Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eircom Broadband

• 20-12-2004 10:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭

Firstly I'm not very technical minded so excuse if I'm asking some dumb questions. I've also posted this on the wireless message board but ain't gettin a response so I'm gonna try here.

I've had eircom broadband at home now for over a year. I have a netopia external modem connected to my home PC. However, I'm paying 55quid a month but don't think that I need the 8GB download capacity and could probably change to the 4GB and then reduce my monthly payment to 40quid. Is there any way that I can find out exactly how much capacity that I have been using so thatI can tell whether to reduce my download capacity or not?

Another thing is that I now have a laptop for work and would like to be able to use the net on both the home PC and the laptop at the same time. Now my folks bought broadband recently and have had nothing but trouble with Eircom...it's a long story but the situation is they now don't have a subscription with Eircom but they still have the netopia modem that Eircom left them AND a wireless modem that Eircom also left for them. Can I take my folks netopia modem and plug it into my laptop to have broadband on both my PC and laptop or is my broadband service directly related to my specific netopia modem? I would take their wireless modem but I think Eircom will be back at some stage but don't think they will be looking for the netopia one.