Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Greatest Dance/Electronic Album Ever?

• 10-05-2005 11:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭

Ok guys,
    Strictly no compilations!

Whats the best dance/electronic album you have ever heard? Feel Free to cover all different types of sub genres (House, Deep House, Techno, Ambient, Electro)

I'd like to recommend :
    Roni Size -- New Forms (Drum N Bass)
    Released in 1997 on Mercury Records

He won the Mercury Music Award that same year. Its absoulutely brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭hefty_langer

leftfield - leftism
    prodigy - music for the gilted generation
    daft punk - homework
    dave clarke - world service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,038 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Sasha - Airdrawndagger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Loobz

I cant decide tbh, theres so many in my opinion. Heres a few that make me smile. In no particular order:

Leftfield - Rhythm & Stealth
    The Prodigy - Music for the Jilted Generation.
    Chemical Brothers - Dig Your Own Hole
    Fatboy Slim - You've Come A Long Way... Baby
    Fatboy Slim - Halfway Between The Gutter And The Stars
    Fatboy Slim - Palookaville

Sorry I couldnt choose just one. Im bending the rules a bit, lol. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

Death in Vegas - The Contino Sessions
    Weird Album, it works thou!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭JoeSchmoe

Orbital - Brown Album,

no question years ahead of it's time, in fact its time haven't even got here yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭radiospan

Prodigy - Experience
    2 Many DJs - As Heard on Radio Soulwax Part 2
    Daft Punk - Homework
    Boards of Canada - Music Has The Right To Children
    DJ Shadow - Endtroducing...

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

I'd go with
    dave clarke world service (electro cd)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Seanie M

Death in Vegas - The Contino Sessions
    Weird Album, it works thou!!

For me, the reason why I bought the album was because of the track Dirge. But, I was disappointed by the album version - I much prefer the single version.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭tel922001

irishclubland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭kinkstr

tel922001 wrote:
    irishclubland

stab stab stab :)

Prodigy - music for the gilted generation
    Massive Attack - Mezzanine
    leftfield - rythm and stealth

tel922001 wrote:
    irishclubland
    is that a compilation of the best commerical trance that ireland has to offer???

Ah yes, i think i know the one now, doesn't that contain a remix by DJ Shammie of the classic trad song "The Fields of Athenry"?

Pure Bliss!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Loobz

tel922001 wrote:
    irishclubland

Rollo said no compilations at the start of this thread ffs :mad: :mad: :mad:
    It wouldnt be so bad if you mentioned a decent compilation, but that piece of horse**** doesnt deserve the sweat from my ballsack, let alone a mention on this thread. :rolleyes:

Prodigy Experience also tbh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Prodigy - Music For The Jilted Generation
    Throbbing Gristle - 20 Jazz Funk Greats
    Coil - Musick To Play In The Dark 1 and 2
    Kraftwerk - Trans-Europe Express
    Gary Numan - Replicas
    Fennesz - Venice

None of it is dance apart from Prodigy and a couple of tracks off Throbbing Gristle. It's all class though. The Coil albums are essential for anyone with half an interest in electronic music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭eljono

Prodigy - Music for the Gilted Generation

Mauro Picotto - The Others

Dave Clark - World Service

Also, sorry this is kind of a compilation but it's excellent; Armand van Helden - A Mix Oddessey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭spyro_2001ie

Anthony Rother - Live Is Life Is Love

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭zafa

world service is a compilation for all the people who mentioned it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,592 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Album

Dimitri from Paris - Sacré Bleu

Mix

Coldcut - Journey's by DJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Seanie M

John2 wrote:
    None of it is dance....

....in electronic music.

Whats the difference!! Its all the same!

:p

KevIRL wrote:

Dimitri from Paris - Sacré Bleu

I'll have to check that one out KEV, i pursume its Dimitri's own stuff yeah?
    I have a few tracks from his "Playboy Mansion" complilation, its a bit hit n miss really IMO. Whats the Sacré Bleu album like? Deep House?

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

JoeSchmoe wrote:
    Orbital - Brown Album,

no question years ahead of it's time, in fact its time haven't even got here yet

When I saw the thread title it was the first album that came into my head. Fully agree, my all time best.

Some other tops...

Some Other People - Orbitality
    Vapourspace - Themes From Vapourspace
    Leftfield - Leftism
    The Prodigy - Music For the Gilted Generation

And some might debate but anyway...

The Happy Mondays - Pills Thrills & Bellyaches

Plenty more, very hard to list them all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Autechre - Incunabula

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Adventures Beyond the Ultraworld by The Orb is still one of my all time favourites
    Also gonna suggest Screamadelica by Primal Scream too

Someone metioned the brown album....I preferred CD, but almost any Orbital album belongs in this list.

More up to date, Out there and Back by PVD is one I always go back to...may be just me though.
    Lastly, have a lot of time for the Mylo album as a whole, though whther we'll be putting it in a list in a decade's time is another thing...

Forgot about The Orb, how could I! That is an excellent album as is UFORB - back then (I don't think anymore) it came with a bonus disc with loads of mixes of Blue Room. The only other one I bought was The Orb Live '93. Saw them in the Point in '94, that was a great night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Finally someone mentioned Autechre :)

I'll nominate Squarepusher - Feed me weird things. Maybe not his best but I really like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭Bri

Here's a few:

Prodigy - Music for the Jilted Generation
    Chicane - Far From the Maddening Crowds
    Faithless - Sunday 8pm
    DJ Shadow - Entroducing
    Moby - Play
    Underworld - Everything, Everything (sorta counts)
    Underworld - Dubnobasswithmyheadman
    Winx - Left Above the Clouds
    BT - Movement in Still Life
    Chemical Brothers - Dig Your Own Hole
    Way Out West - Way Out West
    Can't remember if The SoundCrowd ever released anything more than 'The Singles' but sure I'll give them that much :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Alkers

Aphex Twin - Selected Ambient Works 85-92
    All recorded on Tape and especially considering how old it is, pure class.

Yeah thats my favourite of the selected ambient works albums.

Selected Ambient Works was one of my first ever electronic CDs, still love it too.

While I think of them some more bests...

Njoi Live in Manchester - had this on tape for years but got it recently on MP3 :D

Banco De Gaia - 10 years. Brilliant comp of his music.

Unkle - Never Never Land. Have this on CD and vinyl. Vinyl comes in cool picture discs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Anima wrote:
    Finally someone mentioned Autechre :)

I'll nominate Squarepusher - Feed me weird things. Maybe not his best but I really like it.

I was going to put Autechre into my list until I realised I don't actually like any of their albums, their ep's are much stronger.

Can't believe I forgot Squarepusher though.

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭Christy1

Without mentionin all the albums dat everybody else put up i'd have to go wit....

1. PVD - Politics of Dancing (one of da main reasons is because he puts his own little sound on each track on both cd's and half da tunes on it weren't released for at least a year after....savage album!!)
    2. The Streets - Original Pirate Material (an album ill always come to...weak become heroes reminds me everytime i listen to it of bak in da day when i first started goin out takin da badboys..wooop woopp!!! ;) )
    3. Air - Moon Safari (what a chillout album!!)

Prob think of more in a while..... :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

Cant Believe Nobody Has Mentioned Radioactivity (or Anthing Else ) By Kraftwerk So Im Gonna...

Simona1986 wrote:
    Aphex Twin - Selected Ambient Works 85-92
    All recorded on Tape and especially considering how old it is, pure class.

Yeah I love the tape sound on that album, especially on the first track.

Of his new AFX Analord series, which one do ye think sounds most like SAW 85-92?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭carbsy

Every Kraftwerk album to date. :) But if I had to choose one it would be Trans-Europe Express. /me does the Krafty shuffle... :D

nobodys mentioned Daft Punks Homework -- excellent album, it's just a balls that the other two albums are complete toliet

I mentioned it! (after I got the idea from someone else's post) :o

I wouldn't say Discovery is complete toilet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 pa connors

ah now lads sure what'r ye goin on about at all, at all? ha? sure not one a ye mentioned the classic "intergalactick poo" by 'DJ mac buzzin boss' hah? :confused: tut a sure jasus! or wha about clubland euphoria ump ta ump ta buzzin like a fridge special edition? where are yes goin like with yer slim boi fat or whateva??? :eek: buzzin man buzzin! xtc ah mad craic at harriers last week hah?

**** off troll.

No ones that retarded, poor effort.

plazzTT wrote:
    I mentioned it! (after I got the idea from someone else's post) :o

I wouldn't say Discovery is complete toilet.

Sorry kid, I didn't realize it was mentioned before. As for Discovery (A.K.A Disco-Very, by the way!!), it had its moments (harder better stronger faster & high life) but beside from that it was nowhere near as influential as the debut album. You can't beat genius, not with that album anyway :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Felixdhc wrote:

The Happy Mondays - Pills Thrills & Bellyaches
    !

Big time..a classic album...... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Not forgetting

Orbital Work 1989-2002

Definetly the best dance band ever....... :)

Yes, defo Orbital Work. A great one to have on vinyl. I LOVE Frenetic. Kinetic was brilliant too but I love the vocal additions in Frenetic.

Thinking back to their early stuff aswell such as Belfast etc, really is no beating them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 POW!

Orbital - Brown Album (Best Album Ever)
    Orbital - Snivilisation
    DJ Shadow - Private Press
    UNKLE - Psyence Fiction

Actually, its not mentioned anywhere yet and I am surprised I forgot -

The Chemical Brothers - Exit Planet Dust. Love the way a few of the tracks go into each other and build up. Kinda similar to the Brown Album in that way.

jonny68 wrote:
    Not forgetting

Orbital Work 1989-2002

Definetly the best dance band ever....... :)

Although Orbital are my favorite band i wasnt happy with this CD i have always found itrs better to put an orbital album on from start of finish, for example remind (my fav song) always sounds better after listening to LUSH 3-1, LUSH3-2 and IMPACT (the earth is burning ) beforehand.
    Thats why i wasnt to happy with to compilation and also because illuminate is on it which is by far my least favorite Orbital song.

Felixdhc wrote:
    Actually, its not mentioned anywhere yet and I am surprised I forgot -

The Chemical Brothers - Exit Planet Dust. Love the way a few of the tracks go into each other and build up. Kinda similar to the Brown Album in that way.

Nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Daft Punk - Discovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Christy1 wrote:
    wooop woopp!!!

It's da sound of da police...

(sorry)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

"Daft Punk - Homework" best of the three albums so far. the acid in da funk still gets me riled up after all these years :)

"Orbital - Insides" easily my favourite orbital album (i have yet to hear the blue album though)

"The Chemical Brothers - Exit Planet Dust" my favourite chems album. absolutely no filler material unlike their newer albums...

"Prodigy - Music..." i've had 3 kilos on repeat play recently. top notch stuff :)

"FSOL - Accelerator" rediscovered this one recently...

"Leftfield - Leftism" timeless.

a fairly mainstream list... meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭wideangle

prodigy - gilted generation
    dj shadow - entroducing
    massive attack - blue lines
    fsol - lifeforms
    beth orthon - trailor park :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭wideangle

oh not forgetting the klf and alex patterson - chillout :cool:

ultra rare and made on a day on two decks a sampler and a mixer in a squat in north london!!!! :eek: