Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Today I saw a classic and took a pic thread!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,430 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

A 2000CS on Palmerston Road.
    Picture_037_Small.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭shagman

Picture_035_Small.jpg
    JustinOval wrote: »
    Shagman on here owns it.

No I don't but I know the guy that does.
    I posted photos of it before when friends had painted it (done by graff artists with rattle cans!!!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Hifive

Hey this should be my reg:D
    Image945.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

Check these little puppies out... all together in a lock up.... I've molested and drooled on them all......

DSC00058.jpg

DSC00061.jpg

DSC00055.jpg

DSC00052.jpg

DSC00063.jpg

DSC00067.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Jaysus... That Austin... My god...YUm

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

You can have the Austin - I'll take that Porsche!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

I'll have the jag.............or shaguar! LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

I know the 280SE 3.5 well, the owner is a car nut with a Pagoda also.

Love the W116, where excatly is it Wishbone, do you think it is for sale ?

The red Pagoda has just had its engine rebuilt too by thast dealer selling it now !

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Borgman100

78 reg Fiat x19 spotted yesterday on the N8 heading north from Fermoy in Cork...looked to be in top condition...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Love that olde Fiat Borgman........rare here they are.

Saw this old merc today, a 450slc, not sure about the wheels on it all the same........
    2820374680104150087S600x600Q85.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭245

Dyflin wrote: »
    Was down in Dun Laoghaire today and was admiring this 1800 when smoke suddenly started billowing from the bonnet. :eek:

P1010005-1.jpg

Luckily the fire was put out very quickly by harbour staff

P1010006-1.jpg

You can just about make out the damage to the bonnet here
    P1010007.jpg

Poor guy never got on the ferry in the end :(

P1010009.jpg

Here's where it ended up....

http://www.amazoncars.co.uk/article.asp?nID=108

Sounds like it was in poor condition even before the fire.

Anyone like to tell me what year this Golf is.
    Picture_041_Small.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,013 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

MercMad wrote: »
    Love the W116, where excatly is it Wishbone, do you think it is for sale ?
    PM sent with exact location. ( I don't know if it's for sale).

Hermy wrote: »
    Anyone like to tell me what year this Golf is.
    Picture_041_Small.jpg
    I think 'ZS' was the last reg series in Dublin which would make it late 1986 (but I'm open to correction).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I think 'ZS' was the last reg series in Dublin which would make it late 1986 (but I'm open to correction).
    I think so too. Or did SI follow ZS? Either way, i'm pretty sure it's 1986.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Anan1 wrote: »
    You are right,ZS was last,that golf was registered around july 86.
    Ialways thought it strange AZS*** to YZS*** were issued before ZS****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭Blue850

I saw a white W123 Merc 200D in Oranmore yesterday evening, 84 D reg, complete with black vinyl roof and tiger stripe seat covers.. groovy:D

.......yeah they went from XZV, SI, ZG to ZS from memory.

MercMad wrote: »
    .......yeah they went from XZV, SI, ZG to ZS from memory.
    That series went to YZV too.ZV**** was to have been the next batch after ZS...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭rugbyman

mike65 wrote: »
    Another bloody stickie! If you spot a classic and take a shot please put it here rather than start a fresh thread.

I'll start, I spotted this Lotus Elan parked in Catherine Street here in Waterford. Had'nt seen it before. Today I also saw 2 Silver Clouds, and 2 Jenson Interceptors but they were moving and so was I :D

lotus.jpg

Mike.

dont know how to copy photo of this elan, posted in 2005. saw this car in Dundalk this evening
    rugbyman oh ,photo arrived

^Thats a December 86 clare reg,one of the very very last of the old series!!He just got in before the **CE*** type!

Another T2 for Lethal.:p
    Picture_002_Small.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Saw a Datsun 280z reg ZV plus four digits, sorry missed rest. It was on Cambden Street yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

245 wrote: »
    Here's where it ended up....

http://www.amazoncars.co.uk/article.asp?nID=108

Sounds like it was in poor condition even before the fire.

I was wondering was that the same car alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I seen this sexy little number coming out of Geiger Cars in Trudering (Munich) yesterday.

picture.php?albumid=213&pictureid=2614

Feckin beut :D I'm thinking late 60's model. Can anyone give me an exact year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

KTRIC wrote: »
    I seen this sexy little number coming out of Geiger Cars in Trudering (Munich) yesterday.

No image, not sure what you did either http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/picture.php?albumid=213&pictureid=2614 links to a 1x1 pixel GIF image :P

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Is it Bond's invisible Aston Martin from Die Another Day?! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Oops, put it in a private album. Should work now.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

1965 me thinks:).

hi5 wrote: »
    1965 me thinks:).

............yeah its deffo an early Mustang, from the first series, 65-66.

Lovely car !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭PaulK_CCI

the chrome crossbar in the grill (which you can just make out) makes this a 65 Convertible...
    The little V badge on the wing, tells you it would have had a 289 engine. but you'd have to look under the bonnet to check what engine is in it now, as they would rarely have the original unit

Checking the 'letter' in the VIN code will tell you with what engine it left the factory...
    An 'A' in the vincode = 289 4 barrel
    An 'S' in the vincode = 390 4 barrel
    A 'K' in the vincode = 289 High Performance engine!!!
    and so on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭SAABMAN

KTRIC wrote: »

One of these very close to me. Love the sound of them V8s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭hamsterboy

Must be something in the air......another 65 Mustang Convertible on red
    Just parked down the road from me bout an hour ago.
    Check out the wheels though... :) Must be Ben Hur's weekend runabout
    DSCF2546-2.jpg

DSCF2547-2.jpg

DSCF2548-2.jpg

DSCF2549.jpg

DSCF2550-2.jpg

DSCF2551-2.jpg

DSCF2552-2.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭jaybee747

Taken on the Naas road yesterday, 2 Golfs, don't know the year of the one on the back but the one on the truck is 83.

dsc00502h.th.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭11811

Saw this around tralee yesterday, forgive the poor photo, only just managed to get my phone out before it drove off!!

cropedvw.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

My first car was ZS 3574, it was a 86 diesel golf too

jaybee747 wrote: »
    Taken on the Naas road yesterday, 2 Golfs, don't know the year of the one on the back but the one on the truck is 83.

dsc00502h.th.jpg

Allow me to improve that image. :)

VWGolfKSI433.jpg

I think those two were part of a large collection of Mk1's that were stored in a field just off the Naas road. I was there once and heard the owner recently wanted to sell off a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭okistag

On Sunday we the TCOC had our AGM at the Silver Tassie. Before the AGM started we took a spin up to Powerscourt to take a few photos.

Just you may like to see some.

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-78.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-65.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-55.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-18.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-4.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-5.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-6.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-8.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-13.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-11.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-10.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-9.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-19.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-27.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-26.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-25.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-24.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-45.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-43.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-39.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-67.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-68.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-61.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-56.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-54.jpg
    TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-49.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-52.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARC-53.jpg

TCOCAGMTASSIEPOWERSCOURT29THMARCH09.jpg

hope you like, till next time Chow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

God help anyone on dial-up :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Here are a couple of new additions to my fleet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

That Merc is really nice, congrats. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

junkyard wrote: »

junkyard i'd sell my soul to you for that merc...well kinda:P its absolutley pristine looking..fair play to you;)

1984 Granada spotted in Donabate, Co Dublin this afternoon.

(Would I be correct in thinking, with the add-on fog light, that it was imported into the UK originally?)

FordGranadaA698TOO.jpg

.....and a 1976 Beamer spotted in Swords, Co Dublin.

BMW52576D996.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Kevin_Herron

junkyard wrote: »

What is the Daytona based on?

How dare you Kevin, it's a real Ferrari!! Seriously it's a southern roadcraft srv12 same as the one in the early Miami Vice. A seriously well sorted kit car in fairness and sounds the part too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Kevin_Herron

Haha!
    Anybody that knows their Ferrari could tell at a glance it wasnt real!

Very good, I'm told they make a very high quality kit.
    Best of luck with it Junkyard. Hope to see it out.

It looks good enough for an amatuer like me although the TR7 windsrceen is a dead giveaway isn't it.;)