Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mock Results

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭andrew163

English (H) - 61%
    Irish (H) - 41% [nyagh]
    Maths (H) - 54% :)
    Geography (H) - 55%
    Economics (H) - 68%

havent gotten back German or Physics yet though

nothing compared to Caoimhe up there but im proud of it :D

well done btw :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

well heres me..

english(H)..C3
    irish(H)...C2
    maths(0)..C3
    german(H)..B2
    business(H)..B3
    home ec(H)..C2
    biology(H)...C1

giving me a grand total of...415points

tbh im thrilled, tho i want to get around 480points but i doubt very much il get it coz i do feck all study and some homework! :(

need to get my act together tho!...is it to late even?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭Caoimhe

I'm actually going to go insane. Irish and Geography STILL aren't back yet. Irish because the corrector was sick (uh, send it to someone else!!) and Geog because they claim they can't find someone to correct it! I know people who did their Geog exam 3 weeks after me and have their results!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

I got more results back just cant edit my post above to amend them..

English - 56% (C3 - very happy. I find English a tough subject).

German Oral - 60% (Can do better but I hate German!)

- Sully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭randomfella

Geography B1
    German B1
    History B2
    Maths D3
    English B3
    Irish B3
    Business D1

All higher. 455 points prob need 2jump 50points to be sure.

A bit mixed but room for improvement on everything, Especially maths and business, had no study whatsoever done for either.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,837 ✭✭✭Alkers

Well that business grade should be very easy to pull up. I find it one of the most rewarding subjects study wise. As in a few hours work and you can really have a fair whack of the course off by heart. It's an easy B come June.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭the smiley one

k, I just have one more to go, so thusfar:

English: 79%
    Irish: 89.6% ( I won't get rounded up!!!)
    Maths: 94%
    German:93%
    Economics: 93%
    Geography: 93%
    Chemistry: 87%
    Biology:?!

I is :D (except its kinda ironic that the one thing I REALLY want to do well in-English-, ends up being my lowest mark............I don't get it either)

WOW, well done you! They are absolutely fantastic results. And ignore English, its ridiculously subjective. How on earth did you manage an A1 in geography?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

k, I just have one more to go, so thusfar:

English: 79%
    Irish: 89.6% ( I won't get rounded up!!!)
    Maths: 94%
    German:93%
    Economics: 93%
    Geography: 93%
    Chemistry: 87%
    Biology:?!

I is :D (except its kinda ironic that the one thing I REALLY want to do well in-English-, ends up being my lowest mark............I don't get it either)

Well done ;) Nice results!

- Sully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭randomfella

yea no wonder why ur username is the smiley one. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Rredwell

Hello all,

Everyone else seems to have their Mocks sent away for correction. Is this the norm? Our teachers correct ours, but I think they should switch them around between them. For example, we have 3 English teachers.

WYB, I am still doing my mocks. So far I have done Irish (Páiéar a hAon), History, and English.

Irish went OK - I had a reading comprehension on Ian Paisley. And I did a 450-word essay on "An t-aos óg agus cultúir an alcól".
    History was a crash and burn affair. I stuck religiously to 38 mins/question, and so did not finish any question. And I have not yet finished my Research Topic (shoot me now, why don't you), so I attempted a Section E on Michael Davitt... (Oh, and I had the paper a week in advance from a friend. Did I look at it? No.)
    English: We have a rubbish teacher who has not prepared us for Paper One at all yet. In all of fifth and sixth year we have not practiced a single essay or reading comprehension. So, as a mark of protest, I did not attempt the Section II of Paper One. I know that I have sacrificed 25% of my exam but it will force the inept old biddy to reevalute her teaching. And even though we only started Comparative Study a week before the Mocks, I did a good one.
    Still have Maths, Bio., Geog. and French to go. Wish me luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭the smiley one

hey y'all
    Caoimhe wrote:
    WOW, well done you! They are absolutely fantastic results. And ignore English, its ridiculously subjective. How on earth did you manage an A1 in geography?

thanks and well done on yours too!! Argh, but I can't ignore English cuz I love it so (really!). And the A1 in geo wasn't that hard cuz I did the fieldwork(can learn off), physical (know it really well by now!), os map (grand) and the regional was divide a country into regions, which was fairly straight forward. Having said all that Geo can be a bit hit and miss (and REALLY fookin long!)

thanks for all your kind comments Sully and randomfella - hope everyone else is pleased with the results! And if not still have another 3 months to improve (loads of time!)

the A1 in geo wasn't that hard cuz I did the fieldwork(can learn off)

My fieldwork is over 10 pages long, I couldn't get it written in the exam if I had an extra hour, never mind trying to learn it off. My teacher kept making me add stuff in to make it "perfect" and I've just given up on it and do the photograph now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Vainglory

Oooo arrr, this is bringing back all the memories.

I'm in second year in college now and just having a look around to see if I can pick up any hints for my hopelessly inept brother, who's about to be the first person in history to get minus points in the Leaving.

Seems I'm not so out of touch though, a lot of the stuff you guys are saying I remember thinking myself... :D

Well, I'm bored and I have nothing to do, soooo if any of ye have any questions about the following subjects I'll do my best to answer them...I lived the life of a hermit during sixth year and studied my arse off so the Leaving should probably be my specialist subject.

Did I mention I'm bored?

All at honours level..

English - A2
    French - A2
    Biology - A1
    Business - A1
    History - A1
    Irish - A1

At ordinary level...yeah I know, copout :D

Maths - A2

Total : 580

Please, pick my brains...might bore me enough to put me to sleep :D

Got Irish back today, it was marked SO HARD. The essay was really badly marked. Got 80% without including my oral mark (don't know what it is yet) so hopefully that'll end up as an A2 by the end...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Just got my first result finally:

English - 91% - A1.

Thank christ for that... I didn't even finish the poetry question properly but only lost 6 marks...

My main downfall was the essay - 80/100. Tedious, (s)he said - and I'd certainly agree with that.

Here's hoping the rest are this wonderfully surprising :P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭mickomack

Well done everyone!!!!
    Wow!Caoimhe and The smiley one they are some class results fair play to both of ye,I wish i could do that well!Here are my results

English-73% B3-Content i suppose because i'm not good at English
    Irish- 86% A2-V happy
    Maths- 65% C1-Disastrous result not happy at all
    Physics- 68% C1-Again not happy but only 4 people passed in the class
    Cons- 73% B3-Content i suppose but needs to be pushed up
    French- 78% B2-Happy
    Engineering 82% B1-Happy
    All higher
    475 overall fairly content i suppose but i need to improve some of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Dave Larkin

Wow! Kick ass results, people. Well done to all of you.

I'm in fifth year and this time next year I'll be doing my mocks. I started study back in September so I should be ready when the time comes. 5th year is the year to get the work done, in my opinion.

Or as they say in Irish:

"Tús maith, leath na h-oibre"

Wow! Kick ass results, people. Well done to all of you.

I'm in fifth year and this time next year I'll be doing my mocks. I started study back in September so I should be ready when the time comes. 5th year is the year to get the work done, in my opinion.

Or as they say in Irish:

Man ur so dedicated,if u know the work in 5th year you've a good foundation for next year,wish i studied in 5th year!!!!! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭*Angel*

mickomack wrote:
    wish i studied in 5th year!!!!! :(

Same! It's a pity that it's too late now. Some subjects can't be picked up in 6th year, like French, i've had a bad teacher for two years, no homework so I haven't bothered now I'm so so dead.....

*Angel* wrote:
    Same! It's a pity that it's too late now. Some subjects can't be picked up in 6th year, like French, i've had a bad teacher for two years, no homework so I haven't bothered now I'm so so dead.....[/QUOTE

Yeah you really have to work at languages from the very start or else your done for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Rredwell

OK, finally got them all back:

Gaeilge: A1
    English: C1
    Maths: D2
    French: B3
    Biology: B3
    Geography: B1
    History: C3
    [All Honours.]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Dave Larkin

Don't worry about it, guys. Obviously getting the work done in 5th year eases the pressure slightly, but the exams are the exams. Just make sure you start your revision. It's never too late to start, you know! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭shane0312

I'm in fifth year and I started study back in September

Or as they say in Irish:

More like "Tús maith leath na social life".

There's well no need to start in 5th year.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

irish C1
    english C1
    geog D3 [eeek]
    bio C1
    german C1
    home ec they lost it i mean wtf i paid 88 yoyos!!!!
    maths[ordinary] C1
    TOTAL[drumroll please..] 355 o and by the way i need 550 how screwed am I!!
    seriously need to study so i suppose the mocks were a good thing and made me realise this!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭Zhane

wow, well done everybody. some great results.

Did my mocks last week, i dunno how i did, i really have to do more study in Greography and English as i think these i did really awful in...Im going to get an earful when they comeback, from teachers and parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Waltons

Got all my results yesterday

English - 88%
    Maths - 56% (erk)
    Physics - 79%
    Irish - 60%
    Economics - 76%
    Geography - 71% (evil, evil marking on that paper)
    Music - 76% (let way down by the listening)
    French - 64%

A total of 470! I need 360 for my course or 530 for scholarship. Me wants scholarship points!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Waltons wrote:
    Got all my results yesterday

English - 88%
    Maths - 56% (erk)
    Physics - 79%
    Irish - 60%
    Economics - 76%
    Geography - 71% (evil, evil marking on that paper)
    Music - 76% (let way down by the listening)
    French - 64%

A total of 470! I need 360 for my course or 530 for scholarship. Me wants scholarship points!
    You'll definitely go up the 60 for the scholarship. Arts in UCD? Work on maths, learn your proofs and do exam questions until you're blue in the face. Physics too. Know your experiments, learn the diagrams and work from there. It's not the worst subject in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 JJ.Dunne

Irish - D3 :D:D:D
    Maths - A1
    French - A2
    Applied Maths- A2
    Business - A1 :confused::confused::confused:
    Chemistry - A1 :eek: :eek: :eek:
    Accounting - A1
    Economics - E :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:
    English - D2
    Ah well off now 2 get hammered with da lads, see ya :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭sephirosis

HIgher-
    Maths A2
    Physics B1 (should have been A2 evil marking scheme)
    Geography B1
    English B2
    French B2
    Art B2

Ordinary-
    Irish B1

im hoping to do science in ucd so im grand for points id say. anyone know anything about points id need for a scholarship?