Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rep points

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 10,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭ecksor

Yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

BuffyBot wrote:
    Wasn't half of the problem with the rep system the nature of the comments *some* people left?
    Not really, once they were banned.

Well what about just a :) or a :( button? No comments, just a quick, I approve of your post, Or I disapprove of your post button.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

rkm wrote:
    I really liked the little notes in the user cp.
    Im not arsed going thru pm to tell you ur post
    was fantastic/boombastic tbh.

Bring that feature back without rep plz.
    agreed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭kirn

rep is a bad idea.
    bad bad idea.

people get annoyed with each other for no reason.
    keep it gone.
    it was tried, it didn't work.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

in its original form it didn't work - it did have its good points and encouraged making good posts. Now simply skip on the apples and I think you still have a good system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

kirn wrote:
    rep is a bad idea.
    bad bad idea.

I've said it before and I'll say it again, I've seen forums where it works fine, aside from the odd newbie complaint. The real problem with the rep system is that the boardsie populus just wasn't mature enough to handle it responsibly (don't go giving me this "Irish having the craic" bit, theres having the craic, and being an immature pillock out to ruin it on everyone).

• Registered Users Posts: 11,980 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Rep doesn't really work for the type of community it is. If there was say, a hardware board and people were giving out advice it might be useful, but just being funny or popular doesn't really matter in the grand scheme of boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

the part that angers me the most is that I cant give the OP neg rep for starting a rep thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Let it go Billy. :p
    Resist the urge to clcik the weighing scales.
    Oh wait theres no weighing scales anymore. Phew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

It wouldn't be hard to implement the comments thing. Turn rep back on and just get rid of the little bit that displays the apples in the forum view

Ya could still go I approve/disapprove with a comment it just wouldn't display who was the biggest whore :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

but there is an option to post your comments about a post

reply.gif

there you go

• Registered Users Posts: 18,918 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

but there is an option to post your comments about a post

reply.gif

there you go

lol ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Healio

Imposter wrote:
    There was rep whoring going on long before that thread in the Cukoo's Nest started.

You said we'd keep that quiet.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,709 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

see now i feel the need to tell Healio its spelt quiet* but if i do that it will make a balls of the thread, by starting an endless string of crap ie ''i dont care how its spelt''/''learn to type''/stop being so anal'' etc etc

So if there was a little comment button or something.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

ColHol wrote:
    see now i feel the need to tell Healio its spelt quiet* but if i do that it will make a balls of the thread, by starting an endless string of crap ie ''i dont care how its spelt''/''learn to type''/stop being so anal'' etc etc

So if there was a little comment button or something.......
    I can see this working if there's a disclaimer and explanation for newbies, there's a vote and (sample to be decided) and 51% of voters vote for this. Instictively, I know this won't work 'coz probably 50% of newbies just join and read sfa about rules etc. so mods know this will create work.

Just my €0.05 is all!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

maybe it should return as a subscriber feature. :eek:

i likes your thinking i does

• Registered Users Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

I can see this working if there's a disclaimer and explanation for newbies, there's a vote and (sample to be decided) and 51% of voters vote for this. Instictively, I know this won't work 'coz probably 50% of newbies just join and read sfa about rules etc. so mods know this will create work.

Just my €0.05 is all!

It wasn't the newbies that turned the rep system into a stupid popularity contest.

Several established posters also abused the anonymous comments and then when the posters were revealed there was tit-for-tat bad rep swapping going on.

As for making little comments on posts, if they can't be made publicly then they probably shouldn't be made at all.

well i was thinking that only subscribers could comment on posts ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

mmm i liked rep,i didnt see the downside...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭weemcd

yeah that will happen, soon as you and shrimp stop posting crap.

the part that angers me the most is that I cant give the OP neg rep for starting a rep thread.

agreed

• Registered Users Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Baaa!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

jesus weemcd i wonder how much crap i could pull up on you...