Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oh no! Yet another Programme of games!

• 02-01-2005 2:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

Monday

Blackburn v Charlton, 15:00
    Crystal Palace v Aston Villa, 15:00
    Norwich v Liverpool, 12:45
    West Brom v Newcastle, 20:00

Tuesday

Arsenal v Man City, 19:45
    Birmingham v Bolton, 19:45
    Chelsea v Middlesbrough, 19:45
    Everton v Portsmouth, 20:00
    Man Utd v Tottenham, 20:00

Wednesday

Southampton v Fulham, 20:00

I'm out of the predictions business after Saturday...:( The good news is Chelsea are playing 'Boro!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I hope to God Chelsea lose to Boro. And I hope City beat Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I think Utd have the hardest game of all 3 of the top teams.

I really don't expect anything but wins from Chelsea Arsenal, but Spurs are firing on all 4 cyclinders at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

Isnt Spurs at home one of those games that United religiously win though? They are also firing on all cylinders, and I would wager any day that their run will go on longer than Spurs'. Three wins for the top three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Isnt Spurs at home one of those games that United religiously win though? They are also firing on all cylinders, and I would wager any day that their run will go on longer than Spurs'. Three wins for the top three.

Yeah, but Spurs have been a difficult team on their travels this season. Only 5 goals conceded away from home (joint best record with Chelsea) and despite only scoring seven goals, have won 5 and drawn 2 of their 10 away games so far.

Add to that our current form (6 wins and a draw in 7) and ManYoo's striker shortage, and this looks like as good a time as any for us to buck the trend. Paddy Power had Spurs at 13-2 yesterday which is a ridiculous price for a top flight game (remember Fulham anyone?) and 3-1 the draw, which is a very good bet methinks.

All that aside, ManYoo are the form team at the moment (22 points from their last 8 games) and with Giggs and Scholes on fire again, it should be a cracking match.

C'mon ye Spurs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

I would be worried about spurs too they were very impressive yesterday. That said United defence will be a lot tougher to breach that Everton.

Whats the story with Defoe, he could cause us problems but he didn't play yeaterday. Was he being rested or is he on the move or injured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,198 ✭✭✭kensutz

Defoe was injured at the game vs Palace. Thats all I know.

Yeah, but Spurs have been a difficult team on their travels this season. Only 5 goals conceded away from home (joint best record with Chelsea) and despite only scoring seven goals, have won 5 and drawn 2 of their 10 away games so far.

Add to that our current form (6 wins and a draw in 7) and ManYoo's striker shortage, and this looks like as good a time as any for us to buck the trend. Paddy Power had Spurs at 13-2 yesterday which is a ridiculous price for a top flight game (remember Fulham anyone?) and 3-1 the draw, which is a very good bet methinks.
    Spurs are still available at 13/2, the draw has gone into 14/5, but very generous odds.

Spurs to win 0-1 with Keane or Kanoute to score 1st is 80/1! Worth a euro. Defoe at 0-1 is 50/1. Mind you United are very rarely held scorless at OT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

I heard it's a knee injury that defoe has. last minute he was pulled out of the everton game! didn't hear any return date for him. hopefully against Man Utd. He is capable of scoring against any team at any time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

anyone know what games are on sky?

Norwich V Liverpool premplus
    westbrom V newcastle Sports 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

thanks, muppet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Jaysus this Christmas period is like the football equivalent of the Grand National, just hoping your team don't fall at one of the fences.

Now I am in the horrible position of hoping Spuds win their next game :eek:

gandalf wrote:

That is spooky because I find myself in the same position regarding Man City. :eek: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Just a note for those like me who can't get BBC five live on NTL at the moment and want to hear the Norwich - Pool game, right click http://www.bbc.co.uk/england/realmedia/live/localradio/norfolk.ram and paste into Real Player.

Mike.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Liverpool Team for todays game Vs Norwich:

Dudek, Finnan, Hyypia, Carragher, Warnock, Gerrard, Diao, Nunez, Riise, Garcia, Mellor.
    Subs:
    Harrison
    Raven
    Hamann
    Pongolle
    Traore

If anyone wants to chance their luck getting a live stream it is on fox sports and here are the winamp links,

http://129.21.212.33:8000/;stream.nsv

or this one

http://129.21.212.33:8000/listen.pls

copy and paste these into winamp.

While I,m at it just found this one for the Palace Villa game for anyone that wants to try get on early

http://129.21.212.33:8000/;stream.nsv

or this one

http://129.21.212.33:8000/listen.pls

Good Luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

mike65 wrote:
    Monday

Norwich v Liverpool, 12:45

is kick off not at 3?

The bastards! BBC Norwich have closed the link "contractual reasons" :mad:

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭p.pete

Stekelly wrote:
    is kick off not at 3?
    12:45.

Yeah, but my dad insists you can get BBC Five on AM if you have a big aerial, or else on cable Radio. If you really want to listen.

p.s. they is showing signs of a 1-1 draw :)
    Norwich to score in the second half because of the sun, and Liverpool to eventually break through

I'm listening to MW 679 right now its poor but something I suppose.

Pool are crap, Diao in midfield says it all.

Mike.

0 0 at half time. Theres not much in it, both teams creating chances but Liverpool have had more possession around the Norwich goal.

Garcia has scored (and it's not been ruled offside!;) )

Mike.

Bout time Garcia did something useful :D

Riise scores off a strike by Pongolle! :)

Mike.

2-0 with Riice :) Norwich just crumbled the second liverpool stepped up a gear.

2:0 to the Pool,

Riise 64

If you want updates from the pool game check out this site.....

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/n/norwich/live_text/default.stm

Here's another decent enough site for updates :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,991 ✭✭✭Big Ears

2-1 now in injury time .(Jarvis with the goal 88)

4 mins of added time! :eek:

Bloody hell ref blow!!!

Finally.

9 points out of 12 over Xmas-New Year which was the minimum required.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

PHB wrote:
    Yeah, but my dad insists you can get BBC Five on AM if you have a big aerial, or else on cable Radio. If you really want to listen.
    I seem to be one of the few people in Ireland that can get it on FM.

full time 2-1 Pool .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

what games are sky showing tommorrow?

looks like it will be as you were after the xmas period with the top 3 teams winning all four of their games

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

no match on sky tomorrow.

gandalf wrote:

No such quandries for us Yids, we can celebrate Gooner defeats all we want... :D

eirebhoy wrote:
    no match on sky tomorrow.

Except ManYoo-Spurs on Prem Plus.

PHB wrote:
    p.s. they is showing signs of a 1-1 draw :)
    Norwich to score in the second half because of the sun, and Liverpool to eventually break through
    I want my money back ;)

I just saw that Campbell is out for Arsenal, I think Arsenal might draw now, losing a cheap goal :/

I was wondering, do I want Arsenal to win? Is it better for United if Arsenal win, and keep double the pressure on Chelsea? Or would it be better for United if the whole Arsenal team broke their arms?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

I really dont care if utd lose or not cause its chelsea who are the leaders now and the team to beat

Senderos will cover for campbell i predict 2-0 to Arsenal.

PHB wrote:
    I just saw that Campbell is out for Arsenal, I think Arsenal might draw now, losing a cheap goal :/

I was wondering, do I want Arsenal to win? Is it better for United if Arsenal win, and keep double the pressure on Chelsea? Or would it be better for United if the whole Arsenal team broke their arms?

Its a toughie all right but just close your eyes and imagine the look on Wengers face if United were to overtake Arsenal. Does that makeyour dilema any easier.

The Muppet wrote:
    Its a toughie all right but just close your eyes and imagine the look on Wengers face if United were to overtake Arsenal. Does that makeyour dilema any easier.
    To be honest Im sure he knew it might happen sometime. When you are chasing someone for 18 months you get better and better at it. :D;)

You should have a look at the table for this time last year before posting such sh1te.
    ;):D

The Muppet wrote:
    You should have a look at the table for this time last year before posting such sh1te.
    ;):D
    I apologise, its ONLY been a year since United were above Arsenal in the table ;)

Senderos will fill in for Campbell no problem(he's a much more solid player than Cygan) . I predict an Arsenal win .