Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Neil Warnock

• 14-02-2005 1:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭

Just wondering what the rest of you make of him?

I think he is a fantastic manager, but I also think he could only do it with Sheffield United. He is a massive Sheff Utd fan, and brings his passion for the club to the dressing room, and on to the players.

I'd like to see the team, under Warnock, in the Premiership, to see how he would get on. He has some good players there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

As you said he has passion for the club. Everything seems to have come together for him. He doesnt have massive amounts of money, which seems to suit him at the moment. A Roman Abramovich style owner probably wouldnt suit his style either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

Warnock is a horrible man, his passion boils over and leads him to say some ridiculous things. He should have been fined after falsely accusing Liverpool Stephane Henchoz of spitting at him live on TV after Carling Cup semi final defeat at Anfield a few years back. You could see that Henchoz had told him to f-off after the game but only because Warnock had been spouting off (as usual) in the papers saying that his squad was better than Liverpools but his only cost a few quid. But angry Warnock goes into the tunnel and immediatley tells Sky TV that Henchoz had spat at him - tosser !!!!
    Since then I hope Sheff. Utd lose every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭galactus

He's the Alex Ferguson of the division.

I know he's a huge Blades fan (fair play there) but he just comes across as a complete know-it all. Warnock puts out solid, unexciting teams and has never to my knowledge, won anything.

He's always moaning and indulges in cheating: for example that time he took his players off "injured" and claimed that they couldn't continue (they'd already had 3 sent off at that stage).

In summary, a complete slimeball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,981 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Good manager , doesn't seem like the nicest person though , I think they could hack it in the Premiership if he eventually gets them up .

Watch their cup games against Premiership sides and you will see very little difference between the sides .

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Since when did a "nice guy" type of a manager win anything. I like him, he's very entertaining to listen to, he isn't afraid to say what he thinks.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Since when did a "nice guy" type of a manager win anything. I like him, he's very entertaining to listen to, he isn't afraid to say what he thinks.

The guy's a cheat:
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_div_1/1879049.stm
    BBC Sport Online chief football writer Phil McNulty believes Sheffield United and boss Neil Warnock must face heavy punishment after the so-called 'Battle of Bramall Lane.'

Sheffield United may be piecing together a damage limitation exercise on the grand scale - but nothing will repair their shattered reputation.

The shamed men of Bramall Lane have sensed the growing outrage against them, some of it from their own supporters, after the dreadful scenes in the game against West Bromwich Albion.

Three men sent off. Two more withdrawn injured. Game abandoned because of a lack of football morals as much as a lack of players.

Warnock denies allegations of sharp practice
    One observer likened it to a Sunday League affair - before correcting himself after realising this was a craven insult to those who spend their weekend playing the supposedly "Beautiful Game" for no financial reward.

Sheffield United manager Neil Warnock was a central figure in a game that may be part of a pub quiz in a few years, but currently raises serious questions of what is going on at a proud club.

Warnock may deny the understandably aggrieved West Brom manager Gary Megson's claims that he engineered the situation in a cynical attempt to have the game abandoned.

Only he will know the truth of the matter, although the input of Megson and the fourth official may shed new light on what would be very sharp practice.

What is in no doubt is that Warnock's players were out of his control on Saturday.

And consequently both Warnock and Sheffield United must be punished - and heavily.

Megson pointed the finger at Warnock
    Sheffield United's Georges Santos may have a grudge to bear against Albion's Andy Johnson, but if he pursued in the street in the same manner as on the pitch, the police would be involved.

The same would apply to Patrick Suffo, who head-butted Derek McInnes, a man who referee Eddie Wolstenholme insisted was acting professionally to calm the situation.

No matter that Warnock annouces that Suffo will be transfer-listed or that Santos will never play for the club again.

No matter that Warnock says he sees no reason why West Bromwich Albion should not just be awarded the three points.

How big of him. What a noble gesture.

Too little. Too late.

Troubles flares again at Bramall Lane
    It also sounds like the panic-stricken pleadings of a club that knows the book is about to be thrown at them.

Sheffield United may go through the motions of in-house fines and public pleadings of innocence, but they cannot worm their way out of a situation they will know is an embarrassment and a disgrace, even to their own fair-minded fans.

The Football League will rule on the matter, but a fine is not enough to send out the message that the game cannot be played in atmosphere of anarchy.

Points must be deducted - and enough to make Sheffield United pay for their sins in the so-called 'Battle of Bramall Lane.'

It's easy to point the finger like that, but do you have proof?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

He's a Class-A arsehole, a liar, a cheat, and a terrible ambasidor for football. I for one hope Arsenal slaughter his mob.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    It's easy to point the finger like that, but do you have proof?

Proof? What are you a scientist or a solicitor? :D

I'll say one thing - I bet the team you support hasn't come up against a Warnock side or you'd be agreeing with me.

I'm not just refering to the "Battle of Brammal Lane" (don't you remember the incident?), Warnock's rule-bending is legendary:

- Kicking spare balls onto the pitch during play to waste a bit of time
    - Withdrawing all of the spare balls from his ballboys when Sheff U are winning
    - Standing next to opposition players when taking a throw-in
    - Sending players to listen to opposition half-time team talks
    - Instructing players to "break legs" (can be clearly heard from sideline)

Then there's his moaning. Every frickin' week its the same thing. This is typical:
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_div_1/3448997.stm

Warnock's cheating and childish behaviour is all very well documented. He's the lowest form of scum and his sides play ****e football. Finally, his name is an anagram of "Colin Wanker".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

He's a twat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭Harry2001

I don't dislike Colin as much as most, he can be a bit of a knob at times but he has done a good job at United.

galactus wrote:
    - Kicking spare balls onto the pitch during play to waste a bit of time
    - Withdrawing all of the spare balls from his ballboys when Sheff U are winning
    - Standing next to opposition players when taking a throw-in
    - Sending players to listen to opposition half-time team talks
    - Instructing players to "break legs" (can be clearly heard from sideline)
    -Kicking spare balls onto the pitch in order to waste time is cheating I agree. Was he punished for it? Mike Newell actually done this in one of the lower leagues, yet he was not branded a cheat... Hypocritical by the press? I think so.
    -Withdrawing the spare balls from the ball boys is not cheating.
    -Standing next to opposition players when there is a throw in is not cheating as long as he is in the managerial area.
    -Sending players to listen to the oppositions team talks is not against the rules. It is the oppositions problem if they can actually hear the team talk, not Warnock's.
    -Instructing players to break legs is not illegal, although very unsporting to say the least. I'd say its more intimidation than anything toward the opposing players. But it is not against the rules and the players should have the brains not to carry this out.

Who exactly was the last "nice guy" manager ever to win anything in the Premiership? Whats that? Can't remember?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,981 ✭✭✭Big Ears

PORNAPSTER wrote:

Who exactly was the last nice guy manager ever to win anything in the Premiership? Whats that? Can't remember?

Mourinhio is about to win the league and he's a nice guy .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

Warnock as far as I remember was also the manager that took Notts County into the top division in the early nineties. Now there is an achievement.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    -Kicking spare balls onto the pitch in order to waste time is cheating I agree. Was he punished for it? Mike Newell actually done this in one of the lower leagues, yet he was not branded a cheat... Hypocritical by the press? I think so.
    -Withdrawing the spare balls from the ball boys is not cheating.
    -Standing next to opposition players when there is a throw in is not cheating as long as he is in the managerial area.
    -Sending players to listen to the oppositions team talks is not against the rules. It is the oppositions problem if they can actually hear the team talk, not Warnock's.
    -Instructing players to break legs is not illegal, although very unsporting to say the least. I'd say its more intimidation than anything toward the opposing players. But it is not against the rules and the players should have the brains not to carry this out.

Who exactly was the last "nice guy" manager ever to win anything in the Premiership? Whats that? Can't remember?

Pornapster, you're definitely entitled to your opinion but you do seem to be going out of your way to defend the indefensible here. Warnock's attitute is completely unsporting.

As I posted earlier - you've obviously never been at the recieving end of his antics. A quick look with Google will show you what most fans think (again, you're entitled to you own opinion but you did ask for "proof").

I can only conclude that you're either a Blades fan (nothing wrong with that) or you're practicing your debating skills (again, nothing wrong with that).

Last nice guy to win the Prem? I wouldn't exactly call Arsene Wenger a prick.

Warnock as far as I remember was also the manager that took Notts County into the top division in the early nineties. Now there is an achievement.

I stand corrected - Colin took Notts County up twice (but not to the Prem, it was before the big money days) and has also play-off victories with Huddersfield and Plymouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

murinho is a nice manager, and he has won the champions league.

Big Ears wrote:
    Mourinhio is about to win the league and he's a nice guy .
    Not IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

seansouth wrote:
    Just wondering what the rest of you make of him?

I think he is a fantastic manager, but I also think he could only do it with Sheffield United. He is a massive Sheff Utd fan, and brings his passion for the club to the dressing room, and on to the players.

I'd like to see the team, under Warnock, in the Premiership, to see how he would get on. He has some good players there too.
    I think he is certainly great manager and has done wonders for Sheffield United over the past few years. I hope they get a run in the fa cup "Upset those cockneys", I think he and Sheffield also deserve a shot the Premier League.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

i cant stand him. His constant whinging is so annoying. I would of loved to of been at the wolves united playoff fianl.

would of been heaven running up to him giving him a load of abuse.