Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

man utd versus AC milian

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

jank wrote:
    Now what truth is that now?? :confused:
    jank wrote:
    Milan to win the game and win the tie :D

Sorry but the truth hurts sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

BaZmO* wrote:
    I think the most important thing tomorrow night is that Utd. have to attack and that's something that they are exceptional at. And it means that Fergie won't instruct the team to sit back and invite the pressure. Only worry with Utd. going all out attack is getting hit on the counter attack of course, but hey that's football.

2-0 to Utd. :confused:

B.

Exactly and if United do that and are beaten then is teh time to say we are not good enought. If United play their best I,m confident we can go through. A United goal in the first 15 minutes and its game on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭sleepwalker

2-1 to milan

milan learned there lesson against deportivo last year so dont be expecting any relaxed attitude from them

im sure united will give them a good game though, im looking forward to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

utd can take on and beat anyone, if anyone thinks otherwise their fooling themselves.

milan have what they want, theyve something to hold onto and will counter-attack utd as plan A. utd must attack, they must put out a team that can score goals, imo that involves 2 strikers. it'll be van nistelrooy and rooney but i'd put smith in and leave rooney on the bench taking him on for the last half hour unless fergie plays rooney in the cantona role. just of van in which case that's our best option up front.

but if fergie fails to play rooney as an attacker with no midfield/defensive attachments it will be a waste imo and hence id put in smith and go 4-4-2. utd cant play 3-5-2 for obvious reasons at the back, 4-5-1 against the best defence in the world is not wise when your away from home and 1-0 down. whatever way you look at it 4-4-2 seems to be the best option.

howard, heinze, silvestre, rio, brown, giggs, ronaldo, keane, scholes, rooney, van nistelrooy will probably be the starting 11.

it's nights like these that make manutd manutd. we'll see what ronaldo and rooney are made of. big games required, biggest games of their manu careers imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,895 ✭✭✭SteM

jank wrote:
    Spoken like a true liverpool fan ;)

A true Liverpool fan who supports United? ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Oh well thats a predication that will come true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭thejollyrodger

I expect a cynical tight game from Milan. United will probably be trying hard to score and they will be caught on the break. Probably another goalkeeping howler to make matters worse for MAn Utd supporters:P

Milan to win by a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Just put 7 quid on 11/1 odds for Utd to win 2 - 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Squad travelling to Milan: Howard, P. Neville, O’Shea, Rooney, Ronaldo, Scholes, Bellion, Fortune, Ricardo, Silvestre, Miller, Giggs, Brown, Carroll, Heinze, Ferdinand, Keane, van Nistelrooy, Smith, Rossi, G. Neville.

is neville definitely out? he is in the squad still. who do ye think will start in goal? i always thought howard was a better keeper but i think its a mistake bringing him back so late in the season now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,654 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

come on united i know they will win

=

is neville definitely out? he is in the squad still. who do ye think will start in goal? i always thought howard was a better keeper but i think its a mistake bringing him back so late in the season now.

According to sky he is out don;t know why he is in the squad so, Maybe Fergie's doing a Murinho type Bluff;). I would expect to see Howard in goal it woule be unlike Fergie to chop and change his keeper like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭dceire

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    All United have to do is win... :)

And if it comes to penalties I think United will win that also. :)
    Thats a very good point you make, I wish to subscribe to your newsletter!

ya howards in goal i think carroll not even going to Milian thats what i heard

snoopdog wrote:
    ya howards in goal i think carroll not even going to Milian thats what i heard
    I rather have Howard anyway according to sundays papers carroll wont sign a new contract and will leave in the summer, good riddance to bad rubbish!

dceire wrote:
    Thats a very good point you make, I wish to subscribe to your newsletter!
    Well some people are seem to be of the opinion that a win or a draw for Milan is already a forgone conclusion. I'm just reminding them of how easily United can go through. Its not like the first leg was 3-0 to Milan or anything.

United have been in this situation before and they know how to beat teams in Italy. I think it will be 2-0 to United.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Well some people are seem to be of the opinion that a win or a draw for Milan is already a forgone conclusion. I'm just reminding them of how easily United can go through. Its not like the first leg was 3-0 to Milan or anything.

United have been in this situation before and they know how to beat teams in Italy. I think it will be 2-0 to United.
    well said i think it will end up 1 - 2 to United I just hope Ruud and Giggs are on top of their game on the night, they are both vital in united attack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

United 2 - 0? doubt it myself. Sure yous couldnt even get 1 past palace!

but seriously, RVN isnt back to full fitness yet, cant say i trust the rest of the to score 2, and i certainly wouldnt trust them to keep a clean sheet! i predict 2-1 to milan, or 2-0.

hhaha, i wonder can you get ods on howard making a mistake like last year?!

we need Ronney he was bought for the big games and you cant get bigger than tuedays game

come united ahh man i wished i was there supporting the team i love so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

:) Only have to get up at 5am to do it :D

PHB wrote:
    :) Only have to get up at 5am to do it :D
    you there in italy now

your going to the match right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

bazH wrote:
    Lets hope they get roasted. Id say 3-0 or 3-1 to Milan, the scum might nick a goal though.

BazH banned for a week.

For the next couple of weeks we are clamping down hard on all infringements, hopefully that will spank some sense into people and increase the signal:noise ratio. We cannot read every post, if you do see anything that you think is outside the rules of the forum click on the report this post link. Not all of these will be acted on but at the least we will respond.

Thanx

Nope, I'm flying out tomorrow morning :)
    Gotta get a taxi at 5:30, then check in at 6:30, plane at 8:30, milan at 12, then 7 hours to either get drunk or visit museums :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭sleepwalker

enjoy the game there PHB would love to be going to see de aul Arsenal

how did you manage to get tickets by the way ?

I booked them 2 months ago from www.celtichorizontours.com
    They'll do it for the next round again ocne its drawn, you should keep an eye out if you've got a lot of cash to splash :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I can't believe I am saying this but I hope united do well and beat AC.

/me gets wire brush and scrubs very very hard !!!

tbh I hope all the english teams go through, cept maybe liverpool, or chelsea, or arsenal :) Nah, more english teams through, the better it is for all of us in the long run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

yeah it could be a very bad week for english teams. if all four teams went out it would be very bad for the league. after ronaldinhos comments i would like to see chelsea go through. and of course utd go through!

i heard carroll wasnt travelling either but hes in the squad. so is ricardo,i think i saw that guy play once, is he rubbish?

PHB wrote:
    Nope, I'm flying out tomorrow morning :)
    Gotta get a taxi at 5:30, then check in at 6:30, plane at 8:30, milan at 12, then 7 hours to either get drunk or visit museums :)
    *gets very very jealous*

Fair play man, hope ya have a good one. I'd say it will be great craic and a great experience! If you happen to drop out at the last minute, give us a buzz... :p

No ****ing way :) Byebye, watch out for the nutter screaming on TV!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

I can appreciate that you guys are supporters and are obviously slightly biased, but you lot are far too confident considering the task at hand.. It is AC Milan in the San Siro. Ye are not the better team either. I do not understand where the optimism is actually coming from..

Being optimistic about your teams prospects is what being a soccer supporter is all about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

The Muppet wrote:
    Being optimistic about your teams prospects is what being a soccer supporter is all about?
    I usually try and show myself how big the task is at hand so I don't build myself up too much. :) Rarely predict an Ireland win away from home even if we have the much better players. Bigger party if you win and not so much of a downer if you draw. :)

eirebhoy wrote:
    I usually try and show myself how big the task is at hand so I don't build myself up too much. :) Rarely predict an Ireland win away from home even if we have the much better players. Bigger party if you win and not so much of a downer if you draw. :)
    Fúck that! United are going through with a 2-0 win tonight! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Rossonero

Just over 6 hrs until kickoff! Can't wait! C'mon Milan!
    Inzaghi is back from injury but is unlikely to start. Crespo-Tomasson up front.
    Stam will be back from injury.

Rossonero wrote:
    Just over 6 hrs until kickoff! Can't wait! C'mon Milan!
    Inzaghi is back from injury but is unlikely to start. Crespo-Tomasson up front.
    Stam will be back from injury.

Can't wait either I'm expecting a cracker of a game. Hopefully I won't be disappointed.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Well god only knows what will happen tonight, if they team that turned up against Arsenal play tonite then we will take Milan, 2-0, even though looking at Milan they have only conceeded .48 goals per game with United conceeding 1.28 per game so it will be hard to see what happens.

I am more of a fan of United BUT I suppose also been a Milan fan then I am in a sort of no lose sitution, but prefer United to go through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

It'll finish 1-1 tonight, a late Crespo goal to send Utd crashing out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I can't see any way for United to get through.
    They'd have to raise their game to the limit,
    with everyone performing.

That is all in these times of clamping down. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,981 ✭✭✭Big Ears

I predicted the score and scorer right last time so here goes this legs predictions from me: Milan 1-0 Man Utd -Kaka the scorer .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Memnoch

yop wrote:
    Well god only knows what will happen tonight, if they team that turned up against Arsenal play tonite then we will take Milan, 2-0, even though looking at Milan they have only conceeded .48 goals per game with United conceeding 1.28 per game so it will be hard to see what happens.

I am more of a fan of United BUT I suppose also been a Milan fan then I am in a sort of no lose sitution, but prefer United to go through

the problem is that arsenals defence is quite shaky this season, unlike Milans.

So from united's point of view its not JUST about the right team turning up. They also need to play with the right mindset and tactics. Off course a bit of luck will never go astray.
    While i'd prefer milan to go through i don't mind either way too much but hope its a good game to watch and that milan play attacking football instead of just sitting on their 1 goal lead and inviting united to try and break them down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭talla

As much as i hate to say it i'm going to have to go for Milan on this one. I always knew United would need to score in Milan but again i just don't think the centre of Uniteds defence is strong enough in European football, i.e. the keeper and both centre backs. Milan to go 1 nil up early due to another defensive error, united to equalise just before half time. United to attack Milan for the whole of the second half looking for the winning goal, but Milan to get 2 late goals on the counter attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

we could see a 1-0 utd which would take us to extra time, even peno's. i'd love to see utd win it on peno's with howard being the hero. if utd were to win it, thats how id want it to be. howard deserves to be 1st choice and hopefully he'll play a blinder, rio must take responsibility for set pieces and get everyone switched on, carroll is good at that but that's the only advantage he has over howard imo.

keano will be up for this, giggs and scholes if up for it should give us a victory but if those 2 dont show up thats game over. same with ronaldo. width will be key for utd as we must stretch that ageing milan defence to the max. lastly, no stupid stuff or off the ball antics which milan will try to encourage. utd must keep their heads at all times, the last thing we need is to go down to 10 men which in the san siro against milan could well happen if the likes of rooney get distracted.

one bad day will be forgiven ie at OT, 2 poor performances and then we'll be worried. massive game for utd, beat milan and europe is their for the taking, surely thats a big enough incentive for all utd players. com'on utd! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭David19

Milan should win this. I'll go for 2-1 to milan on the night. They'll simply outscore man utd due to a better defense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Loco

i'm going with a 1-2 scoreline, man u win on away goals after scoring their first goal in the second half and silencing the san siro!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

prediction: 0-0.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

eirebhoy wrote:
    prediction: 0-0.

Deadly it will be a 6-6 cracker so

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭d22ontour

All i want is a good performance,if we perform well the result will take care of itself,hopefully.

i believe man utd will win by 2 goals iv been waiting for this game for ages its hopefully going to be a cracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,871 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

I really hope you're right Snoop

C'mon United !

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Just seen the line up there...Fergie is amazingly playing what looks to be like a 4-2-4 :eek: hope to **** it pays ogg..may the forvce be with you United......... ;)