Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Today I saw a classic and took a pic thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Luke Crowley

Classic beauty, timeless elegance. And a Gordon Keeble. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Flesh Gorden

4812842598a10752797629o.jpg

4812842598a10752797697o.jpg

4812842598a10752797470o.jpg

4812842598a10752797129o.jpg

4812842598a10752797200o.jpg

4812842598a10752797261o.jpg

4812842598a10752797333o.jpg

4812842598a10752797401o.jpg

4812842598a10752797552o.jpg

I think it might be a replica - on Cartell it registers as a Ford Mustang - 5.7L - a 302 would be 4.9

Impossible to tell though -

If it is real, I wouldn't be surprised if it made close to $500,000 at the likes of Barret Jackson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Kevin_Herron

Id imagine it is a replica.

I didnt think the Boss Mustangs were available with auto trans or had chrome around the rear lights or cut outs for the exhausts, maybe it was an option?

It doesnt take from the fact that its a cracking looking car. Grabber blue is an excellent colour on those Mustangs, unfortunetly you dont see it enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Defo a tribute car, quite a few bits wrong for a proper Boss, anyhow it would cost that much for a real one that it would probably not be driven regularly or certainly not left in a B&Q carpark, although I do see the driver took care to take up two spots!

Sweet motor mind you!

G Luxel, the first car in the Buenos Aires pics is a Second Gen Plymouth GTX, kinda a 'Ghia' model of the Road Runner. Came with a 440 engine as standard IIRC.

The first car in the Buenos Aires is some sort of export model- It shares almost no similarities to the U.S models.

Its a weird looking car.

The first car in the Buenos Aires is some sort of export model- It shares almost no similarities to the U.S models.

Its a weird looking car.

What makes you think it's not an original model Kevin?

Just by looking at it- it looks nothing like a U.S GTX, look at the big roundy wheel arches!

Well spotted - the wheel arches are dead wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,794 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

....Ennistymon, Co Clare.

And I got a spin in it, too !! :D:D

And, you know what, the LHD didn't bother me a jot !

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭artyeva

hi there, i don't have a single clue bout classic cars but was hoping some of you might help me with this - it was for sale on the N5 at Ballyvarry outside Castlebar a few weeks ago. I know it's dark but I'd love to find out the make/model!!!

3500378469_e42b0d7e26.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Its either a Wolseley 1500,or a Riley 1.5,im not too sure which version is in the pic though.

ooh thanks for that - i did a quick google image search for both of these and they're both so similar I can't decide which it is!!! close enough though, thanks a million, carchaeologist :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I'd say it's the Wolseley. The line that the the bottom colour follows at the front (the triangle shape) looks like that of the Wolseley. The Riley has a straight line there.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Well spotted - the wheel arches are dead wrong!

Although I have never seen one I'd say they are more along the same lines as a Dodge Dart, they would be far smaller than the U.S GTX/Road Runner.

I'd say it's the Wolseley. The line that the the bottom colour follows at the front (the triangle shape) looks like that of the Wolseley. The Riley has a straight line there.

i knew you guys would know!!!! :D any idea of the year? from others i see on google images it could be anything within 5 or 6 years, is that right???? i just wanna update my flickr page with it.

it was a beautiful wee car though. i wonder if he sold it or it was just moved on by the gardai...:rolleyes: they don't like peeps parking for sales there anymore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

Blue850 wrote: »
    Full?id=1231604

Another 600 on Donedeal.ie and is that a white one with black roof in the background?

.............yeah this is the car I was talking about earlier. This is a Dublin Southside dealer, cant recall who now but you can see a lot of other stock in the background. Depending on how good the body repair was and exactly what is wrong witht the engine, it could be a good buy !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Flesh Gorden

MercMad wrote: »
    Depending on how good the body repair was and exactly what is wrong witht the engine, it could be a good buy !

Do you remember when Jeremy Clarkson had his on Top Gear, I think he paid something like 16,000 pounds for its first service

But no one knows what condition his was in

I'd love one though - considering the amount of dictators that had one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I'd love one for a week or two, but i'd have my doubts about a 600 as an ownership proposition for the non-dictators among us!

galwaytt wrote: »
    ....Ennistymon, Co Clare.

And I got a spin in it, too !! :D:D

And, you know what, the LHD didn't bother me a jot !

sorry, try this image....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

sorry, try this image....

...............sweet indeed ! :cool:

Those pipes along the sill look very vulnerable, I dont recall seeing them before ?

MercMad wrote: »
    ...............sweet indeed ! :cool:

Those pipes along the sill look very vulnerable, I dont recall seeing them before ?

...they're the oil-cooler pipes - there always there, but usually behind a trim-piece.

This is one reason you need to be v.careful when using a trolley jack....:p :p

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

Some may think a few of these cars are a bit modern to be classics, but in my book they certainly are. The Slowly Sideways group passing through the best rally stage in Ireland, the Healy Pass, on Sunday:

Manta 400 in the Dealer Opel Team Ireland Colours:
    MG_3499-1.jpg
    Subaru Legacy RS in Rothmans colours:
    MG_3497-1.jpg
    205 T16:
    MG_3495.jpg
    Mk2 Golf in Works VW colours:
    MG_3494.jpg
    Eaton Yale Mk 2:
    MG_3492.jpg
    Mk 1 Escort in Thomas Motors Blackpool colours:
    MG_3496.jpg
    M3: Not part of Slowly Sideways, but worthy of inclusion:
    MG_3486.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Was up in Belgard today and dropped into Belgard Auctions to see it.
    Spotted this up there, Brazilian import, rare. Going under the hammer tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭draycottgirlz

Some may think a few of these cars are a bit modern to be classics, but in my book they certainly are. The Slowly Sideways group passing through the best rally stage in Ireland, the Healy Pass, on Sunday:

Manta 400 in the Dealer Opel Team Ireland Colours:
    MG_3499-1.jpg
    Subaru Legacy RS in Rothmans colours:
    MG_3497-1.jpg
    205 T16:
    MG_3495.jpg
    Mk2 Golf in Works VW colours:
    MG_3494.jpg
    Eaton Yale Mk 2:
    MG_3492.jpg
    Mk 1 Escort in Thomas Motors Blackpool colours:
    MG_3496.jpg
    M3: Not part of Slowly Sideways, but worthy of inclusion:
    MG_3486.jpg

great pics......and always Healy's Pass looks ace as always

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭PaulK_CCI

That's not an original 73 Carrera RS, isn't it :D:D

the oil filler cap in the rear wing, which is a feature unique to the 71 model year, is a giveaway. As per factory there should be a 2.2 in it.
    ...they're the oil-cooler pipes - there always there, but usually behind a trim-piece.

This is one reason you need to be v.careful when using a trolley jack....:p :p

The oil cooler piper look like a retro fit external oil cooler kit, certainly not an factory spec jobbie, running underneath the jacking point. Normally the floorpan, jacking points and oil pipes are painted black, so they don't stand out as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭okistag

A quick video update on Luks engine rebuild.

The are so many photos and video clips for Luke's Spitfire that Adrienne and I took its going to take me a while to go though them and get them in some sort of order.

I imported them into a programme I use to make DVD's and total time is 9.46 hours !!!! but I have just taken a few photos and a short video clip and made a 6 minute clip for now.

Great job done by Triumph Classic Owners Club team

So do hope you enjoy..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_UZicbl2bDA

Here is a quick update on Alan Egan's GT6 rebuild.

Its a short video clip on YOUTUBE.

Here is a link to it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gNWtYgJgIOc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭bostoncommon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭245

okistag wrote: »

Here is a link to it.

Thanks - both look very good.

I'm sure that Alan knows what he's doing (certainly looks like he does) but remind him to be careful of that alloy rocker cover. Most of them were designed around the TR6 and can stand a little high for the GT6 steel bonnet. My 2.5 Spitfire had an alloy rocker cover but got away with it because it had an fibreglass bonnet.

Inspiring stuff, although painting my GT6 calipers before I rebuild them is as far as have time to go at the moment

Saw a 73 Jensen Interceptor earlier,looked lovely till i was told it had a 3litre merc diesel in it..WHY!!
    Surely it takes the soul out of a car like that to put a diesel in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

Seen a weird yoke today, didnt get the phone out quick enough for a pic.

It was 1964, purple-ish roof and looked abit like your typical ufo shape, anyone know what it might have been?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Hifive

jozi wrote: »
    Seen a weird yoke today, didnt get the phone out quick enough for a pic.

It was 1964, purple-ish roof and looked abit like your typical ufo shape, anyone know what it might have been?

An old purple ufo?:D

Hifive wrote: »
    An old purple ufo?:D

It was a bit like a domed cockpit with the front and rear sweeping out and the end being kinda like tho old shark nose bm's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,747 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Stingray? :D

D694~Chevy-Corvette-Stingray-Posters.jpg

I'd have ran after it for pics if it was a stingray.

Much smaller than that. Only caught a glimpse of it coming around the corner and then my view became obstructed by other cars. Didn't even get to see a badge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭dutchcat

ufo

245 wrote: »
    Thanks - both look very good.

I'm sure that Alan knows what he's doing (certainly looks like he does) but remind him to be careful of that alloy rocker cover. Most of them were designed around the TR6 and can stand a little high for the GT6 steel bonnet. My 2.5 Spitfire had an alloy rocker cover but got away with it because it had an fibreglass bonnet.

Inspiring stuff, although painting my GT6 calipers before I rebuild them is as far as have time to go at the moment

Thank you for the info, I shall pass the info onto Alan, well you certainly have though me something. I never knew that myself and I certainly dont know it all, so we do learn new things everyday. He is putting body to chassis tomorrow so should have another little clip or just a few photos on Sat / Sun.
    Once again many thanks.
    Jack

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,430 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Here's a few more...

A Roller on North Wall.
    Picture_008_Small_1.jpg
    Picture_009_Small_2.jpg

A Jag on the Malahide Road...reg was 55 D something, something, something.:o
    Picture_020_Small.jpg
    Picture_021_Small.jpg
    Picture_022_Small_1.jpg

And a Fiat at Weston Aerodrome.
    Picture_025_Small_1.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

Picture_025_Small_1.jpg
    Dutch?

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Lauder

Hermy wrote: »
    Here's a few more...

A Jag on the Malahide Road...reg was 55 D something, something, something.:o
    [
    Picture_022_Small_1.jpg

Thats my neighbours XK140 former le mans competition car, fully original never restored and very low mileage.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,430 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Picture_025_Small_1.jpg
    Dutch?
    Probably, despite the white background!
    Lauder wrote: »
    Thats my neighbours XK140 former le mans competition car, fully original never restored and very low mileage.
    Looked beautiful up close.

Thanks for the replies lads.:)

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

^^^^ Can't quite put my finger on where it's from, but I'd say it's probably NOT Dutch. Apart from the background being white, there's only one dash between the first pair of letters...:confused:

macplaxton wrote: »
    ^^^^ Can't quite put my finger on where it's from, but I'd say it's probably NOT Dutch. Apart from the background being white, there's only one dash between the first pair of letters...:confused:

Yep,thinking about it id agree,you never see dutch cars without their correct plates because as far as i know they have to apply to the government for replacement plates,thats why you some times see a small 1 or 2 in the corner of the plate,which means its either the first of second replacement.This has neither,and its not a correct dutch plate as you have pointed out..

Where could it be from so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

The letter/number sequence could be German, from Bremen, but it's missing all the TUV/ASU tags.

okistag wrote: »
    A quick video update on Luks engine rebuild.

The are so many photos and video clips for Luke's Spitfire that Adrienne and I took its going to take me a while to go though them and get them in some sort of order.

I imported them into a programme I use to make DVD's and total time is 9.46 hours !!!! but I have just taken a few photos and a short video clip and made a 6 minute clip for now.

Great job done by Triumph Classic Owners Club team

So do hope you enjoy..

Here is a link to it.

a quick update

This morning a few of us met up at Alan’s garage to lift the tub / body back onto the chassis.
    All went really well and smoothly with no issue’s.
    I got a number of good photos, well 270 to be exact, but I will only post a few and a link to photobucket, for you to browse through if you like.
    Another milestone Alan, well done. Terenure is getting closer !!!
    Thanks to Martin, Tommy, Jason, John, Niall, Luke and who ever else were to lend a hand.

Jack

AlanEgansGT6REBUILD479.jpg

AlanEgansGT6REBUILD450.jpg

AlanEgansGT6REBUILD390.jpg

AlanEgansGT6REBUILD343.jpg

AlanEgansGT6REBUILD342.jpg

AlanEgansGT6REBUILD346.jpg

AlanEgansGT6REBUILD349.jpg

AlanEgansGT6REBUILD350.jpg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_UZicbl2bDA

^wow....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭245

Looks fantastic - looking forward to seeing it at Terenure.

Looks like there was no problem with the rocker cover after all - glad it all worked out.

Well :) I didnt say there was not a problem with it, yes you are correct it is a little proud and touching the bonnet and Alan is going to sort that. Thanks for the tip.

Also dont think it will be ready for Terenure only giving Alan a little slag over it but it will be there on the TCOC stand on trailer
    J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭TRNIALL

There was a problem with the cover but off course it will be sorted,when the engine went back in they put 2 shims between the engine and mounts as the sump was sitting on the rack so this dont help, but think there is enough adjustment in the bonnet to clear the rocker cover.The other option is to buy a SAH cover off ebay thats the angled one at each end but they go for mighty bucks,the last one that i saw went for 335 squid:eek:.Also the original metal type is not as deep as the alloy one so that is also an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,012 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Fresh looking 22 year old LiteAce spotted in Trinity College.

ToyotaLiteAce87D18860.jpg

On the way home from work this evening I met a 'boy racer' type in a dickied-up Starlet(?) on MZV XXX plates. The car was probably a good bit older than the driver! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Lauder

Nice Original Irish Mark I MGB GT in Fairview today.

Image0166.jpg