Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Israel v Ireland - predictions

• 23-03-2005 3:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭

Israel (the team as well as the country) really look up for this one they way we used to be back when we first hit the world stage.

I predict Israel to win 1-0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

I'll go 2-1 Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

0-4 Ireland,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

I'm thinking 2 - 1 to Ireland too!

I'll go with 2-2 with Israel to equalise in the last 10 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,842 ✭✭✭s8n

anyone know waht channel is showing this and at what time???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

SPORT: RTÉ Sport on Two: World Cup Qualifier
    Channel: RTÉ 2
    Date: Saturday 26th March 2005
    Time: 17:00 to 20:20 (starting in 3 days)
    Duration: 3 hours and 20 minutes.
    Liam Brady, John Giles and Eamon Dunphy join Bill O'Herlihy for live coverage of Israel v Republic of Ireland in their Group Four World Cup Qualifier. Commentary comes from George Hamilton and Jim Beglin.
    Israel v Republic of Ireland (KO 17. 50).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I'm obviously hoping for an Irish win but I'd be happy with a draw considering that Switzerland could only manage a draw against them when they played them in Tel Aviv. But Israel did conceed 2 so there is hope as long as we keep it tight at the back which we have so far, only one conceeded in 4 games.

France play them at the end of the month so if we get a win it'll put pressure on them if we get a good result.

B.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

1-1, Cunningham and Benyaoun to score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

0-4 Ireland,

The Israeli really rate us, players and fans. Most fans say they'll be happy with a draw against us and they'll be aiming for the win against France. Even Beneyoun said we are the best team in group.

Israel were unlucky not to beat the Swiss. Considering our woeful away record and their superb home record I'll go 1-1. 1-2 if we play like we did in Paris. Can't wait, being looking forward to this for ages.

BTW, Mourinho was invited to Israel a few weeks ago by some vice-somethingorother. He said he would travel the same week as the international break so it looks like he'll go to see Duffer again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭LizardKing

3 - 1 to the boys in Green ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

0-1 to Ireland.......cant see them scoring if Given is confirmed to be back playing...looks that way now......alot of people saying that Israel are starting to feel the purssure of brign favorite and could fall over.....maybe but heres hoping!! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,314 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

2-1 to Ireland

Just as well Channel 5 are showing this (and not Sky!) :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

1 - 3 to ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

2-0 ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Keano_sli

It'll will be tight but I will go with 1-0 to Ireland, Duff to score

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Must win game IMO and I'll go with a 2-1 win for Eire

I'm not used to our national team being thought of so highly. The Israeli's seem to be the only country that give our team the credit it deserves. Although, it could be their game plan.

Grant: "I want the team to kill themselves against Ireland. We need a good result. You can do it. I believe in you."

Benayoun: "Get real, you're forgetting who we're playing against. Ireland is a better team than Israel, but that doesn't mean there's no way to get past them. It's going to be tough. It's not Yossi Benayoun against Ireland; it's the Israel National Team."

Avi Nimni: "We're talking about this game as if our lives were riding on the outcome. It is one of the biggest games, but wait and see - when the game is over, the next game will be the biggest, and then the next. It's important to keep in mind that Ireland and France are better teams than Israel, anyway you look at it."

Benayoun: "In my opinion, the best team in the group is Ireland. Personally I fear Ireland more than France. I will be happy if we don't lose to Ireland. Against France I feel we can make something.

"Players from Ireland are very strong and intelligent. Okay, France have great technique, but for me Irish players have everything. I will be happy to take a point."

Ben Haim: "Duff is like two players because he attacks and defends. He works very hard. He is a fantastic player and he is playing for the best team in England."
    irish1 wrote:
    Must win game IMO
    Don't agree. Draw here, beat the minnows and win our home games and we've won the group. This will be a tougher test than any home of our games imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭thejollyrodger

optimistic results !

We have all the players to win this match, but our away form is never good and Israel are really pysched up for this game. Im going to go for a scoring draw. I would like a win and know we can defintely beat Israel but actually winning is another story.I cant see us loosing.

BTW, Mourinho was invited to Israel a few weeks ago by some vice-somethingorother. He said he would travel the same week as the international break so it looks like he'll go to see Duffer again.

why does he go to all the Ireland games, sure he sees duff week in week out ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

The reason I say must win is because, we still have to play the Swiss and the French again, I know we'r at home but we could lose either of those games very easily. We really should be beating Israel if we want to win this group.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

A hard fought 1-0 win for Ireland. Or a draw. I think it will be important to win this one though. If we do then we should be favourites to win the group.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    A hard fought 1-0 win for Ireland. Or a draw. I think it will be important to win this one though. If we do then we should be favourites to win the group.

Shush!! Don't use the "F" word when talking about Ireland. You know what that always leads to.....

B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

I'll be happy with an away draw and a home win, although I think we have enough to beat them.

Personally, the highlight for me will be George Guff during the game :) Ahhh I can almost hear the puns about Israeli crosses on easter saturday now.....

psi wrote:
    Personally, the highlight for me will be George Guff during the game

We should just be thankful Pat Dolan isn't commentating on it then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭knobbles

we should win it by a small margin but i foresee a cagey draw

1-1 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,712 ✭✭✭Praetorian

2 x wins VS Israel would put us in a commanding position in the group. I think we're capable of these resulsts.

0-1 to Ireland away
    2-0 to Ireland at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

Id be happy with a draw which I think we are more than capable of doing, assuming Given plays.

But Im going for a win 0-1. We can sit tight and contain them (they do not have the best defence and have conceeded a lot of goals this season at home, Cypurs (1), Switzerland (2), Croatia (3)) in the confidence that our attacking players will definately get chances.

Robbie Keane has been in great form, especially considering he has been playing from the bench recently, and Duff will just have to be himself.

The way the fixtures are this is a chance for us to put ourselves in a great position, particularly with Israel playing France at home on Wednesday. If Israel were to lose to us, they would be under enormous pressure to take something from the French game, which would be hugely beneficial to us come October.

But just to reiterate, this aint going to be a walkover. We need big performaces from our big players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

This is a big game imo, I think Keano Keano and Duff all need to preform at their best to win this, but I think they will and I think we can win it by even two goals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

A draw is enough 0-0 will do me but a win be nice 3-1 win is my bet anyway for the weekend.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭case n basket

1-1

• Registered Users Posts: 427 ✭✭illumin

We have every chance of winning this comfortably if duff keane reid and er.. morrison play well. If we only had a decent striker to play alongside keane...

if we dont play well it could all go down the tubes. I cant see that happening unless Carr gets himself sent off or something like that.

What about that La Liga player, he is bound to score a few Saturday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

What about that La Liga player, he is bound to score a few Saturday

Harte isnt playing :D

kdjac

if we dont play well it could all go down the tubes. I cant see that happening unless Carr gets himself sent off or something like that.
    Will you ever leave it out on Carr, he has 1 red card in his entire career ffs. :D

Harte isnt playin
    HAHA :D

nah, Carr has done the business for us. I just remember basel. He should be right.

Were kinda writing off the Israeli's a bit. I think they will be ultra strong at the weekend. And they wont throw the towel in if its only 1 or 2 goals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

Is Roy Keane in the squad?

It'll be tough, but I'll go with an Irish win 2-1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

illumin wrote:
    We have every chance of winning this comfortably if duff keane reid and er.. morrison play well. If we only had a decent striker to play alongside keane...

personnally i would nearly prefer to have morrison in the team. He a great hold up player, and isnt selfish. The amount of chances keane wastes because he thinks hes the only one who can score gets very tiresome.

His whinging also gets on my nerves. Morrison always gives 110% and for a "brit" thats very impressive, and all you can ask out of him. If you could merge both players together into one it would be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

oh and a 1-1 draw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

1 - 0 Ireland.

Robbie Keane scores in the 24th minute from a Andy Reid ball over the top, from deep on the right. Keane dribbles with a few touches before slotting it to the keepers right, and into the bottom left corner.

He'll then run to the left corner flag, do a roll, pop up, and shoot his hands like guns.

Damien Duff, Clinton Morrison and Matt Holland will be the first to run over and congradulate him.

I wonder what odds you would get on that exact sequence in the bookies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

i predict 1-0 to ireland. i dont think we can get much goals away. maybe we'll get another one or two at home.

morrison was actually playin very good up until he was injured against france. if he keeps that up, im more than happy to have him in the squad. besides, even if he did play bad, he's the best of a bad bunch.

suppose we could play duff up with keane, and in the middle have killer, keane, <holland/kav>, reid.

im just hopin the players dont eat some of that dodgy food over there and be leggin it to the jacks every 10 minutes. if i was the israeli's, that'd be my strategy. give them the scutters so they're afraid to hit the ball hard! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 427 ✭✭illumin

personnally i would nearly prefer to have morrison in the team. He a great hold up player, and isnt selfish. The amount of chances keane wastes because he thinks hes the only one who can score gets very tiresome.

His whinging also gets on my nerves. Morrison always gives 110% and for a "brit" thats very impressive, and all you can ask out of him. If you could merge both players together into one it would be great.

I agree with you about keane he is a very greedy player. Didnt Hoddle say keane only finishes something like 50% or less of what he should. The problem i see with morrison is that he freezes in the big games like John o Shea. But both played well against france, so i hope im proved wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Boro

Im going to go with blind optimism and predict a 6-1 win for ireland.

Couple of penalties and goals from set pieces as israels defense struggles to deal with the running of Duff. I reckon with good delivery, irelands players (generally bigger and stronger than israels) should 'put em under pressure' and get a couple of sloppy goals.

Roy Keane will bust benayoun in the first 2 minutes.

illumin wrote:
    I agree with you about keane he is a very greedy player. Didnt Hoddle say keane only finishes something like 50% or less of what he should

Before people go off on a Robbie Keane bashing rant have a read of this thread that one of the lads on Foot.ie posted about Robbie. It's a a good post and it points out a lot of misconceptions people have about Robbie.

illumin wrote:
    The problem i see with morrison is that he freezes in the big games

I wouldn't call a goal against the Swiss and a stormer against France (by your own admission) freezing in the big games.

B.

BaZmO* wrote:
    Before people go off on a Robbie Keane bashing rant have a read of this thread

I think Keane will never become the player we all hoped he would.

The fact that the author justifies Keanes current standard by comparing him with the likes of CraigBellamy and AlanSmith (instead of Ronaldo or VanHorseface for example) shows how little his desire for demanding the best compares with Robbies own failed targets.

To sum up I'm not bashing RK (we're lucky to have a player of his standard given our traditional dearth of strikers) but I think it is a pity that he hasn't become the player he might have, that he isn't in any way markedly better than he was 4 years ago and (despite the authors optimism) that he isn't likely to get any better over the next 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

I'll go for a 0-0 draw. I'd expect us to beat them in Dublin though.

Im going to go with blind optimism and predict a 6-1 win for ireland.

When have we EVER score more than 3 in recent history ?

The smart money is on a scoring draw.

Robbie is always going to get stick but he is still only 24. Clinton does very well and it took a long time for him to understand what was required of him in the Irish set up (Robbie is a very individual player). I saw robbie go around a keeper for the first time (ever?) and I think Jol will be a great coach for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Boro

When have we EVER score more than 3 in recent history ?
    I said blind optimism didnt I? :D

Anyway, just because we havent scored more than 3 recently, is no reason to expect that we never will. We have our strongest squad in a while, nearly all the players are playing well and are in form. Why not hope a little?

Pigman II wrote:
    To sum up I'm not bashing RK (we're lucky to have a player of his standard given our traditional dearth of strikers) but I think it is a pity that he hasn't become the player he might have, that he isn't in any way markedly better than he was 4 years ago and (despite the authors optimism) that he isn't likely to get any better over the next 4.
    I agree that Keane hasn't really improved since the World Cup but I think its unfair to say that he's unlikely to improve in the next few years. Look how Mourinho changed Duffer in a few months. Jol said recently he's the best "footballer" at the club so a bit of decent solo coaching should do him good.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

BaZmO* wrote:
    Shush!! Don't use the "F" word when talking about Ireland. You know what that always leads to.....

B.
    Fought? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

eirebhoy wrote:
    so a bit of decent solo coaching should do him good.

To be fair, its the "solo" aspect of Keane's game thats the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

2 -0 Ireland

Keane and Kilbane