Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Remote control helicopter

• 10-02-2005 3:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭

This is more than likely in the wrong place ... but I've really no idea where to put it. Please feel free to move.

Is there anywhere in the Louth/Dublin area that sells remote control helicopters?

I've found one place in Dun Laoghaire but I'm looking for others.
    Thanks in advance.

edit// actually even a remote control plane ... anything that flys really, pre made if possible

• Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Chalk

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=486

i cant move it but theres where it should go :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭KlodaX

cool ... cheers :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Fobia

Hi KlodaX,
    there are several model shops in Dublin which sell r/c helicopters, unfortunately none of them seem to have websites (or at least, none of them have told me that they exist) bar Green Hobby Models, whose website can be found here: http://www.greenhobbymodel.com/ , you should also have a search through this forum for the names/locations of other shops in Dublin as most model shops sell a variety of things (cars, planes, helis etc).

G'luck and once you find a model you like and purchase it, there's a list of most of the clubs in Ireland with websites here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=199335

Fobia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭test999

Try http://www.helimodels.com/ and ask for John,
    tell him Dave sent you.

He works, sells, and provides training exclusively for model helicopters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭KlodaX

Cheers got one... ended up in the model shop in Newry!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭lomb

KlodaX wrote:

dont buy a starlet! very old design, the mainframes mold was off a 1970s shluter.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 3,455 Mod ✭✭✭✭coolwings

KlodaX wrote:

Congratulations! :)

Which one did you buy? Is is prebuilt or kit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 superflyguy321

I do a lot of browsing before I buy anything and Radio Controlled Shops are popping up all over Ireland at the momement. The best one I have found so far and by far the cheapest is http://www.discount-rc-toys.com/ and its Irish. The way things are in Ireland the last few months I think I will give up flying RC planes and buy a kite or learn to wind surf. Does anyone know where you can buy a really strong stunt kite. One that will take a good beating, ya!

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭loopingfred

Well, do slope soaring ! :D

As you have noticed Ireland is a surfers, kiteflyers and windsurfer's paradise. We have winds similar to Hawaii, the Falkland Islands, certain other countries located on the seaboard of major oceans.

Because of this the models most suitable for flying here are specialised.

You CAN get planes that are SUITABLE BY DESIGN to fly in Irish windy conditions.
    That is what we realy use ... not little lightweight stuff made for still continental bluesky countries ... Spain, America, and so on!

Many slope soaring models can fly in extreme wind if required. I fly skinny fighters from mountain slopes in up to 35mph winds, and while this is good for smallish models, a hotliner will fly in even more wind. LoopingFred flies another type - big beautiful scale 4 metre gliders in big winds, although he isn't bragging online about it, (we just go out to fly in what's there in our different locations) and those models are steady as a rock as they cut through the turbulence with no problems.

The electric models we use are maybe triple the power of the little toys from the toyshops, and a good bit heavier in construction. Models not toys. You probably need to go to model shops to touch and see them and appreciate the difference, since an online picture showing appearance only can't convey that extra everything the suitable ones have .... power, toughness, etc..

The glowfuel planes we fly in Ireland (in calmer weather than soaring planes) are broadly similar to the UK planes but the most useful ones (here) often represent the toughest ones culled from what is available over there. If is made for a 40 size engine we probably have a 50 fitted inside it, certainly no less than a 45!
    We look wonderingly at (lower cost) 15 - 25 size models saying how will those little wheels stay on the model when it comes down". Over here, 90% ofthose size models are electric, not glow,have no wheels and belly land with the folding prop tucked well out of the way from breakage.

Due to having double the rainfall of most European countries here our grass runways have faster growing lush grass that folds over, then grabs and traps tiddly little wheels, and rips them off when you try to land. Wing mounted wheels are easily ripped out, creating a demanding condition for such planes which many fail being suitable mainly for concrete/tarmac runways ... not many of those here! But fuselage mounted wheels (for example) are fixed in stronger. That factor influences our choice of models too.

Also we have bigger 3 - 3 1/2 inch wheels on our models, to roll over our lush Irish grassy model airfield runway, not the little foamie things supplied with kits.
    Say we fit retracts, then we check which models can get the bigger wheels necessary to fit inside the wings without modification? The Irish model shops know all this and a bit more that you won't think of, and they simply stock the models that are "up to working conditions". eg www.greenhobbymodel.com don't sell VMAR (due to the lightness of build) as it fails the minimum quality standard for that particular shop ... even though that make is considered ok in the UK for example. And with good cause - according to the Feb Maci magazine a VMAR X-Stick bought mail order from the UK recently broke up in the air over an Irish club due to flimsy construction at the factory(not by the model flier).

Small glowfuel models are really scarce here for reasons above. Engine sizes .45 - 1.20 rule. Consequently the longstanding Irish model shops have pretty high criteria for what is a good model, and you know what, it affects the price when a plane is of better construction, better materials, or stronger parts.

If you want to fly on the AVERAGE day not just on the 20-40 super nice weather days in any year, you need to look at what Irish fliers ACTUALLY FLY. . Ignore all the cheap pretty looking depron toyshop stuff which has such low strength. The biggest mistake is buying unsuitable, and having to buy twice, or give up without ever getting to enjoy using the plane.
    We fly depron stuff too ... but mostly indoors! :)

Thank you for your advise. I was not familiar with slope soaring till now. Cool will get back to you soon :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 spoka

Thank you superflyguy I was looking for Christmas presents for my boys including the big one I am married to. In the end I bought a remote controlled helicopter for my husband and a car for my youngest whos 4. My other son is 12 so I got him the Cessna, claimed to be a great starter plane. So thanks for the link http://www.discount-rc-toys.com/ I got all I need there and it was very pleasent dealing with them as I had not a clue which was what :confused: Planes, helicopters there all the same to me :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 heli man

hi all,

Once again i find everyone going on about where to go for a rc helicopter and its always the same old place, the helicopter online shop *******-rc-toys in dublin, ye thats ok !
    But if you look on the net there are a number of excellent rc shops in the uk, and there is one in co. louth called Xtreme Helicopters. The online shop in louth is small but saying this they are very good and will look after there buyers. All the prices on the helis and parts have free shipping to any address in the uk and ireland.
    The wed address is www.xtremehelicopters.co.uk have a look.
    Hope this link will help others.

thanks-John.

.... [/ end commercial break]

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭ChessHacker

There is a new online RC shop which is really based in Ireland called Radioactivemodels.

Latest kit (Kyosho, Hirobo, Ripmax) , including helicopters with Li-Po cells.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭goldenwonder

any ideas of what helicopter to buy. i have a mini wireless camera i want to see if i can attach to plane or preferably helicopter. any ideas of weight and lift.. this camera needs a square battery too to power it.. dont need anything mad. if one of those little ones did it grand.. the camera only has 100m range anyway.. just for fun.
    and anyone know the channell thing.. i bought a helicopter before from maplin.. it just could go up and rotate.. is that 2 ch?

will 3channell go forward too?
    cheers

You can get an onboard cam with no control of the cam in a car or boat for 2 channels.
    A third channel will allow some cam control of a car/boat.

For an airborne model you're talking about no less than 4 channels, and for any heli better than minimum size 5 ch. Then add for onboard cam control, though a cam may be started before takeoff and switched off after landing for no extra channels.

Just wondering: Have you learned to fly yet? You might be thinking of running before you can walk!
    Any learner has more than they can handle with the most basic setups. Adding cams to that may just increase the cost of the expected learning errors. (Crashing the heli AND cam!)
    That would be like doing something advanced, all you can manage, like playing a music instrument, and someone asks you to drink a glass of water (an easy thing) at the same time. They think it is an easy extra thing to do. But it is not possible for many because you are already beyond your limit for a long period and can only manage because it's a limited period. You see, most of us actually fly at 150% of our ability for 9 to 11 minutes.

I would not advise any person I was teaching to fly to try cams or any fancy stuff before they had 40-50 hours flying time up on 4 channel models, and could fly inverted.

The answer to your question: (not having the weights) you can hover on 150 - 200 watts per kilo of weight. Take the weight of your cam, battery, etc and calculate at 200 watts/kg. Any heli you are interested in must have spare capacity of more to do it. I guess a 450 size might do it if the cam is tiny. The Logo 500 might be interesting for a larger cam.

Ok lads - he asked what heli is best!!! :pac: Let the dam be opened ! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭syl77

Going on what you have stated about the wireless camera in that it needs a small rectangle battery to power it, I can only guess, that even if it has an integrated transmitter in the lens, you will have trouble lifting it with a simple co-axal/2ch heli, so you are looking at a 450 or above.
    So I would be in agreement in everything that coolwings has stated....

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭goldenwonder

interesting. didnt know there was that much to it.. well at least i dont have to go thru calculations.
    this is the camera i havehttp://cgi.ebay.ie/4-IR-LED-Wireless-Day-Night-Mini-Spy-Color-Camera-Audio_W0QQitemZ280419293101QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_CCTV?hash=item414a4ad7ad
    that link is massive.
    its bout half the size of the square battery that powers it.. unless i got a few button batteries to lose some weight.. hmmm- might work.
    dont care bout controlling the camera, like you said, just turn it on before flight, and leave it in one place on the heli,
    cheers, so basically, 4 channel mean up, turning, and forward,
    nice one

Hey good luck with the new shop I will come visit soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Marcio.souza

I bought some stuffs with David from discount rc toys,he is very nice and i think he has the best prices in ireland.

http://www.discount-rc-toys.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 tierney1972

hi guys i live in drogheda and i bought a rc helicopter 2 years ago and have never flown it...im wondering if anybody knows of any clubs were i could go and learn to fly my heli...it is a PIGEON 450M1 HELI...i would really like to fly it this year.so if anyone out there can help.i would be most grateful

• Registered Users Posts: 49 jmck

Hi! I am looking for a remote control plane for about €100. tried buying one on ebay but the shipping was $285!? I need it before christmas and havent a clue what one to go for. Can anyone recommend a model (taking into account what coolwings said about the irish wind) at this price from an irish website or shop in Dublin? I havent a clue about rc planes!! I tried the link for discount rc toys that a few people have recommended, but am just getting a list of different websites! help! very confused!

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭syl77

discount rc toys is now - http://radiocontrolledshop.ie/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

jmck wrote: »
    Hi! I am looking for a remote control plane for about €100. tried buying one on ebay but the shipping was $285!? I need it before christmas and havent a clue what one to go for. Can anyone recommend a model (taking into account what coolwings said about the irish wind) at this price from an irish website or shop in Dublin? I havent a clue about rc planes!! I tried the link for discount rc toys that a few people have recommended, but am just getting a list of different websites! help! very confused!

Bricks & Mortar Model shops that specialize in planes:

The Model Centre, Capel St
    Green Hobby & Model, Harolds Cross, www.greenhobbymodel.com

There are also some other toy/model shops that keep a plane or two in stock.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 jmck

Thanks! actually saw one that looks good on that website, the nine eagles sky runner

Remote Control Helicopters Ireland. My advise to anyone who wants to buy anything remote controlled is just look at the website and it will speak a 1000 words. Make sure the product is in stock and that they do spares because you will crash :P

Wherever you choose to buy from then you will see how good the after sales service is in time. I have bought from many rc shops abroad and got stung bad on delivery times or taxes on entry.

Then also experienced very poor after sales services when there was a problem. When you invest good money into your hobby, you want to be able to advance and get assistance along the way.

Up to now I have been buying from a few different RC companies in Ireland and also abroad until lately I found a new company operating in Ireland. So far so good and the prices are very closely matched to abroad.

I would certainly recommend you try them sometime :D

http://radiocontrolledshop.ie/

I just noticed this thread started in 2005 and it's been recusitated.
    The OP is long gone lads.

:D:D