Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bigots.

• 05-06-2000 1:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭

Conor ya nosey *****!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Yea amazing isn't it.

I had a boss one time and we had an engineer coming over to fix a machine. When he got here the boss came running up two flights of stairs and then said to everyone "Everyone be careful, this engineer is black!". Like wtf was that supposed to mean? What was worse he was deadly serious about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Was wandering down the aisle in my local Tesco's this morning, gathering the ingredients for a sausage and bacon butty, when I saw two elderly folk in front of me, chatting away.

Both about 80, the woman had a gold cross the size of a typical hardback book around her neck. As I got near them I heard this:

Man: Sure you see lots of blacks driving cars these days...

Me: !!

Woman: Oh I go on my Mission every year and they're all black over there you know.

Man: Where are they getting the money for mobile phones and cars and whatnot?

At this point I butted in and asked the bloke what his problem was with black people driving cars, as it's no great crime that I am aware of. Was told to clear off and mind me own business, which I duly did.

I'd love to know what that guy thought was so amazing about a black person driving a car, like it was something they have no right to do. Answer: he associated blacks with some servile underclass that shouldn't be allowed own property.

As for that oul wan going on a Mission, I hate to think what sort of Catholic ethos she's presumably teaching the people there, all the while thinking that they are somehow not equal to Caucasian folk. Puts me in mind of Aine Ni Chonaill, the leader of the Immigration Control Platform, being a teacher of history in Clonakilty, Co. Cork.

I know this is a slightly rambling post, but it seems to me that the generations preceeding mine are just irrevocably racist. The Irish can be some of the most mean-spirited, ignorant pri<ks when they want to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Yeah and I find it incredibly ironic hearing Irish people moan about the ammount of immigrants. Anybody hear of this big famine we had here a while ago?

WUSSAT?? NO SPUDS???? AAAAAAGHHHH!!!!!

Lunacy Abounds! Play GLminesweeper!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

What kills me is the duel idiocy of the following statements:

1. All they want to do is come here and live off the welfare system. Why dont they work for a living.

2. Waah they are taking our jobs!

The irish did exactly this to most other civilised countries with good economies. Germany, England, US, Australia.

We went and skived off their prosperity and in doing so brought more prosperity by keeping inflation low, increasing the workforce and settling there to pay taxes etc.

Turn around is fair play imho.

I'm hiring Polish programmers because the Irish ones are few and far between.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Can't help picturing a dark dungeon in the basement of Spinsol.

DEV: I'LL GIVE YA PERA-BLEEDIN-STROIKA!!!
    *cracks whip*

Lunacy Abounds! Play GLminesweeper!

Originally posted by DeVore:
    I'm hiring Polish programmers because the Irish ones are few and far between.

And you can probably pay them buttons too. tongue.gif Just outsource to India it's much cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

but conor, youre a racist bas7ard...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,557 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

I was on train there at the weekend and this American says to me; "Jesus there are more blacks in Munich than in any/most America cities."

Like wtf, something wrong there?

This is coming from an fellow who is 28 and delivers pizza's for a living.

Hmmm...

ffs, Some Irish really...

Waiting for the train and 2 Irish guys come up.

"Which train do we get to north station?"

"all the trains go there, its only two stops"

"Does that train go there?" (points to train switched off)

"All trains go there"

"So can we get on that train?"

"No"

"Why not?"

"The train isn't switched on"

"Oh right"

"Your from Ireland right?"

"Yes"

"Same here, Dublin"

"uh huh. Ok thanks" (walks off)....

Then mutters to his friend "Another f'ing American Irish wannabe".

Sheesh.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Ah ya Simon, but you'll admit that there are loads of dumb-ass Americans that claim to be Irish cause their Father's Mother's Postman's Dog bit a guy whose Great Grandfather's Cat caught a mouse that was onboard a ship that came from Ireland.

That said, you don't have an American Accent (or do ya at this stage?) so they were just ignorant fups (like many Irish people).

All the best,

Dav
    @B^)
    My page of stuff

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

"And you can probably pay them buttons too. Just outsource to India it's much cheaper."

No actually since he's coming here we will pay him our standard offering. In fact thats WHY he's coming here because even with a Masters degree we can double his wages...

Tom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 esthermahergraiguecullen

But would you have butted in Castor Troy if they weren't two old people in their 80's? What if they were two strapping 6 footers?

Ess

Hey, I like a tall woman as much as the next man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

re: americans are all irish

last summer when i was over in san francisco, this ancient black guy with a caribbian name and voice told us that his grandmother was irish. he was about as irish as stalin.

Originally posted by MiCr0:
    re: americans are all irish

last summer when i was over in san francisco, this ancient black guy with a caribbian name and voice told us that his grandmother was irish. he was about as irish as stalin.

When I was in Singapore I met this cute girl who claimed she was Irish, but was unable to prove it when questioned further (she just smiled and kept filling my glass with beer).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭Paladin

So you got out of bed, put on your clothes and left?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,557 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Next they'll be trying to tell us that the Irish soccer team actually are Irish!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Adversary

Robbie Keane?
    Roy Keane?

Is it racist to say that all black people look stupid with blonde hair? Did you see that freak on the Portugese team last night? I wouldn't have been able to keep myselft from taking the ****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

Puts me in mind of Aine Ni Chonaill, the leader of the Immigration Control Platform, being a teacher of history in Clonakilty, Co. Cork.

Oh! lol, Miss Ni Chonaill. She was my next door neighbour in Rosscarbery. She was a difficult topic to approach, because a lot of people supported her because of the good stuff she did in the area and saying she wasn't half as bad as people to say.. and stuff, while others were very strongly against. you know the way. Her house is an old broken down thing with rats in the ground floor and a 40 watt - yes, 40watt lightbulb and no curtains smile.gif
    she doesn't like me because i captained the team that knocked her Irish team out of Diospoireacht Ghael Linn (yes, i did take part, but only because the teachers made me and i had a load of free classes) but the thing was, the debate was a big Nationalist thing, and I was putting forward the (extreme) nationalist arguments biggrin.gif
    anyway, rambling... humanities... uh..

yes, the Irish can be some of the most mean-spirited, ignorant pri<ks when they want to be. It reminds me something someone said to me as a youngfella in america. him being black, he says: "James, though we are blessed with your presence in america, my father has always told me that the Irish hate the blacks, and i could never go to Ireland on vacation because i'd be beaten up." That is how some people see it over there, but that is gone too far. As it is, tis part of the culture and stuff to look down on other races and ethnic minorities and stuff, you know the jokes that everybody tells and stuff.
    god, rambling again... 4.12... uh...
    Those two people in Tesco's were just ignorant

lol at the rest of the thread too. When i was a youngfella in america, i swear, i would get adults saying: "I'm 30% Italian, 30% Porto Rican, 30% Cape Verdian, and 30% Irish." yes, i know thats 120%, but they didn't. anyway, oh, i was the pet of so many teachers because i was irish, and "so were they". unfortunately, half of them didn't know where Ireland was.
    A very educated and intelligent 5th grade teacher once said to me, quite seriously: "what, they have cars in ireland?"
    You wouldn't believe the surprise when i told him we also have televisions.
    Anyway (rambling) everyone over there was irish, that was very funny. but i suppose, they're more irish than they are anything else, because they don't see themselves as american (what is american?) and most of them have irish grandparents anyway. So, while they're not 30% irish, they are partly irish and sure, what other nationality would you want to claim wink.gif
    btw, while the last post consisted partly of lies and exaggerations, everything in this post is the absolute truth.

On the assumption that there weren't/aren't many immigrants in Roscarberry, any idea why Ms. Ni Chonaill is such an odious fascist, ikillya?

I somehow doubt she's exactly been living in a multicultural melting pot down there smile.gif but that must mean she's just being an ignorant rascist and judging everyone before she meets them.....

surely not smile.gif

You should try Cork. Just about everybody is welcomed with open arms but they'll be forever a "blow in". My father moved here from Waterford almost twenty five years ago but he's still a blow in!

Unless your family has lived there for as long as anyone can remember you're a second class citizen. I remember one american kid who was brilliant at basketball spent 3 years on the bench because the coach would only play "locals".

I hear it's the same with GAA and though I've never been to a council meeting I've heard that blow ins don't get their say until last and if the meeting is close to being over, not at all.

Ya, Castor Troy - thats the way it is from what i have seen. The less foreigners there are, the more racist the locals are. The deeper you go into the country the worse it gets i'd say. I suppose, places like Schull, they're used to outsiders and just forget about them.

Originally posted by Illkillya:
    A very educated and intelligent 5th grade teacher once said to me, quite seriously: "what, they have cars in ireland?"
    You wouldn't believe the surprise when i told him we also have televisions.

ROFL smile.gif Actually my brother (who's probably reading this thread) did an interview for an American local newspaper when he spent a year in the US. He told them that people don't have cars and walk around the place a lot and they wrote it as if you were a rich landlord if you owned a car.

Of course when I actually went to the same place he was I understand what he was getting at. The place is basically "car culture" so he was saying "look you can still lead a normal life if you don't own a car" but before knowing that the story was hilarious.

Think he also fed them the usual "we all ride donkeys" type BS.

hehe, i know the way. sometimes, after hearing "lepreachauns don't really exist, do they?" for the 4th time in 1 day, you put a bit of variety in your answer.
    "oh, they do exist, but not as you know them. They're actually like a species of small, hairless monkey, very intelligent, but considered a pest in most areas. We usually just leave some rat poison around for them, but if you stamp on the, green blood oozes out..."
    if you're really serious in your reply, they don't know whether to believe it or not biggrin.gif

I like to go with the "Aye, and one of them comes in ta' me room every night and taunts me with his pot o' gold. One day I'll catch the little ****er!"

They tend not to bother you again if you do it well.

Originally posted by Illkillya:
    hehe, i know the way. sometimes, after hearing "lepreachauns don't really exist, do they?" for the 4th time in 1 day, you put a bit of variety in your answer

Reminds me of some Irish Comedian telling his conversation with some American. The American asked how could he handle living in a war zone? He replied it was rough trying to get to work in the morning with the snipers out on the street and you normally had to wait until the soliders pulled up in armored transport to get there. smile.gif

... While waiting for the Shaft Movie to start the other day, they have these "Did you know" type adverts that come up in a slide show. One of them had the following...

The Movie "Angelas Ashes" found it so hard to find an authentic slum in Dublin had one built (go figure).

However two girls sitting in the row in front. One goes to the other "You would reckon they would have loads of slums what with the famine there".

lol, nothing to do with ireland or anything, but my sister was in San Fran and she went out to a restaurant with some rich bimbos, and one of them asked for Low Fat Water biggrin.gif

I think it's safe to say that all of the above proves that most Americans are fúcking idiots!

All the best,

Dav
    @B^)
    My page of stuff

Originally posted by Kharn:
    I think it's safe to say that all of the above proves that most Americans are fúcking idiots!

and that is as racist as saying all blacks should stay in there own place (whereever that is) !!!

Ess

Esther, baby, learn to end a quote where it actually ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

Yeah esther baby.

Well I'm in the states meself at the moment and me missus (also from ireland and in the states for the summer) says to the boss, "no I'm not really used to using this type of a cash register, I'm only used to the scanners", and the boss says "what you have scanners in Ireland, wow", and if truth be told theres more scanners over there than there are here, dumbass (not being ignorant or racist there, i know the man and he is a dumbass).

esther:
    Have you read the kind of stuff people have been posting on this thread? Read it carefully and try to tell me that those Americans aren't idiots. These things are what so many Americans hold to be true of Ireland. Therefore, they are fúcking idiots! (the ones who believe these things, not Americans in general).

All the best,

Dav
    @B^)
    My page of stuff

If it looks like **** and smells like **** why would it be racist to call it ****?

Imagine a world where everybody who dresses like a knacker is a knacker. Imagine that every knacker was a thieving ignorant **** who'd beat you up and rob you given the chance. It's not racist to be suspicous of knackers - it's good sense.

Shot man!
    I totally agree. We used to own a shop and the knackers were the worst. I've had to "escort" them from the premesis (after I made them remove all the items from their jackets etc).
    One of them raised a fist to me but had a size 11 Doc Marten in his face so fast he didn't know what hit him. His friends saw the mess I made of his face, picked him up and never returned.
    My Mum (shop owner) saw this and couldn't believe I'd done it - she then burst out laughing and congratulated me!
    This of course was at a time when I was doing Karaté 2 nights a week for 2 hours a time and was actually able to kick at the same level as my head smile.gif

Just one of many of my strange little stories from my days of "public service" kind of work.

All the best,

Dav
    @B^)
    My page of stuff

sound just like what the Americans did to the Irish at one time so in fact you come from a long line of knackers!
    Originally posted by Kharn:
    Shot man!
    I totally agree. We used to own a shop and the knackers were the worst. I've had to "escort" them from the premesis (after I made them remove all the items from their jackets etc).
    One of them raised a fist to me but had a size 11 Doc Marten in his face so fast he didn't know what hit him. His friends saw the mess I made of his face, picked him up and never returned.
    My Mum (shop owner) saw this and couldn't believe I'd done it - she then burst out laughing and congratulated me!
    This of course was at a time when I was doing Karaté 2 nights a week for 2 hours a time and was actually able to kick at the same level as my head smile.gif

Just one of many of my strange little stories from my days of "public service" kind of work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Er ... I think this serious topic turned into an anti-american topic. Saying that though , americans arent just stupid , they're undeniably gulable.
    Sad fact of the matter in Ireland at the moment is that alot of people think that these immigrants are stealing our jobs , sure ffs , I think that we have done some of this type of jazz on a larger scale a while back AND we really dont have a big enough labour force .
    IMO all racists are wimps.Cant stand racists .
    One lad in my school , serious gob****e , called a black gaelic football player the 'N' word out loud , about 10 lads burst out laughing and I'm there thinkin to myself that this isnt right , this isnt happening.
    And what struck me even more was that when I told him to shut the fu(k up or I'd kill him , he looked at me as much to say 'whats wrong ?'He couldnt understand why I was annoyed . If his mates werent present I would have seriously disfigured that muppets appereance.

It's about a society in freefall....

Don't get me wrong - it's not that I'd never give a knacker a chance. I knew a knacker once that was one of the nicest people you'll ever meet. He's definitly in the minority though. I'll treat knackers as scum untill they prove otherwise and make no apoligies for it.

That's being pre-judiced against a social group not a race. Being pre-judiced against someone cos of their skin colour is totally different. You can't tell anything about someone just because they're black - so why hold something against him?

Assasins do it from behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Why hold something against him? ... um... so he doesn't fall over?

(sorry, that WAS lame)

I agree with you, by the way

Speaking of the famine, ... have a look at www.iol.ie/~rayh/irhosp.htm - I neither confirm nor condone what it says there, but t'is interesting all the same.

Bard

home page

[This message has been edited by Bard (edited 22-06-2000).]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

"You can help by phoning (312-664-7651) in your $160 pledge toward the specific Mass Grave you choose"

Eh , well its a bit kinda non specific , alot of that stuff about regiments being in the right county and all wouldnt be hard to find out , as for his views , I dont think that it's a feesible view at all . As much as you might want to believe that ut was their fault , it just doesnt make sense really , its not like it happened a thousand years ago , it only happened recently enough to be honest .Bah , sure what can you do ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

True enough, but an interesting viewpoint all the same.

Bard

home page

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

Ya'll never guess what i saw in town today...an actual china man....smoking an actual fag.
    ROFL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

And thats funny, why?

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

We Irish always seem to think that Americans are dumb. They're not. They just don't get our sense of humour most of the time. It doesn't mean they're stupid. It simply means they're not Irish. Nor a percentage thereof.

Example. A couple of years ago, I went to the Aran Islands with a friend of mine and some Americans who were over on some summer school type education course thing that his parent's company ran. We were on the ferry over and as Inis Mor came into view I said in a sincere manner: "Did you know the Aran Islands are the centre of the Irish Space programme?". I kept a straight face until about the point when one of them inquired as to whether or not we had space shuttles? They were not stupid though, and by the end of the weekend, they were making such jokes themselves. But then again, one of them felt that the island could do with an amusement park and lamented his inability to use his credit card, but he was a vapid twat of vast proportions.

Plus, If someone doesn't know anything about Ireland, then how are they to know how backward or advanced we are? Anyone who's been to the US knows how self-absorbed they are in their own country. Understandable. Its HUGE. Seen CBS news? That Don Brokhaw or whoever could announce at the end of the programme that Azarbhyakistanland has exploded overnight, and almost nobody would give a toss a day later, if at all. A friend of mine who spent a summer in Ocean City, was asked by some bird:
    'how many people live in Ireland?'
    'About 345' was the reply.
    'Really!', she said.
    'Well, no actually. U2 are on tour here, and there's me and Shane, so its more like 339.'
    ...She copped on a day or two later though.

As regards stupid people. They're everywhere. Including among us Irish. 2 years ago we were in Majorca. We as in about 15 of us. This dumb biiacth, who we referred to as "the Clown" (the invocation of this title sparked off an episode of circus-music signing) invited herself along. Her friend (beautiful) had pulled out, who we knew and liked (a lot), but the Clown came anyway. I digress.
    We were in a cafe one morning, having bought all the red bull available in the supermarket the night before (for reasons apparant to all heavy drinker) and she asks for a cafe au lait. ..and asks for milk in it. She must have watched too much soccer during that world cup. Incredibly dim.
    Her: "Oooh, I've always wanted to have one of those"
    Us: "Duh-duh-duddle-duh de-dah-et-dah dah-dah" etc.
    Her: "!"

In any case stupid people are usually happy people. Ignorance is bliss. Is it so bad to be stupid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

There are stupid people everywhere. When you get 250 million people, you're bound to have more stupid peeps. Doesn't mean that they all are.

America is very self absorbed, so much so that they rarely bother to make sure that what they teach about the rest of the world is up to date (or even correct). My cousin, a bright enough lad, recently got a B+ in maths. He actually got a C- but got bumped up to B+ 'for effort'. Fair enough, they want to encourage the lad to try and they want to reward him for making a decent attempt and , with the almost incredible measures for avoiding 'psychological trauma' they didn't want to discourage him by giving a low grade. But to reward someone for sitting an exam by giving him a grade hike (of that amount especially!) is ridiculous. Technically, I could go and sit a Harvard Business school exam and make a decent enough effort, perhaps even enough to get a pass (hmmm, maybe not), I certainly wouldn't mind getting a grade jump just because I know less than everyone else and attempted to do the same paper! I might even get an honour out of it!!

Point is, Americans aren't stupid or idiots. The average American is just trained, and conditioned NOT to think as much or rather not to question as much as the average Irish kid. When I was in school, I got some pretty low test results but I worked my **** off to make sure I didn't fail, in America more reward comes for effort than result.

It's just two different ways of thinking.

And America *has* produced some pretty quick minded businessmen, scientists, mathematicians, authors, poets etc. Their approach to thinking seems to work for some people, for the rest, there's always uber-nationalistic pride.... (not that we have that sort of blind patriotism..)

On the subject of bigotry:

Did anyone do that survey about the most racist country in Europe? I read the questions they asked. One of them was:

"Would you notice a man was black if you passed next to him on a crowded street?"

Now I'm fairly open minded. I don't say "Blacks should be slaves to the superior white race", I certainly don't consider myself a *agressively* racist or bigoted but I would have to answer YES to the question above.

We're a small island nation of pale skinned people. Of COURSE I'm going to notice a different skin tone! Just like I'd notice a punk with bright purple hair, or a Goth-crow-wannabe-or-maybe-matrix-can't-really-decide-but-boots-look-cool-and-huge-anyway type. That doesn't mean I'm going to ignore him, be rude to him, tell him to leave my country!

On the other hand, I was recently having a quiet pint and I got taken for a foreigner by two old lads (when I say old I mean they could be anywhere between 40 and 60, it was impossible to tell). Later, after they had a few, one of them starts on at me about being an immigrant and taking his job. I stayed calm while he shouted and insulted me. I said nothing when he announced that he would quite happily "put a ****ing bullet in my head". To me *that's* racist. Not this 'noticing' or even saying a generalisation like "African people have black skin and white teeth". Anyone that knows me, knows that I am pretty much not foreign looking. Thank fu<k yer man didn't ask me my name smile.gif ignorant *****...

• Subscribers Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Draco

Originally posted by LoLth:
    And America *has* produced some pretty quick minded businessmen, scientists, mathematicians, authors, poets etc.
    This is the converse of the stupid people point - they are bound to produce a lot of intelligent people when there is 250+ million of them.

there's always uber-nationalistic pride.... (not that we have that sort of blind patriotism..)

Made worse by hollywood 1984-like rewritting of history like in the film U-784 (or whatever the film is called). "If we didn't get the engima, you would have been beaten by Germany!" And you *know* some people will think it is true...

Did anyone do that survey about the most racist country in Europe?

Where is it?

"Would you notice a man was black if you passed next to him on a crowded street?"
    I would as well - there were a few asians and indians where I grew up but there were no blacks (I don't think there are any even now). It is definity more of a "oh look. he's black" than the "oh look at there's a kaffir"

Goth-crow-wannabe-or-maybe-matrix-can't-really-decide-but-boots-look-cool-and-huge-anyway
    My boots are great! Leave them alone! And I got them before the Matrix was out (I think...)

On the other hand, I was recently having a quiet pint and I got taken for a foreigner by two old lads (when I say old I mean they could be anywhere between 40 and 60, it was impossible to tell). Later, after they had a few, one of them starts on at me about being an immigrant and taking his job. I stayed calm while he shouted and insulted me. I said nothing when he announced that he would quite happily "put a ****ing bullet in my head". To me *that's* racist.
    Where was that? I would have turned round and said in my biggest cluiche accent "Moi family been 'ere for near on 500 years."

Anyway you're only an itite blow in wink.gif

Draco

[This message has been edited by Draco (edited 27-06-2000).]