Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FG calls for review of Regulators

• 19-04-2005 8:25am
    Registered Users Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/business/2005/0419/enterprise.html
    Fine Gael's Enterprise, Trade & Employment spokesman has called for an independent review group to examine the effectiveness of all regulatory agencies set up since the 1990s.

In a report for the Oireachtas Enterprise Committee, Phil Hogan TD also says all regulators should be made accountable to the relevant Oireachtas committee, while consideration should be given to bringing the regulators together into a single body.

Deputy Hogan also calls for the amalgamation of the eight employment bodies and consolidation of the employment and companies legislation.
    Click here to find out more!

He says regulation is costing businesses €4 billion a year, of which 'at least €600m is unnecessary'. He quotes a Dutch analysis which estimated that a 25% cut in red tape would boost the country's economic output by 1.5%.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭vinnyfitz

Strikes me as a bit of a cheap shot by Hogan. He does not say what actually needs to be changed. He is just trying to sound like a pro-business type of guy. Probably designed to underpin FG's current fund raising campaign with the business community rather than herald real policy change.

If he is interested there is a huge amount of work on this subject being done by the OECD of relevance.

Issues here in Ireland seem to include:
    Resourcing of regulators;
    Adequacy of legal and administrative powers of regulators (and rivalry between civil servants/Ministers and independant regulators);
    Culture of regulators - "can do" or "can't do";
    Risk of "capture" of the regulator by the industry in question;
    Transparency of procedures and access for consumers to regulators;
    Merger of regulators - we are certainly getting too many separate ones in the transport sector 1. taxis 2. airports 3. buses........

Can't see how dealing with those would reduce the business burden by 25% though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭damien

I was listening to him on Morning Ireland and he did seem more business orientated than consumer. He mentioned this super-regulator idea which I think was mooted by FF previously.

I've emailed FG to see will they provide me with a copy of this report.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭eircomtribunal

Whatever the party-political side of things...Hogan is correct to highlight the failure of the Irish regulatory system.
    A single regulator, with smallish expert groups to do the legal stuff (implementing the EU directives) would achieve results, where the separate regulators fail to see the bigger picture.

ComReg's failure is phenomenal and monstrous. It is not responsible to anyone, whatever crap it delivers. Not even the ombudsman can go near it.
    The amount of money directly wasted by ComReg, while staggering, is only a tiny part of the damage caused.

P.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

The Ombudsmans can go near it if requested to but is afraid of the mess it will get into . Nothing in the Act setting up Comreg or its predecessor the ODTR had the effect of removing their activities as a consumer regulator from the oversight of the Ombudsmans office.

Sponge Bob wrote:
    The Ombudsmans can go near it if requested to but is afraid of the mess it will get into . Nothing in the Act setting up Comreg or its predecessor the ODTR had the effect of removing their activities as a consumer regulator from the oversight of the Ombudsmans office.

I requested and was told ComReg was outside the remit of the ombudsman.
    If you don't mind, just ring up the ombudsman's office and see how they react.
    18 Lr. Leeson St., Dublin 2.
    Tel: +353-1-678-5222
    LoCall: 1-890-223030(from outside 01 area)
    Fax: +353-1-661-0570
    E-mail: ombudsman@ombudsman.irlgov.ie

They even come to Galway each first Tuesday of a month.

ComReg is also not accountable to the DCMNR.
    ComReg seems to have the right to shred complaints about it itself.

P.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭damien

All I can find on their site is:
    Postal and Telecommunications Services (Amendment) Act, 1999

Section 11 of this Act removed Telecom Éireann from the remit of the Ombudsman. This came into effect on 15 July 1999.

The ODTR were formed then I believe ?

I requested and was told ComReg was outside the remit of the ombudsman.
    If you don't mind, just ring up the ombudsman's office and see how they react.

P.

Rather than all of us ringing them Peter, could I ask did they explicitly confirm to you that they had no jurdistiction over ComReg ?

I must say I'd be very surprised. If they are excluded are the Competition Authority, ODCA and other sectoral re,gulators also exempt? If not what is so special about ComReg? If yes why are they all exempt?

damien.m wrote:
    The ODTR were formed then I believe ?

ODTR were formed in 1996 and Eircom were privatised in 1999 .

The ODTR as such was not exempted from the existing Provisions of the Ombudsmans Act, only Eircom were.

If the ODTR (now Comreg) maladministers or more likely does not administer at all as is normally the case or issues a press release threatening to administer while knowing it cannot or will not then in those cases the Ombudsman has oversight because the ODTR was never excluded from the explicit oversight mechanism that existed from 1980 Ombudsmans act to the present day.

The ombudsman inherited all the oversight that was carried out over actions by the then dept of 'comms' in 1980 and only lost eircom oversight in 1999, nothing else.

The Ombudsman can show no statutory basis for not having oversight of ODTR/Comreg in their administration of and execution of their statutory responsibility to the Irish public. NOR can Comreg/ODTR show any statutory basis for a claim that such oversight does not exist and has not continually existed since 1980 because its in the 1980 Ombudsman Act .. . not that Comreg/ODTR have harped on about it...in fairness to them.

Comreg are below the Ombudsmans Office in the greater Administrative Food Chain and always will be .

vinnyfitz wrote:
    Rather than all of us ringing them Peter, could I ask did they explicitly confirm to you that they had no jurdistiction over ComReg ?

The office of the ombudsman explicitly and definitely told me that they had no remit over the Communications regulator. I had been adamant they would/should have a remit after M. saying so on boards earlier, as he is now doing convincingly again.

The DCMNR are also adamant they have no direct remit over the regulator.

There seems to be no chain of command/complaint. I've been made believe that the Oireachtas Communications Committee were the official guards, but they are not equipped to do this job. That is said with no disrespect to the Committee, they are simply not up for this task.

P.

By all means, ring up the ombudsman's office and enquire and let us know. I find the office in general responsive and helpful.

Just talked to somebody in the ombudsman's office and they are absolutely sure they have no remit over the Communications Regulator and have no problem outlining there stance to me in writing. -which I will do-

Ombudsman Ms Emily O'Reilly outlined the limited remit of her office in a speech some years ago
    In Ireland, the Ombudsman Act, 1980 gives a person the right to make a complaint to the Ombudsman about administrative actions of certain public bodies which may have adversely affected him or her. And while the Ombudsman's jurisdiction in Ireland, quite correctly, does not extend to the courts it is nevertheless incomplete. My jurisdiction does not extend to significant parts of the public service notably the non-commercial state bodies and public voluntary hospitals.

The act setting up the office http://ombudsman.gov.ie/22ba/act1980.PDF
    has a list defining the remit:
    Departments of State and other persons subject to investigation PART I Department of the Taoiseach
    Central Statistics Office
    State Paper Office
    Department of Finance
    Office of the Paymaster General
    National Savings Committee
    Revenue Commissioners
    Commissioners of Public Works
    State Laboratory
    Ordinance Survey
    Commissioner of Valuation and Chief Boundary Surveyor
    Stationery Office
    Department of the Public Service
    Civil Service Commissioners
    Local Appointments Commissioners
    Department of Justice
    Land Registry
    Registry of Deeds
    Public Record Office
    Commissioners of Charitable Donations and Bequests
    Department of the Environment
    Department of Education
    National Museum
    National Library
    Roinn na Gaeltachta
    Department of Agriculture
    Land Commission
    Department of Fisheries and Forestry
    Department of Labour
    Department of Industry,
    Commerce and Tourism
    Companies Registration Office
    Patents Office
    Registrar of Friendly Societies
    Department of Energy
    Department of Posts and Telegraphs
    Department of Defence
    Department of Transport
    Department of Foreign Affairs
    Department of Social Welfare
    Appeals Officers under the Social Welfare Acts
    Department of Health

excluded from this list are:

PART II
    The reference in Part I of this Schedule to the Revenue Commissioners does not include a reference to the Appeal Commissioners of Income Tax or their staff.
    The reference in the said Part I to the Department of Justice does not include a reference to—An Garda Síochána
    the Courts, or the court officers mentioned in the Court Officers Acts, 1926 to 1961, or in the Courts (Supplemental Provisions) Act, 1961 An Bord Uchtála
    The reference in the said Part I to the Land Commission does not include a reference to—the Judicial Commissioner and Appeals Tribunal Lay Commissioners in the exercise of their statutory reserved functions The reference in the said Part I to the Department of Labour does not include a reference to—the Employment Appeals Tribunal
    the Employment Equality Agency
    the Labour Court
    the Levy Appeals Tribunal
    Rights Commissioners
    the Secretariat to the Commission on Industrial Relations
    the Secretariat to the Employer-Labour Conference
    The reference in the said Part I to the Department of Industry, Commerce and Tourism does not include a reference to—the National Prices Commission
    An Coimisiúin Dumpála
    the Restrictive Practices Commission
    the Examiner of Restrictive Practices
    the Director of Consumer Affairs
    The reference in the said Part I to the Department of Posts and Telegraphs does not include a reference to—
    the Post Office Users' Council
    the Broadcasting Complaints Commission
    The reference in the said Part I to the Department of Defence does not include a reference to—the Defence Forces
    the Army Pensions Board

and it also has a second schedule defining the persons not subject to investigation
    SECOND SCHEDULE
    The Agency for Personal Service Overseas
    The Agricultural Credit Corporation, Limited
    Arramara Teoranta
    The Attorney General
    An Bord Altranais
    An Bord Fuinnimh Núicléigh
    An Bord Iascaigh Mhara
    An Bord Pleanála
    An Bord Rasaíochta
    Bord Fáilte Éireann
    Bord Gáis Éireann
    Bord na gCapall
    Bord na gCon
    Bord na Gaeilge
    Bord na Móna
    Bord na Radharcmhastóirí
    British & Irish Steam Packet Company Limited
    Ceimicí, Teoranta
    Central Bank of Ireland
    C.E.R.T., Limited
    An Coláiste Náisiúnta Ealaíne is Deartha
    An Chomhairle Ealaíon
    An Chomhairle Leabharlanna
    An Chomhairle Oiliúna (AnCO)
    An Chomhairle Oiliúna Talmhaíochta
    An Chomhairle Olla
    Comhlucht Siúicre Éireann, Teoranta
    Coras Beostoic agus Feola
    Coras Iompair Éireann
    Coras Tráchtála
    Cork District Milk Board
    The Dental Board
    The Director of Public Prosecutions
    Dublin District Milk Board
    Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies
    Electricity Supply Board
    The Fire Prevention Council
    An Foras Forbartha Teoranta
    An Foras Talúntais
    Fóir Teoranta
    Hospitals Trust Board
    The Industrial Credit Company, Limited
    Industrial Development Authority
    Institiúid Teangeolaíochta Éireann
    Institute for Industrial Research and Standards
    Iontaobhas Iascaigh Intíre Ioncorportha
    Irish Goods Council
    Irish Life Assurance Company Limited
    Irish National Petroleum Corporation Limited
    he Irish National Stud Company, Limited
    The Irish Productivity Centre
    Irish Shipping Limited
    Irish Steel Limited
    Kilkenny Design Workshops Limited
    Law Reform Commission
    Local Government Computer Services Board
    Local Government Staff Negotiations Board
    Medical Bureau of Road Safety
    The Medical Council
    Min Fhéir (1959) Teoranta
    National Board for Science and Technology
    National Building Agency Limited
    National Committee on Pilot Schemes to Combat Poverty
    National Council for Educational Awards
    National Economic and Social Council
    National Film Studios of Ireland Limited
    National Institute for Higher Education, Dublin
    National Institute for Higher Education, Limerick
    National Road Safety Association
    Nítrigin Éireann Teoranta
    Óstlanna Iompair Éireann Teoranta
    Pigs and Bacon Commission
    Radio Telefís Éireann
    Shannon Free Airport Development Company Limited
    St. Laurence's Hospital Board
    Thomond College of Education, Limerick
    Voluntary Health Insurance Board
    An tÚdarás Um Ard-Oideachas
    Údarás na Gaeltachta
    Boards of Conservators established by or under the Fisheries (Consolidation) Act, 1959
    Bodies set up under the Health (Corporate Bodies) Act, 1961
    Bodies set up under the Health Acts
    Local Authorities
    County Committees of Agriculture
    Vocational Education Committees
    Old Age Pensions Committees and Sub-Committees
    Harbour Authorities scheduled to the Harbours Acts, 1946-1976

Spongebob, how to best pop the question to Ms Emily?

P.

Dear Emily.

In 1980 your office was tasked by statute to monitor the administrative actions of (inter alia) the then Dept of Posts and Telegraphs and all its semi state companies .

1.) In 1996 the Dept of Posts and Telecommunications had become the Dept Of Communications . It selectively offloaded some of its responsibilities and powers onto a new body called the ODTR . It appears that the remit of the Ombudsman was split at this point so that the Ombudsman now had both the ODTR and the Dept Of Communications within its remit as and from 1996 (or the date the ODTR came into being whichever is later)

2) The Dept of Communications was still the owner of Eircom. The Ombudsman lost oversight of Eircom activities by statute in 1999 but only of Eircom ...then referred to as Telecom Éireann .

Can the ombudsman show cause why the remit which existed to oversee the activities of the dept of posts and telegraphs in 1980 and thereafter has been modified in any was since save the removal of eircom from said remit . ?

Thanks, I'll let you know about the response.
    P.

Prompt response. I assume to post it here is ok with the ombudsman's office.

P.

Dear Mr Weigl,

The Ombudsman has asked me to reply to your email of 21 April concerning
    her possible jurisdiction over the Commission for Communications Regulation
    (ComReg).

One of the problems in defining with clarity the Ombudsman's jurisdiction
    is the fact that the Ombudsman Act, 1980 and its schedules (which define
    the persons subject to investigation - Part I of First Schedule - and those
    not subject to her jurisdiction - Part II of the First Schedule and the
    Second Schedule) has not been amended to reflect the many changes which
    have taken place in the Irish public service over the last 25 years. An
    Ombudsman Amendment Bill has been long promised and we understand that its
    publication is now due in 2006. It is hoped that this legislation will
    include a revision and consolidation of the schedules.

The Ombudsman Act empowers the Ombudsman to examine the administrative
    actions of certain persons, including Departments of State. The Department
    of Posts and Telegraphs is one of these and, and you correctly point out,
    its successor is the Department of Communications, Marine and Natural
    Resources. Telecom Eireann (and the regulatory function exercised by the
    Department) was subject to the Ombudsman's jurisdiction from 1984 to 1999.
    At no stage did the Ombudsman exercise jurisdiction in respect of the
    Office of the Director of Telecommunications Regulation.

With effect from 15 July 1999, when Section 10 of the Postal and
    Telecommunications Services (Amendment) Act, 1999 was brought into effect,
    Telecom Eireann became a body not subject to investigation and effectively
    listed in the Second Schedule. The Ombudsman cannot investigate actions
    taken by or on behalf of a person specified in the Second Schedule (Section
    4(4)) nor can she investigate actions of a person in the First Schedule
    taken in respect of persons in the Second Schedule (Section 1(3)). This
    means that the actions of the Department in relation to Telecom are not
    within her jurisdiction. Thus, if one maintains that ComReg is acting on
    behalf of the Department, ComReg is also definitively outside the
    Ombudsman's jurisdiction. As an independent statutory body, ComReg itself
    is not subject to the Ombudsman's jurisdiction.

I regret, therefore, that the Ombudsman cannot investigate your complaint
    about ComReg. I presume you have already taken the matter up with ComReg
    itself - the Commission's customer charter appears to suggest that it has a
    complaints procedure. You might also wish to pursue the matter with the
    Department itself.

I am sorry that I could not have been of more assistance to you; if you
    would like to discuss the matter with me, however, please call.

Thanks for that Peter.
    Very informative.

Another tangible issue that Ireland Offline could ask both DCMNR and opposition spokepeople to address.

One of the problems in defining with clarity the Ombudsman's jurisdiction
    is the fact that the Ombudsman Act, 1980 and its schedules (which define
    the persons subject to investigation - Part I of First Schedule - and those
    not subject to her jurisdiction - Part II of the First Schedule and the
    Second Schedule) has not been amended to reflect the many changes which
    have taken place in the Irish public service over the last 25 years. An
    Ombudsman Amendment Bill has been long promised and we understand that its
    publication is now due in 2006. It is hoped that this legislation will
    include a revision and consolidation of the schedules.

The Ombudsman Act empowers the Ombudsman to examine the administrative
    actions of certain persons, including Departments of State. The Department
    of Posts and Telegraphs is one of these and, and you correctly point out,
    its successor is the Department of Communications, Marine and Natural
    Resources. Telecom Eireann (and the regulatory function exercised by the
    Department) was subject to the Ombudsman's jurisdiction from 1984 to 1999.

As the ODTR inherited certain responsibilities of the Dept of Comms on foot of statute in 1996 AND as there was no specific exclusion of the Ombudsmans oversight fiunction in that 1996 act then the oversight transferred with the creation of the ODTR. No new responsibilities were created for the ODTR beyond those that were witin the remit of the Dept of Posts and Telegraphs 1980 -1996 . The later Act in 2002 creating Comreg out of the ODTR did not remove the oversight either I note .

Eircom was 'created' by a 1999 act , permitting the people to sell their own assets to the people :) , and the Ombudsmans oversight was explicitly removed in that 1999 Act. Yet Eircom in pre act 1999 was no less an inheritor of the Dept of P&T than the ODTR 3 years earlier. Had it been the intent of the Dáil to explicitly remove oversight by the Ombudsman of the ODTR then a specific clause legislating to that effect would have been inserted into either the 1996 act or the 2002 act .

The creation of a new body out of an existing department cannot have the effect , on its own, of removing proper oversight by the Ombudsmans office otherwise it would have been sufficient for the Dept Of Posts and Telegraphs to sell Eircom, as they did in 1999 , in order to remove that oversight. It clearly was not sufficient to sell it so the oversight was removed in statute law .

The Ombudsman has a clear line of inherited responsibility going back to that schedule in the 1980 act (mutatis mutandis although it may be ) unless the legislature decides otherwise by enacting a statute amending the schedules . The Ombudsman cannot legally prove otherwise and the assertation in that email has no demonstrable basis in the law of the land. If it did the Ombudsman could refer you to that law which of course does not exist and I noted that the Ombudsman has had to work 'around' the 1980 act for years.

By the logic of that email , the government has removed the ENTIRE HOSPITAL SECTOR from Ombudsman oversight by simply abolishing the Health Boards and creating the HSE in their place. That would be ridiculous (albeit not beyond the bounds of credulity ) so ask the Ombudsman if they have responsibility for the HSE and HOW DID THEY GET IT seeing as it was not included into the act creating the HSE because it need not be ?

Equally the Ombudsman cannot cherry pick sectors or entities within its remit, we have a Dáil to do that for us :(