Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MySQL Info

Options
  • 30-03-2005 5:10pm
    #1
    Registered Users Posts: 884 ✭✭✭


    Lads, any MySQL experts out there ??
    I just have a few questions getting started up !!


Comments

  • Registered Users Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭mneylon


    Why don't you ask a question?


  • Registered Users Posts: 884 ✭✭✭Cork Skate


    blacknight wrote:
    Why don't you ask a question?

    OK ... here goes ....

    I get this message when i start mysqld --console

    innodb_data_file_path ?? whazzat ?? and do i need it initially ?


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 10 gintreach


    Cork Skate wrote:
    OK ... here goes ....

    I get this message when i start mysqld --console

    innodb_data_file_path ?? whazzat ?? and do i need it initially ?


    not sure what your trying to do??
    if your using an older version of mysql u need to start the server before you use the console to create, delete....etc tables. the command for this as fare as i know is mysqld-nt --console then you use mysql -u root -p ....root being what you log on as, then it ask you for the pasword.
    but if its a newer version of mysql its already running and a short cut to the remote console should be in your start>programs.
    thats all i no, hope it helps.


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh


    innoDB is (as best I know) a plugin for MySQL that allows for some of the stuff that it doesn't support natively, like transactions and foreign key relationships. It does this by over-riding MySQLs table structure and using its own. What this error is asking you is whether you want to use this; i.e. do you have innoDB installed?

    Since I guess you don't, you'll want to do the first thing it tells you to do. Open my.cnf (if you created the file, my.ini alternatively) and find the section called [mysqld]. Add the skip-innodb into it, save and restart the program.


  • Registered Users Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭pH


    MySQL supports a number of different table types (or storage engines). They all have their pros and cons. If you do not need to use the InnoDB storage engine then ignore. The windows binary normally has certain storage engines compiled in or left out.

    have a quick look here


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 884 ✭✭✭Cork Skate


    innoDB is (as best I know) a plugin for MySQL that allows for some of the stuff that it doesn't support natively, like transactions and foreign key relationships.

    I will need to use foreign keys alright .... does that mean that i'll need it ?

    gintreach wrote:
    if your using an older version of mysql u need to start the server before you use the console

    I didn't know i had to start the server first so i'll try that.

    Yeah ... i'm using an older version ... mysql-3.23.54-win .... simply because it works with the versions of Apache and Php that i have installed. (all from a CD and been working else where) I'll be honest lads, i am a complete novice

    The database i am creating is in 3NF so i would have thought that was basic enough (i.e. not 4 and 5)
    Since I guess you don't, you'll want to do the first thing it tells you to do. Open my.cnf (if you created the file, my.ini alternatively) and find the section called [mysqld]. Add the skip-innodb into it, save and restart the program.

    There is a program called WinMySQLadmin for editing my.ini ..... but do you think i'll need Innodb now


  • Registered Users Posts: 884 ✭✭✭Cork Skate


    pH wrote:
    The windows binary normally has certain storage engines compiled in or left out.

    Binary (as opposed to source) is how i installed it alright.


  • Registered Users Posts: 884 ✭✭✭Cork Skate


    gintreach wrote:
    the command for this as fare as i know is mysqld-nt --console then you use mysql -u root -p ....root being what you log on as, then it ask you for the pasword.


    It seems to be hanging for the mysqld-nt --console option too .... when i say hanging, the cursor is flashing but it wont return and i cant type anything in.


  • Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭rsynnott


    If you want InnoDB and other eccentric table-types, get MySQL-Max (or something) from their website.

    Btw, if you start it with the console option it's expected behaviour for it to just sit there. Things may come up if there's an error.


  • Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭optiplexgx270


    can you post up your my.ini file up here as well as a dir /s of your mysql folder


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 884 ✭✭✭Cork Skate


    rsynnott wrote:
    If you want InnoDB and other eccentric table-types, get MySQL-Max (or something) from their website.

    To be honest ..... i think i will go with the bog standard engine/tables (Is that the MyISAM ???) I'll be fine with that for a while i'd say

    I am saying that with this in mind. Create tables and add data, make flat files and then start again with more experience at that stage .... is that wise. I will watch the integrity, wont be that hard tbh.

    Btw, if you start it with the console option it's expected behaviour for it to just sit there. Things may come up if there's an error.

    I just tried mysqld-nt.exe (thats the server right?) and it is running in task manager ..... that is OK is it ?

    What is the command for the MySQL console (where the DML goes ??) sorry if that sound stupid


  • Registered Users Posts: 884 ✭✭✭Cork Skate


    can you post up your my.ini file up here as well as a dir /s of your mysql folder

    #This File was made using the WinMySQLAdmin 1.4 Tool
    #30/03/2005 13:10:14

    #Uncomment or Add only the keys that you know how works.
    #Read the MySQL Manual for instructions

    [mysqld]
    basedir=C:/mysql
    #bind-address=159.134.245.117
    datadir=C:/mysql/data
    #language=C:/mysql/share/your language directory
    #slow query log#=
    #tmpdir#=
    #port=3306
    #set-variable=key_buffer=16M

    [WinMySQLadmin]
    Server=C:/mysql/bin/mysqld-nt.exe
    user=CorkSkate
    password=*******


  • Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭optiplexgx270


    i can send you an out of the box blank mysqldb ie double click on a bat and it will install and start the dd using the innodb system if you want?


  • Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭optiplexgx270


    #This File was made using the WinMySQLAdmin 1.4 Tool
    #12/11/2003 00:12:02

    #Uncomment or Add only the keys that you know how works.
    #Read the MySQL Manual for instructions


    [mysqld]
    # You can write your other MySQL server options here
    # ...
    innodb_data_home_dir =
    # Datafiles must be able to
    # hold your data and indexes
    innodb_data_file_path = c:/ibdata/mysqlserver/ibdata1:10M:autoextend
    # Set buffer pool size to
    # 50 - 80 % of your computer's
    # memory, but make sure on Linux
    # x86 total memory usage is
    # < 2 GB
    set-variable = innodb_buffer_pool_size=10M
    set-variable = innodb_additional_mem_pool_size=10M
    innodb_log_group_home_dir = c:/mysqlserver/iblogs
    # .._log_arch_dir must be the same
    # as .._log_group_home_dir
    innodb_log_arch_dir = c:/mysqlserver/iblogs
    set-variable = innodb_log_files_in_group=1
    # Set the log file size to about
    # 15 % of the buffer pool size
    set-variable = innodb_log_file_size=10M
    set-variable = innodb_log_buffer_size=8M
    # Set ..flush_log_at_trx_commit to
    # 0 if you can afford losing
    # some last transactions
    innodb_flush_log_at_trx_commit=1
    set-variable = innodb_lock_wait_timeout=50
    #innodb_flush_method=fdatasync
    #set-variable = innodb_thread_concurrency=5



    basedir=c:/mysqlserver
    innodb_data_home_dir =
    innodb_data_file_path = c:/mysqlserver/ibdata/ibdata1:10M:autoextend

    #bind-address=127.0.0.1
    datadir=c:/mysqlserver/data
    #language=c:/mysqlserver/share/your language directory
    #slow query log#=
    #tmpdir#=
    #port=3306
    #set-variable=key_buffer=16M
    [WinMySQLadmin]
    Server=c:/mysqlserver/bin/mysqld-nt.exe
    user=username
    password=****
    QueryInterval=1


  • Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭optiplexgx270


    here is my directory structure used you can figure out the my.ini from this


  • Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭optiplexgx270


    hope that helps

    actually

    innodb_data_file_path = c:/ibdata/mysqlserver/ibdata1:10M:autoextend

    should be

    innodb_data_file_path = c:/mysqlserver/ibdata1:10M:autoextend


  • Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭rsynnott


    Cork Skate wrote:
    To be honest ..... i think i will go with the bog standard engine/tables (Is that the MyISAM ???) I'll be fine with that for a while i'd say

    I am saying that with this in mind. Create tables and add data, make flat files and then start again with more experience at that stage .... is that wise. I will watch the integrity, wont be that hard tbh.
    [/SIZE]

    Yep, that's sensible; there are GIANT websites and such running on MySQL without using the funny tables. Don't use them unless you need them for something.


  • Registered Users Posts: 884 ✭✭✭Cork Skate


    i can send you an out of the box blank mysqldb ie double click on a bat and it will install and start the dd using the innodb system if you want?

    Is that to update the my.ini file ??


  • Registered Users Posts: 884 ✭✭✭Cork Skate


    here is my directory structure used you can figure out the my.ini from this


    Jebus H on a bike ..... i haven't clue how to read that ??

    Can i just copy and paste the my.ini above and save it ??

    Cheers for the help aswell lads, i'd be lost witout it tbh.


  • Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭optiplexgx270


    no its a double click and it installs an instance of the db and will start it up for you version 3.23.58 has only std databases and one of mine which you can just drop and as a tip you should get mysqlcc mysql control center http://dev.mysql.com/downloads/other/mysqlcc.html really handy gui like sql2000's enterprise manager


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 884 ✭✭✭Cork Skate


    innodb_data_file_path = c:/mysqlserver/ibdata1:10M:autoextend

    I dont have a path to mysqlserver !?!

    Should i just create one or something ?? (Are you using Win XP aswell ?)


  • Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭optiplexgx270


    yes im using xp did you get my pm?


  • Registered Users Posts: 884 ✭✭✭Cork Skate


    yes im using xp did you get my pm?

    Yup .... right back at'cha !! :)


Advertisement