Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Acidtone - in a word - ROCK

• 17-02-2005 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭

Haven't seen them mentioned here yet and to be honest, I think they are something we Irish should be proud of.

The youngest member 14 now, with the others hovering around the 15-16 age mark - this guys have to be the hottest young talent in Ireland at the moment.

www.acidtone.net - check them out!

And before you hardcore rockers start complaining that they suck and that they sound like someone else etc..... Remember, they are but only kids and have of lot of learning to do - but my god they have talent!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭moonboy

big loada poop
    hmm.sounds like somebody is doing a favour for their friends who just happen to in a band called acidtone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭tomED

moonboy wrote:
    big loada poop
    hmm.sounds like somebody is doing a favour for their friends who just happen to in a band called acidtone

I've absolutely no connections with the band at all! Saw them on TV about 3 months ago and thought they would end up doing good things - now they are on the new game NFL Street 2, which i was happy to hear - plus they are creating an album which is planned to be launched in the summer when the lads finish their junior cert.....

Just thought they were worth a mention - credit where credit is due like.

I knew i'd get a backlash from someone..... someone that can't respect when a good band deserve to be mentioned! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

Seen them live when they were playing up here in Fermanagh, and they really did put on a superb show, class band altogether, if a bit overly obsessed with Rage Against the Machine :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Saw them on some awful Norn Iron Live Indie Music show, and my god they rocked. For a bunch of little kids they have a lot of talent, and the singer does an uncanny Zak De La Rocha impression. Give them a few years and who knows how good they could be?

As it is they blew those poseurs The Chalets completely and utterly off the stage. And rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

I saw Acidtone at the Ambassador in Dublin last year when they supported Funeral For A Friend. Given their age I thought they delivered a polished performance. Certainly quite a lot better than bands composed of people twice their ageThe one thing that cracked me up was the way in which the singer delivered his lyrics in an American accent before lapsing into a Northern Irish one any time he was talking to the crowd. Still though, the fact that they've won competitions and supported bands such as FFAF shows they've got the talent. Hopefully they'll keep up the music when they discover girls and beer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,459 ✭✭✭Blisterman

They seem pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I've seen them two or three times at this stage at Blast gigs and I liked them. Bassist is incredible for his age. They do try to be RATM though. I'd love to hear them a few years down the line when they've discovered their own sound a bit more and have gotten the acclaim they deserve. They really are talented, and to be thrown around while the cover Killing In The Name is quite a spectacular experience. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭moonboy

tomED wrote:
    I've absolutely no connections with the band at all! Saw them on TV about 3 months ago and thought they would end up doing good things - now they are on the new game NFL Street 2, which i was happy to hear - plus they are creating an album which is planned to be launched in the summer when the lads finish their junior cert.....

Just thought they were worth a mention - credit where credit is due like.

I knew i'd get a backlash from someone..... someone that can't respect when a good band deserve to be mentioned! :)
    maybe i was being a bit harsh about RATM juniors.
    great bassist. good drummer.
    vocalist needs to realize he's not de la rocha. or MR.TuFF.
    but is this kind of exposure at such an age not a bad thing??
    fair f'n play with the game soundtrack though.
    i can smell their pockets getting bigger.
    hopefully not their heads.
    theyre not bad.
    but i wouldnt say theyre good.:)

moonboy wrote:
    but i wouldnt say theyre good.:)

On what basis? That you don't like the music they play?

I never said I was a fan of their music - but they are a very talented bunch of KIDS! :) Which i think means they are GOOD! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Alexisonfire

They symbolise everything thats wrong with music today. Damn ripoff merchants and who cares if they're kids? Music should be judged on merit alone and not the people who make it. And there is no merit in just ripping off RATM.

What??????
    If you listen close enough they have a lot more influences than just RATM.
    Yes its very like RATM, but eveyone has their influences and somewhere along the line everyone sounds a little like someone else.

Acidtone will "hopefully" mature and create their own individual sound - IF they don't meet people like you along the way. People that aren't willing to nurture talent and help them grow into greater better things.

When you say "They symbolise everything thats wrong with music today", it makes me laugh.

It's not the bands that decide the state of the music today, it's the record companies. You see they have people like you in places that matter, choosing records that they believe in their own little minds is what is "great music". And as long as little minded people like those, refuse to spot young talent and help them mature are we going to continue to have terrible music being played on our radios.

Look at them in another light.
    IF they were as talented in football - they would be playing their football in england at this stage - being nurtured into professional footballers.

It's a pity that the music industry isn't the same anymore - record companies don't do those type of record deals anymore...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭Gothic Warrior

I'm cynical and critical of everyone and everything, but these are a very talented bunch of kids - especially considering their age. If they keep it up, they will be amazing by the time they're 19 or 20.

They really need to ditch the RATM rip-off buzz though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭superconor

I seen them on across the line and didnt think they were like rage against the machine, more like a metalcore band. They reminded me of the song 'The Power Of One And I' by Shadows Fall. Talented musicians, but i think a singer a few years older than the current one might be better.

Still, fair play to them for what they have acheived and i hope they keep it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Have to laugh at how personally tomED seems to be taking some of the criticism :) Age means nothing, judge the music for what it is. Wouldn't matter if they're 16 or 60. Music is not football, people don't listen to something, and keeping listening to it because "in a few years the band will be really good", whereas yes, in football they would be nurtured - the whole point in reserves football, it develops them, but next to nobody watches/follows it except for the particular teams fans, and many of them don't even bother! Keep practicing and make a push in a few years when the band is of a higher standard.

Just my two cents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Drevin Fairy

I saw them at the Ambassador too supporting FFAF and I thought they were older than 14 or 15. It was only til I read somewhere that they were 14 that I realised. Cool people, ok music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭quank

I saw' em once at the Voodoo Lounge. They were pretty good. Very similar to RATM I thought.
    plus they are creating an album which is planned to be launched in the summer when the lads finish their junior cert.....

Junior cert? Don't they live in Northern Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

These guys are good, very good... Credit where credit is due. Some of the music is slightly 'overinfluenced' dare I say, but hey, takes all kinds.
    The songs are well written and there are some great arrangements. I wish I had been that good when I was 15! :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭j0e

talent but only an okish band nothing more there songs do absoultly nothing but make me laugh at the state of the singer thinking hes some hardman "I wanna be respected" says it all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 VanityScore

I can't stand the music. Like I hate RATM and the sort, but I can definitley tell they are a good band. The singer has the best scream ever. Makes me wish he was in a post-hardcore band.

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭Faddymackshyte

I was there supporting my friends when they one lat years Wella Shockwaves final. I didn't like them mainly because they beat my friends----pathetic!!
    But I've seen them a good few times and I think that they are amazing for their age. I hate that type of music, but that doesn't mean they are crap. It's good to see a band like that getting somewhere these days.
    They played at a gig I organised and they were great, both on and off the stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭AndRoiD

suck0rs, a **** mans RATM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭funky_buddah

Good band, with an excellent rhythm section. I really have to say that the singers vocals grate me a little bit (too high/scratchy in places) but he's an excellent frontman. I dont really understand the amount of criticism alot of people have for them, they please the crowds they play for and they give it their all, they deserve credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Steoob

theyre pretty ****in cool but my god have you heard warhead?....he needs to get a new vocal style me thinks coz he's bein a total copy cat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

I have to step back in here and defend these guys. Have played a couple of gigs with them in the past 12 months, and can honestly say I have been blown away every time.

The earlier stuff was heavily influenced by a couple of bands, but id like to see any young band who are completely original.
    They never fail to put on a blistering show, and are well respected by a seriously loyal group of fans. Every member is distinguished in there own instrument.
    The newer material is alot different, and alot heavier. I think you can expect big things from them further down the line.

And most importantly, they are a sound bunch of lads, not a bit phased by both the hating and adoring fans!If you get a chance, go along and see them because you wont be disappointed ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Steoob wrote:
    theyre pretty ****in cool but my god have you heard warhead?....he needs to get a new vocal style me thinks coz he's bein a total copy cat
    Says mr tom arya himself????to be honest i think therre class, when i was there age what was i doing???? The angels tears demo me thinks eh sven?

Yea there a bit like ratm but there like a mixture between them and coal chamber guitars. Very good, right up my alley, i can hear a bit of machine head in em aswell.Id love to see em live but id say its gonna be a good while before they head down twords kerry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Waltons

Heard them once before and they definitely deliver a good show - very entertaining. Have to agree with people about the RATM thing though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Fairy Dust

actually seen them play not bad but nothing special!
    Always mentioned on alt tv.
    Though havn't heard from them this year!
    Don't think they'll be around for long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Léan

I've seen them live one or twice.
    They're ok I guess. Not really my thing. Nice bass though.
    I kind of don't know what to make of them, maybe if they developed their own style more or something too much like RATM at the moment methinks...