Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance for convicted driver

• 10-02-2005 1:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22

Ok well i have been trying to get an insurance for myself for the last while.Here are the details:
    I was banned from driving for 2 years for drunk in charge of a vehicle NOT drink driving.I had the keys in my hand while sitting in the car listening to the radio and the police turned up and arrested me.Anyway i appealed my conviction and got my licence back a year early.However it seems to have been a waste of time because every insurance company i approach politely tell me to s hit off.I am a 22 year old male,full licence looking for insurance on a 1994 1.4l golf.I did however receive a quote yesterday from ARB who specialise in people with convictions yet they quoted me a ridiculous 5,600 euro.Im just wondering if anyone knows of anyone who was banned from driving and then got insurance afterwards and how they went about it,which company e.t.c

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

cavo wrote:
    Ok well i have been trying to get an insurance for myself for the last while.Here are the details:
    I was banned from driving for 2 years for drunk in charge of a vehicle NOT drink driving.I had the keys in my hand while sitting in the car listening to the radio and the police turned up and arrested me.Anyway i appealed my conviction and got my licence back a year early.However it seems to have been a waste of time because every insurance company i approach politely tell me to s hit off.I am a 22 year old male,full licence looking for insurance on a 1994 1.4l golf.I did however receive a quote yesterday from ARB who specialise in people with convictions yet they quoted me a ridiculous 5,600 euro.Im just wondering if anyone knows of anyone who was banned from driving and then got insurance afterwards and how they went about it,which company e.t.c
    I think that's pretty much what you're looking at for the next few years. Your age doesn't help at all. Insurance companies tend not to look at the specifics. You're a young driver with a drunk in charge conviction. To them that says "Sure fire accident".

I think you need to rethink your options. If it was me, I'd decide it's not worth having a car, and have a look at relocating. You may have to give yourself 5 or 6 years and then come back and take a look.

€5,600 sounds reasonable tbh. Sucks, but hey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Boggle

Buy a cheapish bike and don't bother insuring it. Completely illegal but as I see it u've been screwed by the system so you don't owe it anything.

Just don't pull over for the police... It's not like the fat bastards will catch you.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

Boggle wrote:
    Buy a cheapish bike and don't bother insuring it. Completely illegal but as I see it u've been screwed by the system so you don't owe it anything.

Just don't pull over for the police... It's not like the fat bastards will catch you.

brilliant :rolleyes: I'm going to stop paying my insurance too and funk any gobsh1te that gets in my way

Why not? Sounds like he got screwed by the state and is now in a position where he can either not drive or drive uninsured. Knowing the odds of getting caught if your discreet then I know my option of choice? Once the endorsements gone he can go back to normal but until then....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

Boggle don't be a moron.. yes that's right.. a moron!!

unless he was sitting in his driveway listening to his car radio then i don't think he was screwed.. It may have been a little unfair but it's nice to see the gards being a little pro-active for a change..

Cavo - just give up on the car for the moment, use that money to enjoy life a little, buy a nice bicycle and cycle to work, it's worth it.. it doesn't cost as much and you'll live longer plus it's a good hobby

Boggle wrote:
    Completely illegal but as I see it u've been screwed by the system so you don't owe it anything.
    I know you're trolling but I'll bite. How was he screwed by the state? He broke a very clear law. It's not 100% fair, but it's a reasonable law that is easy to not break. Besides, driving any vehicle without insurance only serves to increase everyone's insurance.

Divebomb ... dont be a tosser! And who are you to testify that the guy was guilty. Shockingly, it does happen that people get arrested for sitting in their car while drunk.... You can get arrested for sleeping in your car while drunk if u've the keys on you ffs. (Ever been to Witness? Anyone asleep in the carpark in their cars is technicall drink driving...) I would tell you not to be naive but I dunno if u'd understand...

I never said driving uninsured was a good idea and I was mess'n to start - but if he needs a car for work then a bicycle will hardly cut it and given his lack of options then this rates as well as any other u'v provided.

why wouldn't a bicycle cut it? .. i used to always cycle to work..
    And who are you to testify that the guy was guilty

Well, erm, he was already found guilty so i guess i don't have to

And I suppose you worked in la la land?!?! :rolleyes:

don't mock la la land:mad: don't ever mock la la land

:D;)

• Registered Users Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

But he appealed the conviction and got the licence back - surely he should not be counted as "convicted" then?

Stephen wrote:
    But he appealed the conviction and got the licence back - surely he should not be counted as "convicted" then?
    Sounds like he appealed the conviction and had his ban reduced from 2 years to 1 year. If his conviction was quashed, then he wouldn't be required to declare it to the insurance companies.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭jhegarty

seamus wrote:
    Sounds like he appealed the conviction and had his ban reduced from 2 years to 1 year. If his conviction was quashed, then he wouldn't be required to declare it to the insurance companies.

na , its usual to get the sentence redacted to half the original.....

jhegarty wrote:
    na , its usual to get the sentence redacted to half the original.....
    Yes, but the conviction still applies...

• Registered Users Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Loco

um... he got completely screwed!

i always go back to my car after drinking in town to sit and wait for a lift/taxi when im locked... better to have warmth and a radio while u wait 30 mins or so for taxi

i start the engine put on the heat and radio and sit and wait. u think i should be banned for 2 years because of this too?

i have done it like 20 times.. didnt even know sitting drunk in your car was illegal.. just thought driving was

btw: i also have a smoke... but if they want to arrest me for that its different :p

well why do you drive into town in the first place then:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,727 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Loco wrote:
    um... he got completely screwed!

i always go back to my car after drinking in town to sit and wait for a lift/taxi when im locked... better to have warmth and a radio while u wait 30 mins or so for taxi

i start the engine put on the heat and radio and sit and wait. u think i should be banned for 2 years because of this too?

i have done it like 20 times.. didnt even know sitting drunk in your car was illegal.. just thought driving was

btw: i also have a smoke... but if they want to arrest me for that its different :p
    he was not screwed. He was just unfortunate to get caught on a charge that is generally associated with something much worse.
    However, the OP didn't even start the car - you did. Think of what could happen when you get in one night and suddenly in your pissedness decide to take the chance and drive home & you kill someone.
    Now that you know it can get you into trouble Loco, are you likely to sit in your car again with the engine running and you pissed?

no, i will stand outside the car in the freezing cold rain and wind to wait for my taxi instead O_o

fk that.. i can control myself when i drink.. never have drink drived..never will..been in my car hundreds of time when not sober and didnt even think of driving.. im stayin warm :P

D!ve^Bomb! wrote:
    well why do you drive into town in the first place then:rolleyes:

would you rather me walk the 10 miles instead.. or pay for 2 taxis in and out :rolleyes:

stupid question

In fairness loco - while I have sympathy with the original poster because he was only sitting in the car I would have very little sympathy if the engine was running.... that's just asking for trouble.

don't mock la la land don't ever mock la la land
    Sorry couldn't resist ... :D

fk that.. i can control myself when i drink..
    We all say that. What happens to that one night you have a bad buzz? You're not sober, but you've not been drinking that much so you feel OK. You're pissed off, there are no taxis, it's pissing rain, and all you want to do is get home and go to bed. You decide, ****it, I'm probably over the limit, but not so much so that I'll attract attention.

If you drive into town, give your keys to a reliable mate who'll come back into town with you the next day.

Either way, you have to make two trips in and out of town - I don't see your problem with not driving in.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,727 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Loco wrote:
    would you rather me walk the 10 miles instead.. or pay for 2 taxis in and out :rolleyes:

stupid question
    personally I don't give a shít what you do but don't get into a car when you are full! If you want to drink then you have some options:-
    * get a lift to where you are going and get taxi home
    * drive to where you are going and get taxi home and collect car the following day
    * don't drink if you have the car with you - works for me (Becks NA, Erdinger Alcohol free...)

1. i have slept in my car a few times before with engine running to keep me warm because i couldnt get home from a house party.. at least 1 time i was as drunk as you can be and the party was ****

2. engine on = warmth.. engine off = freezing november = sickness

3. i dont bring the car in by choice.. if i can get a lift i will.. but my mother and father usually have better things to be doing than dropping me everywhere

4. i have elected not to drink many times when i have the car.. but if its a good night im not staying sober!

kbannon what are you saying? if i am going out drinking i should leave the car at home no matter what?

give keys to reliable mate? what sort of states do you drunks get into... i can turn on the engine and decide to not drink drive.. its drunks like you that cause all the trouble!

i have been doing this for 3 years, i have slept in the car when its not possible to get home.. even go into town and get breakfast from bewleys after it! :P

thats only been once though.. i have a few friends around college area with apartments who cater towards stranded drunks :p

give keys to reliable mate? what sort of states do you drunks get into... i can turn on the engine and decide to not drink drive.. its drunks like you that cause all the trouble!
    There go you but for the grace of God. Anyone is possible of anything, given the right (wrong?) circumstances.

Just a quick query - when you drive in and leave your car in town, how do get back to your car the next day, and why doesn't that mode of transport suffice for getting into town in the first place? The cost is the same, but you don't have to get back into town hungover the next day.

O_o

night...parents...out...morning...parents...in?

too hard to understand?

yes anything could happen... if i chose to not get in the car maybe i could get run over by a truck?

i know its against the law to be drunk and in control of a vehicle.. but whats the difference standing outside the car with keys in pocket/than being inside the car with keys in pocket/ignition

i used the engine for heat..

anyways i park in the same place whenever i go to town, near college of commerce where theres loads of cameras.. to prove me innocent (well to keep the car safe.. broken mirrors and all that )

but more to the point.. i think he did nothing wrong and should never have been convicted in the first place... not to mention having trouble getting insurance now.

Loco wrote:
    night...parents...out...morning...parents...in?

too hard to understand?
    You failed to state anything of the sort about your parents, rather "my mother and father usually have better things to be doing than dropping me everywhere".
    i know its against the law to be drunk and in control of a vehicle.. but whats the difference standing outside the car with keys in pocket/than being inside the car with keys in pocket/ignition
    Scenario A, you are standing outside the vehicle, scenario B, you are "in charge" of the vehicle. It's illegal to be "in charge" of a vehicle while drunk, for obvious reasons.
    anyways i park in the same place whenever i go to town, near college of commerce where theres loads of cameras.. to prove me innocent (well to keep the car safe.. broken mirrors and all that )
    Innocent of what? The cameras have been documenting your continued law-breaking for the last 3 years.
    but more to the point.. i think he did nothing wrong and should never have been convicted in the first place... not to mention having trouble getting insurance now.
    Your opinion is irrelevant. He was convicted and punished in accordance with the law, he admits that himself.

seamus wrote:
    You failed to state anything of the sort about your parents, rather "my mother and father usually have better things to be doing than dropping me everywhere".
    what? are you blind?
    seamus wrote:
    Scenario A, you are standing outside the vehicle, scenario B, you are "in charge" of the vehicle. It's illegal to be "in charge" of a vehicle while drunk, for obvious reasons.
    i know its against the law... i was pointing out that a person would be just as close to drink driving standing outside the door with keys as sitting in car with keys..
    seamus wrote:
    Innocent of what? The cameras have been documenting your continued law-breaking for the last 3 years.
    :rolleyes: ok captain planet, the cameras are on the passenger side, i have tinted windows, the rear of the car is slightly behind a wall, they never see me with keys in hand and cannot see that the car is running, so no law breaking is being documented.
    seamus wrote:
    Your opinion is irrelevant. He was convicted and punished in accordance with the law, he admits that himself.
    my opinion is that this law is silly, and that he shouldnt have been punished for sitting in his car while drunk, its relevant to this topic, have you got a problem with it? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭stratos

I wonder about things like these. Strange stuff happens especially at weekends. Drink is involved and then sometimes the guards arrive. I am a little bit leery here about the details. The guards I find for the most part are pretty fair (hey just my experience). But you have to realise wrecked out of your head on a Saturday night, if the guards become involved, you have to realise they have total power. Sober up and start licking boots. It amazes me the stupid things people get prosecuted for, makes me wonder, were their choice of words, lets say, not the best?

Hey loco, to be honest you are putting yourself in an awful risky position and its grand getting away with it so far but eventually you will get caught (even though you have no intention of driving)

The best thing you can do is when you get in is (if you have easy access from inside the car) to put the keys in the boot where you can easily retrieve them but at the same time they are also not inside the car.... i.e. you can't be convicted for DD as you dont have the keys inside the car. As for the heating element, leave a blanket in the boot.... also serves to protect your shirt from hotrock burns!

Seriously mate, a bit of cop on is required here cos WHEN you get caught it will bring a whole load of **** down on yourself...