Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

F1 Bets...

• 31-05-2000 3:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭

Anybody here who follows F1 knows most of next years transfers hinge about Jacques Villeneuve (IMO better than Schumacher)

The Teams:

BAR - Underperforming, and unlikely to be a championship contender for at least 3-4 years even if they are bought out by Honda. JV has shares in the team. Works engines now - but for how long ?

Benneton - Soon to be renamed Renault, Briatore back at the helm, Mike Gascoigne poached, and seemingly open chequebook. Awful year so far though.

McLaren - Top team, requires drivers to dress smartly and do 100 sponsor days a year. (JV currently does 3!!). Hes highly rated by them and some say an option has been signed until August, but neither camp confirming. Rumours about Hakkinens imminent retirement keep surfacing.

Place your bets here...

I had hoped he'd go back to Williams but thats def ruled out, they'll more than likely run Montoya and Schuey jnr. Hes also too expensive for them.

Smart money would be on McLaren, if they can come to some compromise. Benneton could be a good choice tho, but a miserable first year of his contract might put him off.

Cast your votes....

[This message has been edited by Slosh (edited 31-05-2000).]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭SPACE COWBOY

"Jacques Villeneuve (IMO better than Schumacher)" Well I suppose every one is entitled to their own opinion. (Even if it's wrong smile.gif )

Well I reckon JV will to Benetton / Renault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Take it

Anybody here who follows F1 knows most of next years transfers hinge about Jacques Villeneuve (IMO better than Schumacher)

Never Villenuve isnt doing half as well as schumacher would be doing in the BAR team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Slosh

Alright so, look at the facts.

Back to 96, Estoril.. who passed Schumacher on the outside ? Classic pass. Who qualified pole in his first F1 race ever and damn near won the race ?

97 Jerez, JV, Schuey and Frentzen all qualify with the exact same time. Theoretically the performance of all cars was the same. Who passed who ? And who caved in under pressure?

How many times has JV ever been passed in a racing situation? By anybody??

Theres no point talking about the last 3 seasons as he had 3 dogs of a car since.

JV just hasnt had the luxury of status in a team that Schuey has. Benneton had him as No 1 driver same with Ferrari.. all his teammates had to follow team orders. JV has had to battle teammates. Therefore Schueys perceived dominance is at the expense of his teammate.

The current BAR car only deserves to qualify somewhere between 10th and 14th, very poor chassis and aerodynamics. The boy throws it about and is always in the top 10. I saw it in Barcelona the way he has to fight the car on the exit of corners.. and the boy qualified 6th smile.gif

Not taking from MS tho, he's a fantastic driver, but JV does have that little more - and you'll all see in the next year or 2.

[This message has been edited by Slosh (edited 02-06-2000).]

Schue at Benetton won the GP season i promise you JV would not have being able to win the GP season in the Benetton.

"97 Jerez, JV, Schuey and Frentzen all qualify with the exact same time" that was one race you cant base an agruement cause they all got the same time.

JV in the Williams won the season because my fukken granny could have drove that car and beat everyone it was miles ahead of every other race car there was even D.Hill won a season in it ffs.

"JV just hasnt had the luxury of status in a team that Schuey has. Benneton had him as No 1 driver same with Ferrari" are you saying that so far that BARRICHELLO has helped Schue to victory this season cause BARRICHELLO in no way is playing second fiddle to schue.

"The current BAR car only deserves to qualify somewhere between 10th and 14th, very poor chassis and aerodynamics" just as you say this heres the results of the qualifying:

17 VILLENEUVE BAR Honda 1m21.848s
    18 HEIDFELD Prost Peugeot 1m22.017s
    19 DINIZ Sauber Petronas 1m22.136s
    20 ZONTA BAR Honda 1m22.324s

Zonta wasnt even a second behind Villeneuve while Schue got poll in a car that isnt the best car out there (McLaren have the best car).

Schue has brough Ferri back to be one of the best cars out there something i feel that JV isnt able to do. Schue helped BUILD the car aswell as drive it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

must not comment.
    must not.
    *smack*

Schuey had no competitiion whatsoever.. Thats why the benneton won.. also the benetton of that era had Ross Brawn and Rory Byrne.
    "97 Jerez, JV, Schuey and Frentzen all qualify with the exact same time" that was one race you cant base an agruement cause they all got the same time.

My point was at the very last race of the season when it mattered all things were more or less equal. JV passed MS end of story.

That same season Williams lost Adrian Newey, and got c0cky (damn censor) at the start of the season with JV's Australia pole time. Williams also spent far too much time (and admitted it after) developing the 98 car (narrower rear and groved tyres). Renault were also starting to wind down engine development. Admittedly at the start of the season, Williams had the far superior car but at the end no.
    "JV just hasnt had the luxury of status in a team that Schuey has. Benneton had him as No 1 driver same with Ferrari" are you saying that so far that BARRICHELLO has helped Schue to victory this season cause BARRICHELLO in no way is playing second fiddle to schue.

Are you really sure about that ? Read the post race analysis on some of the better F1 websites, Ferrari work Barrichellos pit strategy around schumacher. If you dont believe me I'll find the article and post it here.

17 VILLENEUVE BAR Honda 1m21.848s
    18 HEIDFELD Prost Peugeot 1m22.017s
    19 DINIZ Sauber Petronas 1m22.136s
    20 ZONTA BAR Honda 1m22.324s

Bar dropped the ball at Monaco with the engine problem on his first run. JV said afterwards he could have gotten 7th but got held up at scrutineering.
    Schue got poll in a car that isnt the best car out there (McLaren have the best car).

Schuey got pole as Hakkinen never got one clear run in... and look what the plonker does to himself midrace.. Coulthard 30ish seconds behind, starts trading fastest laps.. subsequently damaging his car.. thats not the act of the greatest driver in the world. Its his job to get the car home. Period.
    Schue has brough Ferri back to be one of the best cars out there something i feel that JV isnt able to do. Schue helped BUILD the car aswell as drive it

The drive can only do so much. The Byrne/Brawn combination is a proven winner. The Oastler/Reynard combination in a new team doesnt impress much. How old are Ferrari ? How old are BAR ??

BAR's only chance next year is to sell to Honda.. With a McLaren seat looking unlikely next year, JV is prolly going to end up staying there.

[This message has been edited by Slosh (edited 09-06-2000).]

This argument is never going to end!

Deep breath [rant]
    "My point was at the very last race of the season when it mattered all things were more or less equal. JV passed MS end of story."

But MS was running on a really bad set of tyres and you know that that isn't bull sh!t he was running seconds slower then usual after that pit stop.
    Are you really sure about that? Read the post race analysis on some of the better F1 websites, Ferrari works Barrichellos pit strategy around schumacher. If you dont believe me I'll find the article and post it here.

Maybe that’s true but do you think that Zonta isn’t playing second fiddle to JV?
    JV said afterwards he could have got 7th but got held up at scrutineering.

Yea and MS said he should have won the championship 2 years ago at Ferrari, so what he didn’t that’s the point.
    Schuey got pole as Hakkinen never got one clear run in... and look what the plonker does to himself midrace.. Coulthard 30ish seconds behind, starts trading fastest laps.. subsequently damaging his car.. thats not the act of the greatest driver in the world. Its his job to get the car home. Period.

Was it MS fault that the tactics/timing was better then the McLaren team and do you seriously think that JV would do better then MS in the Ferrari at this time? Theirs no fukken way he pushes it to the limit getting every extra second out of the car that he can find cutting corners so fine and throwing himself around the car like he was a part of it. Its in his nature to push the car so hard that’s why I think he’s the greatest driver in the world atm its just natural to him to do that.
    BAR's only chance next year is to sell to Honda.. With a McLaren seat looking unlikely next year, JV is probably going to end up staying there.

Bar will always be a team struggling I cant see them up there with the likes of Jordan in the next 5-6 years they don’t have the financial backing. If JV does go to McLaren he will do well because the car is the best car out there i meen DC won 2 races in a row ffs he ain’t a class driver at all but with the McLaren he can win races. You don’t need to be a class driver to win in the McLaren (ill give some credit to MH he’s a good driver) but in the Ferrari most drivers would struggle to win.

Exhale Breath again wink.gif

[/rant]

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,545 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

F1 nerds

Check out this weeks Autosport magazine..

Headline
    Villeneuve: The man Schuey fears

Havent read the article yet.. but nuff said!

I could get a mag with the heading:

Schue the best driver F1 has ever seen!

Dont mean its true

theres no reason schumacher would fear villeneuve, because villenueve will never be in a competitive car again.
    mclaren or ferrari wont take him due to his dislike of sponsorship obligations, press conferences and the like.
    jordan have a happy lineup, williams have ralf and montoya.. they wont part with either of those drivers.. nor should they.
    go to benneton? even with the return of flavio briatore, they still wont have a works engine for a while..

now must get sleep after le mans coverage and before grand prix starts.

(update)
    let me see..
    jos verstappen or jaques?
    hahahaha smile.gif
    nah poor ******* must be fuming with those decisions made (probably by him actually),
    that honda seems to very good on the low downforce tracks..
    nice to see the arrows up there for a change.. three great overtaking manoeveres from verstappen to jump to 5th, they seem to have stepped forward and grabbed the places abandoned by jaguar/sauber/prost this year.
    turn around in fortunes for williams and benetton though.. fisichella grabbing the points where ralf normally would.
    great race.. and coulthards opinion at the end "because of some stupid rule", yes david, you stalled the engine, your fault.

http://www.filmsoc.com

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Theirs no fukken way he pushes it to the limit getting every extra second out of the car that he can find cutting corners so fine and throwing himself around the car like he was a part of it....

Written in reference to MS but surely is more applicable to JV...
    MS is surely a much neater/tidier driver than JV which also explains why he is so good in the wet....but JV is 10x the more spectacular driver to watch....throwing the thing about with a lot of style....it also helps a lot that his BAR doesn't particularly want to stay on the black stuff...witness those in-car shots from canada... he wasn't just struggling for traction in the exit of the corners, he was still havin problems well up through the gears while accelerating out of them...
    of course it all makes for exciting viewing.

Anyway, MS (of whom I was (maybe still am?) a fan) is really a gimp...
    It was surely a classic move and earned him my respect when he took D.Hill out deliberately(ish)..at least he concealed the move in a clever way but when he tried to take out JV...it just was pathetic stuff...surely not the mark of the best driver ever....
    like senna too....a truly amazing driver but the lad would CRY if he didn't win...sad...
    JV is surely the most detached from all the promo and hype etc...and you see that when he has enough of driving around lads with his face full of spray, he just goes straight for them in true GP2 style...

www.licksy.net
    info@licksy.net

Originally posted by Licksy20:
    Written in reference to MS but surely is more applicable to JV...
    MS is surely a much neater/tidier driver than JV which also explains why he is so good in the wet....but JV is 10x the more spectacular driver to watch....throwing the thing about with a lot of style....it also helps a lot that his BAR doesn't particularly want to stay on the black stuff...witness those in-car shots from canada... he wasn't just struggling for traction in the exit of the corners, he was still havin problems well up through the gears while accelerating out of them...
    of course it all makes for exciting viewing.

have you missed the last 4 years of schumacher in a ferrari? have you never ever watched a qualifying session? every single kerb is taken as if his life depends on it wringing every hundreth out of the ferrari..
    sure watching a car on its own up the front is never fun.. but watch schumacher during a race when hes not at the front.

villenueve was doing his usual trick.. turning the car in hard trying to get the power down as quick as possible and come up on the inside of coulthard.. unfortunaly you cant do that in the rain and ended losing ground most of the time, not gear problems.. everyone else was on the slightly drier line but he was trying to accelerate on the damper side of the track alway trying to find a way down past coulthard.. until his frustration finally went and he overestimated his ability (surprise) and went off in glorious style.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

he was trying to accelerate on the damper side of the track...
    That wouldn't have anything to do with the fact that when it's wet, there can be more 'grip' off the racing line...where you dont have to drive on top of the slippery wet rubber...i think in a car that is struggling for grip...you would do anything to maximize your chances..

anyway...most important date of the year is July 28th...the date GP3 comes out...