Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Northern Bank Robbery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Whats the betting on ex-military types being involved?
    MrPudding wrote:
    I heard it said that the robbers were probably very surprised at the amount of cash in the vault, it is reckoned that they expected nowhere near that amount.
    Its the headquarters of a bank. What did they expect? Piggy banks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

Victor wrote:
    Whats the betting on ex-military types being involved?

Provos Evens
    ex UDR/RIR 5-1
    UDA 5-1
    UVF 8-1
    INLA 10-1
    Ex Plod 20-1
    Villains 20-1
    Ex Briitsh Army Regulars 25-1
    IPLO 50-1
    RIRA 50-1
    CIRA 100-1
    LVF 100-1
    Ulster Resistance 500-1
    Official IRA 1000-1

M

No odds for, eh, banks robbers / ODCs?

Muck wrote:
    Villains 20-1

M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭BCB

I have no doubts it was the Provos, no other paramilitary grouping (or criminals) has the capability of pulling off such a massive heist,even if it wasnt sanctioned by the Army Council my guess it was carried out by senior members of the Provos have become disillisoned with the GFA and perhaps want to finance a campaign of armed resistance against the British,id be dumstruck if it turned out to be anybody else but the Provisional IRA........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭BCB

Muck wrote:
    Provos Evens
    ex UDR/RIR 5-1
    UDA 5-1
    UVF 8-1
    INLA 10-1
    Ex Plod 20-1
    Villains 20-1
    Ex Briitsh Army Regulars 25-1
    IPLO 50-1
    RIRA 50-1
    CIRA 100-1
    LVF 100-1
    Ulster Resistance 500-1
    Official IRA 1000-1

M

Provos 1-50 FAV

500-1 Bar...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

BCB wrote:
    id be dumstruck if it turned out to be anybody else but the Provisional IRA........

But even if this is the case - their supporters will maintain that such criminality does not break the Good Friday Agreement.
    Sinn Fein is also against criminality of any sort. And we deeply resent any attempt to besmirch republicans with that label.
    Link

The killing of Jerry McCabe resulted from criminality on the part of Republicans.
    link
    Niall Binead, 35, of Faughart Road, Crumlin, and Kenneth Donohoe, 26, of Sundale Avenue, Mountain View, Tallaght, had been found guilty of membership of an illegal organisation at the Special Criminal Court on November 18.

Mr Binead, a father of four, had been found with documents in his house which included surveillance details on a number of politicians and Dublin criminals.

Bertie Ahern, has called on the IRA to make a clear statement on ending illegal activity. But the IRA has still to make such a statement.

But looking up the SDLP website:
    SDLP Deputy Leader Alasdair McDonnell said Sinn Fein is in denial about IRA criminality and the role of the IMC in exposing and highlighting it.

He said: “The IMC has made some mistakes and the SDLP has been clear about them. But Sinn Fein is going to extraordinary lengths to deny the basic truths that everyone knows and the IMC highlighted.
    Link

Irish polititicians have brought IRA criminality to our attention. Far from being in a state of deniel - such criminality has to be stopped.

If IRA were involved in this raid - I fear it will be a sereve blow to the Peace Process.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭true

Sinn Fein are hippocrites and liars of the first degree. I cannot understand why more people do not see them for what they are. They should do the decent thing and get the provos to get rid of some semtex and offensive ( as opposed to defensive ) type weaponry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

true wrote:
    They should do the decent thing and get the provos to get rid of some semtex and offensive ( as opposed to defensive ) type weaponry.

See my reply to you in the decommissioning thread

I read it but it does not matter. There is no proof or even list of what the provos actually decomissioned, if anything. After all these years, the Irish and British people want them to try harder. They have, after all, by far the biggest arsenal of illegal arms in the country. Have they got rid of any semtex , for example? Why would they hang on to 30 tons of this ? We all know what it can do in the wrong hands e.g. look at Omagh. Why would they want to hang on to so much explosives and guns? There are not that many more Northern banks to rob.
    Why would a Dub in Glasgow want to defend them hanging on to so much?

Nothing about defending anyone, more like agreeing with the Independent International Commissioning for Decommissioning and what everyone agreed to to. New conditions?

You have not answered any of the questions above.

You ask about "New conditions" ? Kneecappings, bank robbories, survellance at Stormont, lack of transparency etc

Not answered your questions? 1st off it is the wrong thread but here goes
    true wrote:
    I read it but it does not matter. There is no proof or even list of what the provos actually decomissioned, if anything.

Apart from the word of the IIDC that substantial quantities were decommissioned. Why do you dispute this?
    After all these years, the Irish and British people want them to try harder. They have, after all, by far the biggest arsenal of illegal arms in the country.

The people voted for the IIDC to give them the answer on decommissioning, you believe that should change?
    Have they got rid of any semtex , for example? Why would they hang on to 30 tons of this ?

Probably considering that explosives form part of the decommissioning verified by the IIDC. Why do you not believe them?
    We all know what it can do in the wrong hands e.g. look at Omagh.

Yes, an act which was not carried out by the Provisional IRA and explosives can be sourced in the future which really makes all the new demands academic.
    Why would they want to hang on to so much explosives and guns?

Political leverage I suppose, it was agreed that the Good Friday Agreement would implement all sorts of changes. Have they all happened?
    There are not that many more Northern banks to rob.

I must have missed the bit where people were actually convicted of the big robbery
    Why would a Dub in Glasgow want to defend them hanging on to so much?

See my original answer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Muck wrote:
    Villains 20-1

M

Nah, Aston Villa fans are far too nice!

Mike.

feck thats 10,000 posts! :eek:

mike65 wrote:
    Nah, Aston Villa fans are far too nice!

Mike.

feck thats 10,000 posts! :eek:

If it was not for the 10k, I would squirm at that attempt :D

Living here on the island of Ireland tells me that all of the people I know, north and south of the border, want the IRA to be seen to decommission. Not a single gun has proven to be decommissioned so far. You cannot fool all of the people all of the time.

You say "Political leverage I suppose," for why the IRA has not decommissioned. Holding soooo many illegial guns and sooooo much semtex is soooo much more than politics, my friend.

true wrote:
    Living here on the island of Ireland tells me that all of the people I know, north and south of the border, want the IRA to be seen to decommission.

Is that a poor attempt to say that I should have no say? All the people I know on the island of Ireland want to know why the Independent International Committe on Decommissioning is not to be believed. care to shed any light on this?
    Not a single gun has proven to be decommissioned so far. You cannot fool all of the people all of the time.

You do not agree with the statements from the Independent International Committe on Decommissioning? Why not?
    You say "Political leverage I suppose," for why the IRA has not decommissioned.

No, I said not decommissioned everything
    Holding soooo many illegial guns and sooooo much semtex is soooo much more than politics, my friend.

What if it was legal?

I note you have not answered one question put to you even though I have answered all yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

Quick question. I work for company X. If I rob a bank does that mean that my employer is guilty of robbing the bank?

MrP

I said "Holding soooo many illegial guns and sooooo much semtex is soooo much more than politics, my friend." , because you said holding on to so much arms and explosives was " just political leverage".

In reply the Dub in Glasgow asks "What if it was legal?" That has nothing to do with it. The fact is the guns and explosives are illegal. However, your answers do give us all ( the 82 % of the Irish population that want to see IRA decommissioning ) plenty of reason to distrust the provos, as if we did not have enough already.

"Ye gotta be near the action to have your finger on the pulse". Have you ever lived in Northern Ireland, Mr. Dub in Glasgow?

true wrote:
    "Ye gotta be near the action to have your finger on the pulse". Have you ever lived in Northern Ireland, Mr. Dub in Glasgow?

Right, we are now into the 'please provide your personal history' mode now. You know where I am from and where I currently located, what about your details?

See my reply to you in the decommissioning thread
    Which one (thread)? :(

true, without wanting to go off topic, the amount of decommissioning engaged in is more that "not a bullet, not an ounce" and less than everything. More than likely, all the homemade explosives (less than stable) and Semtex (beyond it's best before date) are gone. Improvised detonators, weapons and other devices are likely gone.

The real question comes down what has happened the bulk of mostly AK-47 and miscellaneous type rifles, shotguns and handguns (and associated ammunition) and assorted other weapons like grenades, machine guns and RPGs.

The method of decommissioning is a (less than) open secret (that I'm not sharing, but has been published in several places).

Victor wrote:
    Which one (thread)? :(

It was late :o I was talking about the other thread where true was posting about the same stuff (the Paisley thread)

I think that both SF/IRA & the DUP will not compromise before the UK election.

Hopefully the electorate of NI will see thru see thru "not a inch" type posturing.

I think the Columbia 3 & the Niall Binead case do nothing for the Peace Process.

Survallance on Irish TDs is a worrying development.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭cdebru

Cork wrote:
    I think that both SF/IRA & the DUP will not compromise before the UK election.

Hopefully the electorate of NI will see thru see thru "not a inch" type posturing.

I think the Columbia 3 & the Niall Binead case do nothing for the Peace Process.

Survallance on Irish TDs is a worrying development.
    and none of that has anything to do with a bank robbery

whoever they were good luck to them

although it is going to take an awful long time to launder that money in 20s at an ice skating rink.

An Ice Skating Rink in UVF Territory Dundonald .

I'd say the UVF get the notes at trade prices too , £1 for a £20 for example , seeing as bizniss is bizniss :)

M

Muck wrote:
    An Ice Skating Rink in UVF Territory Dundonald .

I'd say the UVF get the notes at trade prices too , £1 for a £20 for example , seeing as bizniss is bizniss :)

M
    of course maybe the UVF took time off from killing other loyalists and robbed the bank themselves

See my odds.

They coulda BOUGHT them dammit . Expect some £20 shows in the Felons club too . :)

M

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

cdebru wrote:
    whoever they were good luck to them
    And again, tacit approval of violent criminal activity.

"Good luck to them"? You're wishing good fortune on people who stole other people's money, and threatened bank officials' families with violence to facilitate the act?

There may be the faintest veneer of an excuse for so-called "political" crimes, but this kind of cheerleading for venial thuggery is really making me sick.

You should be ashamed of yourself.

oscarBravo wrote:
    And again, tacit approval of violent criminal activity.

"Good luck to them"? You're wishing good fortune on people who stole other people's money, and threatened bank officials' families with violence to facilitate the act?

There may be the faintest veneer of an excuse for so-called "political" crimes, but this kind of cheerleading for venial thuggery is really making me sick.

You should be ashamed of yourself.

I really dont feel ashamed

whoever managed to rob 22 million sterling good luck to them
    even if it turns out to be the UVf

the banks rob people every day of the week some one managed to make off with some of their cash you have to have at least a sneaking regard for them.

I feel sorry for the families that went trough that ordeal but at the end of the day no one was hurt no one is dead it is only money.

and if I think if most people tought they could rob a bank of 22 million and get away with it they would do it

Stealing money is wrong. There is no justification.

This robbery will only add mis trust to a fragile peace process.

What ever side planned it - it shows absolute comtempt for the Peace Process.

Shame on those who carried it out.

Hopefully, they'll be cought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

cdebru wrote:

Good for you then. Yay etc.

Good for them then. Yay as well.
    the banks rob people every day of the week some one managed to make off with some of their cash you have to have at least a sneaking regard for them.

No, no you don't. Whether or not the banks "rob" people or not isn't the point of the thread. These people, used violence and intimidation to obtain money which didn't belong to them.

Where do you think the cost of the extra security measures which will now have to be taken etc etc will end up coming from? The customers of the bank. Those people who are being "robbed". So really, they stole money from the everyday Joe Soaps who happen to bank with the Northern.
    I feel sorry for the families that went trough that ordeal but at the end of the day no one was hurt no one is dead it is only money.

No one was hurt physically. A bit of a difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

finlma wrote:
    Hardly idiots. Smart guys I'd say. The fact that they organised a robbery of this magnitude means they have some plan to launder the cash. Its not that difficult to launder money with the right contacts.

I say all due respect to them. The banks rob from everyone of us every day and these guys were brave enough to pull a heist.

Expect to see Oceans 25 on your screens next Christmas.
    cdebru wrote:

Either of you ever been in an armed robbery?
    With somebody screaming at you "Give us the bleedin' money" etc.
    It's extremely upsetting
    Some people never recover from it.

as for the comment about banks robbing people every day of the week - that's a load of rubbish. Would you care to explain exactly how this is done?
    Overcharging and interest loading by certain banks on some customers over a period of time does not equate to robbing people every day of the week.

If your gripe is with their profits - well then you can level that accusation at any business who dares make money for themselves.

:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

What other crimes are ok?

Tax evasion?
    Murder?

This bank riad will have implications for the Peace process. If this raid - wrecks the Good Friday agreement - Those anti agreement republicans and loyalists wil also think it was worth it.

this is Northern bank
    Part of the National Australia group

which includes NIB

well excuse me if I dont get too concerned about a bunch of thieves being robbed

If someone broke into John Gilligans house and robbed the ****er blind would it be a crime yes would i give a **** no

if these guys are caught they will go to jail thats more than what happened to the thieves in the NIB who got of scot free how much did they steal

Cork wrote:
    What other crimes are ok?

Tax evasion?

Apparantly, tax evasion is considered OK by most of the big political parties and the governement!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭capistrano

cdebru wrote:
    I think if most people tought they could rob a bank of 22 million and get away with it they would do it

Where's your morality? You sound like a typical shinner to me.

smiaras wrote:

Not funny at all that the movers and shakers of this country over the last 30 years committed crimes to avoid paying tax. You can only close loopholes if it is tax avoidance. For tax evasion to occur, the loophole must have already been closed and it is/was a crime.

Not funny at all that the movers and shakers of this country over the last 30 years committed crimes to avoid paying tax. .

A bit of a generalisation, Dub in Glasgow? Just because there may have been one or two rotten appels in the barrel eg Charlie Haughey, does not mean the whole barrel is rotten. Not everyone is crooked. Or when you say "this country" do you mean your adopted country, where presumably you pay your taxes, or do you mean Rep. of Ireland.

You can only close loopholes if it is tax avoidance. For tax evasion to occur, the loophole must have already been closed and it is/was a crime.

It it quite interesting how you can consider someone paying less tax that they should in the 26 counties as having commited a crime when you do not consider for example the murder of the Guard in Adare a crime ? I bet if a northern nationalist on the Falls Road avoids or evades tax to H.M. government you would not consider that a crime ? Or someone who avoides paying their BBC TV licence (like everyone else) in South Armagh ?

If you are a Sinn Fein supporter you can use whatever hippocritical argument you can to attack southern constituonal politicians.

true wrote:
    A bit of a generalisation, Dub in Glasgow? Just because there may have been one or two rotten appels in the barrel eg Charlie Haughey, does not mean the whole barrel is rotten. Not everyone is crooked. Or when you say "this country" do you mean your adopted country, where presumably you pay your taxes, or do you mean Rep. of Ireland.

Here we go again, I live in Scotland now and pay income tax to the UK government therefore according to 'true', my view is less valid. Get a life!
    It it quite interesting how you can consider someone paying less tax that they should in the 26 counties as having commited a crime when you do not consider for example the murder of the Guard in Adare a crime ?

Read what I actually, not what you think I said. Tax 'avoidance' is not a crime. Tax 'evasion' is. I would like if all the 'avoidance' loopholes are closed.

Of course, the Adare killing is a crime. I just believe that crime comes under the prisoner release program of the GFA. Is that a crime?
    If you are a Sinn Fein supporter you can use whatever hippocritical argument you can to attack southern constituonal politicians.

You mean it is OK for me to have a view now??

I think that SF/IRA have got to accept that all criminality has got to be ended. I think that a fudge by SF will not be acceptable.

In any future agreement between soverign elected governments and Sf/IRA - all criminality has got to be stopped.

If the IRA were involved in this bank raid - then there is no merit in them involved in the Peace Process.

Read what I actually, not what you think I said. Tax 'avoidance' is not a crime. Tax 'evasion' is. I would like if all the 'avoidance' loopholes are closed.

In the previous post to this a Dub in Glasgow wrote that the movers and shakers in "this country" ( he means Ireland now ) commited crimes to avoid paying tax. Now he says "tax avoidance is not a crime". Which is it , Dub in Glasgow, or do you just make it up as you go along?

He says Of course, the Adare killing is a crime. I just believe that crime comes under the prisoner release program of the GFA. Is that a crime?

Ah, so the murder is a killing now. What about the attempted bank robbery which resulted in the "killing"? Is bank robbery a crime? Is tax evasion by Northern nationalists a crime ? If some northern Nationalists avoid or evade tax of one sort or another eg income tax , TV licence fee or whatever - does this come under the terms of the GFA and is it more or less serious than shooting or bombing people and property?

You mean it is OK for me to have a view now??

I never said it was not ok for you to have a view. I just asked you, seeing as you describe yourself as being in Glasgow, where do you mean when you wrote "this country". No wondered you fleed to Scotland if you though all the movers and shakers in Ireland were crooked, as you said you did.

true wrote:

In the previous post to this a Dub in Glasgow wrote that the movers and shakers in "this country" ( he means Ireland now ) commited crimes to avoid paying tax. Now he says "tax avoidance is not a crime". Which is it , Dub in Glasgow, or do you just make it up as you go along?

I think it is very obvious what I said

Tax 'avoidance' is not a crime. Tax 'evasion' is

No ifs or buts there although you seem to have a problem seeing the wood from the trees

Ah, so the murder is a killing now.

Argue about the semantics with yourself as it appears you do quite a lot with yourself!

Is tax evasion by Northern nationalists a crime?

I refer the myopic gentleman to my statement above

I never said it was not ok for you to have a view. I just asked you, seeing as you describe yourself as being in Glasgow, where do you mean when you wrote "this country".

Don't worry, I have picked up your patronising tone in this thread and the other one. This country (= Ireland) is still my home and I am only a temporary resident in another country. Maybe you should try it some day, it might curb your patronising and condesending outlook.
    No wondered you fleed to Scotland if you though all the movers and shakers in Ireland were crooked, as you said you did.

Did I say I moved to Scotland because the movers & shakers in Ireland were corrupt or did I just say that the movers & shakers were corrupt? You seem confused.

But you said in black and white that the people who avoided tax commited crimes. Now which is it?

Argue about the semantics with yourself as it appears you do quite a lot with yourself!

As I said above which is it ? You cannot have it both ways.

This country (= Ireland) is still my home and I am only a temporary resident in another country. Maybe you should try it some day, it might curb your patronising and condesending outlook.

I do not care less where you really call home : for the sake of clarity, I just wanted to know where you meant when you wrote "this country".

You still wrote that the movers & shakers in Ireland were corrupt. Not some of, or a few, but "the movers and shakers". If your friends in Sinn Fein get in to power, I suppose you would have the these "movers and shakers" locked up, as you are more concerned about the crimes these "movers and shakers" comitted ( make no mistake about it , you did say they were crimes ) than certain other crimes committed by "the lads".

Is it as big a crime for a northern Nationalist to avoid or evade tax to H.M. govt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

cdebru wrote:
    this is Northern bank
    Part of the National Australia group

which includes NIB

well excuse me if I dont get too concerned about a bunch of thieves being robbed

If someone broke into John Gilligans house and robbed the ****er blind would it be a crime yes would i give a **** no

if these guys are caught they will go to jail thats more than what happened to the thieves in the NIB who got of scot free how much did they steal

I cannot believe I am reading this complete and utter bollock.s

NIB was guilty of interest and fee loading
    Northern Bank were robbed. I doubt very much that the two unfortunate officials that were held-up etc were involved in "stealing" as you put it.

So because they are guilty by association they deserve to be traumatised in such a way.
    It's like saying that it's ok to kill Catholics in revenge for an IRA bombing.

true wrote:

But you said in black and white that the people who avoided tax commited crimes. Now which is it?

I said this.....

'For tax evasion to occur, the loophole must have already been closed and it is/was a crime.'

Tax evasion is a crime... that is so simple, why can't you accept it!
    You cannot have it both ways.

Obviously you would like do
    I do not care less where you really call home

Are you sure? you are certainly labouring the point in this thread and the other one. Strange way to behave for someone who does not care.
    for the sake of clarity, I just wanted to know where you meant when you wrote "this country".

This country = Ireland. If I meant the UK, I will say 'in the UK' or 'over here'

You still wrote that the movers & shakers in Ireland were corrupt. Not some of, or a few, but "the movers and shakers".

Ahhh, did that offend you? One of the biggest crooks this country (= Ireland for pedants amongst us) was the Taoiseach of this country (= Ireland)!

If your friends in Sinn Fein get in to power, I suppose you would have the these "movers and shakers" locked up

Doesn't matter who comes into power, I would like them to go after the tax evaders and to lock them up if necessary.
    as you are more concerned about the crimes these "movers and shakers" comitted

Your words not mine
    ( make no mistake about it , you did say they were crimes )

Are you denying tax evasion is a crime?
    than certain other crimes committed by "the lads".

If the tax evasion by the 'movers & shakers' of this country (= Ireland) is part of a deal to try and solve the problems in this country (= Ireland) then yes I would accommodate their crimes.
    Is it as big a crime for a northern Nationalist to avoid or evade tax to H.M. govt?

Are you asking me if tax evasion committed by Joe Soap is 'bigger' than tax evasion committed by the people in power including the Taoiseach? Ultimately, it is the same but we all know which should be 'bigger'.

Mr Dub in Glasgow, you have waffled but yet now answered the question. One minute you say " Tax 'avoidance' is not a crime. ". Next post you say " that the people who avoided tax commited crimes." Now which is it? Never mind bringing in tax evasion in to your response : we are talking about the criminality of tax avoidance. You cannot have been right in both statements.

You wrote that "The movers & shakers in Ireland over the last 30 years commited crimes to avoid paying tax." Not some of, not only a few of , but "the movers and shakers". I will spell it out as you did not understand in my previous post : the implication is that you mean ALL the movers and shakers in Ireland committed crimes to avoid paying tax.

I did not ask you to compare tax evasion of Joe Soap versus tax evasion of the Taoiseach. I was interested in your opinion of the morality of tax avoidance with regard to taxes to H.M. Govt from N.I taxpayers versus all this tax avoidance by Irelands movers and shakers. You say Irelands politicians, businesspeople, singers, shopowners , developers, etc etc have committed crimes by fiddling their taxes.
    If you lived on the Falls Road and you fiddled you tax returns to H.M. Government ( not that you would of course ) .... would you consider that to be a criminal offence as well ?

true wrote:
    Mr Dub in Glasgow, you have waffled but yet now answered the question. One minute you say " Tax 'avoidance' is not a crime. ". Next post you say " that the people who avoided tax commited crimes." Now which is it? Never mind bringing in tax evasion in to your response : we are talking about the criminality of tax avoidance. You cannot have been right in both statements.

Oh dear, I will repeat it again

No ifs or buts there although you seem to have a problem seeing the wood from the trees

You wrote that "The movers & shakers in Ireland over the last 30 years commited crimes to avoid paying tax." Not some of, not only a few of , but "the movers and shakers". I will spell it out as you did not understand in my previous post : the implication is that you mean ALL the movers and shakers in Ireland committed crimes to avoid paying tax.

Oh no, put the word major in front of 'movers' then. Pedantry is alive and well in the actions of some.
    I did not ask you to compare tax evasion of Joe Soap versus tax evasion of the Taoiseach.

OK
    I was interested in your opinion of the morality of tax avoidance with regard to taxes to H.M. Govt from N.I taxpayers versus all this tax avoidance by Irelands movers and shakers. You say Irelands politicians, businesspeople, singers, shopowners , developers, etc etc have committed crimes by fiddling their taxes.

An irrelevance then as tax avoidance is not a crime. I would like the loopholes closed that lead to tax avoidance though.
    If you lived on the Falls Road and you fiddled you tax returns to H.M. Government ( not that you would of course ) .... would you consider that to be a criminal offence as well ?

Evasion or avoidance?

For the 5th time

Tax evasion is a crime. Tax avoidance is not. Are you being deliberately obtuse?

smiaras wrote:

actually the deal has not gone through yet so they are still owned by NAB

no matter how hard I try I just cant get all worked up about thieves stealing from thieves

as too the peace process I dont see how it has any bearing on it unless it turns out to be one of the parties involved.Which there is no evidence that it was.

smiaras wrote:
    No they have just hired consultants to examine them