Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Landlords ...again!

Options
  • 27-04-2005 7:05pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭

Right, Im a postgrad student who lives in dublin. The lease runs out at the start of June. However there are others who are leaving early and thus the landlord is refusing to give them back their deposits. Thing is I intend to stay on and hopefully get a small reduction in rent (i pay for the room per week, in cash). I have no idea if he has anything lined up for the place bu as far as I know the place will be more or less empty.

I consider myself a good tenant, pay the rent in time, dont cause trouble etc.
    However I have stoped paying bills a few months back because well we were never shown the bills in the first place, like we were promised. Now im worried that he will use this excuse to keep my deposit

i have no problem paying my bills, i just want to see proof that its actually going to the bills and not his back pocket.
    Is he legally obliged to show you bills before you actually pay him!?
    There are 8 in the house and we are expected to pay 25 each an month. so thats 200 a month on bills alone.Seems pretty steap as we dont have any internet, phone or NTL/Sky.

Also we all pay in cash and we are 99% sure that he is not tax complient, he never signs the rent book and never provides us with recipets to show that we pay rent! One of the housemates tried toget him to sign some social welfare form but he refused!

I going to try and talk this weekend and see can I stay on 2 months for a small bit of reduced rent.