Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool Vs Juve (we deserve our own thread)(will incl scores)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Legends, they did it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Have It

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Plyd pool, ****e game not plyd Juve :(

Pool did a job and did it well ,great to see Alonso playing would be my player fo the year cept for his injury.

Baros has to be sold for any amount of money regardless of his misses giving the ball away too many times :mad: stupid boy, jesus take lego blocks if offered.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

I am sure there will be a spate of editings when some naysayers realise that they are likely to be quoted ad infinitum re their predictions of Liverpool will never score v Juve....Or liverpool will never keep a clean sheet in Turin or there is no chance that the pool will get into the semis.

Unlucky lads, wrong again.

Well done the pool, needed to defend and did it well, Hyppia for MOM, was superb throughout, great acrobatic clearance near the end too to make sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Hamilton must have been on boards he's quoting the 78 speil, :D

Well done Liverpool the game was dour but it was up to Juve to go for them . They didn't. Liverpool played to a plan and deserved to go through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭case n basket

Woo, g'wan Liverpool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Brilliant but the **** in the Juve crowd are at it now...Liverpool made them look second rate, how are they top or second in Serie A? Whens the semis cos Alonso will be fitter and so will Cisse plus Hamman will be back.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭zokrez

Gotta be quick, does anyone know if first leg is stamford bridge or Anfield. Prices for flights are good !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭abccormac

I fell over and hurt my knee in 1981 and it's sore again today.

Who wants to rub my magic knee then? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

****ing outstanding. Amazing display from the Reds, for years the Italians have gone away and put in that exact kind of controlled display and been lauded for it. But because it was Liverpool and not the likes of AC Milan, it will all be about how 'bad' Juventus were and not how great the Reds were. Liverpool simply didn't allow Juventus to play and deservedly knocked the so called favourites out of the competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

What date is the Anfield leg on?

Im looking to book flights, is it the 3rd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

We're going all the way

Great display, Role on Chelsea

tickets for the final !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Well done Liverpool, deserved it, and yeah, I agree with the comments made by super_furry, very controlled display by them.

They did all the good work in the first 20-25 mins of the first leg, then all the hard work tonight.

Hopefully this other match goes to penalty kicks after thatn bore-fest though. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Excellent result. Only chance they had was from traore. Burnley all over again i feared. We definitly deserved. We should of scored. Tonights display is the reason baros isnt good enough to play for liverpool, Owen would of easily stuck that chance away.

whos home for the first leg, liverpool i take it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Chelsea home for the first leg, according to Hamilton at least.

whos home for the first leg, liverpool i take it?

RTE said Chelsea first and looks like that on UEFA site but cant work out whether it will be Tuesday 3rd or Wednesday 4th May for Anfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭cregser

seansouth wrote:
    Chelsea home for the first leg, according to Hamilton at least.
    And according to Sky Sports website. It's supposed to be an advantage to Liverpool but it didn't work for Juve tonight.

I didn't like the way George and Jim were talking about Liverpool V Chelsea with 15mins still to go. Ibrahimovic did a Baros tonight, that's why we got a clean sheet. The longer it went on tonight though, the more i saw 1-0 Juve. My heart t'was pumping.

Alonso really got it together in second half didn't he? Started to make Juve think. Cisse looked alright, but surprise, surprise, he was caught offside more than once! Good ol' Cisse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Makaveli wrote:
    Legends, they did it.

works for me. Hope you dont mind me stealing yore words Mak :)

Game not great overall > Juve were horrible both legs. In saying that, we defended like ****ing demons. kudos alround for that.

Ibrahimovic *possibly* should have scored but thems the breaks.
    flip side == Baros' miss. i was ****ing cheering in the pub and it rolled wide. FS!

Fabulous to see Xabi back and playing solid. Cisse I was delighted to see come on even tho I was wary with the clock ticking down.

nunez was pure **** tbh. i thought he'd do a 'garcia' from the first leg and play **** but get a screamer of a goal...but no.

Roll on Chelsea.

****ers wont do it 4 times in a season...

/me salutes Rafa Benitez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

well, i didnt see the game, but fair dues. a good 2 leg win for pool.
    still want chelsea to win the champions league though.

i just cant forgive liverpool for spending the season being crap in the league and good in the champions league!

at least chelsea have been consistantly good :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Well done to the pool, that was a nerve-wracking last ten minutes.

I like the fact that Rafa can get the lads playing well in the CL, but how come we get beat by every piece of crap in the PL? Oh well, that's a thought for another day...

Safe home to all the travelling Liverpool fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

I didn't see it either as I had Drum Lessons but congrats Liverpool, its going to be some semi final, but c'mon Chelsea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Shred

shred wrote:
    It's gonna be tough and unfortunately I don't see Liverpool going through over the two legs with the current list of absenties against a full strength Juventus.

It's great being wrong :p

Yihoo, what a brilliant performance from the pool, I'm absolutely delighted we're through to the semis and I really fancy our chances of doing Chelsea over the two legs (why not - we've just knocked Juve out!!). Brilliant to see Alonso (who I thought played a stormer all things considered) and Cisse back and by the time the semis come around they should both be a lot fitter and we should also have Gerard and Hamann back. Bring it on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

congrats liverpool. it's great to see the likes of nedved, del piero etc... beaten fair and square on the pitch. imo those guys are over-rated yet juve as a unit are a good side, one of the best in europe. they dont have the classyness of ac milan but then not many do.

stop-start match, pretty scrappy and not much goal mouth action. liverpool were never going to go all out attack so it was up to juve to score the goals but they were just brutel. pinging long balls up and walking into liverpool players all over the shop. gerrard said liverpool would need the game of their lives in the 2nd leg to beat juve but liverpool werent great either it has to be said, then again they didnt need to be, a draw would take them through.

great night for english football, im delighted therl be an all english semi-final as it shuts those people up about the EPL being over-rated etc... being liverpool though, beating chelsea and losing in the final will mean nothing if they cant qualify next year. im sure liverpool fans would rather lose to chelsea and nick 4th spot in the league than beat them, lose in the final and finish 5th?

hopefully chelsea wont have luck on their side this time and liverpool play like they did against juve 1st leg. chelsea were beaten on the pitch all bar the result earlier this season so hopefully liverpool get revenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

90 mins of heart in mouth stuff, but tbh Juve never ince lookde like scoring. To everyone who wrote Liverpool off before a ball was kicked in the first leg : Screw all you mo fo's. A job needed to be done tonight and that's exactly what happened. Bring on Chelsea, they can have their poxy Carling cup, we'll have the Champions league if that's ok with everyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭The Clown Man

Seriously - the final should be a classic.

Chelsea v Milan is the one everyone wants to see!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Fair play to the pool, got the result they needed, but that was an awful game to watch for a Champions League quarter final. Neither side played good football, liverpool will have to up their game for Chelsea.

Great to see that one Premier League club will make it to the final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TheMonster

Must be one of the worst games of soccer I have witnessed in a long time - you would see better at the local park on a Sunday. Neither team were capable of stringing a few passes totgether.

Juve never got going and it wasn't really that Liverpool stopped them, they kept giving them the ball back. I bet Chelsea are secretly thrilled at the result, Juve could have raised the game a lot more than Liverpool can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Liverpool effectively played 3-5-2 with Traore as an extra CB and Finnan and Riise as wing backs. Juve lacked width and they never came close to breaking Pool down through the middle. Great piece of tactical nous by Benitez. The only real chance Juve created was the early Ibrahimavic effort, and that was when Del Piero was down injured and a couple of Liverpool defenders lost concentration, maybe because they expected play to be stopped.

Other than that, a limited Liverpool team played their hearts out. It is very important that despite the number of foreigners in the team, they havent lost the English never-say-die attitude - if Arsenal had that attitude they'd be strong contenders every year in Europe as they have better players, and ManU also seem to have lost that attitude recently in Europe for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Hyppia MOM, but Alonso not far off it considering his layoff for last 3 months.
    This guy can pass with both feet and land it on a penny....excellent pass at one time with his left foot when he was turning, to play in Riise and the chip from 25yds over the defence was another example. I was actually hoping he would have picked up the ball in the last few mins and chipped Buffon.
    Biscan will have sore legs today, god bless him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Great stuff, they did it.
    Shutout those Juve dudes.
    Good to see Cisse back after his lay off too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

I think smicer made a bit of spark when he came on, but what the hell with Nunez, how can a player be so bad. He's just like a under 12 lad playing against top players. Utter hopeless, I hope he never gets another game in a liverpool shirt.

Our defence was solid, when you think about it, the amount of players injured, we've done well to get anywhere near the semi finals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

Liverpool won. football lost.
    the most boring game I have ever seen.
    (Except the Germany/Austria fix in 82)

Come on Chelsea. Do the right thing.
    The competition would be better off with Liverpool out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭LizardKing

Heroic stuff from the Back Four , a few nervy moments but Juve were not on top of their game ... Could not believe Alonso lasted for 90 mins (he played well too) and nice to see Cisse gettin a run out .. Chelsea will be firm favourites but Liverpool have played them 3 times this season and I believe they can upset them on the 27th ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Well done the Pool. Good to see that there'll be a guaranteed place in the final for an English club.

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Must be a decent amount of prize money in it for Liverpool getting this far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

Juventus 0-0 Liverpool (1-2 agg)

So, Liverpool get through to the CL semi-final, the last time was
    in 1985 before that ill-fated Heysel final against Juventus. Its quite
    an amazing achievement for a club/team that at times can struggle in
    matches against the Birmingham's and the Burnley's. Liverpool
    fully deserved to get through though and played better than Juve
    over the two legs. And its not as if Juve played woeful or anything
    like that. Juventus went out with their usual tactics and setup. They
    were looking for a bare 1-0 win, that would have been enough
    and they set out at a steady pace to do so. They only created 2
    scoring chances in the whole match though whereas beforehand
    they were probably thinking about 5. Liverpool concentrated
    on defence and did a solid job, not defending too deep. Liverpool
    were helped by a linesman who seemed to be "trigger-happy" with his
    flag. He made a few calls that were close and some that were
    not offside. This helped Liverpool defend up the pitch. Juve's 1st
    chance came out of nothing really. A good run down the left, the
    Liverpool back line slightly distracted by a prostrate Del Piero,
    a whipped in cross met by Ibrahimovich who luckily for Liverpool
    spooned it well over the bar from 8 yards. If that had gone in after 8mins
    it would have been a different night. The next chance came to Liverpool
    early in the 2nd half. Baros wasn't getting past the backline of Juve all
    night, but on this occasion he nutmegged the central defender and was
    through. His shot from about 10 yards out should have gone in
    and probably would have were it not for the late lunging attentions
    of Thuram from behind. The third and final real scoring chance of the game
    came out of nothing for Juve. A free kick wide from the left outswinging
    was being met by Traore on the far post but he back-headed it onto the
    head of Cannavaro, the ball then hitting the post, then hitting the arm of
    Traore as he fell, then scooped off the line by Dudek and squeezed out
    with Traore for a corner.

Those were the chances but nothing went in. It was 0-0 on the
    night and Liverpool deserved their passage to the semi-final. Football
    Italian style is often played in this manner with close games, and
    Juve are the exponents supreme of the 1-0 win. It was just that
    on this occasion it did not come off. I was surprised that Juve
    went at the game so slowly merely looking for the 1-0 win, as
    it could backfire on them, as it did. However, I was also not
    happy with Liverpool's tactics, as their tactics could have also
    resulted in a 1-0 loss and elimination. This match was on a knife
    edge, not for end to end football action and high levels of skill, but
    for dogged searching of a single goal. Liverpool got nervy towards
    the end and Juve got more control but couldn't create any real
    chances.

I think Benitez got the midfield very well organised. Alonso did very
    well in his 1st full game since injury. Biscan did quite well and at
    times looks like Gerrard. He doesn't make that many mistakes
    these days and match practice is helping him. Garcia was his usual
    self, giving the ball away, having the potential to maybe do
    something, but in the end doing nothing in the match. Nunez was
    poor throughout and cant even do his prescribed job of crossing
    the ball. Poor Baros, nothing is coming off for him in a Liverpool
    shirt at the moment, while for Czech R he is scoring freely. He
    should have put that goal away. Riise and Finnan were their usual
    selves and both good. Finnan can lack in concentration on the odd
    occasion but nothing came of it. Hyppia's recent rests have helped
    him it would seem and he was a stalwart in the air. I wasn't expecting
    Dudek to play as Carson has been doing ok, maybe the manager
    realised that he is only 19. Dudek didn't make any mistakes but
    wasn't required to go at full stretch in the whole match. The scoop
    off the line was his most important save. It was good to see Cisse
    come on, shame he hasn't learned about how to beat offside during
    his time away, but he will nonetheless give Liverpool another option.

And so now its Chelsea in the semi-final. Its hard to call. Liverpool
    have had the beating of Chelsea in the last two matches they have
    played, yet Chelsea have come out winners. If it was a normal league
    match I would give Liverpool a reasonable chance of winning. The
    pressure of CL may effect both teams. Given the position of Chelsea
    in the league they will be favourites. They have also been having a
    good run against Liverpool in the last few years, winning
    important matches. A lot may depend on the tactics and which
    individuals are playing and the formation. Either team could go
    through really and either result would not be a surprise. It will
    be interesting to see if either team does a blitz attacking style.
    Chelsea will have the opportunity to do so in the 1st leg at
    Stamford Bridge.

In the other semi-final, you would have to say its for AC Milan
    to lose it. PSV scraped by Lyon. Again last night Lyon should
    have won the close tie, so for Lyon its a case of what might have been.

An English club will be in the final, and in a final anything can
    happen, especially on a neutral ground such as in Istanbul.
    At the moment it looks as if Chelsea and Liverpool have a
    chance of winning the CL. Neutrals will have their money on
    Milan, but football at this level can go either way.

redspider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,580 ✭✭✭uberwolf

firstly. w00t \o/.

Poor game, but LFC did what they needed. IMO they were carrying at least two players there. Baros spectacularly failed to perform the role of the lone striker. Couldn't even run into the corners like he normally does. Nunez was pitiful, just before he got subbed he let the ball run out rather than stick his foot in and risk being tackled.

As I said yesterday, Liverpool wil have Gerrard, Hamann, Alonso, Cisse, Kewell?, Warnock back for the next round. Chelsea have been fortuitous to beat us every time this season. Especially at Anfield. That luck won't last forever.

Hard to know how that tie will be played, like a european game or like like a PL game. Last season the shoe was on the other foot, and Chelsea had turned around their PL form against Arsenal to beat them. LFC are capable, but once again underdogs. But last night was a good one.

I'm off now to read every last morsel of analysis I can find. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

I think juventus were a little too patient and in the end that cost them the game however they had complete posession,the linesman was astrocious for Juve I believe about 6 perfect through balls were offside for no reason,the linesmen have let us down in both legs.I see people here saying Juve are crap,I assure you were not,both legs were unlucky for Juve hitting the post twice and having a goal disallowed true we nowhere near played to our full potential though.Fair play for knocking us out though,but I cant see yous getting past Chelsea.People here saying Nedved is over-rated obviously dont realise his contribution off the ball as he makes a lot of brilliant off the ball runs to get into space to score,you would have seen this had the linesman not been so terrible.

Good to see no crowd trouble in Turin last night as I said before real Juve fans arent like that.

Good luck against chelsea your gona need it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭LizardKing

Anyone think last nights ref was secretly that improv guy from who's line is it anyway .. (ryan stiles ) He was certainly not a home town referee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

LizardKing wrote:
    Anyone think last nights ref was secretly that improv guy from who's line is it anyway .. (ryan stiles ) He was certainly not a home town referee

Lol. yeah. I've been saying that to my friends for ages and they hadn't a clue who I was talking about!!

B.

SpAcEd OuT wrote:
    Good to see no crowd trouble in Turin last night as I said before real Juve fans arent like that.

just cos you didn't see it doesn't mean it didn't happen. There were exchanges of missiles on more than one occasion and clashes with the police outside the stadium - all instigated by italians. Also the banner unfurled saying '15-4-89 God Exists'.
    Real nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

uberwolf wrote:
    Chelsea have been fortuitous to beat us every time this season.

not fortuitous. Better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Pal wrote:
    Liverpool won. football lost.
    the most boring game I have ever seen.
    (Except the Germany/Austria fix in 82)

Come on Chelsea. Do the right thing.
    The competition would be better off with Liverpool out.

At least Liverpool go for it unlike Chelsea! I want to see Liverpool V Ac Milan in the final. It can happen...

honestly? you must be trolling. In stamford bridge they deserved the win but struggled to it. At Anfield LFC were denied one clear penalty and sending off, another penalty shout they should have got, a late tackle by lampard broke Alonso ankle after 20 mins and they got a horribly deflected goal to win. In Cardiff Gerrard scored a v.unlucky O.G to put it to extra time only after Liverpool barely failed to make the game safe some minutes earlier.

Your definition of better? grand. But no one elses TBH. They are the better side, but haven't looked the part against us this season. Nor have the rest of Europes elite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Never been so nervous going into the last 20 minutes of a game in my life !

Loving every minute of sitting beside a Man U fan last night :) But fair play too him (Unlike many on the boards) after the match he congratulated Liverpool and said what a professional performance it was and how he was impressed at how we never allowed Juventus to play.

I don't buy this crap about how much better Milan are than Juventus.(League table in Italy shows this). In the Milan derby Inter were very unlucky to be 2-0 down going into the second leg and in the 2nd game the referee was awful. Milan by no means completely outclassed Inter but did deserve to go through.

Going into the Liverpool - Juventus match everyone talked about how good Juventus were and rightly so they are a great team. Supposedly it was only a matter of how many goals they would score against us.
    Skip forward 2 weeks and all the detractors are now saying what an awful match it was between two awful sides???? Juventus an awful side??? Why because Liverpool beat them ???
    They topped the group stage of the Champions league with the most points (16) and best defense, outstanding players with world class reputations! and are level on points with Milan at the top of Serie A. The reason they lost this match was in the first half of the first leg were Liverpool were awesome something which anyone who watched the match cannot take away.
    Liverpool had a game plan for last nights match and while it was not pretty for the neutral some of the other mangers in the English league could learn alot from the way Liverpool played in the second leg.

Juventus are not an ordinary side just made to look ordinary by a Liverpool team who had a clear game plan which was not to allow their opponents to play.

I may have gone on a bit of a rant in this post but it does frustrate me that people cannot hold up their hands and say they were wrong. ( I also know alot of people have given Liverpool the credit they deserve so my apologies to them )

And to be honest i got a good laugh from most of the negative posts because i know jealously is a awful feeling ( Liverpool fans have had to endure their fair sure in recent years )

No chance of winning the CL ? - At least we have a chance !

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

i think liverpool deserved every bit of luck in last nights game! look at the bad fortune we've had all season!!!

we barely had a squad for last nights game, we cant play beautiful football if we have nunez, traore and biscan in simply cause we dont have anyone else!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

Won't go down as a classic IMO but still, a deserved win overall. I know others here will be wishing for a Chelski - Milan final, me I'd hate to see Chelsea "buying" the CL, it would be bad for our perception of the game.

Hyypia and Alonso played excellently and nice to see the character of Cisse wanting to do it for his club, reportedly he'd been badgering Benitez for the last 2 weeks to be allowed play - respect !!

Looking forward to a PSV - Liverpool final . . . . anyone ????

ZEN

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

uberwolf wrote:
    just cos you didn't see it doesn't mean it didn't happen. There were exchanges of missiles on more than one occasion and clashes with the police outside the stadium - all instigated by italians. Also the banner unfurled saying '15-4-89 God Exists'.
    Real nice.

put it this way,peoples fathers,brothers,sons were killed by Liverpool fans 20years ago,just cause after 20years of suffering Liverpool make a banner saying "friendship" doesnt mean ppl are instantly going to forget the hate and hurt Liverpools fans had caused them,and believe me had juve fans killed Liverpool fans 20years ago I guarantee you that Liverpools fans' response to Juve at Anfield would be much more violent than Juves fans response to Liverpool at turin.There was one case where a man was hit in the head with a bat the night before the game,he didnt even had to go to hospital and it was very well documented,so Im pretty sure if any significant crowd trouble happended it would be in todays papers.

Liverpool fans also threw bottles back,non of the bottles had caps on them so they werent missiles,no one got hit,and the police instantly stopped it.

I cant believe you think Juve fans were bad last night,under the circumstances i know little clubs in europe that couldve behaved as well as we did.