Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Cup (poker that is)

• 28-02-2005 5:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭

Anyone playing in the qualifiers for the Irish team? On Stars tonight and next week, heads up tournament, only 50FPP.
    Brendan.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

BrendanB wrote:
    Anyone playing in the qualifiers for the Irish team? On Stars tonight and next week, heads up tournament, only 50FPP.
    Brendan.

Are exPats allowed play Brendan :D Hope England is treating you well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭BrendanB

Funny boy Neil. I actually had to change my mailing address back.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Have you played in many casinos over there ? If so, how do they rate to the tournaments here ?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 8,927 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Re. topic - gonna give it a go this evening. I see shortstack is in too.

• Registered Users Posts: 377 ✭✭biteme

i'm registered for it but dunno if i wanna play this or the 100 game in the fitz tonight

• Registered Users Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I was going to play too (not that I had a chance) but there's a residency requirement in the rules as well as the mailing address having to be from the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Just blew a 10:1 chip lead in the qtr finals. Doh ! 2 big calls by my oppo made me look a donkey ! eeyore !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

shíte, really wanted to do it. is it on same time/day next week?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

It's on on wednesday or thursday this week.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 8,927 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Made the mistake of not considering how long this might take. First game with geebag was a gruelling affair with me going down low only to come back and win eventually.
    By the time game 2 began I was looking at the clock yearning for bed. Even so I was going well until a couple of big hands and then finally went out with my K9 hitting trips only to lose to his K10. Nice sickener to send me finally to bed.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I'd say "Bingo!" only hyzepher would be right to ban me for trolling :)

I'll give this a shot next Thursday. Sounds fun anyway. How many were playing for the Irish slots?

DeV.

41 entries last night. We could easily flood it with board members on Thursday. I think only 3 of the online game players turned out. If we all turned out then it would be a good chance one of us would make it through. It is a long night though, I finished my 4th heads up at 11.30 and if I had have won I expet I would have been up until at least 2am.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Yeah I heard it took a while alright. I sent my flatmate in on my account and he played some guy who was rock tight (blinds at 25-50 with a 3k stack sounded like a grind) and eventually got bored after 50 minutes or so of this "play" and dumped it. I'll play it myself on Thursday and hopefully get Dev and have it wrapped up in 20 seconds.

yeah lets take this baby over!

see you all on thurs!

Juan Pablo wrote:
    Yeah I heard it took a while alright. I sent my flatmate in on my account and he played some guy who was rock tight (blinds at 25-50 with a 3k stack sounded like a grind) and eventually got bored after 50 minutes or so of this "play" and dumped it. I'll play it myself on Thursday and hopefully get Dev and have it wrapped up in 20 seconds.

So thats why you didn't respond to my slagging.

anyone else playing this now? 34 players on 32 tables? :confused:

thought it was a heads up knockout!?

I'm in. They need to get it down to 32, so 30 got byes !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

That sound man Mark Strachan won tonight. I'm so pleased for him :rolleyes:

yeah and I played him :(

can't figure out if he put a move on my intentionally of not! had K4 and raised it up a bit. he calls and flop comes K 10 4......he goes all in straight away (for 5000 when pot was about 600) and i call in a flash. He shows K10......suppose he was betting into the raiser, fair enough.

anyways, im down to 700 in chips and work my way back up to 3500 and hit a dry spell.

i watched some of his semi final game and he had the guy outchipped by 10 to 1 at one point but then threw it away.....didn't think he'd hold on.

i asked him if he was on boards at one stage and he said no. i'm sure he was pimping ukpoker on here!?

who is this guy anyway?

karlhoff wrote:

who is this guy anyway?

I think he ran the poker school in the Fitz. His website is not up to much and he has the cheek to charge for access !

Well played BTW, you gave me a right roasting !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Kinda heavyset bald english guy with glasses? Think I know him, he had some sort of book out or something. Can English people represent Ireland?

Couldn't make it till ten last night so sent my flatmate in to play the early rounds with the plan being to take over upon my return. Although he promptly got himself knocked out after a bye. Dragon was saying to me last night on VC that *I* was giving dogs abuse to a table that was slow, so I'd like to apologise for any comments that Gav may have made that were offensive, since I allowed him use my logon, I have to accept full responsibility for his actions. If any of you know him you'd know he's a bit of a wind up merchant who like to take the p1ss but its all in good banter and gets as good as he gives (you can read about his ongoing battle with Tom here )! So once again, apologies.

(The Real) Y2JP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

karlhoff wrote:
    i'm sure he was pimping ukpoker on here!?

Jaysus, hope you don't think this was me! I mentioned him and his website when Dev was looking for info on the past winners of the Irish Open.

not at all, well before that. bout 6-8mnths ago i thought

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

OK, grand smile.gif

Juan Pablo wrote:
    Can English people represent Ireland?

I assume the entrants are allowed based on their credit card address? If Mark is based here then he can't, for example, play for england.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Don't hold back there bohsman!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Can we keep on topic please, this isnt a discussion of Mr Strahan and his relative talents. Thanks...

DeV.