Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why is dcu so dull?

• 24-02-2005 12:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭

any suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

What a useful comment........

Maybe cos you never get off yer arse to go find something to do....

There's usually something on but it's never advertised..

Either that or get some friends :)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

northside?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

'Cos I'm not there to sex it up!

>_<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

It's only as dull as the students who attend it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Danger_Dave

If u bother joinin a few clubs and socs, it aint boring, and now hopefully since that shamble of a ents officer was waved bye bye, more Events stuff even for the lazy ppl can be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

why is dcu so dull

because you make it dull

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

There is no END to the excitement I have; one crazy situation after another!#

I could be riding on the back of a giant mongoose attached to a freefalling 747 underwater on the planet mars tomorrow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Zem

DCU is boring/dull when:

You have no friends.
    You don't go out.
    You have no money.
    You don't know how to play pool.
    and
    You miss the day where we all got naked and played roll the midget, ahhh good times.

anyway to make a long story short interesting only if you make it interesting its like the rest of life stuff, if you want interesting stuff it aint gona happen if you sit on you a$$

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Im a postgrad here in DCU (was previously in DIT & Dundee Uni)

...and i have to say the atmosphere a LOT of the time.....is kind of flat. I don't know what it is, i can't put my finger it.

And before you ask, yes, i am in some clubs/socs (Postgrad Soc., Redbrick, football).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

There's no atmosphere in DCU, that's the problem. I don't think there's no real comradeship in the place, everyone seems to be out for him or herself. I’m not sure why it is exactly, but I’ve been here three years and still don’t feel comfortable in the place, I don’t feel like I belong here. I play sport am in societies and am involved on committees etc.

DCU is notorious for the lack of atmosphere/spirit. Perhaps because it just feels like a degree factory and the pressure is so immense that people rarely have time to do anything other than study and maybe play their sports etc. there’s very little opportunity to socialise outside of that.

Granted the degree holders from DCU are some of the most sought after/respected in the country, but DCU really doesn’t give you the all round education that most people expect from third level.

The ents. have been below par when compared to other colleges The SU isn’t as easily accessible to everyone as it should be. Students aren’t encouraged to get involved in student affairs/student politics. Perhaps this is just in certain faculties, but I know in Sports Science we are very much cut off from such things. It seems like Student’s Union is the domain of other faculties.

There is no atmosphere in the Old bar, it's not somewhere I would choose to spend an evening drinking.

It's very difficult to create a buzz or atmosphere in DCU, many people just aren't bothered getting stuck in and getting their hands dirty to create a bit of a spirit in the place.

It's a pity really ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Amz wrote:
    There is no atmosphere in the Old bar, it's not somewhere I would choose to spend an evening drinking.
    Actually myself and some classmates were discussing this today, and someone made a very good point; the old bar is too big for the type of bar it is. It's spacious nature, even in terms of ceiling height etc, don't work well with it's old style cosy bar decor.
    That said, I'm not really sure what to expect in terms of a college atmosphere. Are other colleges really much better in that respect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Yeah ucd is the same, not a friendly atmosphere- in some buildings quite a snobby one, drab architecture and from a science students point of view , fcuk all time to enjoy any event/pub etc that might have some atmosphere/liveliness etc.. :(

Yeah, with science courses the hours are so long, plus all the extra labs to do and reports etc. It's not really the best subject area to be in if all you want is to work on your social life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

Having spent 6 years in DIT Kevin St and now doing a postgrad in DCU there's a big difference in atmosphere between the two - most noticeable with small things, for instance:
    • Everyone in Kevin St will go out of their way to hold a door open for you - in DCU 9 times out of 10 you'll have a door springing back in your face.
    • There's a lot of open space in DCU, whereas in Kevin St it's small so everyone's packed into the same small space - everyone's spread out in DCU.

Other things like no food being served in the canteen around 6pm (can't even get tea after 4pm) and the shop closing at 6pm add to the deadness of the campus in the evening.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

But how does this compare to other colleges?
    Surely they don't all have full canteen facilities after 6pm etc?

DCU will be whatever you make of it, I had a great time there. If you go around thinking it's dull, then all you're going to see is dullness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Lord Panic

The place is far from dull, in three years I have yet to be bored, its the same with anywhere, its what ya make of it.

TBH, all my entertainment comes from Clubs and Societies, ents is crap and most people in the college do seem to be out for themselves, but its not difficult to find stuff to do through a club or society. All the people I hang around with are through clubs, and its always entertaining!

Try it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭p.pete

Old bar in DCU used to be excellent as far as I recall from the start of my drunken days there. Religiously I used to be there on a Thursday night and so were lots of others that I knew and it was usually good. That was the year the bar closed down in the second semester and I'm not quite sure the place has ever really recovered.

In my course most people lived all over Dublin and most never really seemed prepared to have a social life within DCU. They largely had their own social circle away from the college and basicly just used the campus as the degree factory that it is.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Regards to getting people together to actually do something. If the SU and all of the Clubs and Socs got together to arrange one big party/thing once a month say, and they used the whole oldbar/newbar/venue, and it was a massive monthly event, I think it would give DCU as a whole, not jus the students, something to be looking forward to. The reason I say the SU and all the clubs and socs is cuz that's most likely to get the biggest reaction, or amount of people going. If jus ONE club advertises then only 10-50 people go, if all clubs and socs, I dunno how many there are, but say 50 times *some average numbre* of people turn up. Your garunteed a turn out.

For example, with the Clubs and Socs ball, everyone was talking about it. It was a buzz round DCU. something like that, on a lesser scale.

And give the Venue a bit of a goin over. It's a bit... um, sterile I guess. And we don't HAVe to have a band on in there.

If something like that was to happen, there wouldbe a lot of management involved I am sure, with regards to making sure not everyone ends up in one bar, and the selling of tickets or if there even was tickets.

But something has to be done to give the place some spirit. Too higher the group feeling, the morale. People in DCU need to get involved, but they need to be given the right place to do it.

Lord Panic wrote:
    The place is far from dull, in three years I have yet to be bored, its the same with anywhere, its what ya make of it.
    What course are you doing?

I have 25 hours a week on my timetable, however I also have labs to do on top of that as well as lab reports and athlete testing etc. I have rugby training twice a week and swimming at least once. I commute from Leixlip which is an hour and a half travel minimum. It's very difficult for me to have time for a social life, especially one in DCU.

I would love to get involved more, but there's only so much I can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

spockety wrote:
    But how does this compare to other colleges?
    Surely they don't all have full canteen facilities after 6pm etc?
    Maybe it's my stomach talking because in Kevin St you don't have to go far to get food when the canteen shuts...

But it's the door thing that I noticed most...

OFDM wrote:
    But it's the door thing that I noticed most...
    I'll always hold doors for people ... Maybe because I've manners.

*shrug*

• Registered Users Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Flex

I just started DCU this year and I have to say its not what I expected.In general, noone is interested in getting to know each other, everyones in groups of 4 to 7 people (usually people they already knew) and the lack of events makes it hard to meet new people.The concensus amongst other people in the class Ive spoken to is pretty much the same (ironically they still dont seem all that eager on changing it by meeting new people) and a number of people have already decided to reapply to the CAO because they think the place is so dull.I totally agree with the comment made earlier about lack of comradeship.Maybe this whole thing will change in time, I hate to be negative but if these first 5 or 6 months are any indication then it doesnt look likely.

PS:Im in 2socs and 2clubs

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭lad12

I just started DCU this year and I have to say its not what I expected.In general, noone is interested in getting to know each other, everyones in groups of 4 to 7 people (usually people they already knew) and the lack of events makes it hard to meet new people.The concensus amongst other people in the class Ive spoken to is pretty much the same (ironically they still dont seem all that eager on changing it by meeting new people) and a number of people have already decided to reapply to the CAO because they think the place is so dull.I totally agree with the comment made earlier about lack of comradeship.Maybe this whole thing will change in time, I hate to be negative but if these first 5 or 6 months are any indication then it doesnt look likely.

I totally agree with you. Everyone hangs around in their own little groups with people that they know from their secondary School..The nites out in town are Non existent.I dont even bother going to them any more because there is always such a bad turn out. It could and Should be alot different.Other college's in Dublin seem to have nites out in town most wks and always get a good crowd from their college.Why is it that so few people from DCU college go to the piss-up's? :rolleyes:

Other college's in Dublin seem to have nites out in town most wks and always get a good crowd from their college.Why is it that so few people from DCU college go to the piss-up's? :rolleyes:

Im afraid Im guilty of hangin with old secondary school mates aswel :o , although myself and my mates have made attempts to get to know other people in the class, but it seems to be hopeless 9 times out of 10.Yeah.In semester1 we had 2 nights out and the second one was total crap.Even on the night out people seemed to stay with there own group and even if ya were chattin with other people, the following day it was just back to the normal "segregated" crap. :( I amnt expectin nights out every day or anything, maybe 2 or 3 times a month, because its the only social setting ourselves in the class get to meet and twice a semester is pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭thefuturehead

"You have no friends."
    I have friends.

"You don't go out."
    I do go out.

"You have no money."
    I'm a relative uncle moneybags.

"You don't know how to play pool."
    I know how to play pool.

i'm friends with most of my class, and more people outside of that. i'm heavily involved in one soc and meet people from other socs pretty regularly. but any time i'm in the bar, it's deader than a dodo. a bit of atmosphere is all i'm asking for. i've gone to ents, and yeah it's been good, but what about a bit of craic in the pub. it's not much to ask of a college.

and yeah, i think it is a useful comment, because it's something everyone i know talks about. we're all aware that dcu has a pretty flat atmosphere. i have to agree that everything shutting down around 3pm doesn't help.

Even on the night out people seemed to stay with there own group and even if ya were chattin with other people, the following day it was just back to the normal "segregated" crap. I amnt expectin nights out every day or anything, maybe 2 or 3 times a month, because its the only social setting ourselves in the class get to meet and twice a semester is pathetic.

Yeah but that's if ya get a crowd out from DCU...i jus like ta know where does everyone go for a nite out in town and whats their preferred nite to go out?

lad12 wrote:
    Yeah but that's if ya get a crowd out from DCU...i jus like ta know where does everyone go for a nite out in town and whats their preferred nite to go out?

What do ya mean?Like, just goin out with classmates in non class organized events or something

yeah..like im in town most wed or thurs nites and over the last 3 yrs I've only met a handle full of yis...meet people from every other college in Dublin apart from my DCU...like wat is going on..

Well, I dont really go out clubbin that much anyway, but I wouldnt have any preferences of clubs or nights.I dont know anyone in my class who does that to much either, but like i was sayin id prefer nights with the class so we can basically just socialize.Theres about 180 in the class, so its pretty stupid that its like this.Actually, the problem might be that in my class lads usually still make arrangements to head out with old mates from secondary school who arnt in DCU.Ive been out a few times myself over the last few monthes and, like ya said, I have not yet bumped into another DCU student.What the hells goin on???????

Theres about 180 in the class, so its pretty stupid that its like this.Actually, the problem might be that in my class lads usually still make arrangements to head out with old mates from secondary school who arnt in DCU.Ive been out a few times myself over the last few monthes and, like ya said, I have not yet bumped into another DCU student.What the hells goin on???????

What course are you doing in DCU..

Business Studies.How about yourself?

C.A. and i have to say that the computer crew aint exactly interested in going out much at all..even during rag week...very few would head out for any of the ents..i dunno why...i thought the likes of Business Studies would be different story though..

QUOTE]even during rag week...very few would head out for any of the ents..i dunno why[/QUOTE]

The lads I know refused to go out to any rag week event because they said it was goin to be crap (whether that was based on the general experience of DCU so far or what?), nobody from the class went out anyway, so I dont know if it was any good
    i thought the likes of Business Studies would be different story though

Yeah same here.I just thought college would be more nights out and gettin to meet new people.Are there many in CA?

The lads I know refused to go out to any rag week event because they said it was goin to be crap (whether that was based on the general experience of DCU so far or what?),

Its only good if ur with a crowd..no there isnt many at all..there is dem redbrick nites out...never been to one after the storys i heard..i was told ya should bring your labtop and your code to make it a good nite out :D
    No thanks!!

lad12 wrote:
    there is dem redbrick nites out...never been to one after the storys i heard..i was told ya should bring your labtop and your code to make it a good nite out :D
    No thanks!!

What are ya supposed to do , drink coffee and play dungeons and dragons on the dance floor?!?The place really needs something to give it a lift or to encourage the students to go out more.Have ya got any class reps?Ya could mention it to them.

Oh yeah did ya hear about the new gym?Apparently ya have to pay a flat E190 fee for the year rather than the pay-as-you-use method.No more doing weights between all my lectures anymore!!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Hey, if you wanna chat with a load of DCU students online you can by clicking this link. When the security popup asppears just click "yes".

http://www.boards.ie/chat/index.php?room=dcu

See yiz there.

Class Reps..They are a joke...What are urs like...like i dont mind the way things are really cos i still go out ta town wit me other friends or the few mates from my class but its just a bit disappointing..Yeah it is steep...but it includes the use of everything...and if ya can find a place cheaper in dublin with the same facilites let me kno(with a year membership).. :)

dregin wrote:
    Hey, if you wanna chat with a load of DCU students online you can by clicking this link. When the security popup asppears just click "yes".

http://www.boards.ie/chat/index.php?room=dcu

See yiz there.

Clicked on it, but no security popup.What icon should ya click on after goin into it?

lad12 wrote:
    Class Reps..They are a joke...What are urs like...like i dont mind the way things are really cos i still go out ta town wit me other friends or the few mates from my class but its just a bit disappointing..Yeah it is steep...but it includes the use of everything...and if ya can find a place cheaper in dublin with the same facilites let me kno(with a year membership).. :)

Our class reps are sound.They said theyd aim for 4 nights out this year, so hopin.Yeah, I know the gyms still cheap compared to elsewhere but just havin E190 on me at any moment is a little hard, it was handier when it was just E2 a go.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Flex wrote:
    Clicked on it, but no security popup.What icon should ya click on after goin into it?
    It should bring you straight into the channel. It might take about half a minute to connect to the server. Just click the link and leave it til you've joined a channel called #DCU

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 cravian

I attended 3 Universities ( in the UK ) and have worked in 2 since (in Ireland including DCU) then and without a doubt DCU scores lowest on both social life and general community spirit.

I put this down to a number of things:

1. student apathy
    How did they let the only (excuse for) bars on campus be privately run? They should be run by the students for the students.
    Same goes for halls.
    Same goes for the sports centre.
    The 'student's union' building is a ghost town most of the time.
    The food is a disgrace.
    Why don't you do something?

Most of the discussion on this boards tends to be from new students wondering what the hell happened when they got to DCU and they expected some kind of student life and the other small 'clique' who keep talking the place up.

2. Profiteering by the university hierarchy
    Just the same as in the real world company situation. Looking after the students generates neither revenue nor success.

I guarantee in a year's time this discussion will come up again.

Granted DCU can give you a good education, but I'd look to another university for a 'student life'.

Oh, and get rid of the damn AIB and let's have some competition.

It took my all my strength to type this, having had the apathy field work on me for the past year or so...

What can we do though?

There are little or no oppertunities to do anything about it.

I'd have no problem trying to get involved in the SU, but I don't have the same kind of profile in the college as most people who go for these things do. I really don't think anyone would vote for me!

There's very little chance to communicate with students outside of your own faculty via e-mail etc. as all the schools are so seperate and the SU are very reluctant to send mails to all students for anything other than commercial organisations and the careers service etc.

It's a joke!

Apathy is the biggest problem. My class rep is crap, he sends the occasional e-mail informing us of things that we've already gotten 20 mails about from the SU et al. He doesn't organise nights out, he's not approachable and I really think someone else could do a better job.

Apathy is the biggest problem. My class rep is crap, he sends the occasional e-mail informing us of things that we've already gotten 20 mails about from the SU et al. He doesn't organise nights out, he's not approachable and I really think someone else could do a better job

At least he sends emails....ours does sweet f*ck-alll...its a joke...

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

The only people who get into the SU are the people who don't bloody deserve to be there, bunch of twats.
    I'm on the cmt of a new soc and I have to tell you, we're working against the flow at every god damn turn. Student "services" and the SPC are the least helpful people in the college.
    Every time we try to get somewhere with event organisation we get stonewalled with waffle; "the cleaners are cleaning at that time" etc, which even after checking with the cleaners is complete BS.

We're trying to organise an event this summer which not only involves several societies in DCU, but societies from all over the country and still, we're fighting every step.

You'd think societies could use the buildings for a couple of days during the holidays without having to pay through the nose!

The whole college seems to be geared towards money generation at the expense of the student body and as such the entire atmosphere.

To sum it up, it's like wearing lead boots when you try to do anything.

</end rant>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

My class is quite lucky with respect to class reps. First of all we've got two, both of whom are very approachable, and one of them could complain for Ireland. With him as class rep we shall suffer not injustice.

My original class reps were great, then when I repeated I had to put up with a new rep. I don't think people realise that you can change class rep. If you've problems with them you can change.

I'd love to do class rep. I'd love to have the chance to get stuck in more, but because of the apathy within my class people don't want to change.

CuLT you guys should seriously consider gietting someone from your soc or someone sympathetic to your cause onto the SPC. That way they can push from the inside.

Granted DCU can give you a good education, but I'd look to another university for a 'student life'.

Yeah exactly.Your college years are supposed to be great and memorable experiences.Well, DCU will be memorable for its failure to live up to expectations I suppose.Dont get me wrong, I consider myself a "DCU man" and dont enjoy bad mouthing my own , OUR, university, but its just such a crock.The fact theres no spirit in the place contributes to this.When I was in secondary school, anytime the senior team was playing a cup match or other sporting event, everyone in the school would be brought out to cheer the lads on.At first it just seemed like a handy way of missing classes, but it quickly created a great spirit of comeraderie(spelling?) and fellowship among the whole school and made ya feel like ya were a part of something big and important.DCU doesnt provide any sense of "belonging" or fraternity to its students.And like the fella on the new soc committee seems to have implied, they seem to fight any attempts by students to do so(unless youve got lots of cash :mad: ).Ive mates in UCD and DIT and they seem to enjoy themselves very much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Lord Panic

Amz wrote:
    What course are you doing?

I have 25 hours a week on my timetable, however I also have labs to do on top of that as well as lab reports and athlete testing etc. I have rugby training twice a week and swimming at least once. I commute from Leixlip which is an hour and a half travel minimum. It's very difficult for me to have time for a social life, especially one in DCU.

I would love to get involved more, but there's only so much I can do.

Sorry for takin ages to reply, but i'v been letting DCU entertain me! Im a third year CA, so at the minute no hours at all, just project! Woo!

And the entertainment all comes from the frisbee club!

That's my point, many courses in DCU haven't as many hours as science and nursing and some others. We have very little time to do anything outside of our training and study etc.

With semesterisation you've to cram a helluva lot of stuff into just 12 weeks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

Flex wrote:

PS:Im in 2socs and 2clubs
    lad12 wrote:
    I totally agree with you. Everyone hangs around in their own little groups with people that they know from their secondary School..The nites out in town are Non existent.I dont even bother going to them any more because there is always such a bad turn out. It could and Should be alot different.Other college's in Dublin seem to have nites out in town most wks and always get a good crowd from their college.Why is it that so few people from DCU college go to the piss-up's? :rolleyes:

Guys its totally the same out in UCD. I'm in first year out there and the place is just full of f**king cliques. Out in UCD we have different categories of people: D4/southsiders, culchies and ethnic minorities (North Dublin). The D4/southsiders all stick with their school buddies and the culchies all stick with their fellow culchies aswell so that means us Northside minorities are all frozen out. The place is full of muppets who are quite happy to spend their 3/4 years hanging around with their school buddies. Some people won't even talk to others because they are not from their territory (D4). Its totally f**ked up. These are meant to be the best years of our lives and everyone is so happy to spend all of their time with the same people, that just sounds boring to me. Its got to stage I'm just not bothered with the muppets out in Belfield and I have also filled out a CAO form partially because UCD is so sh*t.

I really can't belive that same atmosphere exists out in DCU. I know a few people out in DCU and they have said to me that the whatever D4/southsiders are out in the place all stick together aswell .... jesus christ what is wrong with people! This whole stick with who you know mentality must exist in all f**king universities. It really shows how dull people are in general today.