Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Programming for Atmel AVR microcontroller

Options
  • 04-04-2005 11:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 820 ✭✭✭

Hi there,

I am currently doing a one year thought masters and I am required to program a number of compression algorithms onto an AVR chip as part of my theses. Sounds easy, but I have no prior experience with coding a micro-controllers. I come from a computer science background. What I need to be able to is

1. Open a file & read contents
    2. Compress it using desired algorithm (Huffman)
    3. Write results to a file.

I am more than capable with step 2 but it's step 1 & 3 that are catching me. I have no idea how this is done using a microcontroller. The Gnu avr C compiler is the compiler i'm using along with AVR Studio as my IDE. I don't have a project board as i've been instructed to do it using emulation. Of course with my background i would assume you would use the open() and close() c functions but of course because there is no underlying OS this it is more difficult to do. Could someone with a knowledge of programming a microcontroller using C please help me out.

All I really need is parts 1 & 2 above to get started. Once I have this i can concentrate my efforts on writing the algorithm into c code and optimising it. Bear in mind that i'm completely clueless when it comes to microcontrollers so don't assume anything in your response. I've tried loads of searches on google and have already posted on www.avrfreaks.com with no luck.

Thanks in advance.

Brian

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 MDMA