Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

rowing

• 21-04-2005 9:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24

hey does ne1 row here its like d only sport not mentioned??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 scull

Yea i do. I'm in the Arklow Rowin Club n was wonderin de same. Is dere no1 out dere dat likes rowin???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭Caoimhe89

I like rowing! Just came back from 3 hours of it in Dun Laoghaire Harbour today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭g5hn710m4xpdwy

WOWHA! please stop with the text talk! and yes I just joined neptune rowing club in chaplizod area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

Cork Boat Club Here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭AndyWarhol

DUBC boom a yay!

Ireland are Doing Fairly Well in the World Champs LM4 all the way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭spinalsly

yes i row too. shannon rowing club, limerick. id love to discuss rowing with anybody because ive only been rowing for a few months and i would like to get more tips !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

yeah, commercials Killarney :)

Commericals Killarney? Never heard of it?Shannon i have what ye racing in this year? Girls and lads?

well seasons over, buut hopefully next year we will have a novice 8 and that the plan, and then we have all the senior lads, who wouldbe doin single skulling,double skulling im not really sure, but im rowing novice

Season has just started and btw its sculling.........:p

lol my bad :p im still a noob! and has it? welll like i dont think we are going to be in any more regattas until the new year, its allllllll land trainin for now on in! talk about fun! lol

What about heads dont ye enter those there the nice long ones.................................. :)

http://www.iaru.ie/main.php?page_type=events&view_type=live
    List of events............... Ye have to go to Galway, Its a Giant Piss up after it!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Good ONe.
    Hal1 wrote:

tbh our club doesnt have alot of members as you may heard and i dont really know what the plan is if we are going to any more regattas but ill let u know :) also what do u row, do you do sculling or do you do sweep or both?!

Been rowing Since i was 12/13 am 20 now Both Sculling and Sweep didnt row last year due to College, Back this year now.

wow uve been rowing long, what do u prefer? mostly ive been doing sweep but today i went out in a lightweight quad, ye know sculling, and i loved it. i just like the feel of havin an ore in each hand and it works out your arms much more than sweep imo, what you think. im 16 and have only picked up rowing past 4 months

I used to love Sculling bought a Boat when i was 15 Savage thing but I love Quad and Eights. Unfotunely Myself and my crew lost our novice status when we were 14.....

we like rowing in a sweep 8, i dont like going out on a 4 sweep tho we find it hard to balance :mad: thats us not the boat but it is easier to balance and 8 than a 4!

You should join St Micks you wont be long turning into a Shít hot junior rower..
    spinalsly wrote:
    we like rowing in a sweep 8, i dont like going out on a 4 sweep tho we find it hard to balance :mad: thats us not the boat but it is easier to balance and 8 than a 4!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Was part of the Waterford crew all last year.

We were by far the most improved crew in the J16 catagory. At the beginning of the season we finished I think it was 5 minutes behind St Michaels and the Bish in the time trials, at the last regatta of the season we finished half a length behind them!

I had to give it up because of work and me not being able to train the 6 times we usually train a week!

The Bish are unstoppable in Junior Sweep, St Micks arent far behind

screw st micks! everybody i know, my dad has been involved in shannon rowing club, my grandad has a boat named after him, i cant join st micks even if i wanted to which i dont!

spinalsly wrote:
    screw st micks! everybody i know, my dad has been involved in shannon rowing club, my grandad has a boat named after him, i cant join st micks even if i wanted to rwhich i dont!
    f

lol well fair play to st micks because they are a good club its just that i like my club and all the members because we all have a good laugh. its just im really enjoying it at the moment and i dont want to move club :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Ladies, can we try to avoid a bitch fest here please?

Thanking you :)

I don't want to have to ban people from this forum.

Sorry Amz but where is the bitch fest as far as i was concerned it was a civil convo about different clubs?
    Amz wrote:
    Ladies, can we try to avoid a bitch fest here please?

Thanking you :)

I don't want to have to ban people from this forum.

aye agree, and dan like how long after u started rowing did it all come together? like does it get easier?

I wouldnt say it gets easyer as with all the training its not going to be fun but its like a Drug its addictive! It took about a year or so before we (i) started getting good and from there we won all j14,j15,j16 and from j16 we won all j16 events and most j18 Quad events and we are not big guys just alot of work and training and it will happen just takes time......1 thing i didnt miss while i was out was Erg Tests!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ya i had mine tonight! i had to do 5k under 19 min under a rate of 26. i couldnt do it, it wasnt that i was tired i just didnt have the strenghth in my arms to keep it under 2min for every 500m, i just stopped at like 1 1/2 k and went for a run instead. like all the other novice lads can do it but there like early 30's, late twentys. i just couldnt do it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Sorry Amz but where is the bitch fest as far as i was concerned it was a civil convo about different clubs?
    Dan, if you bothered to read what I actually wrote I said I didn't want it to turn into a bitch fest. Very often when school rivalries, beit in rugby, athletics, or rowing come into a conversation some abuse, insults etc. arise. I was attempting to pre-empt anything. Someone not already involved in the conversation might stumble upon it and decide to stick their oar in (No pun intended). Nobody wants that nonsense.

Don't be so sensitive petal.

Sorry Amz my Bad. :o
    Amz wrote:
    Dan, if you bothered to read what I actually wrote I said I didn't want it to turn into a bitch fest. Very often when school rivalries, beit in rugby, athletics, or rowing come into a conversation some abuse, insults etc. arise. I was attempting to pre-empt anything. Someone not already involved in the conversation might stumble upon it and decide to stick their oar in (No pun intended). Nobody wants that nonsense.

Don't be so sensitive petal.

Erg tests are a waste put an Erg on the Water and it doesnt float simple as that..
    spinalsly wrote:
    ya i had mine tonight! i had to do 5k under 19 min under a rate of 26. i couldnt do it, it wasnt that i was tired i just didnt have the strenghth in my arms to keep it under 2min for every 500m, i just stopped at like 1 1/2 k and went for a run instead. like all the other novice lads can do it but there like early 30's, late twentys. i just couldnt do it :(