Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kingdom of Heaven

• 06-01-2005 3:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭

I've been eagerly anticipating this film for a few months (and will have to wait to at least may to see it). It looks quite good judging from the trailer (!?) from empireonline.co.uk It looks more akin to gladiator than troy which is a good thing thanks to ridley scott i suppose. any one else seen or heard things about this. the jury is still out on orlando bloom dispite what the 12 and 13 year old girls say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

The trailer nearly made me puke..........oh God it looks bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Miles

I liked Bloom when he did Pirates of the Caribbean, but the jury went back to deliberate when he did Troy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭case n basket

Christ, what is with the music in the theatrical trailer? Starts out well and then once the guitar kicks in... ugh. The internet exclusive trailer has no such dodgy music though and is quite good.

http://www.apple.com/trailers/fox/kingdom_of_heaven/online_menu.html

I'm not a fan of Bloom but from the looks of the trailer, this time he may not be as irritating as in his other roles. Good supporting cast too, with the likes of Ed Norton, Brendan Gleeson, Jeremy Irons, Liam Neeson and David Thewlis in there. It might not be a disaster!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I'm rather looking farward to it, even if I am wary after the junk that was Troy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,958 ✭✭✭Chad ghostal

im wary of another gladiator.. mixed with religion *shudder*..
    as case n basket said the soundtrack is horrible..

the internet exlusive shows practically the whole film be warned. .!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Kazaanova

What do you mean the soundtrack is horrible? Has anyone heard it? The music they have in trailers is NOT the music they have in the film itself. Harry Gregson-Williams is doing the music for this, the mans a genius.

Ridley. Scott. Epic. Do you know how lucky we are that Ridley Scott has gone back to this genre? He could of so easily of made Gladiator II. The cast is great, I don't know why everyone gives Orlando Bloom such a hard time, I know his acting comes off as a bit wooden but theres a lot worse. Also, Edward Norton, Liam Neeson, Brendan Gleeson and Jeremy Irons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,958 ✭✭✭Chad ghostal

Kazaanova wrote:
    What do you mean the soundtrack is horrible? Has anyone heard it? The music they have in trailers is NOT the music they have in the film itself. Harry Gregson-Williams is doing the music for this, the mans a genius.

Ridley. Scott. Epic. Do you know how lucky we are that Ridley Scott has gone back to this genre? He could of so easily of made Gladiator II. The cast is great, I don't know why everyone gives Orlando Bloom such a hard time, I know his acting comes off as a bit wooden but theres a lot worse. Also, Edward Norton, Liam Neeson, Brendan Gleeson and Jeremy Irons.

i was referring to the trailer soundtrack..relax.
    Lucky? Imho gladiator had its moments but generally is hugely overrated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Kazaanova

Sorry about that, I actually do agree with you on the trailer soundtrack. Gladiator is one of my favorite films so, you know, I'm kind of excited about this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

Saw this tonight. 7/10.

My suspicions were confirmed.

Review of This movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,349 ✭✭✭Ardent

Saw it Friday night. A few cheesy moments, Bloom is totally miscast (again!) but the battle scenes were good, if at times far fetched. You could see far worse I suppose.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 244 ✭✭tails2

saw this last wednesday in a special preview and wish i had spent the time wiser. thought gladiator was great but maybe he would have been better to make galdiator two than this.lol. fights where good but where few and far between. not enough at all in my opinion. the film was quite boring in fact and does not keep you entertained much. fight scenes are only reason people should go see it in the cinema otherwise wait till you have nothing to do one night and rent it when it comes out on dvd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

i liked it because for the same reason i liked gladiator, the political elements behind the events are developed through both movies. Yes i felt Bloom was weak, but the supporting cast was amazing (Jeremoy Irons and Edward Norton esp.) and if anyone has played Rome Total war, they were hopping up and down in the battle scenes. (of course i feel i could have done a better job defending the city) i give it 8/10 a great film slightly tarnished by a weak lead (compared to rest) and that stupid stupid love scene (the music!?!?!?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Hah, glad to see I'm not the only one that kept thinking about Rome Total War during the battle scenes (especially when they did their fancy formations).

yeah the bit with the small cavalry charging the large one i was screaming WEDGE FORMATION WEDGE FORMATION!! NO! YOU IDIOTS DONT SPREAD OUT! BREAK THROUGH BREAK THROUGH!

My mate had to move to other side of cinema to get away from me.
    (it was midnight screening so only four of us in the cinema)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Dead Jack

Well he might have escaped across the cinema if I hadn't been on the opposite side of him from BK with a quite similar expression.

Hated the trailer, loved the film- its got to be great as a gentle reminder to those who have a one sided view of the current situation, and to the over religious in any case. But thats an atheist's point of view anyway.

Don't be scared to laugh out loud when you hear the porn movie drumbeat.

it had elements of jamacian aswell i felt.

(housemates are the worse thing to have on boards...it got ODFM banned)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭juno75

nd if anyone has played Rome Total war, they were hopping up and down in the battle scenes. (of course i feel i could have done a better job defending the city)

I saw the clips and thought ,yay , Movie Version of Rome TW :D

Looking forward to it just for that. Wonder how my tactics compare..

'Archers - use fire!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

saw it today, pretty good and strangely enough i preferred this to Gladiator in almost every way... worth my money anyday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

juno75 wrote:
    I saw the clips and thought ,yay , Movie Version of Rome TW :D

Looking forward to it just for that. Wonder how my tactics compare..

'Archers - use fire!'
    Well i thought Medieval Total War seeing as how that is set during the time of the crusades. but ye were close enough :p

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭Salaco

This film was simply gah-bage. disappointing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

Saw this last night. I thought it was good, very good battle scenes and some really great acting.

As most have mentioned so far, OB is not a good leading man. But I don't think it's all his fault really. The start seemed very rushed, so when the story actually gets going, you don't really care about Balian cos you didnt get to really know him.

As for the ending, pants, utter utter pants!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭JCDenton

A one word review.....

meh.

You can't fairly criticise the story too much though, I mean 99% of it was based on fact.
    and was it just me or did Orlando Bloom actually speak in the first half an hour of the film?

All in all though; it gets a thumbs up but I wouldn't rent it or stay in just to see it if it was on TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Orlando Bloom, I'm sorry, why was he the lead? He lacked charisma and presence, and this was only highlighted by the excellent supporting cast. He can barely act when he's in a supporting role, nevermind in a dramatic lead. Where was the fire and passion? I could not identify even once with his perfromance. Not at any point did I actually empathise with his character. But a strong supporting cast nearly made up for this.

But I'm sorry he really did cause me to lose a lot of my enjoyment throughout the film.

It takes a certain kind of man and actor to carry a film like this. Bloom is so far from this kind of man and actor that it really is not funny. Sure yes he is very marketable after LOTR and Pirates, but in both he was carried by far superior actors.

I'm sorry, he is just out of his depth in a movie like this. He doesn't have natural charisma or presence (painfully obvious in Troy before this) and both are needed for lead characters in these kinds of films. I tried to like it, I tried very hard to do so, but it just was not happening.

Oh and why does Hollywood have such a problem with the past having a caste system? It really lets down my suspension for disbelief when they disregard this extremely important fact of life in those times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭marshmallow

was very disappointed in it.. i'm not a fan of battles or Orlando for that matter but it was given so much publication, thought it would have been better imo..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Thumper Long

JCDenton wrote:
    A one word review.....

meh.

I am a huge gladiator fan, i must admit to it being one of my favorite films ever, but this was pure garbage, i rarely if ever have been so disappointed by a film that promised so much, especially after gladiator, i found myself looking at my watch every 10 minutes counting down those 144 minutes, and something ive never ever done in a film, switched on the mobile and sent a few texts. the highligh of the film was the exclamation "What about Gee?".

Rating
    :(:(:(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I have to say that I just found it dull dull dull. Very devoid of interest. Whether this was due to OB, I don't know, but it just dragged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I liked it, it wasn't by any means a fantastic movie but at least it entertained and had some really great acting.

Orlando Bloom may not be fantastic himself but at least, he was much better in this then I expected tbh, I found him suited enough to the lead to pull it off acceptably if not exactly inspiringly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,349 ✭✭✭Ardent

and had some really great acting.

Not on Bloom's part, that's for sure. Trying to rally the men: "Come on! Come on! Come on!" Great script guys.

The guy playing Saladin (sp?) though stole every scene he was in, amazing presence. His contribution to the movie highlighted how miscast Bloom was.

Another point: I thought the movie had some awful cringe-inducing cheesy moments. For example, when Bloom was appointing all the men as knights and priest goes: "Who do think you are? Do you think you can change the whole world? Do you think making these men knights will make them fight any better?", cue dramatic orchestral swell as Bloom pauses, turns around and dramatically answers "yes!" and yer wan watching from a distance flashes this knowing smile while the men turn to glare defiantly at the priest and the young lad with a proud look on his face. How we laughed in the cinema!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Hmm, time for Bloom to follow Keira Knightley's lead and diversify into some films set in contemporary times.