Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Today I saw a classic and took a pic thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Camarague

I've noticed people remarking fondly on the Hiace - what is so special about them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭artic

Love those pics,its nice to see all those cars again. I wonder why people leave their classic car out in the weather like that 2002 ?. It looks like it has been lying for a while. I think that hiace has seen its day. Great van in their day bulletproof.Keep those pictures coming .In their day the hiace was the van to have,very reliable and great for high mileage,its only downfall was if it came into contact with water it would rust in ftont of your eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,013 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

1971 Beetle on the R128 - two child seats in the rear would indicate everyday use.

VWBeetle73D60.jpg

And a 1985 Renault T1200 on Nottingham Street, Dublin.

RenaultT120085D8275.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

Great spotting there lads !

I passed the owner of that green W108 Merc last Friday, I was driving my W111, and his eyes nearly popped out of his head. The green is a fab colour !

I see that Beetle regularly too.

I used to work for an Opel dealer and my boss always had a Senator. First the older "A" model then the "B". The 3.0 was nice but when the 3.0 24V engine arrived with Dual Ram system it was fantastic. Smooth, much more powerful than the 12V and made a lovely sound through its twin rectangular tailpipes. Loads of torque which transformed the car.

They handled very well, had electronically adjustable shocks and a really well engineered rear suspension and were way ahead of their time. The leather trimmed console lifted the interior quite a bit.....................but still no wood !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,526 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Hermy wrote: »
    I've never seen an orange Senator but there's a nice pale blue one often parked on the Clontarf Raod.
    I've seen an orange boss's wife a few times though! :)
    MercMad wrote: »
    .....................but still no wood !
    So, it just didn't float your boat? :D

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭okistag

TRIUMPH CLASSIC OWNERS CLUB

Thursday Technical Evening

Alan Egan who is a member of the TCOC invited our members over to his home to view his Triumph GT6 MK2 rebuild.

He gave us talk on many topics of the restoration, including a chat on diff's and also giving us a demo on Zinc Plating of various parts.

The shell is complete as is the chassis, its now at the exciting stage of the rebuild, putting the jigsaw back together.

Alan you are doing a remarkable job and I take my hat off to you my friend, well done. It will fantasic to see another well restored classic back on the road for another 30 plus years.

While there this evening I had taken a few photo's I do hope you enjoy.

Jack Epstein

AlanEganGT6REBUILDTHURSEVETECH19.jpg

AlanEganGT6REBUILDTHURSEVETECH14.jpg

AlanEganGT6REBUILDTHURSEVETECH13.jpg

AlanEganGT6REBUILDTHURSEVETECH21.jpg

AlanEganGT6REBUILDTHURSEVETECH.jpg

AlanEganGT6REBUILDTHURSEVETECH23.jpg

AlanEganGT6REBUILDTHURSEVETECH3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

She's a Mk1/Mk2 ya? Jaysus it looks very well, love the strip. What colour is it do you know? Do get us pics when it's together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭tc20

^^ wow thats a fantastic job, it looks brand spanking new. As LM said, look forward to progress pics if possible.

Yeah magnificent work there, I'd love to have both the time and the space to do that to my cars.

Anymore info on the Zinc plating ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭Redrocket

yeah, any more info on the zinc plating? afaik DIY zinc plating is possible, just needs a few test runs to get right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Seen in Tallaght every day :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

VW at Walkinstown, Jag at DCU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭mustang68

VW in Terenure and the BMW in Grand Canal Square
    74802.JPG
    74803.jpg
    74804.jpg

Wow lovely straight Monza "A", gorgeous cars, shame about the europlates though.

Gotta love those 6 Series, I was behind one yesterday, same colour but Polish or Latvian reg.

She's a Mk1/Mk2 ya? Jaysus it looks very well, love the strip. What colour is it do you know? Do get us pics when it's together.

Hi

She's a Mk2, and yes the strip does suit it very well. Alan who owns and is restoring the GT6 said the strip has been on the car as far back as the 70's, so he decided to keep it and rightly so.

It is finished in white the original colour, Triumph 19 is the colour code, and the strip is maroon.

I will be posting more pics as and when I get them.

Maybe Alan you would be so kind to post some as you go along.

Cheers Jack

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,430 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Spotted these three in Howth today.
    Picture_025_Small.jpg
    Picture_026_Small.jpg
    Picture_027_Small.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭245

okistag wrote: »
    Hi

I will be posting more pics as and when I get them.

Maybe Alan you would be so kind to post some as you go along.

Cheers Jack

Please do - that looks fascinating

A few of our members heading to Wexford yesterday afternoon.

IMG_8700.jpg

IMG_8734.jpg

IMG_8683.jpg

IMG_8673.jpg

IMG_8665.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,169 ✭✭✭✭ED E

A couple of VW campers...
    Picture_169_Small.jpg
    Picture_173_Small.jpg

Do you remember where these were?

Thanks,
    Lethal.

This one is parked in Cardiff Lane, Dublin 2 and doesn't appear to have moved for some time now.
    Picture_169_Small.jpg
    And this one was parked by the Long Hall in South Great Georges Street the one time I saw it.
    Picture_173_Small.jpg
    Why do you ask?

Genealogy Forum Mod

okistag wrote: »
    IMG_8665.jpg
    Mr okistag I presume? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Lauder

Nice Cortina 2000e in Clontarf tonight.

Image031.jpg

Why do you ask?

Put it this way, if somebody said I could have T2 or an Enzo for free, I'd have to think a minute(presuming I couldnt sell the enzo and buy 50 T2s).

I see.
    You really like T2's.

Genealogy Forum Mod

Do you remember where these were?
    This one is parked in Cardiff Lane, Dublin 2 and doesn't appear to have moved for some time now
    I snapped it last November. :)

VWMotorhomeZV7601-1.jpg

Lauder wrote: »
    Nice Cortina 2000e in Clontarf tonight.

Image031.jpg
    Now that's my kind of classic!

*drools*

The hunt is on lads. I cant go in tommorow, but there's no reason not to go in on Paddys Day. I hope the lack of movement indicates that it is unused, unwanted, and sellable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Took advantage of the Sunday weather... Out for a spin:D

MG C 3.0
    Triumpg Tr4A 2.2
    Mg B Gt 1.8
    spin.jpg

Portrane, Co Dublin.

MercedesBenz280SEZV8583.jpg

Beaumont, Dublin 9.

BMW2002ZV7530.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Smashing pics all, will hope to get some on Paddys day , couple of parades in Limerick including classic car one in Bruff.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

BMW2002ZV7530.jpg

Seen one very similar only much tidier than this all i remember is that it had bmw in the reg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

spotted in mountrath,
    1967 merc,
    enginepicsascona001.jpg

sorry for poor pic , but its as close as i could get to this merc for now :)
    this one is for sale as far as i know !

septemberpics2008051-1.jpg

septemberpics2008050-1.jpg

escort spotted in baltinglass
    septemberpics2008052.jpg

Mr okistag I presume? :)

Tis is, to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

A couple of recent spots..
    These were in a showroom near killarney..
    Image937.jpg
    Image936.jpg
    And three more irish reg cars.
    1971 wicklow reg austin 1800
    Image935.jpg
    1985 tipp south starlet,this was a very tidy car.
    Image919.jpg
    And a 1986 Golf,this car has been around tralee for years,same guy owns it as long as i remember.
    Image939.jpg

nice parking by the starlet

Redrocket wrote: »
    Maybe they were afraid of getting dented lol,i dunno if it had a disabled badge up..

Today's spots.
    This one was in Simmonscourt.
    Picture_035_Small.jpg
    And these ones were in Alexandra Road.
    Picture_036_Small.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,668 ✭✭✭maidhc

Redrocket wrote: »

Maybe the driver was disabled? Or just old and unable to walk very far?

My mother had an 87 one of those with the optional 5 speed box. It was re-registered in 1988 and got a new reg. (88c1651). It spent a good few months with no reg. No one can remember why (I was too young), but there was obviously a mixup somewhere in the county hall.

maidhc wrote: »
    My mother had an 87 one of those with the optional 5 speed box. It was re-registered in 1988 and got a new reg. (88c1651). It spent a good few months with no reg. No one can remember why (I was too young), but there was obviously a mixup somewhere in the county hall.
    Interesting,wonder what the mix up was..

Iv seen this somewhere before,cant think where though..
    Picture_035_Small.jpg

Would it have been a music festival Car-key?

Genealogy Forum Mod

Would it have been a music festival Car-key?
    Dont think so,must have been at a show..interesting paint job!

Meteor Awards is in Simmonscourt tomorrow so yeah, a show or something musical is what I was thinking.

Genealogy Forum Mod

maidhc wrote: »
    Maybe the driver was disabled? Or just old and unable to walk very far?

maybe they were!

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

Today in Ballyvaughan Co Clare
    3363167668_18efe642e7_o.jpg

Zee Germans3362350573_e6a02e7984_o.jpg

Two very different backsides3362352611_d4f8a54f7d.jpg

3363166636_63236968db_o.jpg

An old Turner

3362351357_70a6d7d76c_o.jpg

Last one

3363167736_74b92cd5a4_o.jpg

Original Dublin registered 280SE spotted in Lusk, Co Dublin.

MercedesBenz280SE556MZC.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Cosmo K wrote: »
    3362352611_d4f8a54f7d.jpg

One suffers from Woodworn and the other suffers from RingWorm!:D

^At the speed they went through numbers in dublin,this beetle was probably registered 30 seconds before that merc back in december 1977!:p:)
    IMG_2926.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Interesting,wonder what the mix up was..

Iv seen this somewhere before,cant think where though..
    Picture_035_Small.jpg

Shagman on here owns it.

Some cars from the paddys day parade in castleisland
    Image940.jpg
    Image945.jpg
    Image943.jpg
    Image941.jpg
    Red top turbo chevette..mental!!!:D
    Image942.jpg
    Image947.jpg
    And one for MaxDamage,a minty 87 micra,car was like new!
    Image946.jpg

Image940.jpg
    Is this the world's smallest front reg plate? :eek: :)