to bet also that your friends (some of them at least) don't ONLY listen to metal music?? You might want to ask them why?

Yes I do have a small circle of music. Thats because I believe that there is a very small circle of good, decent music.

Good guess on the idiot thing. I couldn't honestly care less about dying. Life is just like one big game to me. *shrugs*

Yea my friends have interests in other genres. I always take the piss outta them for it cos they lsten to Bryan Adams and that sort of ****.

Yes I do have a small circle of music. Thats because I believe that there is a very small circle of good, decent music.

Fair enough. Your belief. No need to start imposing it on others though. I might ask have you even tried to actually LISTEN to anything else?? Or just passed it off as sh*t cause its not by Pantera et al. ??

Good guess on the idiot thing. I couldn't honestly care less about dying. Life is just like one big game to me. *shrugs*

I wasn't necessarily referring to dying. That was more of a stereotypical argument. Bad choice at that though (a bit ambiguous)!

Yea my friends have interests in other genres. I always take the piss outta them for it cos they lsten to Bryan Adams and that sort of ****.

Once again ... see my previous bit 4 paragraphs up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭black_wizardd

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    listening to the same sh17e as exodus, slayer, death etc etc etc

Slayer, shíte, what are you on man ?. Slayer are one of the most influential bands ever, period. Why are they shíte ?, you said yourself that you used to listen to them, what changed your opinion ?.

I'm not flaming btw, I just want to know why you changed your opinion. A valid reason would be that your musical tastes mellowed out, if this is the case then fair enough, but there's no reason to say that they are shíte.

Fair enough. Your belief. No need to start imposing it on others though. I might ask have you even tried to actually LISTEN to anything else?? Or just passed it off as sh*t cause its not by Pantera et al. ??

Na... I have tried to listen to Rap, Nu-metal, Indie, Alternative and I used to go to the ****ty Oasis over in Carrickmacross so I've listened to that Techno/Rave crap too. This type of music is made for me.

Fair enough. Your choice (somewhat my choice - among others), however not other peoples choices ... so let them have their music, you have yours, so what the f**k are you getting worked up about? If you don't like a band .. don't listen to them, and stop griping about them.

Variety, as they say, is the spice of life.

mmmkay... I made my point anyway...

*stretches out arm*

Where are you from Pornapster? Don't worry I'm not still arguing about music, just intereseted 'cos you mentioned Carrickmacross!?

OK but be prepared to get out your map...

Its a town 7 miles to the west of Carrickmacross, in Cavan. I'm not going to say the name of the town cos you'll bust your ass laughing for a week.

Not even if we ask nicely??

hehehehe :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Shercock?

Seems most likely... :)

shercock.jpg

Originally posted by Bard

Shercock?

Teeheeheeheehee :p

Yup... you got it... THANKS FOR POSTIN IT FOR THE WHOLE BOARD TO SEE BARD!
    *hard handshake*
    lol j/k

Cool.... I know Shercock. My Dad has a good friend there, a carpenter/joiner by the name of Greg Fidgeon... I was born in Carrickmacross (well Dundalk actually) but lived in Carrick until I was 4. But I consider myself a Dubliner... anyway, twas interesting to know... I thought you were gonna say you were from Cootehill!

Hell no I ain't from Cootehill!! LOL. I know Greg to see ... Carrick is a cool town... as is Kingscourt... but Bailieboro is full of knackers... Cootehill is ok I guess.