Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Txt Spk

• 26-04-2005 2:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭

Please, oh God please can immediate sanctions be made on 'text typers' on Boards.ie. Have these people actually forgotten how to spell, or do they thinks its amusing for others to make out their indecipherable crap.

Like this
    lads try d rds website its advertised on dat

or
    d owner orders in whichever dvds ye want he dnt get em all in in case dey dont sell and hes left wit em

What does that even mean???
    Post edited by Shield on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

gimmick wrote:
    d owner orders in whichever dvds ye want he dnt get em all in in case dey dont sell and hes left wit em
    What does that even mean???
    "The owner orders in which ever DVDs you want.
    He doesn't get them all in, incase they don't sell and he's left with them.
    "
    Wot prt ov dat dint u unrstnd?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

Text and l337 are actually banned from a number of forums (fora?). I suppose its up to the moderators on a forum by forum basis, I for instance have banned it from Outdoor Pursuits* on the basis that its interrupts the flow of conversation. That been said I do allow some shortcuts as long as its understandable.

*This will probably start some spammage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Whats 337???

• Registered Users Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

gimmick wrote:
    Whats 337???
    Just more abuse for the English language...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/L33t

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

kill them all machine
    kill them all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

I don't get the L337 thing either I've seen it put down a few times now.

Anyone willing to explain?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

LEET as in Elite.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭WizZard

Try here *Page*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

thank you!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭jonski

Don't ban them , get their Ip's and trace them down , then burn them slowly , real slowly , oh and pluck out their eyes ...and finger nails......and douse them in water and then set them alight again...a few times . Maybe I am going overboard..but I don't think so . "lol" and "ppl" can stay , kill the rest...................................slowly.............they mostly come out at night......mostly.............

• Registered Users Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

I support the mass bannage of such behaviour!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Stalfos

I also cant stand txt typer's even when they sent me a text message, Dont even use a full stop.
    Can we make a rule against typing like that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Here here. I too would like to jump aboard the "ban txt spk" band wagon (or ban wagon). I hate it even on mobile phones, there's no need for it.

On an internet forum where character sets and message length is not an issue it's just plain lazy. If a poster cannot be bothered to type clearly then why should anyone bother to try and understand them.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Im against it too. Actually I find it easier and faster to type using normal words as I know where they are on the keyboard. If I started to txt type Id be feckin ages making a post. Bannage!!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

/me screams at other posters in this thread

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I can scream back you know! :p

*weeps bitterly*

Ellipsis

Hear! Hear!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Amz wrote:
    *weeps bitterly*

Ellipsis

Hear! Hear!
    Their their, don't cry ;)

Me fail English, that's unpossible!

That isn't even funny.

GET OUT!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Personally I hate "lol".

I'm glad I shared this part of myself with you wonderful people on this lovely Tuesday Evening. Ah bless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

Myth wrote:
    Personally I hate "lol".
    Laugh out loud, so do I!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

Well, I hate txt spk, but I think AFAIK(AS far as I know) & TBH(To Be Honest) should be allowed, their just abbreviations and i think ther're ok.

But seripusly, kill txt spk: Hate when my mates text me like that!

What?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

JBoyle4eva wrote:
    Well, I hate txt spk, but I think AFAIK(AS far as I know) & TBH(To Be Honest) should be allowed, their just abbreviations and i think ther're ok.

But seripusly, kill txt spk: Hate when my mates text me like that!

I'm not convinced on abbreviations, especially when I went around for a day trying to work out what IIRC meant before I googled it.

Also I think TBH is over used here. I've seen some posts with a link and then TBH or even just TBH on its own.

But anyway, back on topic. I hate text speak and repeated violaters should be shot.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

tbh, tbh is over used on the whole internet tbh.

tbh people put it at the end of every sentence for some strange reason tbh.

(not that i do it of course)

i agree that a ban on "txt speak" should be brought in but abbr, should be allowed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭|Referee|

Cremo wrote:
    tbh, tbh is over used on the whole internet tbh.

tbh people put it at the end of every sentence for some strange reason tbh.

(not that i do it of course)

i agree that a ban on "txt speak" should be brought in but abbr, should be allowed

Hey Cremo go watch Arrested Development and STFU!

|Referee| wrote:
    Hey Cremo go watch Arrested Development and STFU!
    Good one ...

:bigrollyeyes:

Arabel wrote:
    I'm not convinced on abbreviations, especially when I went around for a day trying to work out what IIRC meant before I googled it.
    Yeah but once you figure out what it means - it's quite handy.
    I think IIRC should be added to the dictionary tbh.