Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Choosing Subjects For 5th Year

Options
  • 28-04-2005 8:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭

Hi, I'm a 4th year student who now faces the task of choosing subjects for the Leaving Cert.

Apart from Irish, English and Maths you can choose 4 other subjects for the Leaving in school. Since the end of Second year I pretty much had my mind made up that I'd do French, History, Chemistry and Physics. But now i'm facing a problem, it seems that the school my provide an Applied Maths class if there is enough interest. I'm very good at and enjoy maths so i'm sure I could handle it and I've heard it's a fairly easy LC subject when you understand it. But it would mean not doing History....

I'm thinking that History would put me under pressure because of the amount of facts I'd have to memorise etc. I got an A in my JC and I do enjoy History but I've heard for the LC it's all about modern political history which appeals to me less.

So can I have a few opinions from people who have done/are doing History for the LC and people that have done Applied Maths....

Thanks,
    -JC

Comments

Hi. I had the exact same problem. I wanted to do Applied Maths but if I did it meant that I would have to drop Physics, which was not something I wanted to do.