Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Photos thread -Hunting. MOD NOTE in post #1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

Got out for an hour today before the family meal.

3b1a7a1b.jpg

My brother in law got the pheasant I got the pigeon. But the main thing is Rosie got a run. :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭foxboy

sorry mods made a f**k of that last post ( photo is too big ) delete it
    no1010111.th.jpg

I shot my first duck today. Thanks to some help from beretta682s

1ed2c884.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭Liam_D

A couple of bunnies from this morning.
    utf-8BSU1HMDAxNzEtMjAxMTAxMDItMTM1MC5qcGc.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭Pat McGroin

Great to be out and about again , I'll be busy in the kitchen this week!:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭homerhop

Brought the pup out for his first proper run in cover on Saturday. Driving over to the wood spotted these fellas picking

img3725s.jpg

img3722w.jpg

The middle pond we have was still frozen solid, pup was out running around on it and wasn't too impressed when he was told to sit.
    IMG_3757.jpg

IMG_3756.jpg

The last pond we opened was thawing on the edges but there was still a good two and a half inches of ice on it.

IMG_3769.jpg

All in all the pup worked well on the whistle and ran himself ragged, took to cover very well and put up a few woodcock. Am very happy with his progress even if there are times I forget that he is still on a learning curve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

pic of the pointer out today:D also a deer that i got a pic of the day before when i took the pointer to the park for a quick run around. would i be right in saying its a sika (8 points on him)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

attachment.php?attachmentid=142235&d=1294346555I brought LuLu the 105CTi and my good self out today for a walk to clear my head (had a few beers last night and there was a scraw of children skiting around the parents house.

I got the Dog 48 hours ago. She was never in the field until today.

She proved herself to be a great bitch.
    She searched 20-25 yards in front.
    She would halt at a whistle.
    She would go where ever I pointed my hand.

Near dark we came across this boyo, Missed with the first, but Plugged with the second.
    And no training, I snook her into the house and she sat beside me while the oldies were in Mass.
    edit, forgot pic

If it's in the blood, it's in the blood.

dicky82 wrote: »
    nope its the one i put up in clivej's thread. happy hunting with her tack.

Lulu

• Registered Users Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭marlin vs

I went for snipe along the bank or the river and got a bonus.

201101077thjan20110005m.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

Goats spotted up in the wicklow mountains during the summer not sure if they are wild or not didnt mind me getting close for the photo,wanted the pics to pop up here not sure why they didnt!

Photo 1

Photo 2

Photo3

Photo4

I'm perfecting my stalking Rig.

Edi Graef PSE composites stock.
    Remington VTR Threaded for Mod.
    Nightforce 5.5-22x56 NPR2 Scope
    ASE S5 .30 Stainless mod.
    Tactical Bolt Knob and all Custom work www.irelandcustomrifle.com
    Total rig is still 2" shorter than my VSSF II varminter with a mod on!!

So little by little I've developed a perfect rifle for stalking.
    attachment.php?attachmentid=142562&d=1294581953

All I need now is a better Camera ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭macl

One of many Sunday mornings spent out over the last few months....Crouching in a spot where I missed one before...He came right out of some cover towards me and as soon as I lifted the barrel, began to turn on his heels to hike it - bang - dropped him like a sack of spuds. He turned out alot bigger than I thought he would be. First fox so quite pleased

• Registered Users Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

nicely done. what gun did you use?

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭macl

Baikal sporter 12 gauge with some alphamax BBs

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭cookey-1

a few bunnies the other night :)
    ruger 10 22 .22lr http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=1ymg5x&s=7

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭DR6.5

Shot this hind yesterday, got a great stalk on her a yrl and calf, took about to get up to them, got to about 90mtrs off them,shot the hind. Took roughly an hour and a half to get back to the jeep, still a bit of snow on the ground. The hind was in calf, she had very little fat around the kidneys, weighed out at 50kg clean in the larder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

went out today to a new spot that i got permission from brought on the small fella with me. spotted this big flooded section of field and decided to give a walk down then the pointer ran in on top of these two, up they got two shots later they were down i failed to find one in thick cover and just as i turned to walk away, out comes the pointer out of the ditch with it in his mouth, had to kind of chase him down as he thought it was a game so must work on that. we then went on another bit and up two snipe got up and again two shots two birds and again failed to find the second bird pointer found it no problem only this time the pointer decided to swallow it and bring it back up in the van thanks:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭sniper83

i came across this photo i took of my springer when he was 5mths old thought id share it with ye.. if you zoom in it looks like hes going to take to the air with his big ears!:D

springerpup.jpg

I got this lad tonight.
    He is not the biggest fox I have ever shot but he was as fat as any I have ever seen.
    He weighed in at 21 lb on that little scale in the picture.
    214e9cf7.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

just thought I post some trophies I have ...The 12 pointer I found during the week compared to the 8 pointer along side ans a 6 point sika it must have been a monster when alive

[IMG][/img]13jan11009.jpg

will some one explain why my pictures won't come up untill i add them in advanced edit??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    got it sorted john thanks. i think 4gun will be posting some pics soon.
    we were out hunting today and i'm pleased to say we got something new.

well new for us:D

here ya go, A day put with the kids..;)

14jan11005.jpg

14jan11002.jpg

14jan11007.jpg

jeasus that was quick. your pics came out better than mine

9e980a1f.jpg

996bcadf.jpg

the camera keeps fogging up in my pocket when out hunting:(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

I took these with the phone over the last couple of days.
    Anyone know what variety of deer these are?
    I reduced the file size of the photos to make them easier to upload, but I can upoad bigger ones if the quality's not good enough.

143385.JPG

143386.JPG

143387.JPG

143388.JPG

143389.JPG

A few more.

143390.JPG

143391.JPG

143392.JPG

143393.JPG

143394.JPG

Thanks, guys.

I was surprised at how dark they are in colour. I always thought that deer were more of a chestnutty colour (or is that Red Deer?)

Thanks, guys.

I was surprised at how dark they are in colour. I always thought that deer were more of a chestnutty colour (or is that Red Deer?)

fallow can be fully white all the way threw to nearly black or dark brown.
    their summer coat is lighter with spots on have a look here

http://www.wilddeerireland.com/fallow.html

Thanks, guys.

I've shot white,ginger and black fallow deer.
    Some with spots, some with None, some with massive antlers and small bodies, some with massive bodies and small antlers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

out for a few hours with the lab 3 nice cocks for max

• Registered Users Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

IMG_0498.jpg?t=1295194518

Possessed Springer! :DIMG_0489.jpg?t=1295194518

Good mixed bag
    IMG_0429.jpg?t=1295194518

Difference between a wild bred pheasant & a released Manchurian Blue back...
    IMG_0509.jpg?t=1295194518