Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Please note that it is not permitted to have referral links posted in your signature. Keep these links contained in the appropriate forum. Thank you.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2055940817/signature-rules

MotorBike Licence (small bike/big bike)

Options
  • 07-02-2005 11:22am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭

Hey there,

Can anybody help me out here with some info.

I am currently 23. I have been driving bikes for 6 years. I have a full A1 licence, so I drive a 125cc bike (dragster). I wish to get a bigger bike, not sure exactly yet but say 400-1000cc bike. What do I have to do?

Can I ride any size bike on an A provisional ?/ What size can I ride on an A provisional?

I know there was some change with BHP being measured, how does this affect me?

Is there any truth in that when you are under 25 you must hold a full A licence for two years before you can ride a bike bigger that 125.

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

no, you're limited to bikes of 33bhp or less for 2 years after getting your full A. There's no restriction on cc's, just the power/weight ratio i believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Stephen wrote:
    no, you're limited to bikes of 33bhp or less for 2 years after getting your full A. There's no restriction on cc's, just the power/weight ratio i believe.
    Yep. <= 33bhp or 25kW according to my licence.

In theory there are some big bikes out there that qualify, but any bike shop will be able to tell you.