Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CL Final - AC Milan vs. Liverpool (scores)

1212223242527»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Got it in a bookstore in Newry, wasnt on display, but was upstairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

Its hard to believe that a year has passed since Liverpool won the CL.

Now on the eve of this years final between Arsenal and Barcelona, and off the back of a great FA Cup final win which was also won in dramatic 3-3 (and penalties) style, we can sit back and savour what last year was, a magical moment.

I hope that Liverpool can keep up their development and continue to challenge for honours in England as well as the CL. Whilst this year was a step back in the CL, a year of taking breath, next year the target should be to get to the Quarter Final stage at least. Although some eyes may be looking at the league title, that is the smaller of the two trophies and given Liverpool's now proven Cup pedigree in recent seasons, it would make sense to optimze for the CL.

Looking forward to a good game between Barca and Arsenal tomorrow. Anything can happen in a final, as we know, but Barca are favourites. Favourite tags dont mean much as Liverpool proved once again last year.

redspider

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I'm not reading this thread -again! :D

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

We've won it five times
    We've won it five ti-i-imes
    In Istanbul
    We won it five times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

DaBreno wrote:
    We've won it five times
    We've won it five ti-i-imes
    In Istanbul
    We won it five times

What a fantastic chant ;)

Fair play to Liverpool last year. I was in work and heard the 'Pool were 3-0 downm. Walking home and I called into a Chinese on the way and the TV in there said 3-3. Couldn't believe it.

Rang my brother and got a lift home and managed to see the end of the game, extra time and Dudek's fantastic waving motions!

It'll be a long time before that final is matched. Although I've to miss tonight's as well, economics exam from half 6 to half 9 :(

Lemlin wrote:
    I was in work and heard the 'Pool were 3-0 downm. Walking home and I called into a Chinese on the way and the TV in there said 3-3. Couldn't believe it.
    I've to miss tonight's as well, economics exam from half 6 to half 9 :(

Lemlin, a tip: Arrange your life around football schedules!
    Work, economics exams, these are but minor.

The World Cup final is on Sunday July 9th at 7:00pm. I cant promise a brilliant match but it only comes around once every 4 years.

redspider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

redspider wrote:
    Lemlin, a tip: Arrange your life around football schedules!
    Work, economics exams, these are but minor.

The World Cup final is on Sunday July 9th at 7:00pm. I cant promise a brilliant match but it only comes around once every 4 years.

redspider

When its your final college exam, woth 60% of your overall grade, its anything but minor Redspider.

And last year I did my good deed by covering for the two lads in work who are 'Pool supporters. One of them paid €800 or so to get to Istanbul.

Lemlin wrote:
    When its your final college exam, woth 60% of your overall grade, its anything but minor Redspider.

And last year I did my good deed by covering for the two lads in work who are 'Pool supporters. One of them paid €800 or so to get to Istanbul.

okay, okay .... all is forgiven (due to the last point!).

Best of luck with the exam.

redspider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

rematch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

I was going to bump this, but figured tomorrow would suffice to avoid the spoiler.

I don't have an overriding naive hope about us winning this time around. But maybe only naive hope would see us win last time around, whereas this time the team have improved, the squad has improved.

Other than that the situation is similar to last time around. Domestic seasons have effectively ended. And fresh legs will be available.

The liverpool side are 2 years better, Milan 2 years older. Though utd discovered there is some pace left in those legs, but Liverpool will not allow the pace be dictated as much as occurred tonight.

Liverpool to win in normal time.

Just realised, Kewell is back just in time to go off injured after 20 mins. :)

Whens Garcia fit again, any chance he'd make the final?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Hopefully Milan will do the job in its entirety this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Compare the Liverpool line-up last night to the one that started in Istanbul and it's stronger on paper imo. They'll arguably have a psychological edge, but Milan will be gunning for revenge. After witnessing tonight I fancy them to get it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Garcia was taken out of the Champions League squad as far as i know in order to make room for Mascherano

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Rematch indeed. :D
    I have to think Liverpool will make it hard for Milan to play
    like they did tonight. Maybe they'll cancel each other out.
    I'm backing Liverpool to lift the trophy again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

I dont want Liverpool to become favourites. We all know how that ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,410 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Ah this old chestnut. Welcome back old friend, how i've missed you!

Praying to god i might be able to see this one in person!

The only thing about milan being 2 years older is that Kaka is 2 years better. I do feel we have what united were lacking tonight in Mascherano, Alonso and Sissoko, midfield steel options. Still a very tough test though. Its only really milans defence where the years have taken their toll, the midfield is still amazing - especially now that Seedorf has picked up his form again. Pippo and Gila are a lot weaker then Crespo and Sheva but still. All in all, after tonights performance Milan have to be favourites, but pool have a great chance!

COME ON THE POOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,552 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

By the time the final and aftermath is done - this will be the greatest thread ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,157 ✭✭✭Trampas

Garcia was taken out of the Champions League squad as far as i know in order to make room for Mascherano

Thats correct.

Garcia wont be playing even if he is fully fit

I didnt realise this thread was still in the archives and could be bumped up! I thought I had looked for it at one stage and couldnt find it, so well done Stekelly for bumping it up and keeping it alive.

> By the time the final and aftermath is done - this will be the greatest thread ever.

Maybe, but I think we should also start a seperate thread for the 2007 CL final. Its good to see the 2005 thread alive, but each CL final deserves its own thread, I would think.

Looking forward to another night in May .....

Redspider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Yes new thread. This one should be locked and stickied. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

though it pains me i will be up for liverpool in the final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

county wrote:
    better be carefull or ya might get converted;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

county wrote:

I feel all dirty . . . . !

ZEN

Feck t, I'll suffer the wrath that befalls me.

Considering it was me that bumped it in 07 too -

Happy Anniversary.:D