Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What they are saying about us....(the IRISH)

• 19-12-2000 5:34pm
    Registered Users Posts: 819 ✭✭✭

The Provos are very efficient: they must be rated as one of the best
    terrorist organisations in the world
    - UDA Chief JOHN McMICHAEL, later killed by the IRA

ULSTER STILL SAYS NO
    - Icing on the cake for birthday celebrations of IRIS ROBINSON, wife
    of DUP MP Peter Robinson

Bookings can be made to Ireland or Ulster
    - Manchester Rail Guide

Jack Charlton's team of international misfits
    - ITV commentator in build up to Italia '90

Stephen Roche, the only British or Irish cyclist to win the Tour De France
    - ITV commentator cheers a bicycle made for two

Bono, 26, is the charismatic pony-tailed singer and his rock band, U2,
    became Britain's most exciting act since The Beatles
    - THE SUNDAY TIMES quick to acknowledge one of their own

Mountjoy was absolute hell, a total nightmare... It was the worst time of my
    entire life. I thought I was going to be killed, but the prisoners were
    alright
    - JOHNNY ROTTEN of The Sex Pistols

As a kid, being Irish was being different, so I always told everybody that I
    was Irish. My parents had all these rebel songs on albums... So I just feel
    that I have a bit of Irish in me. I've got an Irish boyfriend, so I've had
    quite a bit of Irish in me quite a few times
    - BOY GEORGE

Malta gave (the Eurovision) to Ireland with the very last vote. *******s!
    - THE GUARDIAN

It looks like the sort of game that should be illegal
    - BRETT ANDERSON of pop group Suede on hurling

It's just real cool to be here and to meet real Irish people straight from
    Ireland. My family come from the Mulligan, Sheridan, O'Connell, you know
    what I'm saying?
    - EVERLAST, singer with American rappers House Of Pain

All they got in LA is sun-tanned faggots. Not like the real men you got here
    in Dublin
    - Rock star JON BON JOVI

About two thirds of the population of Northern Ireland are immigrants from
    England and Scotland who believe in Protestantism. Their political
    organization, the Fine Gael (United Ireland Party) stands for unification
    with Britain
    - BEIJING REVIEW

You Irish must be nuts. Imagine Catholics killing Protestants and
    Protestants killing Catholics. Why don't the Catholics and Protestants get
    together and kill all the ****?
    - New York cabbie to SEAMUS MARTIN of The Irish Times

Faith and Begorra, there's no better way to begin an Irish fling than with
    O'Delta Airlines
    - DELTA AIRLINES brochure

Remember, all you untrained Irish lads, the tin foil is not to be used in an
    emergency. It is only there to stop the product from perishing
    - British Labour MP JOE ASHTON commenting on the 1985 liberalisation
    of Ireland's condom laws. He suggested a new brand called Thick Micks

Congress in its good judgement has felt that this International Fund (For
    Ireland) will help to encourage dialogue and co-operation between Unionists
    and Loyalists
    - US Ambassador designate, WILLIAM FITZGERALD suggests a novel
    approach to achieving peace in the North

I'm glad for the fans back in Ireland
    - ALAN McLOUGHLIN speaking in Belfast after his famous Windsor Park
    equaliser

Hello Dublin!
    - DAVID BOWIE on stage in Co. Meath

Hello London!
    - Singer STEVIE NICKS on stage in Dublin

Tell me Phil, why did you leave Genesis?
    - New York socialite to Derry composer PHIL COULTER

...Stavros Niarchos, Gregory Peck, Yves Saint Laurant, Marc Bolan and
    Ballenciago
    - SUNDAY INDEPENDENT diarist spots a surprise guest at the wedding
    of Princess Caroline of Monaco in July 1978. Rocker Marc Bolan had been laid
    to rest the previous August

Cor, I 'ope our one ain't as long as that
    - TERRY MANCINI hears Amhran Na bhFiann on his footballing debut for
    the Republic

After the break we'll have more comedy in 'Cheers'
    - RTE continuity announcer after highlights of The Republic's 1-4
    home defeat by Denmark

Mr Paisley has never had a good word to say about anyone other than himself
    and Jesus Christ, whom he refers to as His Maker - a rather poor testimonial

- Writer JAMES CAMERON

The Catholics have been interfering in Ulster affairs since 1641
    - Rev IAN PAISLEY

Good evening Mr Mallon. What's your name?
    - UDR patrolman stops the SDLP's SEAMUS MALLON at checkpoint

The people of Dublin are equally as British as the English, if not more so
    - Ulster Protestant candidate Mr. MICHAEL BROOKS makes a brave but
    doomed bid for a Donegal Dail seat, 1987

If you took the word 'no' out of the English language, most of them would be
    speechless
    - The SDLP's JOHN HUME on the Unionist leadership

The name of the attorney who questioned Mrs Bernadette McAliskey in a
    Federal court in New York this week during the extradition case concerning a
    Crumlin Road escapee, Joseph Doherty, was, Ira H. Bloch
    - IRISH TIMES (New York)

I'm sick answering questions about the ****ing peace process
    - Taoiseach JOHN BRUTON

(Garda Walsh) went up to the car and asked Clayton why he had failed to stop
    ... Clayton told the garda to quit messing with him - he would do himself a
    lot of harm. He told Garda Walsh that he didn't have time to be talking to
    him
    - The Irish Press reports on a court appearance at which U2's ADAM
    CLAYTON was banned from driving for 2 yrs for dragging a garda 45 feet while
    drunk at the wheel

Get married again
    - Taoiseach CHARLES HAUGHEY to woman asking for an increase in the
    widow's pension