Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Here "wee" go

• 13-02-2005 7:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭

Sunday Mirror - 13th Feb

Soccer star cons girl into downing his urine cocktail.. then she & pals trash his £50K BMW X5

By Simon Wright
    PREMIERSHIP soccer star Andy Reid thought it was hilarious when he tricked a pretty waitress into drinking a cocktail of his own urine.

But the vile winger failed to see the funny side when disgusted Laura Truscott, 26, took revenge by heaping eggs, cooking oil, flour, tomato ketchup and cigarette butts on to his £50,000 BMW X5. He angrily tried to get her bosses to sack her.

Reid had chatted to Laura and her pals Sam Sterry,20, Marie Lightwood, 23, and 22-year-old Kate Dewey last month when they bumped into him in the trendy Market Bar, Nottingham, on the eve of his £4million transfer from Nottingham Forest to Premiership club Tottenham Hotspur.

Reid, 22, and Forest team-mates Wes Morgan, John Thompson and Greg Robertson, bought drinks for the girls, who waitressed at a nearby restaurant.

A friend of the girls said that Reid thought it would be funny to urinate into a glass and get someone to drink it.

A source at the Market Bar said last night: "Reid and his mates were pretty drunk. They were with a group of girls and they were all having a great time. Reid was getting quite loud.

"He suddenly produced this tall glass and said it was a cocktail of spirits, put a straw in it and asked Sam to try some. She pretended to but gave it back without touching it.

"He then passed it to Laura. She had no idea he had secretly undone his flies and urinated into it.

"Reid said it was vodka-based and she'd love it. She put the straw to her mouth and sucked it. She took a mouthful, immediately spat it out and started screaming. Reid and his mates thought it was really funny and admitted it was pee.

"Laura went ballistic. She started screaming and shouting at him. She picked up a glass of beer and threw it over him.

"He exploded. He screamed names back at her and told her she was out of order. He tried to get bouncers to throw Laura out. They knew what had gone on and refused. Laura and her mates left on their own a little later and Reid tried to laugh the whole thing off."

The following night, Laura and her three friends decided to take revenge. They emptied their kitchen cupboards and went to Irish international Reid's £500,000 city centre flat.

They were caught on CCTV wearing scarves and balaclavas smearing his car with cooking oil, eggs, flour, tomato ketchup and cigarette butts.

But instead of calling the police, Reid complained to Laura's boss and she and Marie and Sam were suspended pending an internal disciplinary hearing due to take place this week.

A friend said last night: "He's the big-shot famous footballer and the restaurant doesn't want to lose him as a customer.

"She knows she shouldn't have taken revenge by trashing his car but you can hardly blame her after what she went through.

"She feels degraded. To be tricked into drinking someone's wee in public is about as low as it gets."

Last night Laura refused to comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

eirebhoy wrote:
    He exploded. He screamed names back at her and told her she was out of order.

If True
    So we can deduce he's not very bright. The tosser deserves everthing he got and more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

If true, big if considering its the people and there seems a few holes in the stroy.

i would of killed him, throwing eggs on his car? i would of probaly burnt the thing out. He got off easy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

so he basically assaulted her....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Reid doesn't own a BMW and he specifically said in an interview that he wans't going to buy a new car with the move.

Suspicious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

thats probably y he didnt ring the police, it wasnt his car :D .

anyway , if true, hes a knacker that got off lightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Who cares its more than likely a load of lies and even if it isnt meh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

syke wrote:
    Reid doesn't own a BMW and he specifically said in an interview that he wans't going to buy a new car with the move.

Suspicious
    Aye, I certainly am not going to go slating Reid off after reading this. Reid wouldn't even have earned half of what his house was supposedly worth and when you consider he has been supporting his kid for the last 6 years I very much doubt he has a BMW and a house worth £500k.

BTW, I couldn't give a toss the way the courts look at it, if true, we have to remember he was drunk. We've all done silly things when drunk and while it was foolish to piss in a glass, his intelligence shouldn't be questioned (people react to drink in different ways). Again, still wouldn't believe it entirely.

eirebhoy wrote:
    . Reid wouldn't even have earned half of what his house was supposedly worth and when you consider he has been supporting his kid for the last 6 years I very much doubt he has a BMW and a house worth £500k..

I'd say very few of the people who are paying €300k for a house in Dublin are earning €150k a year. He was probably on somewhere between £5k and £10k a week at forest, easily enough to be able to afford the house and car, anyway this is a pointless discussion that i dont know why i started. :D

eirebhoy wrote:
    We've all done silly things when drunk and while it was foolish to piss in a glass, his intelligence shouldn't be questioned .

Of couse he shouldn't be criticised he's Irish. Sure don't we all go around peeing in womens drinks only to be amazed that they lose the head when we tell them.
    Sure it's great crack to drink someone elses urine. Silly woman EH .

Stekelly wrote:
    I'd say very few of the people who are paying €300k for a house in Dublin are earning €150k a year.
    Reid is only earning £150k a year about 2 years now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

exactly muppet.

Surely the article should be asking why the women werent at there homes cooking,cleaning, and tidying up after there men?! That seems a outrage i think..

The Muppet wrote:
    Of couse he shouldn't be criticised he's Irish. Sure don't we all go around peeing in womens drinks only to be amazed that they lose the head when we tell them.
    Sure it's great crack to drink someone elses urine. Silly woman EH .
    eh, Muppet. He's idiot if he did what that article says but we can't say he's "not very bright" since he was drunk. Some of the most intelligent people in the world have done silly things when drunk.

BTW - If I'm defending him because he's Irish why would I post this thread in the first place.

eirebhoy wrote:
    eh, Muppet. He's idiot if he did what that article says but we can't say he's "not very bright" since he was drunk. Some of the most intelligent people in the world have done silly things when drunk.

BTW - If I'm defending him because he's Irish why would I post this thread in the first place.

I havnt, I'm perfect.

He's still a filthy knacker if it's true. Theres messing when your drunk but this is way out of order, its a filthy disgusting thing to do. If someone gave you a drink of your own piss to drink you'd flip, never mind someone elses.

eirebhoy wrote:

Drunk or not he's old enough to be responsible for his own actions. Drunk is no excuse IF he did this. To even consider doing such a thing whether drunk or sober would be a poor refelction on his personality/character.

Anyone in the public Eye would have to be stupid to think they could do such a thing and get away with it. Did he think she was going to give him a slap on the back and laugh it off. I mean telling her she was taking it too far when she threw her drink over him is just so unbelievable it's funny.

agreed. I've just seen some of the most respectable of people do the most disgusting things when drunk so I don't have a courts view on these type of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

technically its a assault.
    If you assault someone will drunk, does that mean you get off?
    Nope :)

Although I can't imagine she'll press charges since she's in as much **** as he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,981 ✭✭✭Big Ears

remember if its in a tabloid the opposite is more likely to be true .

Poor Reid..........drinking piss .

Big Ears wrote:
    remember if its in a tabloid the opposite is more likely to be true .

Poor Reid..........drinking piss .

Tabloids are covered by the libel laws the same as everyone else. I doubt very much if they would have named the player if they were unsure of their facts. If it is untrue Reid will be quids in when he takes them to court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

This story doesn't hold water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

You're taking the piss with that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

A friend of the girls said that Reid thought it would be funny to urinate into a glass and get someone to drink it.
    A source at the Market Bar said last night: "Reid and his mates were pretty drunk. They were with a group of girls and they were all having a great time. Reid was getting quite loud."
    A friend said last night: "He's the big-shot famous footballer and the restaurant doesn't want to lose him as a customer.

Amazing how they don't seem to have any names for these friends and sources!! :rolleyes:

Shock, Horror! Up and coming football signs for a team in the Premiership, a week later there's a fairly dubious story about him in one of the tabloids. Hardly surprising!
    The Muppet wrote:
    Tabloids are covered by the libel laws the same as everyone else. I doubt very much if they would have named the player if they were unsure of their facts. If it is untrue Reid will be quids in when he takes them to court.

LOL. cause tabloids always tell the truth....

B.

BaZmO* wrote:

LOL. cause tabloids always tell the truth....

B.

LOL at your lack of knowledge of libel laws. There is no way a tabloid or anyone else can publish such a story in the manner they have if it is untrue without being taken to the cleaners in court.

Has Andy Reid issued a denial and started proceedings?

The Muppet wrote:

I'm not his agent, how should I know?

I'm not saying that the article is either true or untrue, I'm just making the point that tabloids print untrue things all the time and the reason why people don't take action is because it costs an awful lot to take action.

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

The Muppet wrote:
    LOL at your lack of knowledge of libel laws. There is no way a tabloid or anyone else can publish such a story in the manner they have if it is untrue without being taken to the cleaners in court.

Has the Mirror ever got it wrong? Mmmmm...

Editor sacked over 'hoax' photos

Daily Mirror editor Piers Morgan has been sacked after the newspaper conceded photos of British soldiers abusing an Iraqi were fake.

In a statement the Mirror said it had fallen victim to a "calculated and malicious hoax" and that it would be "inappropriate" for Morgan to continue.

I'm not saying these allegations are untrue, but I'll hold judgement until we get something more than "a friend" and "sources".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭talla

The Muppet wrote:

I'm surprised at you Muppet.
    Not remember the Sun setup on Roy Keane a few years ago (1999 I think)when he supposedly attacked the girl in the bar and it was later found out no such thing happened.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Maybe he bought her Budweiser instead. Most people wouldn't know the difference between it and urine.

talla wrote:
    I'm surprised at you Muppet.
    Not remember the Sun setup on Roy Keane a few years ago (1999 I think)when he supposedly attacked the girl in the bar and it was later found out no such thing happened.

I do indeed talla which is why in most of my posts here I have said "If True".
    I just thnk the impression that tabloids can print what they want and get away with it scott free does not represent the reality of the situation..

Has the Mirror ever got it wrong? Mmmmm...

Editor sacked over 'hoax' photos

Which only goes to prove my Point. That pieces of sloppy journalism cost Piers Morgan His job.

I'm not saying these allegations are untrue, but I'll hold judgement until we get something more than "a friend" and "sources".

I have not said they are true either but I would expect such a damaging allegation to be rebuked if they are fictitious.

BaZmO* wrote:
    I'm just making the point that tabloids print untrue things all the time and the reason why people don't take action is because it costs an awful lot to take action.

B.

The allegations in this instance are so specific that it's a clear cut case . It either happened or it didn't. If it didn't the accused has been defamed and would be awarded the costs if he took a case.

LOL @ Pornapster

The Muppet wrote:
    I do indeed talla which is why in most of my posts here I have said "If True".
    I just thnk the impression that tabloids can print what they want and get away with it scott free does not represent the reality of the situation..

Which only goes to prove my Point. That pieces of sloppy journalism cost Piers Morgan His job.

I have not said they are true either but I would expect such a damaging allegation to be rebuked if they are fictitious.

Did RK take action against the papers that alledged he hit a girl? I doubt it!

You have a very simplistic view of the tabloids.
    They say something bad/untrue about you and you take them to court.
    Most of the time people don't have the time, the money nor the inclination to take papers to court. It's not worth the hassle.

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Oh right so, the newspapers just happened to be in the right place at the right time to pick this gem up. ;)

BaZmO* wrote:
    Did RK take action against the papers that alledged he hit a girl? I doubt it!.

See that's where your argument is falling down and displays you lack of knowledge on the subject.

It is perfectly all right to say

Person x alledgedly struck person Y. but you can not say Person x struck Person Y, unless it is true.

without links to actual articles I can't say wheter RK was libelled ofr not in that instance. What I do remeber is that R K publically defened his character from the outset of the allegation
    BaZmO* wrote:

You have a very simplistic view of the tabloids.
    They say something bad/untrue about you and you take them to court.
    Most of the time people don't have the time, the money nor the inclination to take papers to court. It's not worth the hassle.

B.

That depends on the value you put on your character and reputation. Someone whose livlihood depended on public acceptance could not afford to hold such an attitude.

Source Sunday Mirror
    http://http://www.sundaymirror.co.uk/news/tm_objectid=15183876&method=full&siteid=106694&headline=here-wee-go-name_page.html
    PREMIERSHIP soccer star Andy Reid thought it was hilarious when he tricked a pretty waitress into drinking a cocktail of his own urine.

That's printed as a statement of fact. If its untrue it is libellous and potentially damaging to the accused's character.

The Muppet wrote:
    Person x alledgedly struck person Y. but you can not say Person x struck Person Y, unless it is true.
    That's printed as a statement of fact. If its untrue it is libellous and potentially damaging to the accused's charactaer.
    At the end of the day, the Mirror don't know for sure if its true or not.

eirebhoy wrote:
    At the end of the day, the Mirror don't know for sure if its true or not.

That's an extreamly weak counter argument , How do you know that ?

The Muppet wrote:

because their the Mirror .

The Muppet wrote:
    How would they? Was there a journalist sitting there watching Reid take his lad out and piss in a glass, then hand it on to the girl?

Big Ears wrote:
    because their the Mirror .
    eirebhoy wrote:
    How would they?

If that's the strength of your argument we may as well just leave it there lads.

The Muppet wrote:
    If that's the strength of your argument we may as well just leave it there lads.

Eirebhoy's is a bit stronger than mine , unless they had a journalist in there then they wouldn't know if the story was made up , somone could just be trying to make some money off a fictious story .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

The Muppet wrote:

Not really. Morgan was sacked 14 days after the hoax photos appeared on their front page, and only after the Queen's Lancashire Regiment hosted a press conference demonstrating aspects of the photos that proved they were fake. Even after all that, Morgan had to be sacked rather than resign.

Original report on May 1
    The Mirror says the pictures were handed over by British soldiers from the Queen's Lancashire Regiment who claimed a rogue element in the British army was responsible for abusing prisoners and civilians.

Speaking on condition of anonymity, the soldiers told the paper no charges were brought against the unnamed captive.

Unnamed sources again...

The Muppet wrote:
    The allegations in this instance are so specific that it's a clear cut case . It either happened or it didn't. If it didn't the accused has been defamed and would be awarded the costs if he took a case.

Yet not clear cut enough for any other media to carry the story?

BBC? No mention.
    RTE? No mention.
    Football 365? No mention.
    Sky Sports? No mention.
    Teamtalk? No mention.

All carry the Eidur Gudjohnson arrest story (that being verifiable I suppose).

I'll say again, I'll wait for more than "sources" and no comment from the alledged victim before I pass judgement (and I'll accept that no statement from Andy Reid doesn't mean he's got something to hide)

Honestly though, do you really think Reid was seeing by a Mirror journalist doing what that story says? If not, they don't know for sure if the story is actually true.

As the post above says, the likes of the BBC couldn't be bothered even printing this story and thats certainly not because it wouldn't be of any interest to readers.

Big Ears wrote:
    Eirebhoy's is a bit stronger than mine , unless they had a journalist in there then they wouldn't know if the story was made up , somone could just be trying to make some money off a fictious story .

It cetainly would not be the first time for that to happen. As I said at the outset if that is the case I would expect the accused to take the matter further to clear his name.

I never said the story is true but bear in mind that the paper could have printed basically the same story in a way that covered themelves from legal action. The way they have directly named names is a dangerous ploy if they are not very sure of their facts.

Oh an in answer to Eirebhoys "how would they know" There appears to be a few eye withess accounts in the article. Possibly they told the paper.

The Muppet wrote:

Oh an in answer to Eirebhoys "how would they know" There appears to be a few eye withess accounts in the article. Possibly they told the paper.

possibly their trying to make money at the expense of a famous footballer .
    infact that most likely is the case , and the Mirror are trying to make some money out of it too , maybe more than they'd lose in a court case .

Big Ears wrote:
    and the Mirror are trying to make some money out of it too , maybe more than they'd lose in a court case .

Explain how that one works for me.

You don't need to be a genuis to figure out the motives behind the story but that does not necessarily mean it's untrue.

I actually do think one of the girls did drink something they didn't like but I doubt it was Reid's piss.

The Muppet wrote:

Well your argument seems to be based on your anti-irish sentiment so hey! Either one is rubbish.

Reid, as I said, doesn't drive and BMW and lives in modest accomodation. Even in London now he is renting rather than buying a house as he said the flash life isn't for him. I think he bought himself a nice guitar.

Thats the first HUGE hole in the story.

As for the tabloids? Oh come on, I've seen you laugh of newspaper reports on here before - why the change of tune?

The Muppet wrote:
    Explain how that one works for me.

Words spreads round theres an exclusive on Reid doing something in the Mirror , cue loads of Forest or Spurs fans buying the mirror to find more out about the story , and by loads I mean LOADS !!! .

The article where Reid is talking about buying a new guitar is here btw:
    http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=324426&cc=5901

Big Ears wrote:
    cue loads of Forest or Spurs fans buying the mirror to find more out about the story , and by loads I mean LOADS !!! .

ROFFL thats a contardiction in terms. What ever about Spurs it's a long time since Forest had loads of fans . True there's still odd sad basket case around hanging onto their memories of the Glorious 70's but loads I think not.

The Muppet wrote:
    ROFFL thats a contardiction in terms. What ever about Spurs it's a long time since Forest had loads of fans . True there's still odd sad basket case around hanging onto their memories of the Glorious 70's but loads I think not.

You do realise that most of the fans of football teams live in the areas? And aren't the mercenaries like Irish PL supporters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Warning withdrawn

Thread closed as it began to stink like the sheets in an retirement home.