Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham '05

• 09-03-2005 12:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭

Approaching the day, I'd be interested to know what people's ante-post bets are like. For the record I'm on :

Daily Telegraph Trophy - Farmer Jack e5 @ 5/1
    Supreme Novices' Hurdle - Compton Bolter e2 @ 33/1
    Royal & SunAll Nov' Hdle - Bagan e3 @ 16/1
    Royal & SunAlliance Chase - Lord of Illusion e5 @ 8/1
    Champion Bumper - The Mick Weston e2 @ 12/1
    V O'Brien County H'cap Hdl - Beechcourt e3 @ 16/1

Queen Mother Champ Chase - SPECIAL= Moscow Flyer 1st, Azertyioup 2nd
    e5 @ 7/1

Cheltenham Gold Cup - Kingscliff @ 5/1
    DOUBLED WITH
    Smurfit Champion Hurdle - Hardy Eustace @ 10/3
    e50 NAP

• Registered Users Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Healio

Im on:
    Emotinal Moment - World Hurdle
    Beautiful Vision - Champion Bumper
    Kicking King - Gold Cup
    Central House e/w - Champion Chase
    Moscow Flyer - Champion chase

Ive layed:
    Ned Kelly - Arkle
    Macs joy - Champion Hurdle
    Rooster Booster - Champion hurdle
    Iriss gift - Gold Cup (not that it matters)
    Beef or Salmon - Gold cup

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭The jock

All bets made 2 months ago.

Champion Bumper

O'Muircheartaigh 50 e.w 33/1(My banker of cheltenham)

Supreme Novices' Hurdle

Justified 25 e.w 10/1

Irish Independent Arkle Chase

steel band 5 e.w 66/1

Smurfit Champion Hurdle

Accordion Etoile 10 e.w 16/1

Royal & SunAlli Novices' Hurdle

Racing Demon 10 e.w 25/1

Royal & SunAlliance Chase

L' Ami 25 e.w 14/1

Cheltenham Gold Cup

Strong Flow 50 e.w 16/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

So far (am matching 50euro, so can get my free 50 from betfair before the big day)

TUESDAY
    Arkle Chase: Made In Japan (PLACE 8.0) & War of Attrition (4.1)
    Supreme Nov Hrd: Justified (5.8)
    Champ. Hrd.: Back in Front (5.3)

WEDNESDAY
    Champion Bumper: Beautiful Vision (20) & De Soto (40)

THURSDAY
    World (Stayers) Hrd: Emotional Moment (11)

FRIDAY
    Foxhunter Chs: Sleeping Night (4.7)
    Gold Cup: Kingscliff (8.2) & Rule Supreme (11)
    Triump Hrd.: Penzance (8.4)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭scargill

Not big prices - but will look massive on race day!
    Gold Cup : Best Mate : 3/1 : €50
    Arkle : War Of Attrition : 3/1 : €50

and a €20 four timer for the craic !!
    Arkle:.......................War Of Attrition 3/1
    Ch. Hurdle:................Hardy Eustace 10/3
    Gold Cup:..................Kingscliff 5/1
    Royal & Sun Alliance:...Ollie Magern 10/3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 KillBill

Did u back Best Mate antepost cause thats a kick in the teeth if u did!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

jimi_t wrote:
    Approaching the day, I'd be interested to know what people's ante-post bets are like. For the record I'm on :

Daily Telegraph Trophy - Farmer Jack e5 @ 5/1
    Supreme Novices' Hurdle - Compton Bolter e2 @ 33/1
    Royal & SunAll Nov' Hdle - Bagan e3 @ 16/1
    Royal & SunAlliance Chase - Lord of Illusion e5 @ 8/1
    Champion Bumper - The Mick Weston e2 @ 12/1
    V O'Brien County H'cap Hdl - Beechcourt e3 @ 16/1

Queen Mother Champ Chase - SPECIAL= Moscow Flyer 1st, Azertyioup 2nd
    e5 @ 7/1

Cheltenham Gold Cup - Kingscliff @ 5/1
    DOUBLED WITH
    Smurfit Champion Hurdle - Hardy Eustace @ 10/3
    e50 NAP

I have a little feeling that farmer jack may not go in that race now...

KillBill wrote:
    Did u back Best Mate antepost cause thats a kick in the teeth if u did!

I was being greedy backing it. Paddy Power were offering 5/2 (and they had a money back special for Cheltenham non-runners!!!!!)

It was on Betfair at 3/1 so I took that. Greedy Greedy Greedy !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭528i

Youse boys dunno what yer at ! cool_shades2.gif

Rooster Booster 14.1 - Smurfit Champion Hurdle
    Oneway 16.1 - Champion Chase
    Lennon 14.1 - Champion Bumper
    Farmer Jack 14.1 - Cheltenham Gold Cup

€20 e.w COLOR=LemonChiffon][SIZE=1]and will have them systematically slaughtered and fed to the hounds if they fail to deliver[/SIZE][/COLOR

Ollie Magern is out now - antepost betting is for mugs! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

TUESDAY
    Arkle Chase: Made In Japan (PLACE 8.0) & War of Attrition (4.1)
    Supreme Nov Hrd: Justified (5.8) & Only Vintage (16.5)
    Champ. Hrd.: Back in Front (5.3) & Harchibald (7.8)

WEDNESDAY
    Champion Bumper: Beautiful Vision (20 & 6.05 PLACE) & De Soto (40 & 8 PLACE)

THURSDAY
    World (Stayers) Hrd: Emotional Moment (11)

FRIDAY
    Foxhunter Chs: Sleeping Night (4.7)
    Gold Cup: Kingscliff (8.2) & Rule Supreme (11)
    Triump Hrd.: Penzance (8.4) & Cerium (9.84) - GOT to be one of these!

I've also done EW 5-fold accu, EW doubles from 5 & EW trebles from 5 on
    Gold Cup: Kingscliff
    Triump Hrd.: Penzance
    Arkle Chase: War of Attrition
    Supreme Nov Hrd: Justified
    Champ. Hrd.: Back in Front

And have a few quid in Betfair awaiting some good tips from Healio, fade2black, Hobart, theJock or any other top tipping heroes around here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭Chonaic

Looks like Barry's on board Beautiful Vision for the bumper.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

So far the horses that i have down..

Tuesday 15th March
    Supreme Novices Hurdle 2:00 Royal Paradise @ 10-1
    The Arkle 2:35 Ned Kelly @ 8-1
    The Champion Hurdle Brave Inca @ 6.5-1

Wednesday
    Champion Bumper 5:20 Eye On The Ball @ 12-1
    and an outside E/W shot on Karaghan @66-1
    Royal & SunAlliance Chase 2:35 King Harald @ 20-1

• Registered Users Posts: 15,946 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Hardy Eustace will do the Business again but I'm going with Rooster Booster each way as well .

fade2black wrote:
    I have a little feeling that farmer jack may not go in that race now...

Bingo

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Below is my each-way heinz for tomorrow with 30 Euro stacked..
    If they all come home successful well i'll buy you all a pint when
    as the heniz along with the accumalator would have given me
    a small winning of 120,000..

1 Justified
    2 War Of Attrition
    3 Harchibald
    4 Tikram
    5 Spot Thediffererence
    6 Miss Academy

I also have a few singles for tomorrow too which i threw on a while back
    which can be seen in my previous post ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 de_roiste

Nearly at the end of a horrible day! I am trying to be strong and not cry!!

Justified...
    My Will...
    Back in Front...
    Heros Collonges/Colourful Life...

I think i will retire early!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Crumbs

Even though it was a sub-standard Arkle, I thought it was a very good run by the second horse, Ashley Brook. I was banging on about this horse a few months ago on this forum, so I'm glad he showed that he's a decent animal.

With Hardy Eustace being the only favourite to be placed today (and he was only joint-favourite with Back In Front), the placepot paid a very nice 7489.30 to a unit stake. Alas, I only had 5 out of 6. I was let down in the last race with Zalda only finishing 7th after she faded from 4th place at the last flight. Anyone else have any luck with the placepot?

That was very unlucky Crumbs. Next time come on and tell us that you're waiting on one for the placepot and our collective will will pull the nag up the hill to victory. (Uri Gellar would be proud) At least then we can share in your moment of bliss or Blazing liss. (Fell on the flat last year and left my uncle down 2 grand)

Ah yes, Blazing Liss. Lost a bit on her in that bumper last year too. When a horse falls in a jumps race, you can accept it but when it happens in a bumper, you feel like asking for your money back. :)

Crumbs wrote:
    Even though it was a sub-standard Arkle, I thought it was a very good run by the second horse, Ashley Brook. I was banging on about this horse a few months ago on this forum, so I'm glad he showed that he's a decent animal.

With Hardy Eustace being the only favourite to be placed today (and he was only joint-favourite with Back In Front), the placepot paid a very nice 7489.30 to a unit stake. Alas, I only had 5 out of 6. I was let down in the last race with Zalda only finishing 7th after she faded from 4th place at the last flight. Anyone else have any luck with the placepot?

I had my star €3 free placepot
    1. Arcalis
    2. Contraband
    3. Harchibald
    4. Spring Grove
    5. Mrs. Bee
    6. Amaruala Ridge

Chonaic wrote:
    I had my star €3 free placepot
    5. Mrs. Bee
    That Mrs Be sure did fly home to grab third in the Cross-Country Chase. I'd say she needs about 6 miles to show her true form.

Really? I didnt see the race, because atthraces dont have the rights.

Well the 6 miles was a bit of an exaggeration, but she's an extreme stayer and nothing else. She came from nowhere to finish faster than anything else in the race. Although in saying that, it's a pretty crappy race with only average horses taking part in it. Which leads to another point...

What do people make of races like this and the juvenile handicap hurdle amongst others being added to make up the four-day festival? Does it dilute the quality of racing too much or is it acceptable in order to extend the greatest show on earth? (translation: extend the wallets of the big bookies)

I think it gives as you say average horses a better chance of a win, sort of like champion average horse. At the end of the day its all monetary, not just to the bookies, but to the local economy, and especially those involved in the NH racing industry.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

Crumbs wrote:
    Ah yes, Blazing Liss. Lost a bit on her in that bumper last year too. When a horse falls in a jumps race, you can accept it but when it happens in a bumper, you feel like asking for your money back. :)

Hearing about that race brings back some painful memories, you know your luck is out when you back a faller in a flat race, coupled with that I had also backed Merchants Friend last year at fancy prices in the amatuer race when it was caught on the line by Maximize after being about 2 furlongs clear.

Now that I think of it, after Cheltenham last year I swore I was never backing at the festival again.