Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone Studying?

• 23-03-2005 7:28pm
    Registered Users Posts: 45,594 ✭✭✭✭

Have any of you been studying over your Easter break?I regret to say that I have not been studying. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

Yes. But I'm in final year and I want 2.1s at the very least. Looks good on the postgrad application form.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

A little bit. But it's hard to motivate myself to study a lot of the time. Especially when I can see my GC and Resident Evil 4 from where I was studying today...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭kasintahan

No - but I am in first arts (but I really should be studying as there really is a lot to get through).

• Registered Users Posts: 45,594 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

kasintahan wrote:
    No - but I am in first arts (but I really should be studying as there really is a lot to get through).

Yeah you and me both, buddy. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

No I don't give a ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

I've started. Was in the library all day today. Hope I dont sound smug or anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

hmmmm let me see.....

seminar essay was due YESTERDAY
    and
    2 history essays due over a WEEK AGO
    so

nope....cant say i've been studying. reckon i'll be back in the summer but its nobodys fault but my own. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,169 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Of course, those exams won't ace themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Blut

17 essays overdue, about an hour of study done in a week and a half of midterm...starting to get a bit worried about my exam prospects to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Alana

eh yea i'v done a bit of study i'l get up early and start but by the time it gets to 3 or 4 i just want to go out and play in the sun...not helped much tho-still havent a clu about one of my subjects tho...mhe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

I have done a grand total of 15 minutes studying so far during this break.

Oh I'm a disgrace and I know it. I've always been very casual when it comes to studying for exams and in the past I've always ended up cramming and I think I may have to resort to it again. Honestly compared to when I did my leaving cert a year ago I've absolutely no determination to study. Why? God knows. Maybe the whole lack of teachers telling you to work and to do is what I'm lacking. I gain nothing from lectures. I feel I'm not been educated out in this place. I know Uni should be about alot of individual study but lecture environment does not teach anyone anything. I learn far more in tutorials than sitting in a lecture theatre with 400 other bored souls.

Someone educate me please!!! I need motivation badly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

A little bit. But it's hard to motivate myself to study a lot of the time. Especially when I can see my GC and Resident Evil 4 from where I was studying today...
    yeah same here, but its Need for Speed Underground 2, thats got me.
    also who is academic reading so boring can't they use plain English, for instance why don't they just call it a hill instead of a "reverse slope"... grr.. geography!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

I have done a grand total of 15 minutes studying so far during this break.

Oh I'm a disgrace and I know it. I've always been very casual when it comes to studying for exams and in the past I've always ended up cramming and I think I may have to resort to it again. Honestly compared to when I did my leaving cert a year ago I've absolutely no determination to study. Why? God knows. Maybe the whole lack of teachers telling you to work and to do is what I'm lacking. I gain nothing from lectures. I feel I'm not been educated out in this place. I know Uni should be about alot of individual study but lecture environment does not teach anyone anything. I learn far more in tutorials than sitting in a lecture theatre with 400 other bored souls.

Someone educate me please!!! I need motivation badly!
    Sure you'll probably be grand if you're in 1st year. I remember my 1st year Christmas exams. They were only about two hours long, and we had 2 a day, one in the morning and one in the afternoon. There was one particular subject, Thermodynamics, that we had one afternoon, and I just started studying for in during the lunch hour beforehand! An hour and a half of memorising my notes later I walked into the exam and somehow managed to pass it - ah them were the days :cool:

Still though, a lot of people find it hard to get motivated to work in 1st year (I was a perfect example as shown above :D ), but don't worry the work ethic thing will come back to you at some stage next year or over the next few months. In a way failing 1st year could be a good thing as it could shake you up a bit , and help you get your priorities straight for the next set of exams. Again I speak from experience on this - 2nd year was the 1st year I failed (3 of my exams). It had a bit of an effect, cos I went on to quadruple one of my scores, and triple the other 2 in the repeats! That said I did fail the following year again, but meh...maybe I should stop talking now :o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭Seifer

For me its the old reliable; counter-strike, that's diminishing my study prospects. That's the problem with having notes on the the pc; the little black steam icon is always there...looking at you...calling you.
    Im trying to get to a pass level in each of my subjects; at the moment I could pass 2...out of 10. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭m1ke

I failed almost half my exams in first year and it was a great motivator. I've never come even close to failing since and am about to sit final year exams in a few weeks. I found it very difficult to break free from the no-study then cram downward spiral, feck it took me years to. I realised I wasn't studying because I wanted an excuse incase I failed. I didn't want to know what my actual level of competence was incase it turned out I was medicore... instead of being an amazing cramming exam passing machine. Everything has been much more rewarding since then.

blondie83 wrote:
    Sure you'll probably be grand if you're in 1st year. I remember my 1st year Christmas exams. They were only about two hours long, and we had 2 a day, one in the morning and one in the afternoon. There was one particular subject, Thermodynamics, that we had one afternoon, and I just started studying for in during the lunch hour beforehand! An hour and a half of memorising my notes later I walked into the exam and somehow managed to pass it - ah them were the days :cool:

Still though, a lot of people find it hard to get motivated to work in 1st year (I was a perfect example as shown above :D ), but don't worry the work ethic thing will come back to you at some stage next year or over the next few months. In a way failing 1st year could be a good thing as it could shake you up a bit , and help you get your priorities straight for the next set of exams. Again I speak from experience on this - 2nd year was the 1st year I failed (3 of my exams). It had a bit of an effect, cos I went on to quadruple one of my scores, and triple the other 2 in the repeats! That said I did fail the following year again, but meh...maybe I should stop talking now :o

I have to say Blondie you do quite a job in convincing lazy-assed first years who are going to fail that they are going to pass their exams with flying colours!

Keep up the good work! :)

I still haven't studied.I guess I better not make any plans for summer.

On a completely unrelated topic, I am taking part in the Boards Survivor challenge and I am about to be voted off.I urge you to keep me in for the glory of UCD since I am the only UCD student participating.If you can, give a vote for Ro:maaan! (what a dumb name).

I'm pretty sure the other contestants like Trinity over UCD and they know nothing about the glory of Pat Paterson! Vote for the other contestants and keep in Mr.Nice Guy. ;)
    You can vote here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=239773&page=2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭anna20

trying but getting really worried now!

I still haven't studied.I guess I better not make any plans for summer.

On a completely unrelated topic, I am taking part in the Boards Survivor challenge and I am about to be voted off.I urge you to keep me in for the glory of UCD since I am the only UCD student participating.If you can, give a vote for Ro:maaan! (what a dumb name).

I'm pretty sure the other contestants like Trinity over UCD and they know nothing about the glory of Pat Paterson! Vote for the other contestants and keep in Mr.Nice Guy. ;)
    You can vote here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=239773&page=2

It looks like you have survived... well done! Represent UCD!!!!

Indeed I did and I thank those who didn't vote for me but the guy running the contest has been banned! As someone else said, it's like the host of a TV show getting arrested! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

i would like to take this opportunity to give myself a big congratulatory pat on the back for being a top-class procrastinator who has successfully screwed herself over by literally wasting an entire three weeks of possible study time.

i am a tosser. :rolleyes:

i would like to take this opportunity to give myself a big congratulatory pat on the back for being a top-class procrastinator who has successfully screwed herself over by literally wasting an entire three weeks of possible study time.

i am a tosser. :rolleyes:

Same here. I'm a tosser aswell. Its great being a tosser isn't it? :D

P.S. Uberwolf: Will I get banned for flaming myself?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

I've actually gotten no study done at all over the past three weeks, and finals are only a month away - this seems like the perfect opportunity to bring out my new wall-bash smiley!wallbash.gif

I haven't studied either and I had hoped to do some essays that needed doing.Tonight I'm going drinking though! :D

See you all in the summer. ;)

Yep, I've wasted the whole 3 weeks off. Again. I swore I wouldn't be so much of a waster this year, but if anything I'm worse. Maybe I just suck at this whole college thing.

Yes I'm a BAD motherf**ker. I'm so BAD. I've done about 20 minutes of study. I'm so BAD. No I really am BAD!

Will someone say nasty things to me to get me to get up of my arse to study? Please!

I'm BAD!

Will someone say nasty things to me to get me to get up of my arse to study? Please!

Nasty?Ok, you are wasting your life and will end up washing the cars of those arrogant D4 types unless you get your act together! Hope that helps. :)

BTW, my fellow UCD students, the Survivor Boards challenge is up and running again and once again I am getting a fair few votes.Bah. Show support for the only UCD representative in the competition by voting off someone else.Preferably powerhousedan.Cheers. ;) Vote here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=241965

I'm trying to do an assignment now, and people are playing Quake 3 around me...
    *cries*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

Yes I'm a BAD motherf**ker. I'm so BAD. I've done about 20 minutes of study. I'm so BAD. No I really am BAD!

I'm BAD!

[husky voice]
    Ooooooo yeh Zane.
    You're so so sooo baaaad!!!!
    Naughty!
    Bold!
    So so so so bad!![/husky voice]

That help at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Ok... Zane has a new fan.

Anyway, I also have done no study in 3 weeks... Or in fact the entire year... Or indeed the last 2 years I've been here. It's a testament to how p*ss-easy 1st year is that I managed to get into 2nd year at the first attempt tho!

But I think my stay in 2nd year will be, depressingly, at least double what it should be... It's entirely my own fault, I might add. I might, but I won't. :D It's Hugh Brady's fault!!! Mwah!!! :rolleyes: With a line like that at least I'll have the Socialists on my side...

So, here's to 2nd year FOREVER!
    Cheers!! :(