Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ballybunion thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 840 ✭✭✭SandhillRoad

451bpx0.jpg

c41brk7.jpg

c41buk6.jpg

e41byh6.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭RiderOnTheStorm

great pics/postcards, Sandhill! Always interesting to see how places change over time.

The last pic on your most recent post (752?) is strange to me. It is very very like a view of the Nuns Beach, but the nearest arch is not there now. I guess it fell over time. I wonder if any of the oldtimers here in Ballyb would remember it. Any idea when the postcards are from?

I will try and get a pic of that same view now, for comparison. Also, I know where that first pic is from. Its the path leading from the shop on the Castle green down to the Ladies beach. I walk it most evenings, and on Sunday when heading down to the Sea Cliff Resuce. They accepted me into thier fold, and training started a few weeks ago! I am delighted .... :-)

Also, working on taking a video of trip from Ahafona into town. Took video the other day but not happy with quality / shake / view / etc .... better one coming soon!

451brv9.jpg

Hi Rider0nTheStorm, Forget and have tried to retrace my steps in regards to the last postcard. Sorry about that. Congrats on your sea rescue admission.
    Here is another view of the Lartique and also a cd cover of a
    singer who frequented both Ballybunion and Listowel

921bajp0.jpg

:D:D

Full Tide

191byu8.jpg

17th Hole

421ng2.jpg

4d1vg9.jpg

Hope all is well in Ballybunion.

5ballybunionpcyb6.jpg

:D:D

Happy Thanksgiving to SNOWSCORPION and all viewing the Ballybunion Forum.

lickdc0.jpg

hi all. sorry I have been away so long. I hope y'all are well and keping safe. Christmas is almost upon us, and I hope to have a few pics of Christmas in Ballyb up around then.

not much news here. things progress slowly, but at least they progress.

nice pic of Lick castle, Sand. I would love to vist it up close, but I have tried but could find it when I left the road and cut across the fields. It stands out a mile when we are out in the boat, but a bit more difficult to find when on foot. I guess once you know the way, its easy!

Good to hear from you again.I guess Ballybunion is all nestled in for the Winter. Hope you have a mild one.
    Any new major building projects been erected in town?
    Haven't heard from SNOW in a while. Hope all is well there.

christmas708x850gq1.jpg

Aero ,who is the longest distance away from hometown Ballybunion .
    AERO,Hope you and the family have a Happy New Year

5730606754050bgah0.jpg

7876806754050bgsc2.jpg

7693606754050bgth3.jpg

7876806754050bgaf7.jpg

messageinbottanimtk3.gif

The message in this bottle:

Happy & Healthy New Year to SNOWSCORPION and all in the Ballybunion Forum.

snorkllervt1.gif

snorkllerwp1.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Aero

Many thanks SandhillRoad!

Happy New Year to you, yours and all on the BallyB thread.

As it happens we are now a little closer to Kerry, having moved from Hong Kong during November. We are now just across the Atlantic in Canada.

Have a great year all...

Slainte!

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to all here.

Here are a couple of pics of the Christmas Day swim in Ballyb.

This is the firing of the flare to start the run to the sea....
    sta40545xd3.jpg

and this is some cold creatures in the sea....
    sta40550iu6.jpg

Thanks for the photos RIDER. If we hadn't seen the Santa Clause hats, it would seem that it was a great warm day in July. Is this a Annual event ? Did you go in yourself ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 ballroom girl

Saw the photos posted of ballybunion in the late 1950s, i was wondering does anyone know when the Hibernian Ballroom in East End in Ballybunion was burned down. it would settle a bet....thanks:) :)

Thanks for the photos RIDER. If we hadn't seen the Santa Clause hats, it would seem that it was a great warm day in July. Is this a Annual event ? Did you go in yourself ?
    I think the guy in the yellow trunks might indicate that its cold! lol
    Yes, it is an annual event. 12.30pm on Christmas day. Collected money goes to Sea & Cliff Rescue unit.
    and yes.... I am there.... its not a flattering pic! Thats me (front & centre) with the santy hat hanging to the left (to the Cork side!)
    i was wondering does anyone know when the Hibernian Ballroom in East End in Ballybunion was burned down ....
    welcome ballroom-girl. I dont know the answer, but I can find out. Check back here in a few days....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Paddy Camus

What happens when you get two mobile phones and use one to call Castlebar Garda Station and the other to call Westport Garda Station ?

http://blogorrah.com/garda-prank-call-the-motion-picture.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Paddy Camus

I meant to say Snow that if your interested in keeping up with things in Ireland here are two of better places. These are guys that win the awards.

www.blogorrah.com

www.twentymajor.blogspot.com

Take a look at the snow photos in the Listowel Photos.
    Where is SNOWSCORPION ? AWOL !

To SNOWSCORPION and all in the Ballybunion Forum: Have a Happy Saint Patrick's Day

unsavedproject543x910nh4.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭briman1983

Hi Guy's, Anyone know of any houses for rent in ballyb for a 6 month lease or there abouts.

SNOWSCORPION where art thou ?

thegreatestfm1.jpg

Happy Easter to SNOWSCORPION & to all in the Ballybunion Forum.

easterlilyrn6.jpg

a7843hi0.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭Cherry Tree

Congratulations to Silver Birch and to the groom in charge, Fiona Dowling of this parish on a job well done

Thank you CHERRYTREE.

You all may know the whole thing :

LIVERPOOL, England (AP) - Silver Birch won the 160th edition of the Grand National on Saturday, beating Mckelvey by three-quarters of a length.

The Irish-trained Silver Birch, a 33-1 long shot and ridden by Robbie Power, became a contender at the second-to-last fence at Aintree and held off Mckelvey.
    "It is an unreal feeling, a dream come true," Power said. "Fair play to trainer Gordon Elliott, he has done some job to get this horse ready. The last furlong was the longest I have ever ridden.

"I thought I might have gone a bit too soon, but he was an easy ride. Every time he saw a big fence he just pricked his ears back and took it on."

The 10-year-old Silver Birch was the sixth Irish winner in the last nine Grand Nationals and earned 700,000 pounds (US$1.39 million; ?1.03 million).

Congratulations to Fiona from us here in the USA>

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭Blackrocks

Its gone all tacky and unpleasant. Attracts all the gougers from Limerick who would split your head open if you looked at them the wrong way.
    The locals are as strange and insular as they come - all in all a torrid little place. Not recommended :mad:

Dont know where you were - but thats a rather 'insular' view of ballybunion. the world today has moved on - the people in ballybunion have on many occasion escorted these 'gougers' out of town and they now take themselves to kilrush and killarney.

your version may have been true a few years ago but thankfully not any more.