Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tempil bar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭mo_thoin

Jr.Shabadu wrote:
    Oh I could. Your signature, for example.

You do realise that the moon is approximately 0.384* 106 km from the sun? The sun being the nearest star to the moon?

The nearest star to the sun is Alpha Centauri, at a distance of approx. 4.3 light years.

Therefore, if you haven't even reached the moon, there is no way you're getting anywhere near a star.

Also, it is spelled amongst.

That is all.
    Its just a phrase!!!! Jezz, you pick the most irrelevantly random things to moan about!!! Stop complaining, for gods sake!! if its not exclaimation marks then its spellings!!! an i need to get a life???
    Tut! old ppl these days, theres always somethin.....!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Mysteryfish

temple bar is ok. it has some good shops, and i don't really know any of the type of people who hang around there or around the central bank, so, i can't really judge but, i do have to agree with whoever said it, there are a lot of posers in temple bar. And they're also kind of intimidating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

When i was younger and niever i hung around "the bank". Man how i regretted it. Bunch of stupid gimps who are trying to annoy mummy and daddy by being "alternative(sp?)"

mo-thoin: Please for the love of everything learn how to act on the old interweb its not that hard. I'm only a year older than you and I'm complaining so stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

It's the nuisance factor of having a group of kids hanging around in an area for the people who live/work there. No matter what you say or think, having 30 kids hanging about on the street in and around your place of work can be harmful to business. Also people live/rent there, and I can imagine it being very frustrating to hear kids shouting at each other all day long (because lets face it: In groups its impossible to all chat quietly amongst yourselves). Its the sort of thing that intimidates and puts off tourists (more so than Irish people), and it is tourists that are important to the people who work there. It brings the tone of a dingy area down further.

[!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

seamus wrote:
    You're always angry.

Good point.... but mo_thoin is taking the píss at this stage.

I find it really wierd how all you ppl could be so obsessed wit somethin as simple as an exclaimation mark!!!!!!!!!
    I pity you all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭stagolee

mo_thoin and jr shabbadu you are both absolutley brilliant and should form a comedy double act, i was feeling bored and depressed until i read this thread and now i have a big grin on my face :D .

on topic though the kids that hang about there arent dong any real harm. they could be out letting down car tyres ,throwing stones at trains , hassling the elderly etc. if the biggest complaints you can find against them are that they dress funny and talk too loud you should be happy. i mean thats not much to put up with sureley.

anyhow once again jr and mo; thanks so much, you are my new favourite people on the interweb :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

*bows* I'd like to thank mo_thoin. Without your ineffable optimism this thread wouldn't exist. Reading back over it it is pretty entertaining.

Use your exclamations with youthful enthusiam and joy, i'm sorry for being such a cynical old fart. Truce?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Horsefumbler

do not mess with me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Dublin Is The Beast

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭NewFrockTuesday

Shabadu...you probably sound like her mummy to her. as far as i can see, noone is smoking or drinking in here so leave them to play with the !!!!!!!!!!'s. Young and easily amused......and non-conformist conformatists. is that even a word? i sound old..ill get my coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭stagolee

do not mess with me

huh? :confused:

Jr.Shabadu wrote:
    *bows* I'd like to thank mo_thoin. Without your ineffable optimism this thread wouldn't exist. Reading back over it it is pretty entertaining.

Use your exclamations with youthful enthusiam and joy, i'm sorry for being such a cynical old fart. Truce?
    Wow, youre bein really nice an youre tellin me to use my exclaimation marks!!! I'm almost frightened!!! Its cause its my b-day isn't it?? I agree wit youre truce but does this spell the end of this thread???

do not mess with me
    How random!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

NOOOOO keep the thread going its interesting, my saturday is boring help.

Anyways who would you like to hang around in temple bar, a bunch of rockers who will offer you some of there music collection or a bunch of tracksuit scumbags, who will probably rob you or stab you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

ah now jesus christ girl you must have the writing rubbed off that key!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭JenLorigan

Jr.Shabadu wrote:
    You know in the Bodysnatchers when the aliens point and shriek when they see someone who hasn't been replicated? That's what I hear in my brain when I read this thread.
    Really? I thought they weren't able to tell... But then, I saw that film when I was about ten. Or maybe it's a different film featuring bodysnatchers.

On topic, I like Temple Bar well enough. 'Tisn't great for if you're just hovering around with friends though, I frequent Stephen's Green or Iveagh Gardens with mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

Stephens green is better,i find that your alot less likely to get skated over there /me shakes fist at skaters/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Iveagh Gardens, that brings back memories!! But most of them are blank. :( Heh.

I won't ruin it for you, but rent it and watch till the end. Scary- best ending ever.

I remember the end, if we saw the same one - body-snatcher movies were popular for a while. This one is the one I think I saw:
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0049366/
    Have to watch it again at some point.

I'm referring to the seventies version

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

[!!!] ANGST'D [/!!!]

Ah, haven't seen that one. Will watch it. (Woo sci-fi nerds! :D Well, nerds in general)

woot for other sci-fi nerds on the wab who are girls, also. Nice to see that there are some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Obzer

Sparky_S wrote:
    NOOOOO keep the thread going its interesting, my saturday is boring help.

Anyways who would you like to hang around in temple bar, a bunch of rockers who will offer you some of there music collection or a bunch of tracksuit scumbags, who will probably rob you or stab you.

well put, we hang around there because if u go anywhere else you get hassled/stabbed/robbed etc. by scumbags in tracksuits.

by the way im not trying to rebel by wearing dark clothes, its what i want to
    wear. We do notice the others so we are not non conformist in that sense.
    Im a non conformist because I refuse to listen to dance music and all the crap that does be on the radio and have an appreciation for music that takes talent to make.

ps the posers and Avril brigade piss me off too.

rant over

exactly!! its about time someone else came in here an helped me defend the place!!! we are doin no harm to anyone at all!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

*coughdancemusicdoestaketalentcough*

I don't get why people hang out at Central Bank. I mean... it's not even that great a place. Whenever I'm passing, all the people hanging out are standing around in little clumps. Standing anywhere is gonna be a bad thing. Sitting down is way, way superior, which is why places with grass exist.

But whatever, people may do what they like provided they don't give me dirty looks while walking through.

Whoever said the 'do not mess with me' thing; if that's a mangled quote from Fight Club, then I salute you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭OLP

the only reasons "rockers" dont like dance music is because scumbags listen to it, i used to be like this, but after listening to it, it can be pretty good.

but anyway, people shouldnt be judged on their music, i like nearly every type of music under the sun, and i usually get called a rocker, i dont look like a rocker, i dont look like a scumbag either but people ask me who my favourite band are, i say iron maiden and i'm automaticly classified as a rocker (even tho maiden arent rock)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

Einst&#252 wrote: »
    Iveagh Gardens, that brings back memories!! But most of them are blank. :( Heh.

Yeah Iveagh Gardens, Ive had some deadly times in there.I got locked in there twice with the girlfriend, and the woman that owns it let us out at like 8:30 when the park closes at 4 :D.

Ive hung around the central bank area a few times, I know a good few people that still do hang out there and wolfetone.I pass by the central bank sometimes and I can see how much Ive matured since those few times I hung out there(when compared to most of the kids there).

There are other things to do though besides hang out there, I used to head up to the hideout for a game of pool and that, I still do, but less often.
    Im in a relationship now and I find it a HELL of a lot better than hanging out there.For once Im hanging out with someone I actually like and love.

The scumbag population of central bank is growing constantly as of late, seeing as its just after Christmas, this is the season for scum to rob the gadgets kids have gotten.

I for one hate central bank, but I like Temple Bar only for DiFontaines and Sentenile Records :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

Obzer wrote:
    well put, we hang around there because if u go anywhere else you get hassled/stabbed/robbed etc. by scumbags in tracksuits.

by the way im not trying to rebel by wearing dark clothes, its what i want to
    wear. We do notice the others so we are not non conformist in that sense.
    Im a non conformist because I refuse to listen to dance music and all the crap that does be on the radio and have an appreciation for music that takes talent to make.

ps the posers and Avril brigade piss me off too.

rant over

You are actually more likely to get stabbed at central bank than up in stephens green or whatnot.I know it for a fact.I know a good few scumbags, they all have said it to me that the scum that hang out there at night will stab you for your stuff.No question about it.Whether it be a knife, or needle they dont care, as long as they have your stuff theyre happy.

Dance music is alright actually, especially modo. I listen to black metal and death metal and I have probably a bigger collection of music than most at central bank and I listen to dance, techno, electronic etc. No shame about it whatsoever. Its just stereotypical muppets like yourself that think that because you listen to dance, youre automatically classified as a skanger.
    What about Go-Go Goths? They listen to dance and stuff, would you call them skangers?

Dathai wrote:
    You are actually more likely to get stabbed at central bank than up in stephens green or whatnot.I know it for a fact.I know a good few scumbags, they all have said it to me that the scum that hang out there at night will stab you for your stuff.No question about it.Whether it be a knife, or needle they dont care, as long as they have your stuff theyre happy.

Naturally theres gonna be ppl like that!! thats life,its just the way it is everywhere!!!
    The ppl you are talkin about are in the minority so technically you still are safer there!!!
    Also you said they were scumbags,they'll get hoped on cause there scumbags an the majority of the time its cause they've hoped on someone at the bank!!!!

No Dathai I wouldnt call them skangers it has nothing to do with what music you like I have nothing against ppl who listen to dance music (Prodigy kick ass) it just so happens that the majority of scumbags listen to it. Im just sick of the pricks who walk by saying "awww ya smelly rawkar shweaaaaah"and "are ya gonna go slit your wrists". Personally I hate stereotypes but you've just got to take it cause wether you like it or not they will always be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Nidge

I agree with pretty much everything shabadu said in her long post on the first page.

I don't really get this music thing or in fact sport thing either. I mean why is that the one set of people rigidly only listens to one type of music and then makes it clear they hate any type of physical activity that isn't skateboarding. Then the other group is the one who plays the sports, and listens to polar opposite music to the first. I mean people are in fact allowed play sport and like all different types of music at the same time. The stupidest thing about it is that both "rawkers" and 'jawks" secretly like at least some of the others music, it's all a front, almost like each group wants to have a sworn enemy.

I mean i would certainly prefer to walk by central bank, cos these kids don't need to rob your stuff, cos mom and dad bought them all the necessary things needed to rebel against...mom and dad. My main worry is how much like americans young people in ireland have become. Who said americans were cool or have all the answers? Judging by there president and history they obviously don't. All the language used by these temple bar chiddlers is heavily influenced by american films and one wishes to slap them with a wet fish to inquire when the feck they inherited this american accent.....

Anyhoo, i'm tired and am not bothered reading over what i wrote, that's the gist of what i think, hard to articulate thinking back to too many different posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 SystemOfaDani

Okay,
    Well I am a 'rocker' or whatever but I don't usually hang around the bank. Really because I have no one to hang out with there and when I have hung out there in the past - became excrutiatingly bored! My opinion is that there is nothing to do but stand or sit around. Maybe I merely find it boring because I do not drink and so are not tempted to fuel my Central Bank visits with vodka.
    I do however occasionally use Central Bank as a meeting point and so may sometimes be spotted there on a Saturday at about 1:30pm waiting to meet up with someone I know.
    Don't get me wrong, I do not want to judge the characters who hang around at the bank - I just don't understand the attraction to said venue.
    I am greatly unnerved by the amount of posers - mainly girls - that have entered the rock scene in Dublin. I mean, recently I was in Asha and had my memories of the Green Day concert on January 31st greatly destroyed by a group of about three girls around my age(15). They were kitted out in 'HIM' t-shirts and studded belts and screeching in high pitched voices about the concert in American accents - although they were Irish.

Poser #1 :"Oh my God!!! Billie-Joe was soooooo unbelievably like hot at the concert! Oh my God!!! I wish he wasn't married!!!"
    Poser #2 :"Oh my God!!! He's married?"
    Poser #3 :"Ya! He has like a kid!"
    Poser #1:"Oh my God! He was like so totally hot though!"
    Poser #2:"You know who else is hot? Ville Vallo!" (Of 'HIM')
    Poser #3: "Oh my God! Ya! Like totally hot!"
    All 3 posers: *indecipherable screechings*

I mean, I'm not saying it's wrong to think a certain celebrity is 'like so totally hot' - such a comment from me would be hypocritical seen as I am a great fan of Joey Jordison (of 'Slipknot' and 'Murderdolls') - both for his talents and attractiveness, but these poser girls are obviously only interested in the guys and not the talents and music. Such girls leave me positively fuming in their neatly ironed t-shirts and store-bought safety-pinned trousers.

I'm sorry this is such a long post but I have a lot of strong views on this issue and no doubt will post again soon.
    Dani

Dani, I like you. Welcome to Boards! A refreshingly interesting and thought out first post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 SystemOfaDani

Heya,
    Thanks hahaha you see what boredom does to you? :p

I resent all these american accent bashings...
    People are gonna start judging each other on their ACCENTS now? (well alright, they already do, but I'm still indignant)

I think he'sreferring to Irish people who put on American accents

People actually do that? o.O Crazy.
    Although I've seen instances of people putting on skanger accents, so I shouldn't be surprised.

People, hey? What are they loike?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Ratzinger

I condemn rock music and heavy metal to hell!

Bubbles? Is that you?

Or Den Fitz?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Pearl666

john cusack in high fidelity

"its what you like, not what you are like, its shallow but its fùcking true"

Pearl, your sig is too large. Please refer to Signature Rules in Newbies/FAQ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭o Fiac

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

The croud that hang around temple bar are not the worst. To be honest theres alot worse they could be doing?

Also it is probably safer for the young lads and lassies to be hanging around Temple bar than some field / closed shopping centre in Tallaght/Clondalkin/phibsboro/blanchardstown/dundrum etc where they could easilly be set upon by a group of tracksuit wearing / I cant wear a baseball cap properly / I have to spit every 2 minutes - scumbags. Safety in numbers and all that.

Leave em alone i say.. they're too young for pubs and they dont really have anywhere else to hang about.

Well Dani welcome to boards normally id say something about how hipocritical you are being but im going to leave the past in the past but try and be honest when you post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

Would it be possible for the OP or someone with the ultimate power to correct the spelling in the thread title?

It's been bugging me for AGES!

(i know i know, my spelling's awful, but this is just cringe-worthy!)

Please?