Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oscar Triumphs

• 13-02-2005 11:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭

PokerStars Tournament #5162819, No Limit Hold'em
    Buy-In: $10.00/$1.00
    19 players
    Total Prize Pool: $190.00
    Tournament started - 2005/02/13 - 15:00:00 (ET)
    Tournament finished - 2005/02/13 - 17:17:11 (ET)
    1: oscarf (dublin), $95.00 (50%)
    2: karlh2001 (Dublin), $57.00 (30%)
    3: ionapaul (Dublin 6), $38.00 (20%)
    4: ManBitesGod (Dublin),
    5: Aces_Mike (Drogheda),
    6: Y2JP (Dublin),
    7: Imposter1 (Co. Westmeath),
    8: Briano (Dublin),
    9: nesf (Mallow),
    10: viking_ire (Kinnegad),
    11: Culchie (Dublin),
    12: DapperGent (Dublin),
    13: Tourneque (Maarssen),
    14: impr0v (Co. Westmeath),
    15: Lirril (Mondaniel),
    16: BigSynergy (Maynooth),
    17: JaimGrymauch (Dublin),
    18: Larkin Paul (Dublin13),
    19: kencleary (Balbriggan),

Well done Oscar, glad you used my donation well - hope you had a Queen !

The bounty was on Lirril and he fell to myself so prize is still available for Tuesday's tournie. The Bounty will be on Oscar if he plays. If not then it will roll over to Sunday and the winner of tuesday's game will be the bounty.

I will be back for next Tuesday's game. Good luck to everyone else who plays.

I will post league standings after next sundays game.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Ken you loser!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

hope you had a Queen !

Yea AQ gg had some good battles with yourself and Tom while JP was starting to look dangerous till he played AJ

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

nggggggh. Well played Oscar. Some killer battles...

Quick review up on Antesup

DeV.

Good luck in France Mike!

• Registered Users Posts: 580 ✭✭✭kencleary

DapperGent wrote:
    Ken you loser!

Cheers Dapper! Diplomatic as always. Still I promise to do better next time and let you reclaim your rightful place proping up the foot of any tournament! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Congrats :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Oscar played well but I did see him misplay 92 at one point. In order to improve his game this following hand history shows how to correctly play this powerful hand.

PokerStars Game #1211219895: Tournament #5162819, Hold'em No Limit - Level III (25/50) - 2005/02/13 - 15:32:05 (ET)
    Table '5162819 2' Seat #7 is the button
    Seat 2: nesf (2000 in chips)
    Seat 3: Aces_Mike (2810 in chips)
    Seat 4: karlh2001 (1970 in chips)
    Seat 5: Lirril (375 in chips)
    Seat 6: impr0v (1230 in chips)
    Seat 7: oscarf (3845 in chips)
    Seat 8: Briano (2070 in chips)
    Seat 9: ionapaul (1470 in chips)
    Briano: posts small blind 25
    ionapaul: posts big blind 50
    *** HOLE CARDS ***
    Dealt to Aces_Mike [2s 9h]
    nesf: folds
    ManBitesGod [observer] said, "cut out the limpers"
    Aces_Mike: raises 100 to 150
    karlh2001: calls 150
    Lirril: folds
    impr0v: folds
    oscarf: calls 150
    Briano: folds
    ionapaul: folds
    *** FLOP *** [5s 4h 3d]
    Aces_Mike: checks
    karlh2001: checks
    oscarf: checks
    *** TURN *** [5s 4h 3d] [5h]
    karlh2001: bets 200
    oscarf: folds
    BigSynergy [observer] said, "Mike when you heading for frogs legs?"
    Aces_Mike: raises 200 to 400
    Aces_Mike said, "tues"
    karlh2001: folds
    Aces_Mike collected 925 from pot
    Aces_Mike: shows [2s 9h] (a pair of Fives)
    *** SUMMARY ***
    Total pot 925 | Rake 0
    Board [5s 4h 3d 5h]
    Seat 2: nesf folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 3: Aces_Mike collected (925)
    Seat 4: karlh2001 folded on the Turn
    Seat 5: Lirril folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 6: impr0v folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 7: oscarf (button) folded on the Turn
    Seat 8: Briano (small blind) folded before Flop
    Seat 9: ionapaul (big blind) folded before Flop

• Registered Users Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Shortstack wrote:
    Oscar played well but I did see him misplay 92 at one point. In order to improve his game this following hand history shows how to correctly play this powerful hand.

PokerStars Game #1211219895: Tournament #5162819, Hold'em No Limit - Level III (25/50) - 2005/02/13 - 15:32:05 (ET)
    Table '5162819 2' Seat #7 is the button
    Seat 2: nesf (2000 in chips)
    Seat 3: Aces_Mike (2810 in chips)
    Seat 4: karlh2001 (1970 in chips)
    Seat 5: Lirril (375 in chips)
    Seat 6: impr0v (1230 in chips)
    Seat 7: oscarf (3845 in chips)
    Seat 8: Briano (2070 in chips)
    Seat 9: ionapaul (1470 in chips)
    Briano: posts small blind 25
    ionapaul: posts big blind 50
    *** HOLE CARDS ***
    Dealt to Aces_Mike [2s 9h]
    nesf: folds
    ManBitesGod [observer] said, "cut out the limpers"
    Aces_Mike: raises 100 to 150
    karlh2001: calls 150
    Lirril: folds
    impr0v: folds
    oscarf: calls 150
    Briano: folds
    ionapaul: folds
    *** FLOP *** [5s 4h 3d]
    karlh2001: checks
    oscarf: checks
    *** TURN *** [5s 4h 3d] [5h]
    karlh2001: bets 200
    oscarf: folds
    BigSynergy [observer] said, "Mike when you heading for frogs legs?"
    Aces_Mike: raises 200 to 400
    Aces_Mike said, "tues"
    Aces_Mike collected 925 from pot
    Aces_Mike: shows [2s 9h] (a pair of Fives)
    *** SUMMARY ***
    Total pot 925 | Rake 0
    Board [5s 4h 3d 5h]
    Seat 2: nesf folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 3: Aces_Mike collected (925)
    Seat 4: karlh2001 folded on the Turn
    Seat 5: Lirril folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 6: impr0v folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 7: oscarf (button) folded on the Turn
    Seat 8: Briano (small blind) folded before Flop
    Seat 9: ionapaul (big blind) folded before Flop

This wasnt a limit tournament was it?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

I folded AJ in that hand figured you were check raising

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

I am thinking of using the following points structure for the online games:

1st 9 points
    2nd 6 Points
    3rd 4 Points
    4th 3 Points
    5th 2 Points
    6th 1 Point

Points multiplied by 1.5 for end of month Sunday $20 entry.

Any comments ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Shortstack wrote:

Any comments ?
    I thought you were giving the whole final table points?
    You could do something like 1,2,3,4,5,6,8,10,12. A eurovision type points thingee.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭gerire

DapperGent wrote:
    Good luck in France Mike!

I would like to echo that sentiment, do us proud!!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

so first gets 9 and third gets 4? Ugh.

I'd suggest even 9,8,7,6... alternatively, 11,9,7,6,5,4,3,2,1

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

DeVore wrote:

DeV.

Yeah I agree with this, the difference between first and second is so down to luck I don't think it's a good idea to penalise a player for a bad run of cards on the final table. I know you can argue the head's up aspect of the final two or three, but it's unlikey that they are starting on even chips.

I think someone who consistently finishes in the top 3 should be doing good on points (as well as cash ;) ).

DeVore wrote:

DeV.

The problem with this structure is that it does not adequately reward risk taking once you get down to the final few. If the big stack were to move all in each hand near the end it would almost never make sense for any stack to call but the lowest. In fact because the points % would differ from the actual $ for each place it would mean that there would be two optium strategies at the late stages of the tournament, depending on whether you wanted to maximise $ EV or points EV, and this is obviously a bad situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Well then have a $won table as well. Trouble with that is there was only 3 places paid last night and that is not enough to get a true reflection of how someone who's not in the top 3 played. For example, DeV [strike]will probably[/strike]might get the bubble every game and he'd still have no points if it's just the money that'd be counted but he'd be one of the most consistent players.

Nah I think Hector is suggesting that the points should mirror the ratios of money payout for places, not that their shouldn't be any points for 4th, 5th etc. just that they be conisderably less than first as it is with cash payouts.

Shortstack's point structure gets my vote anyway. Not that I'll ever get any. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 580 ✭✭✭kencleary

kencleary wrote:
    Cheers Dapper! Diplomatic as always. Still I promise to do better next time and let you reclaim your rightful place proping up the foot of any tournament! :)

I hate being right............wait a minute no I don't!! :)

D'oh. Hubris and nemesis. :(

woohoo I avoided the bubble! I managed 3rd Place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭john_g83

well done, I thought the bubble had my name on it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

struggled 6th, feck all cards, dreadful run. 2 seconds as well though so not all bad. well done lads, good final table.

I wish I had of copied the chat, somebody kept giving out because I called their all in with 45s. [Paraphrasing] Just admit it was a bad call hector, Im not going to listen to you preach on boards anymore. [\Paraphrasing] Unfortunately for him he didnt realise that his stack was so low that I was easily getting odds to call.

he could easily have had a pair and you would have been a mile behind. well played overall though, i'm just with muso on that one.

Karl what type of odds do you think you need to be laid to call with any two from the BB based on a typical shortstacked raisers hands? What matters is the odds against the range, not against any paticular holding.

What was the hand? Sounds interesting.

Karl what type of odds do you think you need to be laid to call with any two from the BB based on a typical shortstacked raisers hands? What matters is the odds against the range, not against any paticular holding.

i get your point.

i'd want be be ahead or 50/50 but i'm just tight like that.

(surely short-stacked hands also include pocket pairs? large pocket pairs?)

the hand was muso all in from middle position, when they were on their backs he had 89os and HJ had 45os. maybe i'm not remembering right but he was in for about a third of HJs stack?

i wouldn't bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭BrendanB

This was too much fun to pass over.
    I think HJ is right, BTW, suited connectors aren't much more than 3:1 behind anything.

*********** # 158 **************
    PokerStars Game #1220798545: Tournament #5209291, Hold'em No Limit - Level VIII (200/400) - 2005/02/15 - 16:50:49 (ET)
    Table '5209291 1' Seat #3 is the button
    Seat 1: dirkey (5640 in chips)
    Seat 2: karlh2001 (2925 in chips)
    Seat 3: john_g83 (2605 in chips)
    Seat 4: Culchie (2810 in chips)
    Seat 5: Hectorjelly (3415 in chips)
    Seat 6: SFellow (4720 in chips)
    Seat 7: Dr_Colossus1 (5710 in chips)
    Seat 8: KeepThePiece (4995 in chips)
    Seat 9: Briano (1680 in chips)
    dirkey: posts the ante 25
    karlh2001: posts the ante 25
    john_g83: posts the ante 25
    Culchie: posts the ante 25
    Hectorjelly: posts the ante 25
    SFellow: posts the ante 25
    Dr_Colossus1: posts the ante 25
    KeepThePiece: posts the ante 25
    Briano: posts the ante 25
    Culchie: posts small blind 200
    Hectorjelly: posts big blind 400
    *** HOLE CARDS ***
    Dealt to KeepThePiece [Jd 5h]
    SFellow: folds
    KeepThePiece said, "Seems not"
    john_g83 said, "crap, obviously not"
    Dr_Colossus1: folds
    KeepThePiece: folds
    Briano: raises 1255 to 1655 and is all-in
    dirkey: folds
    john_g83: folds
    Culchie: folds
    Hectorjelly: calls 1255
    *** FLOP *** [3c 2c 5c]
    *** TURN *** [3c 2c 5c] [Kd]
    *** RIVER *** [3c 2c 5c Kd] [Jh]
    Dr_Colossus1 said, "man"
    SFellow said, "nice flop!"
    Imposter1 [observer] said, "monster's the both of them"
    *** SHOW DOWN ***
    Hectorjelly: shows [4d 6d] (a straight, Deuce to Six)
    Briano: shows [8d 9s] (high card King)
    Hectorjelly collected 3735 from pot
    *** SUMMARY ***
    Total pot 3735 | Rake 0
    Board [3c 2c 5c Kd Jh]
    Seat 1: dirkey folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 2: karlh2001 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 3: john_g83 (button) folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 4: Culchie (small blind) folded before Flop
    Seat 5: Hectorjelly (big blind) showed [4d 6d] and won (3735) with a straight, Deuce to Six
    Seat 6: SFellow folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 7: Dr_Colossus1 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 8: KeepThePiece folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 9: Briano showed [8d 9s] and lost with high card King

Briano said, "for shame"
    karlh2001 said, "folded 10s :)"

Briano [observer] said, "I 'aint listening to anymore preaching from you HJ"
    Hectorjelly said, "the pot was too big to fold for the amount I had to call"
    Briano [observer] said, "yada yada"
    Hectorjelly said, "3700 pot"
    Briano [observer] said, "give it up"
    Briano [observer] said, "anyway can't complain was delighted when I saw your cards"
    Briano [observer] said, "shoulda known better"
    Hectorjelly said, "60 40 and pot was laying me 2 to 1"
    SFellow [observer] said, "nh"
    Briano [observer] said, "3700 my arse by the way"
    KeepThePiece said, "gg"
    Hectorjelly said, "how big was it?"
    Briano [observer] said, "2500 approx"
    karlh2001 said, "less"
    Hectorjelly said, "before I called?"
    KeepThePiece said, "Someone download the hand history and find some handbags"
    Briano [observer] said, "admit it bad call and jammy win :)"
    Hectorjelly said, "so 3500 pot"
    Briano [observer] said, "chancer :)"
    Hectorjelly said, "its not a bad call at all, pot is laying me odds unless you have a high PP"
    Briano [observer] said, "I give up"
    KeepThePiece said, "Too late for that, you were knocked out ages ago"
    Briano [observer] said, "hehe"
    Dr_Colossus1 said, "what were you doing anyway with 8 9"
    Briano [observer] said, "I was shortstacked"
    Hectorjelly said, "yeah when your stack is that short you need to wait for a hand"
    Hectorjelly said, "when your stack is a littel bigger you can try and steak some"
    Dr_Colossus1 is disconnected
    john_g83 said, "mmmmmmm steak some"
    KeepThePiece said, "beer..."
    Hectorjelly said, "mm"

i stand corrected, said the man in the orthopedic shoe.

I think I had to call 1200 into a pot that was 3500 big (once I called) so I need to win 1/3 of the time. Against a person moving in with any Ace, any pair or any K down to K9 Ill win about 36% of the time. Against a random hand (which is what he moved in with) Ill win about 40% of the time. Calling also has the advantage that people might be less likely to move in on my BB, which is why the call I did a few hand later was probably a but dodgy.

I did think about folding, precisely because it was a bit more of my stack than I was comfortable calling with it, but even if I lost I would still have enough to steal with.